Rent Fate/Extra for PSP Games
view large frontback

Fate/Extra

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

154 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Enjoy the Story, 'cause That's All There I

posted by rogenjemi (PLAINVILLE, CT) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

It's a tough time to be a PSP owner. After a few small furors over the 2 or 3 triple-A PSP titles this year, everyone is buzzing (and speculating) on its christened successor, the Sony Vita. It's almost a bad habit at this point to where, about every 6 weeks, I look at my Q and think,"Uh-Oh I only have X PSP games left here." A few clicks later in the New Release/Coming Soon section, and this gem ended up in the mailbox almost 3 weeks later.
Why? 3 reasons:
1: I was vaguely aware of the IP's mythos, including its oft-overlooked or forgotten Hen+ai origins.
2: The info section listed this title as an RPG, my usual wheelhouse of gameplay. This is also in contrast to the IP's previous Fighting genre entries.
3: Read the opening Paragraph.
After a good 5 hours of play, I can say two things, without reservation. One, Fans of the IP will appreciate what is going on, as long as they can get through the suspended disbelief if the game's first 90 minutes. Two, sadly, there is little actual game to this. It mostly boils down to a series of 'capture the flag' events that should be familiar to fans of the Visual Novel genre. The sad truth is that the lynchpin of all RPG creations, the combat engine, is merely a RPS(yes, good ol' rock) interface, where you(sometimes) get to peek at what your opponent is throwing. If this type of combat system were implemented in a Final Fantasy series entry, the critical outcry would shatter the RPG industry.
As it stands, it is a game in the most minor sense of the word. It will find its way into the niche of FATE fan who also happens two own a PSP, and will lambaste on retail shelves until the inevitable march to the store clearance bin tells the end of Fate/EXTRA's story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fate/Extra Review

posted by Tsuki (GAITHERSBURG, MD) May 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was very interesting and very easy. The story was great and battling was easy and new for me(it was like playing rock paper scissors) I recommend this game to anyone even if you are new to the fate franchise because I was and I enjoyed this game very much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kuro's Thoughts.

posted by Kuroryukami (GOLDEN VALLEY, AZ) Aug 7, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I have always liked Fate, both the games and anime, even the visual novel, when I found this I was pretty happy, I enjoyed the experience, and the way they did the beginning I thought was rather cool. I think any fan of this series would enjoy this game, though the gameplay seems a bit rough it was a good first time experience for both fan and creator's. I'm sure anyone would enjoy this if they look ast any flaws of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fate/Extra

posted by Joker4479 (SALEM, IL) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I really enjoyed this game.
Its got an interesting story.
My only problem is that a lot of the gameplay is based on chance.
Its pretty much Rock Paper Scissors with a few hints, if you're obsservant you can figure out the patterns.
The thing is, there is a LOT of stuff in this game that will cause you to die.
Literally the first part, you HAVE to die.
If you are like me and ragequit the first few times thinking you have to beat it in some way.
DONT BOTHER.
(SPOILERS)
First time, let your character die. Nothing you can do.
2nd time with your personally named character, He/She will fall, but you gotta keep fighting to live.

You are warned at the beginning of this that there will be many dead ends so take their advice and save often.
I didn't and I had to start all over.
You think its the battle that gets you, but even spoken word choices can cause a Game Over.
So have fun and try not to break your PSP in frustration.
I know I've cussed my butt off at this game, but I enjoy it still.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i want to play a game

posted by kaeista (CAMARILLO, CA) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

ok... if i want to watch an anime.. i'll turn on my tv and watch one.. but why is it this "game" thinks its something else.. a game should be a game.. not an anime.. i spent the first about 100 just reading and moving down a hallway finding my class room.. i mean really.. its called a game for a reason people not and anime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »