Rent Fight Night Champion for PS3
view large frontback

Fight Night Champion

Rent

Keep for: $18.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.2

3882 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Champion of Fight Night Series

posted by CaTch22 (UTICA, NY) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Many of the EA Sports franchises have gone down hill since their inceptions, and Fight Night definitely was one ready for a rebirth.

Champion is a much improved game from previous titles. The newest addition is the wonderful story mode. The story mode while generic, will keep you wanting to play more, and more. The only negative aspect of the story mode is, it ends much too soon.

Legacy mode is unchanged. The only thing that I can think of being different in legacy is the training games seem easier from FN4. The ranking system in Legacy is ridiculous, especially P4P. For example, I can keep beating the number one ranked guy, and only go up from 15 to 13. That doesn't make any sense, especially considering the guy would have 14 pounds on my fighter. Rankings need improvement.

The gameplay is pretty fun, although it doesn't really seem much different. The fight sticks are pretty sensitive, which can be fairly annoying at times.

Overall the game has been quite fun. I haven't played online as I don't like playing online other than with friends. I bought the game when it came out, but I would definitely recommend at least renting it for any sports game fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Iron Mike + The Roots = Happiness

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Starting this game I was not really a fan of boxing or hip hop music. I now appreciate both. The list of pro boxers and licensed music on this game are amazing. I have been playing the Fight Night series since the first one arrived on the PS2 and I have really enjoyed all of them. Just like round 3 revolutionized the genre with the analog hit stick, this game revamps those controls, in my opinion for the better. In round 3, I hated the hadouken motion you had to perform a haymaker. Now all you have to do is hold the R2 button while swinging and out comes power punches. The only negative with the analog punches is that sometimes you will throw more punches than intended, leaving you vulnerable to counter attacks.

When I started this game I came out of the gates swinging all over the place. I also found my self face down on the canvas more times than I would like to admit. When I gained experience I turned into an outside defensive fighter. Sounds technical right. The beauty with this game is that your character has all of the skill and potential right from the beginning, but you the player, need experience and training to unlock that potential. Much like training for anything in reality.

The new story mode in this game didn't really carry it as far as I thought it would. I was done with it in 2.5 hours. I like the different scenarios that are thrown at you i.e. you break your right hand in a fight, so you have to finish the fight using only your left hand. These are interesting, but ultimately it felt a bit contrived. I felt like they could have done something more, like maybe have out of ring fights to go along with the story.

The bulk of your time will be in legacy mode. This is where you build your own custom character and run him through his entire career. I got hooked on upgrading my characters stats. The training modes are redundant, but that has been the case in every one of these games.

This game deserves to be bought. I probably put 30 hours i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best one yet

posted by leg_mcMuffin (CAPE CORAL, FL) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

best fight night of the series in my opinion. the new story mode was a ton of fun. not long at all though. online is were its at though, but dont be mad when you lose everytime you play someone lol. they dont really do a good job of matching people to your skill. graphics are amazing for sure and its pretty true to life. if you like the other ones, try this one out. you wont regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Fun

posted by matthew2386 (MARSHFIELD, WI) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was the best fight night they made so far. the controls are awesome, gameplay is awesome graphics are awesome. Story mode is very fun. Online play is a lot of fun as well. Worth trying if you even arent into boxing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thank God!

posted by Warpug (FROSTBURG, MD) Mar 3, 2011

Member since May 2010

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Finnally a fight night game has come out that picked up and IMPROVED upon where FNR3 left off. Now there will always be nay sayers with every video game title but in my opinion the real boxing fans who want a legit realistitic game that makes it hard if not impossible for cheaters to use spam tactics and boost fighters, then this game is for you. Let's start with the punching system, its finnally possible to throw the exact puch you want with out having to memorize complex analog stick motions....making it a game that allows even new commers to pick up the game and improve there game without getting destroyed by a veteren for there first 30 fights. however some people swear by the old controls and thats fine, to each there own, and the old controls are avalible on there too. Now lets talk about the graphics and gameplay. The damage graphics are amazing, they really show the gritty reality of boxing while making the game itself even more entertaining to the fans. For the gameplay, they basicly took everything that was wrong with the last installment and improved on it. They really hit the nail on the head with it this time....really. If there was one thing i KINDA didnt like ("kinda" being the key word) it would be the one punch "Lights Out" punches.While thay are a very good indicator of a PERFECT punch, there are times where it just flat out fails and shows you getting "knocked Out" by a punch that didt even hit you! But anyway let me just cut to the chase, AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME! If you consider your self a boxing fan or just a fan of the series YOU NEED THIS GAME! Trust me when i say "this is a much needed breath of freah air to the fight night game serios." Happy gaming folks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

average...

posted by azkylebro (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First off, the game itself hasn't really changed at all compared to the last installment (graphics, controls, style) but the addition of "champion" mode is new. Storyline type of career but virtually no training at all and more like watching a movie than playing a game. One fight, you can only fight left handed because your right hand is broken (good storyline for real life but not that fun when you're actually playing the game). Then worst of all when you fight the champ Issac Frost or whatever his name his, your the underdog (big time) in every single category, ranging from size and power to stamina (once again, a great story for a real life underdog scenario, but honestly having to rematch the champ 100 hundred times because hes just so much better gets old, QUICK.) And from what I can tell the storyline is extremely short. Those problems and the lack of anything new (and the use of an online "passcode") continues to show why games like this are on the decline in quality and customers. Over priced and under featured

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by mac10fan (BUTLER, IN) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is the first boxing game Ive ever played i was a big fan of the ufc games but in this game it has a good story kinda short but its really good controls are easy to pick up and it is really fun even if you arn't a fan of boxing at times in legacey mode the fights can become erataing but its well worth buting in your Q

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but doesn't last...

posted by zandercole (COLUMBIA, MO) May 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've been a FN fan since the beginning. This game was fun, and then became just "so-so". The story mode is interesting and engaging, it can really get you pumped, but it doesn't last. Took me only a few hours to beat the story mode. I had the game while PSN was down so I didn't get to try out the online modes, nor would I pay $10 or whatever it costs to do so.

This is a great rental. The story is a lot like a summer blockbuster. However, it lasts just as long as a summer blockbuster.

The controls are tight, the training modes are solid, the visuals are decent (some missed hits during knockdowns take away from the experience that you're really knocking someone out).

Overall I'm giving this game a 6, but that's why I have GF. It's nice to be able to rent a game I love and keep it for as long as I want. It's also just as nice to play a game that I like, but lose interest in quickly, and have the option to send it right back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok

posted by gamewizard1976 (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The games champion mode is pretty good, until you get to the last fight with the champ. Reminds me of Mike Tysons Punch Out on Nintendo when you would get the the end and he was almost superman. The last guy is just too overpowered compared to everyone else you box and just frustrating period. I'm returning it unfinished because I have better things to do with my time. A shame really, was enjoying it to that point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game, but not worth buying.

posted by RCJW21 (WHARTON, WV) May 26, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Champion Mode is the best thing about this game...after playing Champion Mode the Rest of the game just seemed Dull, as if I was playing Fight Night round 4. I also beat the story mode in about 2 and a half hours. Which makes this game a rental and not a buy. Which is why Gamefly is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Round 4.2

posted by jay419 (PRAGUE, OK) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Not much difference between last time out.

The Look

The story mode is the new addition here. The cinematic cut scenes are excellent. The story itself is familiar if you watch boxing movies. The supporting characters are great in terms of voice acting and the motion capture. After each fight you watch real life footage of the ESPN anchor commentating and the difference between that and the animated scenes is subtle.
The in-ring action is the same as Round 4 which may be good or bad. I found that darker colors look plain. For instance when you fight a darker black dude than the Champion character, you can see the difference in clarity on their faces and bodies.

The Game-play

I liked the original Fight Night for the ease of movement. Remember when you could trap a guy in the corner and land 7 punches before he hit the mat? Starting with Round 4 and now Champion, the avatars move like the ring is filled with mud. It is frustrating to hear the sound indicating a knockout is close only to lose the moment chasing him around the ring. In fact every aspect of the flow in this game is clunky. They've added the importance of footwork to the fights but the feet, fists and dodging seem delayed. You flick the Left stick forward to sneak in for a jab but your fighter takes a second to respond. It is difficult to find any momentum anywhere.

The full range punching is still hard to master. The Right stick offers more punches than the buttons. However it's easy to go for a left hook and accidentally hit a jab. They want you to shuffle and jive with the Left stick but it's the same problem.

Better/Worse

The countering has more impact after dodging a punch. Slightly more boxer choices, you don't need DLC to use Pacquiao or Klitschko. Create a boxer is back in Legacy Mode. Still hard to get up when knocked down. Ref gets in the way of default camera.

Verdict: They've improved the graphics through the years but sacrificed game-play. Not Bad Not Great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not for casual gamers

posted by seattlerokkx (SEATTLE, WA) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I don't take gaming to seriously and to have any fun with this game you have to really work at it. I will never work hard to play a game for any reason. The story mode is cool but the final fight is just to much hassle and their are no shortcuts anywhere in the game regardless of what mode you are playing. Even on the easiest level during story mode I get knocked out every time in the final fight and had a heck of a time getting there. It's not worth the time or effort in my opinion.

In my opinion fight games should have levels for all skill levels, this game does not. It assumes that you have great hand eye coordination and timing and most people don't. I am shocked the game got as high a rating as it did. A total waste of my time and energy, not to mention frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game all and all room for improvement NEEDED!

posted by rsaleen829 (LAKEVILLE, MN) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really have enjoyed all of the FIGHT Nights 1- Champion (5) however it seems there is always something Missing maybe its just ME??? In the latest installment of the franchise you have MORE Game Options Champion Mode story line was a COOL change but then there's the EA Corp trying to suck money out of you to ENJOY all of the games possibilities without owning said EA game's with code you only have a 7 day trail to enjoy the full features ofg the Game/games ALL EA games are like this NOW!!! Seems somebody has gotten PRETTY BIG and BEING GREEDY!!! I mean PSN is free right however there's NOT a single Free download for the PSN version of this game not a special fighter or addiute really EA needs to get with the program and stop trying to game the Gamers with there corp. ways!!! I for one refuse to PAY 9.99 for some lame features even if its 4 boxers Other Game companies I.E. Rockstar Games offers a ton of FREE YES Free EA...Download add-on's and even there fee charged downloads are atleast worth the money 90% of the time. also the game seem to make my PS# 320g brand new shut off in the middle of play. I cleaned it as I always do when I got it in the mail from Gamefly because MOST of the Games are pretty dirty from other users lack of CARE!! still the game shut off on me 4 times and my system is only 3 months OLD!! ALL of the other games I've played on her have NEVER had this issue is there anyone else running in to the same problem with this GAME? EA the NEXT Fight Night 6 Maybe toss out 3-4FREE Add-on's and improved motion of boxers..Thanks all and all OK, Ryan in MN rsaleen829 psn network add me!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

frost way too hard

posted by nickbaker480 (MESA, AZ) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Game = Sick
last fight = way too hard i couldnt bet him so i sent it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointed!

posted by shooks (BALDWIN PARK, CA) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is glitchy. When I press a button their is a delay and keeps punching after I stop pressing that button. While the graphics are good the gameplay sucks. If you want to pass sometime this is a good game to RENT but not worth it to OWN!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Really needs work on the storyline

posted by Slyfox43 (EL PASO, TX) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I decided to get this game cause I hardly ever play fighting games. I saw that it was from EA Sports and anyone that has played EA Games know that they are getting there money's worth. But not with fight night champion story mode. Horrible control factors just make fighting with the storyline character frustrating and upsetting at times. I clearly gave up on trying to finish the storyline and went right into career mode with the build a fighter. Total fun here, much better than that stupid idea of a story mode. Please EA Fight Night don't ever try that again stick to the basics. Fight fans you will enjoy this game others just be cautious of what your getting yourself into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game - from a Bad Company.

posted by JTB (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rent but don't buy. This game is solid, but here are a few things which should've been avoided:

Paid multiplayer cheat codes. Starting at $7.99, people get an unfair early advantage in terms of stat boosts. Annoying.

$10 to access multiplayer unless you buy new. You may receive a 7-day free online trial. Still annoying.

Several notable boxers are absent, because EA obviously wants you to pay more for DLC later on. Also annoying. Etc.

I definitely would not buy this game at full price, because EA wants to nickel and dime their customers to death with this game.

The story mode was good, but many people complete it in just one or two sittings.

So if you're into boxing, this is good - as a rental. Because you get to enjoy the good fun parts of the game, while refusing to pay for any of the bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fight night champion

posted by harley11 (FESTUS, MO) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its a good game ..probaly the best fight night ever...story mode is very fun but way to short...the career mode needs improvment ..its just not that fun can get really boring...but overall its at least a 7 or 8..great graphics...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fight night champions.

posted by lukescritic (LOOMIS, NE) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

fight night champions, while having great graphics, lacks on responsiveness. with its complete fight controls, or what ever tey call it, you continue punching long after you got gaurd up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Championship Mode well worth the rental

posted by jooleeunn (DUARTE, CA) May 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only reason to rent this game out would be for the Championship Mode. Pretty dull fighter after a couple hours of playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just plain bad

posted by oldenred (RINCON, GA) May 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are great and the story line isn't to bad either but the controls are terrible, half the time they don't do what they are suppose to. It's can really tell in the championship bout where you have to do body blows and half the time he won't do them which brings me to my next comment, the last bout was WAY to hard. I had it in amatuer status and couldn't beat him. He wouldn't move when you wanted him too and got knocked out way to easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game but poor level difference!

posted by bertconner (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Loved the game, just thought the diffence between am. and up are way to different. Low levels you knock people out in the first round and one step above you cant even beat a level 25 without getting knocked out quickly. Graphics are great and gameplay is fun so I think EA actually got one right!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What a game

posted by WARPCR (KNOXVILLE, TN) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is off the chart good the way it looks the way it play. The besst Fight Night to date. Only one thing it gets racist two time at white people. Knowing good a well that the game would not have hit shelfs if it was said the other way. But side of that best fight game of the year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Changes are welcome too.

posted by davidcrowser (MARYSVILLE, CA) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really liked the previous games and was able to play it for hours fighting friends and AI. Now this one just wears on my nerves a little bit.

Everything takes forever to load.

They changed the way you block punches in the game so the dynamics of the fight and your strategy can't be the same as the old games. That's a welcomed change to the series though, see before you could use the right stick to direct which part of your body you were going to block a punch to, which made the game crippling hard if you played against someone who's played for a while, but fair against the AI. I liked that, but I can see that the game is allowing the user to focus on more realistic forms of strategy. Side stepping, that's a tough one to master but when you do, you'll be just as good as you were when you could block punches from a specific direction in order to counter.

The story mode is fun because it's nothing but you destroying every opponent they have to throw at you... except for the final boss. They force you to follow a specific strategy that makes it rather boring for five of the first eight rounds. If you stray from that strategy you'll be knocked out in seconds. So after eight rounds and 3 checkpoints you regain all your health and stamina and destroy the boss within seconds... very rewarding, but very frustrating. Most of my matches were less than 2 minutes when I played on the easiest setting, but the final boss took over an hour collectively between tries.

I tried the legacy mode, like career mode from the older games, and I quit because everything took way too long to load, plain and simple. The matches are fun but the skills vs athletic training just took way too much time. You'll be spending more time training and going through menus than you will fighting.

Still I enjoyed it, and I know EA could have done a lot worse, but I think they shouldn't have messed with the "legacy" mode and just left it alone. I did like the story, but the final boss was lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!

posted by Budakris_07 (BELOIT, WI) May 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the story line its alot better then the other ones!!! Online play is great!!! its alot of fun and its like real life!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse