Rent Fatal Inertia for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Fatal Inertia

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.4

644 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Uneventful

posted by Kenholio (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2003

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

It's not a bad game... it's just not a good game either. This isn't one of those frustratingly-bad games though, it's just not very engaging. Boring to be all honest. Just... boring. Mario Kart combined with F-Zero in the air... except those games are actually kinda fun. No sense of speed (though as much as your hover-mobile-jet-cart- thing slides and 'drifts', speed would only make this game even worse) and just lackluster, no depth-gameplay. I don't hate it, but now am questioning what even compelled me to add it to my queue. Not even worth a rental really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fast, Fun, Keeps a child's attention.

posted by lilpomel (CHARLESTON, WV) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The is really my first review I have done for Game fly, so I will keep it short and sweet. The graphics were very good. I loved the speed of it and the way it look when you flew through objects. Fast paced. No, real reason for flying at these speeds, but fun to do anyway. I would actually like to see another one done, but with a little more storyline and a few nice looking "speeders". My son called them that. The design of the "speeders" was very excellent. They kind of reminded you of the kind of spacecraft in "Star Wars". Overall, very good game. A definite re-rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

why would you make this?

posted by edotdj (RENTON, WA) Dec 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

There's nothing special here. It's like some people thought it'd be neat to make a Wipeout clone for 360, only instead of doing it really well, they do it really poorly. This isn't even worth renting. Not even worth LOOKING AT. Why are you still looking? GO AWAY NOW AND SAVE YOURSELF!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Feels "broken" to this reviewer...

posted by NikeHeir (SCARSDALE, NY) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

... or maybe it's just a trasheous game? Fatal Inertia is a budget title that feels several years old.

I'm thankful for GameFly rentals when $60 USD games feel like circa 2001 PC shareware. If 6 is "above average," this game's gotta be something less than that. My rating of 5("fair") is generous and reflects a curve.

I'm sure some people will enjoy a playthrough of this budgetass game, especially if you've got nothing else to play at the moment.

RENT THIS GAME IF:
- Screenshots interest you
- You like "WipeOut" style hover racers
- You want a craptastic experience
- You have a big enough GameFly plan to justify this game. IMO no plan is big enough.

BUY THIS GAME FOR $60:
- Under no circumstances...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game was done already on XBOX

posted by KillerB (MILWAUKEE, WI) Sep 17, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you played Quantum Redshift you basically played this game. If you liked that game, you will like this game-it is a little different, but game play is basically the same.

FOr those of you not familiar-it is maro Kart in the air, but not as tight with gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

fatal error

posted by memri89 (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the subject title says it all a waste of time in your life thought it was gonna bring me back to the extreme g days but i was sadly mistaken may the developers kill themselfs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Like My Rating Weak

posted by denny417 (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 28 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

im not really gonna waste my time writing a detailed summary cause this isnt a popular game you can say what you ant stupid game the plot makes you kinda wonder and it aint fun not many pople are gonna get into this game on live if you have the money buy it for the heck of it but dont rent this on gamefly it is not worth the wait

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Glitches

posted by CaboRox (CARSON CITY, NV) Aug 11, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

Well for the PHX-W3T2 Wings, there's a glitch where the right thruster's "flame" is off-center, and for the TN-W0T3 Wing, the left engine has parts that aren't supposed to glow when the engine is at full thrust. Another glitch is that if you get stuck in a wedge, you can't reset your craft, since the game will not allow the craft to reset when being hit with great force. All in all, it's a fun game, but needs to have A LOT more MP people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You Know What?

posted by Chigadawhat (CHEYENNE, WY) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I actually really enjoyed this game. Sure, It may not have had any sort of storyline whatsoever, but it was just so fast-paced and an adrenaline rush from beginning to end. You'd be in the middle of a fast paced race where everyone is only a split second apart and you have to fight hard to get the gold. Adding the larger courses with tight corners and even tighter walls just makes it even more fun. Who doesn't love trying to take a tight right into a narrow tunnel while still trying to win a race all while avoiding magnets, bungee cords, rockets, etc.? And who doesn't love being able to design tyheir own racer with spoilers, wings, paintjobs, etc.? I might just be broken, but I can honestly say that this is the best racing game I've ever played. 9 out of 10 easy on my list. Never regretted a single moment of this game. Only when I had to return it in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ever play F-Zero? Yeah...

posted by VTMarik (EVERETT, WA) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2006

While not terrible, Fatal Inertia is not really the greatest futuristic racer out there. What pushes this up from dead average is the somewhat decent electronic soundtrack.

The basic premise is that in the future everyone has gotten really bored with regular racing and sporting events, leading a bunch of aerospace companies to contract drivers to fly their craft around complicated tracks and shoot at each other for the enjoyment of others. Sound familiar? That's because it's the same story as F-Zero, Extreme-G, and Wipeout.

The controls are highly realistic for a game of this type, meaning that not only are they easy to grasp, but the physics of the game are also accurate. This means that even though you will have to make a massive 90 degree turn at various points, you won't be able to overcome your craft's momentum and you will crash, explode, and lose. This can be very frustrating, especially since a lot of the tracks force you to make hairpin turns in every direction without the necessary engine power to do so.

The graphics? Well, you've got fairly realistic-looking vistas that whip by so fast you can't really appreciate them, dark tunnels that are just blase, and shiny flying machines. Nothing ground shaking here.

The soundtrack is fairly nice, feeling like an electronica sampler that covers the spectrum from fast-paced trance to slow, ambient music. If you like electronica, then you'll enjoy listening to the background.

All-in-all, there are better futuristic racers out there. Even games that came out for the last two generations of consoles outshine this one in many ways. Rent it, play it for a day, and then go get something better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bleh!

posted by tartarus86 (PHOENIX, AZ) May 2, 2009

Member since May 2009

Sapce age nascar enjoy going in circles! :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

irritating and pointless

posted by Sprattoo (BUXTON, ME) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

If you would just like to expand your ulcers and feel a pain in your sphincter, grab this title.

Right from the get-go at level one this game is lousy. I really like all sorts of racing games... but I just can't even find anything fun about this title.
The idea behind the game is valid, and the idea itself has potential, but thats where it ends. Its not playable at all, The speedometer says your hauling fanny, but nothing really shows it. The tracks are irritatingly unmarked, and crooked, which would be fine if you had a vehicle that could handle them. Every time you make the tiniest error, your vehicle is nose, up going in random directions and usually spins the opposite way. Theres no GOOD customizing, no free roams, very limited tracks, no surprises at all, except that any game could suck this much... that was a surprise.

I know you have a GF account, and might think to give this game a try... but don't! you are spending money daily to have a GF account, by renting this one, you will waste a week in ship time, that could be used on something fun.

In short, there is nothing good about this title and KOEI should be horribly embarrased by its release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great concept, probelematic design.

posted by CheezPants (OAKLAND, CA) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

There are a lot of cool things in Fatal Inertia; my favorite are the weapons. For example, you can fire a tether line and hook two other racers together. That's fun.

The problem is that, to proceed, you have to go through a series of "Velocity" races that strip out all the fun elements and are frustratingly difficult.

Here's hoping Fatal Inertia EX for the PS3 fixes this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Needs more work

posted by ronacap (SAN MARCOS, CA) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2002

As you begin the career mode, you'll find yourself reading a lot of text...supposedly there is a story in this game. They should have had some person read the text aloud. Who wants to read text in a game? I sure don't.

As you race your way through the course, you'll notice that the graphics of the environment in front of you are still rendering and "drawing"...I find this very annoying, but overall the graphics did look decent on my HDTV.

As for the weapon system, at day two of renting this game, I still do not really know how to use the weapons effectively.

As for the racing in the game, it is easy to get use to like any arcade racer.

As for the online multiplayer, I couldn't experience it since no one else on Xbox Live is playing this game on Xbox Live. No surprise here since there are more popular games to play on Live than this one.

Gaming appeal...this game won't last long in my house. Back to the mailbox next week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Poor technical choices make for poor experience

posted by EdgeofLR (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

The game is interesting enough, but with games like DoA4 and CoD4 boasting near perfect frame rates, this game illustrates why the Unreal Engine is not optimized for racers. Should have been built on a more trimmed down engine.

The game itself is fast paced and kinetic enough to keep you interested through a few races, but the feeling will quickly fade.

Basically, games like this are why you have a Gamefly account.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by BBalla30 (NAPERVILLE, IL) Dec 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

An extremely bad game. Garbage

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW THIS GAME BLOWS CHUNKS!!!!!

posted by rydiggidy (PITTSBURG, CA) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

LAME LAMER AND LAMEST ALL GAMES. I COULD HAVE MORE FUN PLAYING BURGER KING GAMES.............. IN FACT I DID

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Xbox live???

posted by toaster (POWNAL, ME) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

This game would only is worth 10 bucks via an xbox live arcade download! I can't believe Koei could put this game out and expect people to fork over 60 bucks for it!!! Lame all around!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »