Rent Fight Night: Round 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Fight Night: Round 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

2991 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great boxing, amazing graphics!

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very entertaining high replay value boxing game. By far the best boxing game ever. It is insanely gorgeous looking on in 1080. The sweat and blood that streams off an opponent as you slam him with a haymaker really pulls you into the game. First person mode is exciting ad you see the punches flying at your face. All the fighters are here with their varying strengths. The rings and fans are great looking and the round girl is rather hot to be CG. Overall an excellent game. Worth renting for a while unless your a boxing fan, then buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PS3Reviews - xbox vs PS3 Fight Night

posted by yuskis1 (ROCKFORD, IL) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

21 out of 23 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I have played both the Xbox 360 and the Playstation 3 versions of this game and I have to tell you, the Playstation 3 version comes out on top. The graphics are amazing! This has been one of the prettiest looking games I’ve seen so far. The amount of detail given to the boxers, from sweat beads rolling down their backs, to the flexing of their muscles and chest when breathing is truly lifelike. As the boxers take a beating, you can tell who is getting pummeled. Their face starts to bruise, swell up, and cuts start to form and bleed. As you fight, you can actually see your fighter taking damage.

Fight Night Round 3 is challenging but rewarding. Dodging your opponent and countering with a powerful punch is not easy, but when you do, the screen will shake as your punch connects and you can feel the damage you are delivering. When you knock down an opponent, you feel the excitement and satisfaction of laying out your opponent.

Fight Night Round 3 includes a few, I guess you would call them, mini-games. In between rounds you have the choice to auto heal or manual heal. If you manual heal, you can take down your swelling and nurse your cuts and bruises. In the main menu you have access to weight lifting, punching bags, and other gym training exercises. I played most of these once and was bored with them instantly. The only one that was truly useful was that I was able to spar with someone. Learning how to throw the different punches and how to protecting myself here was the only way I could learn how to survive in the ring. The tutorial here is very useful and easy to understand. Since the controls took some getting used to, I would suggest going here first if you want to put up a good fight.

Finish the review at www myspace com / ps3reviews

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

need to take time...

posted by kyle316 (SPRING, TX) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ive read all the bad reviews and people are all complaining how they didn't know what to do or that there was no training. they should not have reviewed the game because there is training, and its a good game, you just need to take time to learn it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very nice game with good graphics.

posted by mrbosox (ATHL, MA) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I'm not a boxing fan, and have never played this series up until this point.

I want to warn everyone that this game is highly addictive. The graphics are well done. The music is pretty cool and the extra options and training mode are pretty cool. I've stayed up until 2:30 or 3:00am on numerous nights playing this game(darn you Ali).

The drawbacks: A LOTS OF redundancies. Same catch phrases, same nicknames, same effect on the knockout replays, same pre-fight entrances. Also, you can only unlock an unlimited amount of trainers and seem to earn money you aren't even capable of spending later on in career mode.

I rate this game an 8 and will probably end up purchasing this if I decide to ever return it :)

MBX

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Played on cousins console

posted by REV1EWER (WINCHESTER, KY) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I have played the PS3 version & own the 360 version & will compare the 2.

Advantage 360 - Better background, 3D modeled crowds, & far better lighting.

Advantage PS3 - Better character detail (sweat, muscles, etc.), & improved cut system.

Disadvantage 360 - Constructed earier then PS3 so the combat system is different. Character models are good but not PS3 good.

Disadvantage PS3 - Under developed online play. detail outside the ring is last gen.

Both play well. I prefer 360's punching system but I also prefer the new cut system for healing on the PS3. PS3 is no good online, 360's rocks. Graphics are at a draw. inside ring PS3 wins hands down, but when you look at lighting & crowd/stage it really disappoints.

PS3 = 8.4 out of 10
360 = 8.9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fight Night not a fright night

posted by chigamer (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game has solid graphics and is very crisp on my 720p LCD display. The default level of "medium" in Career mode is a little easy but this can be fixed by leveling up. Career mode is somewhat disjointed, but it offers great action and great ability to modify your boxer. All in all this is a great game. The only problem with the graphics is an occasional ghost effect as a punch is thrown. Definitely rent it. One of the better PS3 launch titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by alexbonao (BRONX, NY) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This Game has incredible graphics. The boxing mechanics are great. You can knock anyone out with a good combination. This is a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A gut-wrechingly beautiful experience

posted by Squishy503 (BEAVERTON, OR) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I downloaded the demo for this for my Xbox 360 - but I bought this on my PS3. And I defintely made the right choice.

This game is great. I'm not a big fan of boxing, and have avoided this series until now. I don't know why I decided to give it a try, but the timing was right.

They got some of the smallest features and details just right, and it all fits perfectly. The matches are quick enough to satisfy my ADD-like gaming mind. I am so easily bored, and yet I can actually play this for hours.

If you love boxing, I'm sure you already know about this title - if you aren't a fan, try it anyway. It just might surprise you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Boxing! More than "Been There, Done That"

posted by NixsMom (Littleton, CO) Jan 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Don't believe anyone saying that this game is just a Xbox 360 game clone. IT IS NOT. If you already have this game on some other platform, I don't recommend you to buy this game again just for the Playstation 3 but if you still haven't bought this game or tried it out yet, the PS3 version is the perfect game to start your Fight Night Round 3 experience.

The graphics of this game are breathtaking. I have never seen a game with this much detail and quality in it's look of each boxer and the arena itself. They are noticeably better than the Xbox 360 version with the better shader, lighting and color effects. It still has that classic Fight Night Round 3 game play but the Playstation version offers a brand new 'Get in the Ring' mode that lets you take the view of the boxer through his eyes so you can really feel as if you were the boxer himself. I highly recommend that if you still haven't bought a Fight Night Round 3 copy, you buy this game for the Playstation 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Game!

posted by Austin3600 (ANTIOCH, TN) Feb 23, 2007

Member since May 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fight Night Round 3 is a GREAT GAME! I highly recommend it to anyone who loves a great boxing game. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining game

posted by PhilCanyon (Death Valley, CA) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sweet game. First stage graphics are awesome, second stage (fans & surroundings) marginal, but you won't really notice because you'll be too busy concentrating on winning the fight. Fighters look very realistic and career mode allows you to just about make a spitting image of yourself (nose and cheeks are hard due to grid though).

Training to learn skills is very helpful, hay maker punches never seemed to count as landed for some reason during offline matches.

Online play was fun and hard work! I was wore out after the fights, too long focusing that hard wears you out. Watch out for cats who only throw hay makers, if your d is weak, the fight will be over in a hurry. I had some good fights online when people actually boxed.

I didn't experience any slow play online and everything responded as i did it. I was very satisfied with online play.

All in all very fun, action packed game on and offline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THIS FIGHT IS RIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by bubbbaa (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

If you like to beat people to the ground and you have 1080i then this game belongs to you my friend. You can either make your own boxer or build a world class chapion like Ali or sugar ray lenerd. The traing system is awesome, and the new fighting style is not the best in world but good enough for me.

thanks 4 reading,

bubba

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GReat game!

posted by RayGunz (LA CRESCENTA, CA) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

If you dont have an 1080P TV then dont expect it to look as good as the Xbox version. But if you have it then you will see the what I am talking about. The graphics are far better then that of the 360 and gameplay is much more realistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The last FIGHT of the NIGHT

posted by carlos (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Jan 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

OK, where do I start. This game is called FIGHT NIGHT ROUND 3 but it seems like the same game as the one I played on the my XBOX360 but only with slightly worst graphics(on the ps3 I mean). It only displays 720p which is a shame because the game has great potential and also because the PS3 is suppose to be superior to the XBOX.... Honestly I don't think that it is (the PS3 of course)... But on the plus side the GET IN THE RING game play is a pretty good idea. it really makes you look and play the game differently. The only thing that would have made it better would be the rumble function(cheap sony). Getting hit and not feeling the punches really makes the diffence when playing any game. To sum it all up, if you have FIGHT NIGHT ROUND 3 on the XBOX360 then don't waste your time renting this game because you won't enjoy it as much....but if you want to just give it a try go right ahead it is a solid game...but not really

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst game ever.

posted by sniggity (HUNTINGTOWN, MD) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game was literally the worst game I've played since I've had my PS3. The menu screen is a little slow in loading, there is no training option that I saw and the overall look of the game isn't all that either. Once I got into the ring, the boxer seemed to not work properly. I basically got my butt kicked all over the ring. I don't know if I just didn't play enough or something, but I could barely throw a punch, nor did I even land a punch. I couldn't find a way for my boxer to throw up a guard at all, I couldn't find out how to throw a jab either. There was no instruction at all on this game. Just a terrible, terrible game IMHO. Sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible

posted by pilltile (AVONDALE, AZ) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 19 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

the control was sluggish and unresponsive.I am not a boxing fan, but this game really reassure me that I am not a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight Night: Round 3 is horrible!

posted by IronPalm (STAFFORD, VA) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I created a fighter and went through the process of signing a contract for a fight, trained and then fought. I played it for 15 minutes... turned it off and put it back into the return envelope. It was terrible from the very beginning. I couldn't read what my choices were on the menu cause it has red lettering on a orange background. And the controls to train and fight were horrendous. Totally not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game isnt worth the disc that its written on!

posted by nolimeplea (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

Title says it all. Even if you take the time to understand the "total punch control", This game lacks the enthusiasm that even Nes's "Punchout" could offer.
If offered in a low budget, 5 dollars and under catogory, I would still only purchase it if I was on a spending spree.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An Improvement On Fight Night 2, But

posted by iHazWepon (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This game is not quite as good as Fight Night Round 4, the controls are more natural than in Round 2 but the gameplay is JUST aged enough to feel a little slow and clunky, some may like it more than Round 4 but it feels like just one step backwards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good

posted by DashingLebron (HIALEAH, FL) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

this game preety good but its just a little to hard for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Realistic

posted by barbarian70 (STARKVILLE, MS) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I liked the game but the characters could have been more realistic with the moves and graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't waste your time!!

posted by Mattress (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 24, 2009

Member since May 2007

I've always been curious about this game, so I finally sacrificed a Q-spot for it. And what a waste it was. Electronic Arts is a heavyweight in the video game industry, but they should have spent their time on something else.

They did do a good job on the graphics. The 'real' fighters look very much like the real ones. Unfortunately, the gameplay doesn't match up well compared to the graphics. No matter what the difficulty is set on, the AI seems to block your shots and counter you, and there's nothing you can do about it.

Save yourself some wasted time and remove this game from you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

B-

posted by emptyeyes (VANCOUVER, WA) May 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This game is totally different from any other game I've played, and that makes it worth playing a few times in my opinion.

What brings this game down from being a great game to a moderately good game is the AI. One minute, you will be having a fair fight, but then all of a sudden, he just becomes invincible. Your punches that visibly connect just don't, and the punches you specifically block are not blocked. It's very frustrating to be ahead in round after round and suddenly watch the AI snap in one direction and just know "Oh jeez, he just turned on god mode," and not quite believing you could really just tell that, watch the AI be able to do ANYTHING it wants to do.

Finally I couldn't take the stupidity of unbalanced AI and completely clueless commentary and decided, "You know what? I'm returning this to Game Stop now."

It entertained me for a while though, so try it out if you haven't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't waste your time

posted by matskeelv (LITTLETON, CO) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This is the type of game you buy at Walmart for $4.99.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ccoooolll

posted by sports (SHELTON, CT) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

this game is bbbrrrrrrrrrrrrrooooooooo- ootle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse