Rent Fight Night: Round 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Fight Night: Round 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox, PS3, PSP Games
GF Rating
7.7

10130 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

True Next Gen

posted by Kenholio (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) May 8, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

54 out of 58 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Remember that the 360 version is much different than the Xbox or PS2 versions.
The 360 version really shows off the potential of next gen gaming. You have fighter models that, in a few cases, are nearly photo-photorealistic. No health bars, no timers, no nametags, no nothing on the screen except for you, your opponent and the ring and the crowd. That, along with the next-gen graphics, is what makes Fight Night 3 such an absorbing game. Every hit you dish out really makes you yell out, 'Take that B%^#h!', and every uppercut that connects with your fighter makes you want to flinch.
The controls take a bit getting used to if you're not familiar with the Fight Night system. No worries, flip on over to the tutorials for some practice and help and soon you'll understand. Once you learn the controls, you begin to figure out that strategy is important and can be used to dominate.
There are mini-games throughout. Training for the next career bout are done through mini-games. In between rounds, your swelling compress/cut-man are mini-games also.
The downsides to Fight Night is the learning curve for controls, the typical confusing EA menus (I bet some people don't even know there is a tutorial/practice mode), and the repetition. Yes, once you master the controls, every match basically becomes the same. Block, punch. Punch block. Stick and move. Powerhit. Knockdown. But then again, this is a SPORTS game, more specifically, a boxing game...so what else would you think this game would feature?
Tons of classic boxers, the best graphics in a game so far (if a game company can pull of graphics like this, this early in the 360's life, then we have a lot of good stuff to look forward to in the future!!), immersive gameplay, and an interesting control scheme make for one excellent game. DEFINITELY RENT. Even if you hate boxing, hate sports, or just hate this game, at least see it for the amazing visuals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

easy 1000 gamerscore...

posted by pslayer (CLARKSVILLE, IN) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game has great graphics, and just play career on easy for a easy 1000 ach points...very worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Boxing Perfection

posted by rkelez (SANTA ROSA, CA) May 1, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

29 out of 32 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

EA Sports is often tagged as releasing sequels as mere roster updates, Fight Night is not that case. This game absolutely perfects the boxing genre in a game. The visuals are the best available on the 360 and no game has been able to remotely come near the player models in this game. Full facial animations and body reactions for each punch are all flawlessly modeled. The incredible sounds of players barely breathing as they get tired, and bones cracking as you knock them to the ground over and over add to the experience. The controls are fluid and I wouldn't know what to add. I honestly see no way to improve the game as far as mechanics go. EA has perfected the Boxing genre with Fight Night and if they can create a lag-free environment online this game is an instant 10. With the 50% chance I play a match full of lag as is now, the game gets a solid 9 though.

Visual: 10/10
Sound: 9/10
Gameplay: 10/10
Replayability: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a bad launch title

posted by tsoharley (ADELANTO, CA) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

STORY - The career mode is pretty linear with a lot of repetition. Obviously this is a boxing game, but it would have been nice to do bit more than just fight and train the whole time. Perhaps a little more variety in the training mini games other than the three you can pick from would have helped but even then you may still want more unless you're a die hard boxing fan. In my weight class I only fought three legends (Muhammad Ali, Evander Holyfield, Roy Jones Jr.) about three times each and after forty plus fights against nearly the same ten opponents, I won't say I was bored but, I was really hoping for someone new to fight that wasn't a randomly generated nobody.

SOUND - In ring sounds are very realistic. When a powerful hit is landed, other people in the room just may turn their heads to see the hurt you're dishing out... or receiving. Aside from decent grunts, all fighters are silent. Some scripted scenes with trash talking could have added a great amount of tension between fights but that feature didn't find its way into the game. Ringside commentary doesn't sound bad but is often behind the action and occasionally inaccurate. As far as music is concerned, I hope you're ready to listen to the same twelve hip hop songs over and over again.

VISUALS - For a launch title, Fight Night Round 3 looks surprisingly good for the most part. Other than a lack of variety in cut scenes and the oddly anorexic ring girl character models, the game delivers a pretty genuine presentation. Replays of knock downs show great detail in facial ripples and blood splatters.

CONTROLS - Possibly the best and worst part of this game is the serious learning curve involved in mastering the controls that use primarily the thumb sticks to throw various punches. Even as I approached my final fight I was still struggling with timing and connecting punches. A great system if you can actually wrap your head around it.

STORY - 6.0
SOUND - 6.5
VISUALS - 7.0
CONTROLS - 7.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WOW!!

posted by roadrage (LEBANON, CT) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Only thing lacking in this game is a nice, in depth career mode. The career mode here is nothing more than picking a fight. Deeper character development would have been cool.

Well, that and the totally repetitive commentary - "He didn't see that one coming, and it's the one's you don't see that hurt the most"

Graphically, maybe the best visual game EVER - the character models are incredible - beads of sweat and facial expressions are just a few pieces of eye candy. The sound is great too, with ever hit sounding as though it's really in your face.

Having played the previous Fight Night's, this one felt right in line, though not a huge step in the evolutionary direction.

A great show piece, though a rental is enough for the casual gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fight Night Round 3 IS next-gen

posted by Ghostman (RICE, VA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When I think of next-gen the first things that come to mind are amazing visuals, theatrical sound quality, and spot-on gameplay. Fight Night Round 3 delivers in these departments and so many more. The graphics and visual effects are phenomenal. The light glistening off of the sweat, the expression of exhaustion on the combatants faces, the majestic movements of the boxers throwing punches ad bobbing and weaving to avoid them. The sound of panting, grunts, the shuffling and scraping against the surface of the mat, and punches reaching their targets with a booming echo. Give the knock-out punch and watch the mix of crimson and saliva slither through the cracks if his teeth, and the ripples forming in his cheeks from the skull crushing blow to your opponent's cranium. The sound of his jaw crackling, teeth shattering, fluids flowing out, and the climatic thud of his limp body crashing to the mat. I even enjoyed these effects when I took a knock-out blow. The controls are spot on, and the new moves fit in perfectly. Pull off a impact punch that connects and look through the eyes of your opponent as he is trying to block you, but your fists of fury penetrate his defense. If you want the full experience you may want to have a HDTV and a nice surround sound system. Career mode is back and even better, develop rivalries with boxers and have fights at the weigh-ins (the fight is more like a first person mini-game). I think it is highly replayable, and most of all it's fun and deep. If you have a xbox 360 there should be no reason to not have this game. This shows the xbox 360's capabilities, and in my opinion is truly a next-gen experience. Don't have it? Get IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Boxing Game

posted by HaloFreak (BLOOMINGTON, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Fight night round three has everthing you could want a pretty good single player mode superb graphics and rippling sounds. The online just takes it to another level its the best online game for 360 in no substitute to punding somebody's face on line unless you do that to a friend on the same 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good game but some minor drawbacks

posted by gabriel (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've recently rented this game and at first found incredibly amazing online and offline. However after really getting into the game I had to change my opinion on how great this game really is. The game has several types of game modes, the ones you will poor most of your time in will most likely be Career mode and Xbox Live. In career mode you start off as an amateur and work your way up to be the #1 ranked boxer in the world. It's addictive, but the career mode lacks some direction and goals, you basically just fight over and over again until your the best. So even if you are not that good of a gamer, you will eventually win. This will get repetitive after a while. More draw backs are some annoying bugs you will notice here and there and the over exaggerated advertisements; I'm surprised the cover of the game doesn't have a dodge vehicle or a whopper.

If you manage to master this game your best enjoyment will come from fighting opponents world wide on XBOX live or competing with your friend offline.

Graphically it looks really good. The sound is also very crisp and clear.

Overall the game has it's good qualities and addictive gameplay (especially online). It's flaws however keep it from being perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GRAPHICS-GRAPHICS

posted by jenr1214 (CUERO, TX) Sep 22, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

My husband loved this game when it first came out. The graphicsare awesome. The fights are realistic. And how about when you KO????
But it did get old to him fast...just about the same as last year, and one con about this game. The anouncers say the same things over and over and over. If they can make the graphics so realistic, why not the announcers?????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NOT A BAD BOXING GAME FOR SOMEONE WHO DOESNT....

posted by hskrdupooh (DE SOTO, MO) May 4, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Like boxing games. I've never known any game to both physically and mentally wear you out. The presentation is MIND BLOWING(except for the commentary does get old after the fifth fight; but it is also informative that either you or your opponent is about to hit the canvas). One thing they needed to scrap completely was the music(there is other music out there besides rap). Career mode and character creation was top notch too; believe me this one is gonna go in my collection soon or I'll just wait till next year. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention xbox live with this; LAG FREE and of course alot of smack talk too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Graphics, Slow Gameplay, A Little Repetitive

posted by FatalityX (SPRING GROVE, IL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Fight Night Round 3 Is a good game. I mean, it is worth renting. I wouldn't expect to much though. The graphics are amazing and the gameplay seems slow. The further in the game and the harder it gets it seems like the gameplay gets faster.
The game does get repetitive, it is fun for a while but it will seem like the same thing is happening throughout the entire game. Also the statistics show nothing and do nothing. Sure your punches might hit a little harder but you can take the worst featherweight against the strongest and biggest Heavyweight and the Feathweight guy can win if you throw the ultimate haymaker. It doesn't make sense it does seem fake sometimes and the slow motion punches of a knockdown also get repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Fighting Game

posted by Desdecardo (Paso Robles, CA) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was enjoyable due to the manageability of your career fighter and the constant training.

Fight controls were a bit rough. The only draw back. Sometimes you didn't know what you were throwing if you were even throwing at all.

The in game music draws on after about a half hour because you hear the same three songs over and over and over again.

I had the most fun throwing illegal blows and working the injured area until the fight was called.

Anyways, I was impressed by this game. Probably the best fighting game out on the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EA doesnt absolutely suck

posted by gorgeousp (FORT WALTON BEACH, FL) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Another good 360 launch title. Fight night has always been the best franchise coming out of EA being that everything else went downhill (madden, NBA live, etc..) Fight Night has steadily been progressing. The hit stick is the best part of this game as you choose which punches to throw instead of simple button mashing like the old Mike Tyson punchout. Throwing the wrong punch at the wrong time, and getting it countered will leave you on your back. Good job EA (for once).

The grahics are outstanding with blood and sweat flying all over the mat and hilarious knock-out replays (i have fell out my chair laughing multiple times)

Plenty of replay value fighting in different weight classes (from the quick but easy to knock out lightweights, to the slow but hard punching heavyweights. A single career mode runs pretty deep and will keep you busy for a nice while. As for the AI, they are pretty much:

A. sluggers who like to throw haymakers whose punches will put you out in a few rounds if they land. (the heavy weights)
B. guys who like to dance around and jab you to death (Ali, most of the light to middle wieghts). these guys will take you into the later rounds and really test your stamina
C. all around fighters (Roy Jones Jr, and light heavy weights). will dance around then put you to sleep it you make a mistake.

GRIPES
-Burger King is horrible, so is Dodge. Product placement galore here
-mini games are pretty boring and hit/miss for leveling up (heavy bag, weights, combo dummy) wish there was a more user friendly system for that
-"Rivals", the guys you have been cleaning floors with your entire career yet somehow they are your roadblock to greatness for every title match, huh??

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW! This game is amazing.

posted by shorty143 (CLOVIS, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is truly unbelievable. I was hesitant to even rent Fight Night Round 3 as I'm not a boxing fan at all! But...once I started playing this game I was hooked, and even purchased the game. Throwing solid punches that are on target, destructive, or well-timed may take some practice, but it is well worth your time. You have the option of using the right stick to throw punches or changing the controller layout and using the buttons. Trust me, if you practice with the right stick you will be glad you did. Button mashing will get you nowhere. You can create your own boxer of any class, make him look however and wear whatever you want, unlock famous boxer punch combinations, and challenge each other in any combination in multi-player. Or you can box as or against famous boxers in single or multiplayer mode. The single player options (and there are many) are very fun, and the online play is outstanding if online play is for you. What I really appreciated about this game is that you can box the same opponent more than once without it being the same fight every time. The graphics and sound are very realistic and simply amazing. The only reason I didn't give this game a 10 is because I'd like to have more options in the music soundtrack, and occasionally between rounds I couldn't hear the trainer. Other than that, perfection! Boxing fan or not, you have to give this game a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's a knock out!

posted by Funfactor (Cypress, CA) Apr 11, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

Challenge Me. I challenge anyone to find a better boxing game since Mike Tyson’s Punch Out was released for the NES back in the day. Oh man has this game got it all. Every boxer you can think of, well, except maybe Tyson. You know an ear-biting special move would be kind of cool. Anyway. What makes this game so great is that it’s easy to pick up and play with a simple control system and for those die-hard fans a bit of realism with accurate joystick controls to pinpoint that hook and jab just where you want it. Career mode is the way to go which starts you as a rookie working your way to title champion. You’ll progress while going through some mini-game like training sessions build your fighter’s attributes, eventually getting your shot at the title. You can also play single fights with a friend and even go online and challenge the best. Of all the versions out there the Xbox 360 looks the best. With the face distortion effects after a hard punch, it’s so realistic it hurts to watch. Don’t miss out on this one. No matter what system you own it’s a must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good graphics

posted by platan0 (NEW YORK, NY) May 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

gameplay is cool, rented this to get geared up for the new UFC game just to be in the punching fighting mood. definitely fun to play but not much replay value once your done with the career mode.

didn't play the multiplayer, so can't judge on that. can't wait for round 4!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fight Night 3 in my opinion is ok... just ok

posted by ALThumz (SABATTUS, ME) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I know some really like this game; but I found the gameplay slow and the movements awkward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by emospanker (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Photo realistic game play and I thought I was watching tv. Loads of endless fun and the punches just make you excited when you knock someone out. Especially when it's in slow motion.Must rent or buy this game.Completely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Patience Needed!

posted by glthrowdow (ORANGE PARK, FL) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

FNR3 is a game I really did not like at first. I am a mortal kombat/tekken/standard fighting game kind of guy.. so I was very new to these boxing type games.

But I gave some patience and ended up enjoying this game.

The Good - Really beautiful graphics. Really takes advantage of the 360's capabilities.
-Character creation does a fantastic job at really letting you customize your character to the fullest.
-1000 achievement points for playing straight through career mode(and making sure not to fail ANY of the main events).

The bad- Really frustrating to get into at first. There is really not a tutorial or anything to help you understand how to play this game.
-Controls are very VERY awkward.
-During fights some of the dialogue really does not match up correctly. During a scene the trainer will say you did really good in that last round then 10 seconds later he will say something like "cmonnn you can do better than that." ?????

So if you have some patience, try this game out. It's worth a rent at least

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Slow, boring and too annoying to control.

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Throw it back in the oven and call me when its done. Seems like they were making a purists game when adding a bit more of an arcade style would have benefited the title far more. Game was slow moving, difficult to consistently control and pretty boring. Back in the envelope it goes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fight Night Round 3 (completely original)

posted by Constable (SEAL BEACH, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not my normal type. Great introduction and appropriate soundtrack (though I don't care for that sect of hip-hop I'm more of a reggae/dancehall guy). The graphics are superb. These are better than arcade graphics. After you get socked up, the sound of the fight changes and you look dazed and it's almost time for a knock-out. These fighters are so realistic. Nice cut-scenes when one is actually knocked out. The VS. mode is nice too. Bottom line for me....my friend came over and kicked my butt. I found the controls to be difficult and to do continuous punching is difficult. BUT I didn't spend many hours with this game, nor did the tutorial(training) session. You can re-live classic ESPN boxing nights by playing or watching them. I heard that if you got any of the previous Fight Night games this one is easy to learn. But I found it difficult to play. I would rent it if you have xbox360 just to see what else this system is capable of displaying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great boxing game

posted by DBroncos15 (WOODLAKE, CA) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best boxing game i have ever played. The controls take a little while to get used to becuz you control the punches by the way u move the right analog stick but thats wut i like so much about it. The graphics are insane u can see the ripples in the face wen they get hit u can see the sweat pouring off them its just a great game. The storyline is really fun trying to become the champion and it gets extremely challenging as you go on. The multiplayer is the best though. My friends and i can literally sit there for hours fighting eachother. I love the stadiums my only compalint about the game is that you dont fight in the MGM Grand and that was a huge dissapointment but other then that the game is perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Career mode arcade

posted by fjccommish (HUMBLE, TX) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

The game is great for an arcade experience, but career mode leaves a lot to be desired. Instead of moving up the ranks to become a contender and then a champion, career mode consists of a number of sponsored belts. You'll box a mish mash of boxing legends, with no care whether they're light weights, middle weights or heavy weights.

Instead of going after the heavyweight title, you go after the Burger King title or the EA title, each one granting a number of unlocks.

While game play mechanics are great, this arcade style career mode ruined the fun for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gross

posted by KoreanOni (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Roy Jones Jr. sweat literally flew out of my t.v. and hit me in the face.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks.

posted by matrix4583 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 30 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

The graphics for this game is great, but the gameplay sucks. All you do is just punching the other guys untill he's knock down. E.A should put out new things to this game, instead of having to just punching the guy over and over. That's boring. They should atleast have a story mode and Combo in the game. I hate game that has to deal with same thing over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse