Rent Fight Night: Round 3 for PS2
view large frontback

Fight Night: Round 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

1565 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Almost like Fight Nite Round 2

posted by GameGod656 (TEMPE, AZ) Jul 5, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was good but it reminded of Fight Nite Round 1 and 2. The game had more zest and more boxing types but it lacked some of the better boxers in boxing history and the game needed more arenas to box in to give a feel of working your way up in the ranks to become the best. But the ESPN classic matches were fun to do and gave you a you a look into boxing history. The game was fun hope you have fun playing the game, GameGod656 signing off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but needs improvement.

posted by LDizzle (CHANDLER, AZ) May 30, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game. It's a lot of fun either solo or against a friend(or foe, your call). I just think that it could have been better. For one, there should have been more fighters to play with, or they could have substituted some. We were missing great heavyweight fighters such as: Mike Tyson(duh), Lennox Lewis, George Foreman, Joe Luis, Rocky Marciano, Jack Johnson and a few more I can't think of right now. Where was Sugar Shane Mosley(huh). They should have had some of those guys in there instead of who they chose. Floyd Patterson(come on), why not have George Foreman in his place. He would have whipped Floyd Patterson any day of the week. Tyson instead of Toney. Lennox instead of Big E.(never even heard of him. Rocky Marciano instead of Goliath(same as big E. who?). That's just the fighters. About Realistic. What fighter will just stand still for five seconds and allow you to pummel him after a parry? I have boxed before and it's never happened for me or my opponent. After a fighter's punch is parried/pushed away he will just stand there for 3-5 seconds paralyzed and ready for punishment. This is dumb and unrealistic. Change it for Round 4, developers. All the impact punches are hard to throw in succession and are very slow and easily blocked, parried or dodged. Through it all, I still enjoyed the game a lot. It's fun, amusing, and downright entertaining. I busted out laughing when I saw the Burger King mascot, escorting my opponent into the ring. The Commentators are hilarious. The trainers are gut busting. Despite all my dislikes, there was still a lot to love about Fight Night Round 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's a knock out!

posted by Funfactor (Cypress, CA) Apr 11, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Challenge Me. I challenge anyone to find a better boxing game since Mike Tyson’s Punch Out was released for the NES back in the day. Oh man has this game got it all. Every boxer you can think of, well, except maybe Tyson. You know an ear-biting special move would be kind of cool. Anyway. What makes this game so great is that it’s easy to pick up and play with a simple control system and for those die-hard fans a bit of realism with accurate joystick controls to pinpoint that hook and jab just where you want it. Career mode is the way to go which starts you as a rookie working your way to title champion. You’ll progress while going through some mini-game like training sessions build your fighter’s attributes, eventually getting your shot at the title. You can also play single fights with a friend and even go online and challenge the best. Of all the versions out there the Xbox 360 looks the best. With the face distortion effects after a hard punch, it’s so realistic it hurts to watch. Don’t miss out on this one. No matter what system you own it’s a must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Shaky 3rd Round

posted by bustamoves (MURRIETA, CA) Jun 21, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is almost the same as past versions, but if you aren't an avid Fight Night fan, this game could give you some problems. The punches at the beginning of your carreer are very slow, and it hurts the realism of the game, but if you play with more advanced fighters, or if you get better, Round: 3 becomes more of a fun boxing game. The analog stick punching can cause problems at the beginning, but the more you play, the easier it becomes. I also noticed, that very often, matches will be one sided from the start, and if your on the wrong end, it is almost impossible to win. Fight Night Round:3 got a 5 from me, because of the slow punching, and difficult controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Topping last Fight Night Round 2

posted by Breeze27 (WASHINGTON, MO) Jul 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Boxing has always been a very hard genre to come out with a great and realistic game that makes the gamer feel like they are actually in the ring. Fight night is no different.

The graphics are great, with few complaints. I have seen some glitches. However they are not big enough to complain about.

The game play seems like button mashing. There is very little technique involved in playing Fight Night. The AI is redicolous. I do not feel that the cut man ablitity that is between rounds is worth anything, again it comes down to mashing on your controller buttons.

Fight Night 3 needs many things to make it a great game, and EA sports has a ways to go before it can say it made a great boxing game. There needs to be some skill involved and no button mashing. There needs to be a better training period instead of the more button mashing stuff that they have inserted.

Good gaming to all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

normal

posted by davidboggs (BROOKLYN, MD) Jun 28, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well lets began with its pritty fun the graphics are pretty good and it can be very addicting but after a while it gets boring but its still werth the rent its real fun and if you keep loosing the match then strong punch with r2 and time it reight then it is pritty easy and thats about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fight Night Round 3 wins big with first round KO!

posted by wandarut (EAGLE GROVE, IA) May 31, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Now, don't get me wrong, but I'm not a really big boxing game fan. The last video game with boxing that I actually enjoyed was Mike Tyson's Punch-Out some twenty years ago (I know, I'm dating myself). The very day I got this game in the mail, I hated it; let me explain. My TV is on the fritz, and all I see are blurry imiages when the print in a game is too small, or too oddly colored. Well, FNR3 totally sucks when it comes to reading anything on the screen (if you have a 10 year old TV like I do). The print is too small, and what's the deal with orange? Don't get me wrong, orange is my second favorite color, but it makes a lousy print color. OK, now that I'm done complaining, let me get to the point. FNR3 is an INCREDIBLE game. The use of the right analog stick for "total punch control" totally rocks. I can almost feel the adrenaline rush right now just thinking about a sweet 4 hit combo to Roy Jones Jr.'s face. You can actually feel the punches as you swing, jab, and roundhouse your opponent. No game I have ever played felt as instinctual or natural (once I got the hang of it). I highly recommend this addictive game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Boxing games STILL at a standstill

posted by GameWizard (TRAFFORD, PA) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was very anxious to play this game, that may have been the reason for some of my disappointment, or maybe it was just the nature of the game.

There isn't much difference between this game and the previous ones, its more like just an update with better graphics if anything. This is more or less a career game to make your own boxer and control, train, and upgrade. The only other real feature is one on one.

The effort they put into the movement of the boxers was great, the graphic end of it is actually pretty good, but then there are things like to many slow motion replays on punches that really aren't that good and it takes away from what you think you saw. (like an NFL replay showing your favorite player actually stepped out of bounds)

A feature that I thought was neat was the ESPN Classic section, there you can control/watch historical battles such as Ali vs. Frazier. I sim. watched this fight and it was like watching a low production event on tv, Ali moves real smooth. :)

I gave this gave a 7 initially and then realized that the peak of the game came in the first hour or 2 of playing and i knocked it down to a 6.

The A.I. in this game is alright, each fake character has his own way of fighting, and the real characters are few and far between each other and not reall a big deal when you get to them.

I retired my Career after 54 fights, and my record was 53-1(DQ-elbow)-0 with 53 KOs Over 40 KOs took place in the first or early second round. And this on the hard level... So yea, not very challengeing, but good if you just like to make a guy unrealistically good in a sport game.

When will there finally be a good breakthrough in Boxing games? When will HBO finally step in and stop letting this debauchery of boxing take place? I hope soon, because I felt like I wasted a rental on this one after the first 2 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its ok

posted by SopRanaJi (PASSAIC, NJ) Aug 1, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was aright. The replays SUCK, its hard to customize your boxer because everything is so expensive, 300,000 for a pair of gloves? horrible also if you want a better trainer then the wack one they give you, you have to buy a better one for more money but the stupid thing is that you have to pay EVERYTIME you want the trainer. I would think if you pay 25,000 once the trainer is yours. This game wasnt all that, the old school knockout kings is way better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth the time.

posted by Knockout24 (MIAMI, FL) Jun 3, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not what I expected at all. I believe that when a game continues as part of a series it should get better. Not the case with this game it just goes backwards in graphics that is. I was shocked to see that the graphics in the first fight night was much better than this one. I give the graphic an F. I also would give the game play an F because in reality the game bored me didn't keep me wanting to continue playing I just kept playing so I could give my honest review. In conclusion I would like to finish now cause I devoted entirely to much time now to this game and it's more than it deserves, so in conclusion don't waste your time with this one just wait and see if they bother doing something better for the upcoming game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too Slow.

posted by Lvshak1 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jun 1, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For a fighting/boxing game it's way to slow. Controls are anything but user friendly and the graphics aren't all that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The game is off the hock

posted by Tony413 (CHICOPEE, MA) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The Game was off the hock graphic was good better then the other boxing games.I like how u control this boxers in your hand the analog controling is sick i love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Absolutely Stunning!

posted by ShaggyCW (DAYTON, OH) Jun 10, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I never really was much of a boxing person ever since the Mike Tyson Punch Out days on NES. I have also played every Fight Night. But this one is addictive as heck..

The controls are very accurate and the graphics for the PS2 are amazing. I play this for at least 4 or more hours a day..
The online play is a little slow sometimes but doesn't take much away from the gameplay. It is fun to hear the person your playing beg for mercy.

Overall a great game and a definite must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GOOD GAME

posted by trev05 (Parker, CO) May 30, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

OK so the game is awesome to play, but there really are not too many differences between this one and the last one, actually the KO scenes in round 2 were better. Great game, but only real difference are the Rivals that make for a good fight. I would still buy it , but only used not worth new $$.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak

posted by Primalfear (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 11, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I mean where do I begin, the action was slow, the haymakers were slow, the graphics were the same, I mean don't get me wrong it looks good on 360 but for us ppl who cann't afford to get 360's and ps3's right now it sux, it just annoyed me how much it sucked, round 2 was way better, it was more faster, meaning it didn't take me 3 minutes to throw a haymaker. Bottom line, I'm sorry EA but you could've done a lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREATNESS IN BOXING

posted by nhytr456 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) May 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Fight night round 3 is oneof the great boxing gms of al time wile watching it it made me feel as if I was at the fight.The game has many great features such as the traning mode thi is the first boxing game that I have played that lets you do that.And the fight store so you can get your guy looking and boxing like a real pro.There is some disadvatages like the fact that the graphics are good but they could bo alot better.

FIGHT NIGHT ROUND 3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

hmmm

posted by Ndru000 (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) May 22, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

so when i first got this game the controls got me a little irrated cuz usually i dont go through training.

After a few hours i finally got the controls down, and then the game was kinda fun to play. But i have a rule and that rule is one of the major reasons i rated this game so low, the rule is - if you cant pick up a controller and be able to play the game the way the game is meant to be played then the game is not that good. What that means is you shouldnt have to remember and learn new controlls for every single game you play. When i pick up a first person shooter i feel like the shoot button should be R1 if its not then the game is lacking no other button feels like it should shoot, that button was made to shoot! When i pick up a boxing game i did not expect to have to zig zag the left analog stick all over the place in order to hit. The grapics were not as good as they should have been. There were many boxers and that was a nice. Not the greatest boxing game out there but if you pick up on the controls then you may enjoy it.

rent it at your own risk, i cant see anyone buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fight Night Round 3!

posted by franksoto91 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I played the 1st Fight Night for the PS3, I really enjoyed the game. when I joined Gamefly I only had a PS2(at the time) so I decided to try out Fight Night 3.

I think its a great game, I was addicted to the Career mode. Every time I picked up the controller I couldn't put it down 6 match's later.

The controls are easy to get the hang of and eventually you develop boxer reactions (I am a boxer) you learn to read the other boxers in the game and really get caught up in the action.

I'd say the game is worth a play if your looking for an interpersonal fighting game.

The only drawback is the small variety of arena's and legendary boxers. and other factors based on the system itself not the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by CoCh123 (BLANCHESTER, OH) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Good, but Career does't work(Freezes) other wise it is a great game, with amazing graphics....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

my hopes were smashed

posted by bovinator (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

i thought this game was going to be good and looked foward to playing it. the controls were horrible, the fighting system just stunk and when you got KO'D it was hard to get back up.DO NOT RENT OR BUY THIS GAME...YOU ARE WASTING YOUR TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

da bomb

posted by ave180 (MAINEVILLE, OH) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

th
is game is awesome!! it actually feels like your boxing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

In the ring

posted by TNT1992 (FAIRFIELD, CA) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

I am new to the Fight Night franchise, but any follow-ups to this one are definitely on my queue(?). The punch controls were well thought out, and the stamina system makes for a tough fight if you are like me. Very challenging and the good graphics make it all the better. I would recommend this game to anybody I know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it's a terrible game

posted by kingofsith (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

this game is a waste of time while it has better looking graphics the gameplay is slow really slow. you will like the round 2 better more players but funky really slow moves

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

game frozen

posted by eddieo (ROYAL OAK, MI) Jul 12, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

game would not play too scratched up. froze up in career mode. looked like a great game otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The weavy weight champion of boxing games

posted by uptown77 (PENSACOLA, FL) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

There is no other boxing game that can compare to this great graphic, great control, chanllgeing but no stressful it's the best. It float like a butterfly and string like bee

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse