Rent Fight Night: Round 3 for Xbox
view large frontback

Fight Night: Round 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

1062 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Impressed

posted by wolve01 (ROCHELLE, GA) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not much of a boxing fan, but this game impressed me very much, the graphics are good, and the fights are good. I reccomend this game to anyone who is tired of those button mashing combo games. Just give this one a shot, the fighting is perfect, and the combos are simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Stick with Round 2 unless you have a 360

posted by orpheus (MODESTO, CA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's not that this game is bad, not at all. It's just that it doesn't do anything new that's worth doing.

Fight Night Round 2 was an absolute blockbuster--the kind of game that made you stand up and take notice. It controlled perfectly, made great use of the "Cut Man" mechanic and was just generally fun.

While no less fun, this game fails to break any new ground on the Xbox. Most disappointing, it shrivels some of the cool features from Round 2 until they seem tacked on and useless (like the diminished version of the cut man mini game, for example).

Controls are great, graphics are good, but unless you own an Xbox 360 (where the visuals are INCREDIBLE), there is no reason to own this one if you've played the previous version.

Pros: Good variety of boxers, different stances and defenses, and online play

Cons: The cut man isn't as fun, you can't view the actual ranking ladder in career mode and it's not as fun as you would think trying to decide which pair of trunks you should buy to increase your punching power (huh?).

Verdict: RENT IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best boxing sim

posted by XboxGamer (KINGSLEY, PA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I got this game and really enjoyed the career mode right off the bat. It was very fun creating a boxer and working my way up the ranks. Game play was highly addictive and the graphics were beautiful.

A few problems held this game back though, one was its lack of content. There were not very many items to buy in the store in reality. I had almost all the top items in about 5 hours of game play I'd guess.

Online mode is really fun, but if you're the challenger or the 2nd player on the right, it totally ruins the game. The camera angle isn't switched to were both people can view there own boxer on the left side of the screen like they're so used to, who ever is on the right in the selection screen is on the right during the fight and your thumbs aren't used to the punches and blocks because it just feels awkward and different.

The only other problem with this game is my right thumb got very, very sore! Moving that right analog stick with quick snaps really does a number on it.

Yes, there are a few problems with this game but this is a must rent for anyone remotely interested in boxing games. You will probably end up buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's a knock out!

posted by Funfactor (Cypress, CA) Apr 11, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Challenge Me. I challenge anyone to find a better boxing game since Mike Tyson’s Punch Out was released for the NES back in the day. Oh man has this game got it all. Every boxer you can think of, well, except maybe Tyson. You know an ear-biting special move would be kind of cool. Anyway. What makes this game so great is that it’s easy to pick up and play with a simple control system and for those die-hard fans a bit of realism with accurate joystick controls to pinpoint that hook and jab just where you want it. Career mode is the way to go which starts you as a rookie working your way to title champion. You’ll progress while going through some mini-game like training sessions build your fighter’s attributes, eventually getting your shot at the title. You can also play single fights with a friend and even go online and challenge the best. Of all the versions out there the Xbox 360 looks the best. With the face distortion effects after a hard punch, it’s so realistic it hurts to watch. Don’t miss out on this one. No matter what system you own it’s a must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better Boxing, worse presentation

posted by DeezNutz (BROOMFIELD, CO) May 5, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Overall, I enjoy this game a lot. I have a 15 - 0 welterweight boxer and i've finally gotten to my million $ fight.

Compared to Round 2 though, this version feels lacking in the presentation. The crowd looks horrible, they've removed the ring girl and entrance music options (overall the music has like 10 tracks... why did any developers ever use the ripped music off of the harddrive???).

On the upside, the ragdoll effect after a KO looks much better, like the boxer's body actually has some weight to it.

Also, the Boxing, the meat of the game, is much more balanced. No longer can you rip off 10 Haymaker Hooks and just demolish an opponent. Also the new stances and styles add a lot to make it feel like "this is how I would want to fight".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fight night round 3

posted by qwe123 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

this game is cool i the best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight Night 3

posted by steve74 (MARION, OH) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game sucked..... it was the first game I have rented from this site, and if the next one is this bad, I will NEVER spend another dime here!!!! I had to wait 3 days to get the game, and then.... it FREEZES EVERY TIME I PLAY IT!!!!!! ARE YOU KIDDING Me????????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Aww Here Comes the Haymaker!

posted by Seenuram (HENDERSONVILLE, TN) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

There's something immensely satisfying about watching a slow-motion replay of the moment you just knocked the f#&% out of your opponent. I don't play that many sports games, so I didn't know what to expect with this one (the last boxing game I played was cartoony on Dreamcast), but I was pleasantly surprised by Fight Night 3. Nitpicking is all I can do to criticize, because the gameplay itself is easy to pick up- after you get your lessons in sparring mode, anyway- and AWESOME once you get the hang of it. I never got past career mode because once I creaed my guy, I was addicted to picking contracts and training him up to be better, stronger, and faster than the other guys. But skill plays a role here- form can win over power. Yeah I wish the ref didn't repeat himself so much, but its still cool to hear him give the play-by-play, and I wish the boxer's faces were a little more expressive, but when you're watching them get more and more bruised and beaten as the fights wear on, you can't complain. My biggest complaint is that the fighting style is slightly different in training, which makes it hard to level up, but to be fair, if they changed it, you'd have no competition. Once you learn how to block, weave and dodge, and throw those grisly haymakers, it's nothing but highly addictive good times. Great game for Xbox. Hope they just get better on 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by matthjhj (SALEM, NH) Aug 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

this game was great the game play was good no button mashers but the heal between rounds was not very great good bye low lifes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Where in the world is the greatest fighter(tyson)

posted by mjryan37 (DURHAM, NC) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

I thought the game was pretty good but what I don't get is why they never put mike tyson into any of the boxing games. You can say what you want to about him but he was one of the most dominant professional boxers of all time. People used to think that Mohammed Ali was controversial and he's still in the game. I'm not saying that Tyson is comparable to Ali, I'm just saying that he was a heck of a fighter and he shouldn't be just left out. How many other people had 19 knockouts in the first round? They should feature him in future fight night games and his signature punch should be a crushing hook. And if you hit the illegal punch button, he should go for the ear. If anyone feels a reason why he should be left out of boxing games, just watch "Tyson's Greatest hits" the next time it comes on ESPN classic and observe the type of domination and power that he displayed in the prime of his career.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by porkykid (GRAND BLANC, MI) Jan 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I bought this game before it even hit the shelfs at the stores i knew it'd be a classic and it was!!

huge selections of fighters wide open career mode several different styles to perfect ..each playing a foil to another

if i knew how too get on xbox live this would be a constent staple perfect for dual action

out of 1-10 i gave it a 10 ..if i could i'd give it a 15 .. very very verrry well done this game is

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Face Punching Good Time

posted by OKRecords (ASHBURN, VA) Dec 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

This is probably the best boxing game to come about since Mike Tyson's Punch Out for the Nintendo. Fight Night Round 3 is great. The controls are smooth, and the graphics are great...Not as good as the 360, but they still hold their own.

If you're looking for a great boxing game, this is it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best

posted by SuperFight (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 11, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

this game was the best boxing game i ever played others dont stand up to this game at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

"Fighting" my disappointment

posted by Mausaeus (LONG BEACH, CA) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

I have played the other "Fight Nights"....I really would have thought that by "Round 3", SOMETHING - ANYTHING would have changed !! It's the SAME characters, the SAME trunks, shoes, gloves, tats, moves, ugh.....everything !!

I was truly disappointed that NOTHING was different, with the frustrating exception being that in the fight store, you have to scroll through ALL the stuff - it is not separated out as in Round 2 & there is no ring girl & entrance stuff you can choose from, as in Round 2!!

It is a GREAT boxing game - really FUN....

.....but like I stated already, something could be different by #3!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fight Night Round 3

posted by Rid117 (ROBERTSVILLE, MO) Jun 8, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

Fight Night Round 3 is the best 3D fighting game yet on any platform. The atmosphere and tension in this game is reminiscent to the real sport of boxing. You’ll often time find yourself cringing at your selected boxers anguish. This is what distinguishes Fight Night Round 3 from every other fighting game.

The graphics in the game are great especially the fighters themselves. The most visually appealing element of the game is, without a doubt, when an event takes place right before a player in knocked unconscious. At this time the game will slow down and zoom in to show a recap of the last few seconds of the fight.

The audio of Round 3 is consistently very good. Everything from the songs in the menus, to the visceral, bone-crunching sounds of the fighting, and commentary is perfect in this game. Everything from the cheering crowds, and every punch that you land, or is landed on you is done with amazing production values.

The game play of Round 3 is very similar to previous titles in the series, but this time it is much more polished. All the punching and blocking is done with the analogue sticks and it works extremely well. The controls are easy to pick up and learn, but nearly impossible to master.

Overall I think this is a rental, because you’ll find yourself playing this game a lot for a few days but you’ll only continue to play for the great multiplayer.

Additional Info
· 1-2 player online and off
· PS3 version includes a “Get in the Ring” mode in which you’ll play the game in first person
· There are 30+ boxers in the game (some have to be unlocked)
· The 360 version was the first game ever to score a 10/ 10 from Official Xbox Magazine

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by IronSpade (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Im not into fighting games all that much but there are a few fighting games that I love and one is Fight Night R:3. The game has great graphics, great career mode, and great details into making your own boxer. I dont own at of game because after I beat them I get board of them but this game I can never get board of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game blew me away

posted by metarok (STOCKTON, MO) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

WOW im not a boxing game fan but when i picked up the controller i was amazed how challenging it was.....when i first started playing it was pretty hard.....but when when you got it all down ........its a blast...... ONE PUNCH!!!!!!!that's all you need if your really good at this game......I love this game sooooo much that i went and became a feather weight and challenged mohhamedalee(sp)heavy weight it took me 45 minutes but i won believe me GET THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A smattering of foul words cloud this title

posted by FamilyMan (WASILLA, AK) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

On a Family Friendly scale of 1-10, Fight Night Round 3 receives a 4. Although certainly not the worst title on the market by a long shot, unecessary language, a hardcore gangster rap soundtrack, and scantily clad women make this game avoidable by smart parents.

Although the gameplay is fairly smooth, some of the knockdown sequences get very repetitious. The actual mechanics of fighting are not hard once you have taken the training sessions, but it would be frustrating to pick up a controller and just try to play a quick round without learning some of the moves first.

Most of the language comes on the games' soundtrack, and, although the "really bad" explitives are left out, there are plenty of milder profanities scattered throughout. More of the language comes from your sideline coach in between rounds. Although you can skip all the banter by pressing A, little 8 year old Johnny, or little Suzy Q may not know how.

More of the objectionable content comes in the form of the very scantily clad, and very anatomically correct models that tout the Round 1, 2, etc., signs about. Nothing more is shown than their very small bikinis, but this may be enough to cause you to steer clear.

All in all, this game receives a 4 on the family friendly scale.

-Jesse Miller's reviews are not simply his opinion of the games, but a review of the family friendliness of a game. He has been a youth pastor for 7 years, and resides in the fridgid north of Alaska with his beautiful wife, and guinea pig.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FNR3 Review

posted by allstargmr (GRAND JUNCTION, CO) Jan 8, 2007

Member since May 2006

Fight Night round 3 is the best Fight Night yet. As far as boxing games go, this one is fun, responsive and as real as they have been able to get so far. Deffinately rent this one you won't be sorry, especially if you hold some invite only tourneys at your spot with some friends and some beer like I do. Good Times

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game eeeeeeeeeeeeeeverrrrrrrrr- rrrrrrrrrrrr

posted by MichaelTP (RIVERSIDE, CA) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

this was probably the worst game i had ever played. the crowd sucked and there wasnt any ring girl. do not buy/rent this game, it is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Close to a 10

posted by SnwBrdr (EAGLE, ID) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

like this game quite a bit. This is the first game that actually got me to stop playing Socom3. I especially like the career mode where you build your own boxer. If you have the time and patience and somewhat of an eye you can make him look almost exactly like you. I don't have any of those so my character is close.

The controls are not the easiest to master I've been playing for about 15 hours and I'm still learning all the ins and outs. I think this game was the best of the series, I also like if you are winning every round or losing every round you can change the difficulty setting on the fly.

As far as the graphics go the replay scenes get a little old (how many ways can you actually knock a guy out.) What doesn't get old is seeing the blood splatter everywhere when you give a knockout punch. If you listen to the announcer for a few rounds you can pretty much turn him off also, except if you want to hear how the judges my be scoring the round as you are going. He also gives tips as you are fighting if you are winning or losing.

Overall a very good game, I will play a while and eventually own this one. I haven't thought the past Fight Night games have been worth owning but this one definitely is. Rent it, Buy it, do what you gotta do to get this in your system and play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

77 Knock Outs No loses- MiddleWeight

posted by 77KnockOut (WHITTIER, CA) Aug 26, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

I've played all the games in this series ,since knock out kings 1. And this by far is the most challenging game when set to HARD. I've been impressed with the AI so far.. on all settings.
The only thing I would change is bringing back "Mike Tyson"..despite the bad attitude he is one of our best heavyweights and is missed in the video games. They did change how many times you can hit a falling boxer during the KO- you can still do it but you have to be allot quicker.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A combo of greatness

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Aug 7, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

This game was excellent, for a while. the first thing I noticed was the awesome graphics. then I was easily able to get used to the controls. the gameplay is good, you can pull off combos using jabs, hooks, uppercuts, and even throw in a powerful signature punch like Joe Frazier's left hook. there's a cool story mode were you can create a boxer and train him how you want. but unless you play with some friends then this game loses its touch fast. I give it a 7, out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

swab them cuts buddy

posted by aaron126 (ADRIAN, MI) Jul 31, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

if you play alot of games with you friends this game is for you, single player is fun but nothing compared to bloodying up your least favorite friend in a good ol fasion night of fighting. many things take away from this though, there are only maybe 4 or 5 rings( which gets old SO fast) and comentators that repeat themselves literally EVERY match (that gets old even faster) and a fighting engine that doesnt explain itself, sometimes you'll get KO'ed out of nowhere after destroying your opponent and they'll win with a knockdown, also players dont respond very good, not bad, but not smooth. and replays are HORRIBLE, they will say "lets see how he dominated that round" and it will show a slow mo of a completly random moment in the match. compared to previous titles this game lacks just as much, i would only recomend this for friends or if you got a 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome video Game

posted by cooldude10 (POLAND, OH) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

In this game you can easily hit people with haymakers.The career mode is awesome and the songs were mostly rap.The only part about this game I didn't like was making different punches hard but it's still awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse