Rent Fight Night: Round 3 for PSP Games
view large frontback

Fight Night: Round 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Xbox, PS2, PS3
GF Rating
7.9

692 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

VERY GOOD game

posted by bustamoves (MURRIETA, CA) Jun 26, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Round 3 is obviously the best boxing title for any console, but having rented it on PS2 I thought the analog stick controls were a bit difficult to use. On the PSP, the game is instantly upgraded without the second analog stick. EA did a great job adapting the game to the portable system with the use of the face buttons becoming the punches. At first, the uppercuts and two button moves are hard to use, but within a couple fights, they become your go-to punches. The Career mode is the best part of the game, but the only reason I gave Fight Night a 9, was because of slight miscues in Career Mode. For example, when you train, you just set the intensity and type of training you want to do. The PSP loses the fun punching bag and training mini-games that are included in the console versions, but sparring is still there for practice at any time. Some might say the game is button mashing, and I slightly have to agree, for a while in career mode, you fight very easy opponents who hardly counter-punch or defend themselves. The deeper you get into Career Mode, or the more difficult fighters you face, they improve in both these areas, as well as pure boxing skill. The history matches include fun, but challenging fights between the biggest rivals or most evenly matched fighters. Overall, Round 3 is at least a must rent or good buy for true boxing fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by coop8643 (GLENSHAW, PA) May 17, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fight Night Round 3 was one of the most solid PSP games I have played so far. Create your own boxer, and work your way up from amateur with nothing to world class pro. Although this doesn't have as many features as the PS2 version it is still worth trying. The history fights against Muhammad Ali, Sugar Ray Leonard, and many more are also fun to do. So if your looking for a good time bashing peoples heads in check this one out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost perfect

posted by chewyfur (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 10, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like to fight in games this is for you, they made the easy version very easy which is nice to learn how to throw punches. Throwing the Haymakers takes a while to figure out, but once you do they are awesome, The graphics are great the way blood spurts out is sweet,the multiplayer version is great whether you are playing against a buddy(ad-Hoc) or online, simple to set up and fight. Only complaint I have would be that you don't fight any of the legends in career, and haven't figured out how to unlock all the unlocks, I have a guy who is 88-0 still have unlocks, One tip turn off illegal blows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is great!

posted by BaybieGurl (PATERSON, NJ) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is great! The first boxing game I've played since Knock Out Kings for PS1! I had just bought my PSP and joined gamefly when I saw the commercial for Fight Night Round 3! I HAD to try it! I moved it to the top of my list and I had the game for about 2 months playing it non-stop. I had my boxer #1 in all divisions and was defending the belts undefeated! A MUST HAVE if you are a true fan of not just boxing but sports or video games all together. Try it and you'll love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LIGHTS OUT!!

posted by SINOVAH (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've only had my PSP for a couple of month. So, I've only played a handful of games. However, this game - in particular - is definitely a list topper. Literally, I couldn't stop playing it the first day it came in the mail. I played for three hours straight. If you've ever tired playing the PSP using the joystick, then you know this is no easy task.

Every aspect of the game - in my opinion is over the top. Graphic are exceptionally vivid - considering they're being played on a handheld platform. I've played FN:R3 on XBOX360 and despite certain graphic compensation and features, this PSP title is flawless. The soundtrack is very well selected. Almost every song give off a real sense of entering a professional fight.

The game play is difficult only based on setting you selected. Build a weak fight, and you will be trounced. Build a powerhouse, and you'll wind up with the next Mike Tyson on your hand.

However, once you get the hang of things, the challenges slightly diminish. But done the AI fool you. You will be beaten if you half-step a fight. I'm playing with Roy Jones, Jr. So far I've managed to maintain an undefeated record. 15-0: Rank 17 out of 40. In fact, I'm a three star contender knocking out four star pretenders. My most challenging fight, so far, went to ten round, ending in a split decision.

To make a long story short, I think FIGHT NIGHT: ROUND 3 is a great game. In fact, it's cutting edge in terms of Boxing Style video game. If you don't rent this one, you'll regret it.

With that say, any further discussion about the game, we can have in the ring. But, I warn you, it's lights out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

No Need For The Second Analog Stick

posted by MetalGamer (AUGUSTA, KS) May 8, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I Am The MetalGamer and i just got this game not too long ago and as soon as i put this game in my psp and got to the start menu i was amazed at the detail and the controlling the main thing that i love about it is that they found a way to put all of the controls to a psp with just one stick and the graphics are without a doubt one word "OUTSTANDING" and the physics are very accurate that sometimes i forget it is a game this game makes my top ten list.Thank you MetalGamer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No Replay Value

posted by synapsis51 (San Antonio, TX) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Button mashing at best. Higher levels the AI just parries your punches more. I beat the games with hooks, jabs, and especially haymakers. However, note that I didn't have to use any defense. No strategy needed... just get close and haymaker most of the time. Became BORED in about 10hrs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than expected!

posted by StratMan (MIAMI, FL) Nov 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

Graphics are great, good size, perspective and animations. Gameplay is smooth, good response with punches, timing, health and stamina. I was very impressed with movement and dodge reactions. One area that I can't stand or don't understand is why I can't fire or actually hire a cutman or trainer before the actual contact date and why can't I modify the contract date? Very obsurd that I was stuck with the $0 trainer for 52 weeks when I was less than $1k away from the $15k trainer I wanted. It's a bit slow to gain in the ranks but as you climb the opponents do get better and have more stamina. This game is one of the few that I feel is close to Monster Hunter, as it is entertaining and each bout takes only a handful of minutes. A great value for renting or purchase under $20.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fight Night Round 3 Was Okay

posted by bigzig06 (HOUSTON, TX) May 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

Fight Night Round 3 was an okay game. I liked the career game mode and enjoyed the fighting. But the games button configuration was a little difficult. The blocking was difficultly found.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love it

posted by steph3199 (JEMISON, AL) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

This game is great, love the music as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game

posted by MFSFNBIR (SENECA, SC) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

This is a great game for the psp. I am on career mode and that is da best. Every time i KO someone and it shows it in slow motion it makes me cringe(Not really). The PSP does not have a whole lot of good games anymore. But this is one that you just have to try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game Dont Work

posted by k1kill (YORKTOWN, VA) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

A blank black screen appears when this game is entered into my psp.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fight Night 1 meets 3

posted by skey11 (NORFOLK, VA) Jan 8, 2008

Member since May 2007

The game play feels similar to part 1 which is not bad. It took a structure to convert the buttons over due to the right analog was used for parrying and haymakers. They did a good job and its a fun game. A must have for the portable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

didn't like it

posted by jay7928 (LAWRENCEVILLE, IL) Dec 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

I really didn't like this game the controls didn't feel right the game looked good I have never liked any of EA's boxing games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

knocked out

posted by Simoun (CERRITOS, CA) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game was kind of ok to me. The boxer movement is almost realistic, career mode is fine, challenges were good enough.

The one thing (I think) that was missing in this game was the high number of boxers. Foreman, Tyson, Marciano, Dempsey, Lennox Lewis and Leon Spinx were among those boxers who were not in the game. Sure there were the other lower weight classes and the new boxers that made their weight class famous (morales, pacquiao, etc.), but (most of) the old time boxers were missing.

Controls are a bit difficult, as you have to press three buttons to parry. I find myself stuck using just one style in one match (although it is somewhat effective, but boring) and I was having the trouble to mix things up. Your signature punch is even done by pressing down on the d-pad.

but other than those few flaws. This game is a fun game to play with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Alright

posted by SDtllrTHNu (LILBURN, GA) Jul 16, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

I rented this game through the gamefly system. The graphics are great to be a handheld device. And the fights were pretty fun. until it got to a point when i had three different belts, and then when i would go to the training sessions even if i put my aggressiveness on normal (which promises no loss of attributes) i would consistently lose attributes after attributes until it got to a point where i couldn't win a fight. so I'm just giving this one a 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun For Awhile

posted by Chargerboy (SANTA MARIA, CA) May 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This game has so much potential, but just didn't pull it off. Creating your fighter and training him to the style of game play that you like is the best part. Only problem is, after your first couple fights you become to good at it. Most of the time you very seldom get past the first round. You will either knock the opponent out, or beat him up so bad they stop the fight. I would say this game is a must rent, but don't get your hopes up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great gameplay and graphics

posted by GamerAdams (COLLEGEVILLE, PA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

I love this game and still play it from time to time. My only criticism is that you can box well into your 50's and remain heavyweight champion by blocking and using specials until your opponent it knocked out. Here's to being 251-0 (230 KO's) when you are 60.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dont Do it

posted by itrules (PERU, IN) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

This game is not like the fight nights for the playstation 2 xbox gamecube or the 360.you have to sit there and button mash the whole time.there is no more of the full control stick which takes the fun out of it..good gameplay but just not the kind of portable game you would want to play with on the psp.if you want a good game madden 07 is a good one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ALL AROUND GOOD GAME

posted by bigBLU (OSHKOSH, WI) Oct 2, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

This game is good. I usually don't play fighters, but I decided to give this one a try. And it was worth it. Trying to advance through the ranks to become the top boxer in all the weight classes kept you coming back for more. Different styles of fighting had you change your strategies and kept every fight interesting. Though many boxers you can KO by simply punching his brains out and button mashing. For several of them you have to take a more defensive role. On line game play is a plus but there aren't many people on at any one point. I think this is a game that is at least worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its a great time killer

posted by Shantheman (HERSHEY, PA) Aug 8, 2006

Member since May 2006

This game is good if you've had a bad day and need to beat up someone or if your looking to kill some time. The control are a little tough to get used to because of all the button mashing. Its okay to rent, but I wouldn't waste money buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fight Night will keep you up all Night

posted by theflammer (TERRELL, TX) Jun 24, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

This is just another PSP game that has surpass my expectations. The graphics are very good and you can navigate thru it pretty easy. The fighters move around and flow really nice. You don't lose much from the PS2 version. The story line is extra nice and you'll find yourself playing hour after hour. Build your fighter and become CHAMPION of the WORLD.

---If you own or rented this, don't over look the PS2 version, it's really nice and has lot's of little extras.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What's the deal!!!

posted by gamingking (ATLANTA, TX) May 16, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

This game was overall good, nothing really incredible about it. They should have called this game Fight Night Round 2 because that's exactly what it was. No new arenas and the fight system was round 2ish. The game is more of a button masher than anything. Trust me it's not something worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent boxing game

posted by mysteryber (CORVALLIS, OR) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

Fight Night Round 3 is impressive. I am not a big fan of boxing but rented this game cause I was curious.

The boxing is not simply button mashing like most fighters. You must effectively learn how to block and when to throw the right punches.

You can customize your fighter to a certain look or play as one of many boxing legends. Sign fighting contracts as well as trainer and cut man contracts.

My biggest complaint about this game is it becomes relatively repetitive.

This game does have ad-hoc and infrastructure play which adds much to the replayability. However I have heard that the online play does suffer from a bit of lag.

If you're a fan of boxing you should love this game. Even if you're not check it out for something a bit different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »