Rent Ferrari Challenge Trofeo Pirelli for PS3
view large frontback

Ferrari Challenge Trofeo Pirelli

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii, DS
GF Rating
3.8

731 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pass this one up

posted by VF34EJ25 (TRACY, CA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was excited for this Ferrari Challenge game. At first, I thought it was like the previous Ferrari Challenge games from the arcade, where it truely makes you feel like you're driving a F355.

Sadly, this is not the case. This game is a mediocre racing game at best. Don't even bother trying it out, it would be a waste of renting time as it was for me.

First, the car mechanics are OK. Not exactly simulation, and not exactly arcade either. Simply put, it doesn't do a good job at either one.

Second, the graphics are also just OK. Nothing mind-blowing. It also has a weird dirty texture look to everything. Nothing looks clean or sharply defined. The cars look OK, but when watching the replay. There are pop-in's ON THE CARS! Normally it's acceptable for pop-ins to happen in the environments in video games. But having pop-in's on the cars is 100% unacceptable.

So if you're thinking about renting it or buying, look for something else. GT5P blows this game out of the water.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

FERRARI CHALLENGE

posted by CONAN2160 (BRONX, NY) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A game so not worthy of a next gen console. This game belongs on PS2 or even PSone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good gameplay - horrible accuracy

posted by Tedicles (NEW FREEDOM, PA) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At first, I really like the game. The controls were very realistic, and far from an arcade racing game. But then as I was excited to try some tracks I have raced on in real life (ie VIR) I was deeply disappointed. The tracks were FAR from real, not even having the same basic course in fact. This ruined the experience for me. If you don't care about accuracy, but want realism, then it is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WOW!!! 0 to sent back in 3.4 seconds

posted by pjburr2000 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game stunk, cool audio track for the cars exhaust sounds, that's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not the next great racing game

posted by Sundowner (SAN RAMON, CA) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being a fan of racing games I was excited to take this out for a spin but sadly this game barely passes for a next generation title.

On the upside the sound and music in the game are very nicely done as are the car models. The deal breakers come in the form of lackluster graphics while racing(some PS2 games look more advanced to me) and a severely limited view of the track. The control of the cars feels very loose and I think thats also a problem with the game.

You've seen everything this game has to offer in other next-gen racing games except they do it better. If you've played everything else then give this a try but don't expect to much. Too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

My Review on Ferrari Challange

posted by Franklyn53 (HEMPSTEAD, NY) Jul 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of i like to i enjoyed the game. I thouht the games was very good graphics for wonderfull. The gameplay was similar to grand tourismo. I the only i was not happy is that you could not buy upgrades for none on the cars but besides that some of the tracks were similar to other race games. To me i wished the game would of have a career mode with alot more cars. The vinyls were ok i would of like if they had more options like in need for speed with the vinyls and rims and sizes although you got to adjust the vinyls but should of done the rims aswell. Well not much more to say but i do recomend that you pay the game it is a very good game it has grat sound gotta love taht ferrari sound. Hope you like my review and please email me with any question thank you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Starts out slow but drags you in.

posted by carcrazer9 (LITTLETON, CO) Jun 12, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i got this game and read the reviews, i was not excited. i started playing it and i thought it was a sub-par game.i took the tutorial and i was confused but i got used to it. However, after playing it for about an hour and exploring all of the game types, i was hooked. i have just bought a racing wheel cause i heard this game can have one and i am excited to play it with the steering wheel. Everyone that tried if for like five minutes and sent it back actually needs to play the game for about an hour. This is a good game to rent but i can see how it isnt worth buying. There is a wide selection of ferraris that are great to drive and the game has stellar graphics. I have a 60 inch 1080P TV so it is a great game for having 1080P.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Only for perfect racers

posted by evovled (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I say that because if you hit one turn too hard, its a wrap, you wont see first place and the A I drivers wont let you back in so easily..seemed like they are programmed to ram you if you are in the way...Honestly i got this game for the trophies...but i couldn't even get the 75% for the tutorial..the steering is unforgivable and I mailing this thing back 3 hours after I received it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One Word ...... Horrible

posted by LiquidIce (JACKSON, OH) Feb 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this game for about 5 minutes and I was ready to send it back. Thank god for GameFly. This game has the worst controls I believe I have ever used on a racing sim. I can't believe they would actually release this Garbage and put the name Ferrari on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A pile of poo and its name is Ferrari Challenge

posted by Jester243 (SPOKANE, WA) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love racing games so I put aside the bad reviews and ordered it. I retrieved it from the mail box at 4:30 this afternoon and put it back in the mail box by 8:00 pm This feels like a NFS game just with Ferrari's instead of import tuners. The graphics were lacking with lots of AA issues and clipping. The limited viewpoints hurt as did the singular vehicle choice to start with. I appreciate "simulators" but this game just fails on so many levels. Also the menus could have been done a lot better than they were. Waited four days to get this in the mail and I can't wait to get rid of it now!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Trofeo Schmofeo....

posted by Spitman (BENNINGTON, VT) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being a fan of all things Driving Simulation, I would expect much more from Playstation and Activision. This is more like a long boring version of Need for Speed. Same handling concepts. Same visual graphics. It's just Ferrari this time. The races in challenge mode were just too long. 15 minutes or 10 laps. and If you don't come in first, don't plan on ever catching up to that place. Once the first place driver got some headway, I was rarely able to catch up to him in time to overtake him. I put this game back into the sleeve and sent it back out three days after recieving it. Trofeo.... Schmofeo.. eNuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game

posted by Krazeeejat (MILPITAS, CA) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I ordered this game on gamefly before it came out. The day it was released, I started reading all the negative reviews and low ratings on gamefly and immediately regretted ordering it, but it was too late. (Might I add, I love racing simulators and I have a ps3, with playseat, g25 logitech wheel and a pretty major sound equipment sitting right in front of 1080p 42" lcd.) Right when I started the game, I immediately noticed not so great graphics, but after a few laps of the tutorial runs, I was addicted. The details on correction and making you a better driver is super accurate. You get your details on throttle response, apex control, braking and holding the corner right after the tutorial lap. The sound is great as well, the thumping of backfire from downshifts with the pedal shifters is awesome. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wanta Drive a Ferrari

posted by Vulcan (LONG BEACH, CA) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I also saw all the negative reviews, so I went in to the game open minded and I'm impressed. I have the G25 wheel and it works great. If you want a true racing experience turn off all the assists and you'll have a blast. You probably won't finish in fist but you will have fun chasing down the competition. One thing is the AI cars are very competitive they will block you and force you off the track.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow

posted by mike1229 (INDIAN TRAIL, NC) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Im so unhappy with this game
All I wanted was a good racer ewwwwwwwwww

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't bother unless you are a Ferrari fantatic.

posted by DustinICT (WICHITA, KS) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm going to be straight up honest - I only rented this game for the trophy support. But what I found was a broken, unfinished game that was unbearable to play. There is only one view option - and that's inside the driver seat. The graphics look like someone applied some antialiasing to a PSone title. The texture are horrible, and there's only a handful of circuits to race on. The British dude narration is actually helpful and entertaining while you're driving, but that's the only thing I liked about the whole game.
Also - for people who want to rent it just for the trophies like I did - don't bother. You'll have to put hours and hours into the game to win them. I'm not too terribly bad at racing games, but I could only get a %65 rating on the TUTORIAL level, and to get the trophy for the tutorial you have to get %75. I gave up after a few tries and attempted to just enjoy the game, but I failed.

The game tries to be a hardcore simulator, but it's so broken that it ends up just being NO FUN AT ALL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ohhh boy

posted by DaRkSoUl27 (BELVIDERE, IL) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

3 words for ya, this is bad. Seriously you are gonna wanna stay away from this one. Pick something else! This is just all wrong. To many negatives about this game to list.You have been warned :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

most pathetic racing game in history

posted by jlnash8 (ORANGE PARK, FL) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I cannot believe I wasted my time finishing the 2nd lap. Graphics are ok,, the handling of the Ferrari is so behind the times. For those who play real racing games,, please pass this one up. You are better off renting corvette challenge, at least that game you can somewhat control a spin out by drifting instead of just pushing through a corner. Guess that's why I love game fly, I can always just send it back and try another new title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent game, not worth choosing over others

posted by Riotcraft (FRIENDSWOOD, TX) Dec 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Ferrari Challenge is an above average simulation racing game, but with an entire generation of fantastic PS3 racing games to choose from, there's literally no reason to choose this game even if you have a hankering for some more realistic racing. This was also released onto the PS2 and Wii, so don't expect decent visuals.

Sadly, the primary "Challenge" mode is a ton of races all of which involve you racing the same exact car. You also have to race each track three times in a row to finish. You'll have to have some serious dedication to finish Challenge mode, which is the games main mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ferrari challenge trofeo pireelli

posted by iceman2300 (SARASOTA, FL) May 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

the game sucks hard to drive in game so dont get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Very Good

posted by mkent0788 (NEW CASTLE, PA) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

This game sucks i dont recommend this game to anyone one they pentalize you if you go off the track and slow your car down so all the other racers can pass you inless you stay in there way so dont get this game it shouldnt even be on this web site.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Monotonous

posted by BrigBaby (VISTA, CA) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Unlike most other racing games, this game only has 15 minute races. That's it. No variation and you start with an unbearable car.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow

posted by Drzronnie (GAP, PA) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The only reason I gave it a 1 is it wouldnt let me pick 0. This is by far the worst game I have ever played. I think the controls are bad and everything on the screen popped up. I played it for a total of about three minutes and then back in the mailbox it went. In the words of comic book guy "Worst game ever....."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst game

posted by javelin (SANTEE, CA) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game really is baaaaaad,The creator doesn't want you to win or even place in the field....Grid is in the same catagory....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Can't Own A Ferrari, No Problem

posted by Zademan22 (MILFORD, MI) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This is a simply ground breaking game. The driving realsitcly mimics reallife ferrari racing, if difficult. The graffics show you how ferraris should look. Anyone reading this review probaly likes video games and everyone likes ferraris, so you should like this game.

Pros:
Graphics
Driving Mechinisms
Ferraris!
Car Customization

Cons:
Besides Racing, there's nothing else, aka no mini games etc.

Zademan22

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This Ferrari can't get out of 1st gear...

posted by FrakMe (WILLIAMSON, WV) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

A racing game including some of the most beautiful supercars ever created, released on one of the most powerful systems ever made. What could possibly go wrong, right?

Well, apparently a lot. Because this game is easily outclassed by several games from LAST generation hardware.

Let's start with the graphics. I think this game was the first time I ever saw Ferrari's look cheap. Just something about the car models seemed off. Remember how when you were a kid & wanted Transformers and instead you got Go-bots? Yeah, that's the kind of cheap imitation these cars exhibit. The tracks themselves don't help, because they're all extremely bland.

As you're racing along at (a snail's pace) top speed, you'll notice the game frequently hiccups as you take a fast (compared to a tortoise) corner, and the sense of speed just isn't there, even when you're (supposedly) tearing up the track in an FXX. About the only positive I've found with the graphics are the reflections on the track during rain events. Beyond that, you're not gonna find anything to show off the power of the PS3 in this game. In all actuality, my brother stopped by one day while I was playing it and asked why I was playing on the PS2.

But let's be honest, handling is what makes or breaks a racing game. Shiny, sexy graphics are great & all, but it's how the game actually plays that's really important. Sadly, this game disappoints in this area as well. Controls are passable, but slightly sluggish. Braking for corners & accelerating onto a straight conveyed the exact same sense of speed (again, lack thereof) which made it difficult to judge racing lines.

Sound effects aren't worth writing about, musical selection is okay I guess, but not really music that puts you in a racing mood.

Overall, the only reason I would recommend this game to anyone is if you found it for less than $5 (& don't have anything else you can find to spend it on), or you merely want the fairly easy (but time consuming) trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse