Rent Fatal Frame for PS2
view large frontback

Fatal Frame

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
7.8

568 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game: Prepare to be SCARED!

posted by ZeroGamer (ENUMCLAW, WA) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I cannot fully express just how much I loved this game! The graphics were amazing (considering it's time), it only took me two or three ghost fights in order to get a hang of the controls, and I was scared out of my mind! This is not a game you want to play at night when it's dark. You will be scared.

You play as Miku Hinasaki, a young girl looking for her missing older brother, Mafuyu, in the mysterious (and haunted) Himoro Mansion. With a ghost capturing camera and a flashlight to light your way, it is your job to fight your way through the mansion and the vengeful ghosts to save your missing brother.

Throughout the whole game I was on the edge of my seat, heart racing, blood pressure rising, and scaring myself silly. But I had a wonderful time playing! The story was deep and interesting, there was tons of reply ability, and the characters were great!

I highly recommend this game to people who are looking for a fun game that you will absolutely love, with tons of replay ability, multiple endings, a good challenge, an adrenaline rush, and a good scare! Happy ghost hunting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ready for a good scare?

posted by Bobaloo (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game will frighten the pants off of you. Do not, I repeat, do not play this game with the lights on during the day. It won't have the same effect as when you play it at night, in a pitch-black room with maybe a candle or two lit. If the creepiness factor of walking around a haunted house with only a flashlight and a camera makes your skin crawl, this game is perfect for you.

The controls are fairly simple, and the story is mysterious. If you are a big fan of the dark and mysterious, you will definitely be entertained by this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The game that will scare you

posted by TatsuJin (SAN MARCOS, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

The only weapon you have is the camera. It's no ordinary camera because it posesses supernatural powers. You have tools to help fight those ghosts. You have your sixth sense, a flashlight, documents that will help you solve puzzles in the game, etc. This is a really scary game. You can play by yourself if you dare or have someone accompany you.

Pros: This is the kind of game that would really scare your pants off. The graphics are quite textured well and the eerie sounds are well sounded. First person mode is Ok and you can explore while you're in finder mode around you but watch out for ghosts!

Cons: There isn't much of a problem playing the game. I never had any problems while playing it! I can't say it's a perfect game. When you walk around, the camera is fixed and only pans like a security camera, it won't follow you or anything. Maybe it's a part to give you the chills?

It's a good game to play and for players who has the courage to play the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game.... flawed control

posted by Zlash99 (AURORA, CO) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Title says it all. I suggest having MUCH patients with this one considering many boss fights will have you dying multiple times from hang-ups and miss guided movement when camera angles change.

The story is awesome, the ghost are fairly creepy and its a MUST for anyone who enjoys the Fatal Frame series that has not played it.

The game would have been a solid 8 or 9 if not for the difficultly involved with movement, and while targeting ghosts. Its unfortunate that they modeled the camera as a FSP but did not allow you the ease of movement and targeting that a FPS has. For some reason they stuck the movement on the right stick and the aiming on the left stick and its not changeable. The game would have been much more enjoyable if the standard had been apply or at least an option.

Good luck with it and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great horror game

posted by death5 (BEECHER, IL) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

definitely play this with the lights off and a home theater system cause you'll get freaked out the only dumb thing is you kill things with a old camera.

but it has a good storyline and good graphics
a must buy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect 10! Easily!

posted by EQOAnostalgia (NEW YORK MILLS, NY) May 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013


Any fan of survival horror will adore every single second of Fatal Frame! There are no flaws here at all! Unless you count the flaws with EVERY survival horror game made during and before this time.

The atmosphere, the music, the sound effects... ohhhhh the sound effects in this game! WOW! Even EVP's can be heard in the audio log if you are brave enough to turn up the volume!

I know grown men who won't touch this title, it's truly terrifying no joke! Immersive and deadly fun! The enemies are just gorgeous and horrible to look at! Each one tells a story of how they died a most gruesome death!

Ropes will creak and grind, lungs will bubble over with water as the terribly horrific ghosts lurch towards you arms wide open! This is horror at it's absolute best!

The camera system is amazing, it's simple and it just works! It adds a element of RPG style gaming that just gives the game so much more depth than the standard, hit monster over head with pipe, fire gun, rinse repeat.

The atmosphere pours with detail and immerses you into a truly haunting experience! The images in this game will burn into your mind and haunt your dreams, believe me! This is not for the faint of heart! There is a run button but you won't want to use it! You will crawl forward like a little girl! Until it's time to run for your life!

Those brave enough to continue and not send the game back cowering in fear have a truly epic mystery to uncover here! This game stands among the best of the best in my book and deserves nothing less than praise and a perfect 10! The score on here is laughably low! Given by chickens no doubt!

Game on, if you dare!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A ghost story for those who like ghost stories

posted by Faerie_Knight (DUBUQUE, IA) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Before I first played this game I'd thought a spooky ghost story couldn't be told via a video game. Then I played this game and was proven wrong. It's spooky all right. And not in a forced way like most horror movies about ghosts are. It's got an atmosphere that is scary all on it's own. The game conveys that claustrophobic creeping terror that good ghost stories have.

And then you get into the actual gameplay. Fatal Frame is more then just the atmosphere it creates. It's also a fun game. You wouldn't expect a game where your only means of defense is a camera to be good. But it is. I haven't actually gotten past the first night yet. And already the game is one I need to track down a copy of to buy.

It's that good!

Of course I'm still in the first night because the prologue got my heart racing so badly I had to save and put down the game for the night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

fatal frame

posted by ganny5309 (LANCASTER, CA) May 1, 2012

Member since May 2011

this game was really slow on the controls,it was as if the character 's move was slow and the action of the character was trying to catch up! The game would have been ok if the moves and the controls were in sync!! Thank you so much for the chance to write a review! Thanks,Patricia Smith

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best

posted by mafuyu15 (ENID, OK) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

What can i say about this game. Great play value, a different aproach to survival horror and all and all one of the best scary games of all time considering the newness of this type of game. I highly recomend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fatal Frame. Tiddlyfish, or not Tiddlyfish?

posted by Tiddlyfish (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Oct 12, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Three reasons you'll love this game:
1. The game has an essence of scare that just sits there the whole game, I don't know if it's the lighting, or the colors, or even just the music, but the essence is there.
2. For the puzzle lover, there are a variety of puzzles. Some easier than others. You'll see the puzzles before you actually do them. Why? Some of the puzzles are broken because you have... well, if I said it would spoil it, but either way, nice puzzles.
3. The final reason is that it is an actual challenge. Of you hate games that are just a breeze and you beat the day after you got them, then you'll love this game. Although I'll say that you start on normal mode. But normal feels like hard mode. So this game isn't for people of a lesser game mode.
All in all, It's good. Worth the rent or possible buy. Can be replayed, but at the end of the day, you think,"Well I just went through all that, do I really want to do it again?" But, there are ghost battles you unlock if you beat the game. There are twenty, each with a certain amount of given items. So there is still something to do. But if you think you can manage, play again on hard mode. Worth the new abilities.
So go ahead and get it, totally worth it, just try and prove me wrong.
Fatal Frame: Tiddlyfish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really Scary, Not an ordinary Survival Horror

posted by Rebel598 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

As the title itself states, this game is really going to scare ya. No really, it will. Fatal Frame, as well as the rest of the series, has become a staple as to how different it was compared to games such as Silent Hill and Resident Evil. For one thing, it is derived off of Japanese horror titles. This one focuses on scares that are so sudden and surprising, you are bound to pause the game quite a few times until you compose yourself.

The story of the game is pretty simplistic at first. Dood tries to find a missing book writer and he later goes missing, leaving his younger sister to pick up the pieces. But as you gather documents fight off the ghosts, you begin to understand how deep this mansion your exploring is, with shocking revelations of the various rituals that have since trapped the lost souls of that you will be finding/fighting.

The controls take a while to get used to, but there are 8 configurations for you to try out, It will take quite a few fights until you get the swing of things. There are also slight clipping issues as well, but they are minor and not at all game breaking.

Another thing to take note of is the voice acting in the game. The normal voices you hear are...well they are not Grade A material. It's better a lot of early PS1 titles like RE, but still don't hold out due to its age.

However, the graphics do indeed hold out after all these years. It's dark, creepy, and it leaves you wondering what the next room you come across will look like. From the calm of save points to the grainy look when a ghost is around, there is never a dull moment. You begin to think that this game was made just recently compared to 9 years ago.

All in all, try this game out. Seriously, it's awesome. If your looking for a change of pace from haunted towns and zombie outbreaks, give Fatal Frame a whirl. The true essence of Survival Horror is not with a gun or a weird cult, it is with the true scary beings on this Earth: Ghosts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Scary!!!!!!

posted by Pilot01 (MOUNT DORA, FL) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

I am so not kidding you guys but if you play this like at midnight with no one around, and lights out, then you are in for a night for a fright. This game made me jump and i am the kind of person that can get any scary game and not jump like for example Fear 1 and 2 pshhhhh yeah right. Silent hill was almost there but Fatal Frame just hit me badly with jumps. Everyone should rent this game it is amazing and the reason i gave it a nine is because some ghosts are just a little almost immpossible to beat and it just made me mad lolol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If only I had played this one first!

posted by Monkee27 (POTTSTOWN, PA) Jun 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

I played The First Fatal Frame after completing the second and the third. I was spoiled by the superior graphics of FF2 and FF3 and their awesome game play that Fatal Frame one wasn't as good as it should have been if I had played it first. This doesn’t mean that I didn't love Fatal Frame or that I didn't get some of the wonderful scares these games are noted for in fact I think I got my most terrifying scare from Fatal Frame 1. This game is truly amazing and I would have blown my mind had I played it when it came out, since I was used to the control’s of FF2 and FF3 I found the controls on this game annoying, basically that was it's only downfall. I was also a bit let down by the graphics because I had played the others first but after getting into this game I had forgotten them and I was able to enjoy Fatal Frame for what it was, A truly scary, fun game best played at night with the lights out and the volume high. I am a die hard fan of this series and would recommend it to anyone who likes to play games that suck you into another world where you feel you’ve become a part of. The scares feel real and after playing the game Fatal Frame’s strange universe seeps a little into your 'real life'. I'll be honest I had to sleep with the lights on a few nights playing these games.
Also, I feel like you don't have to be a gamer pro to play these games . Once you get used to the Camera it becomes second nature (though like I said before the control in this game differ from the next two in the series). I would also say if for some reason you don't enjoy this game try playing FF2 or FF3. I have my fingers crossed that a Fatal Frame 4 is in the works for PS3. As everyone else has said if you like scary games, like Silent Hill and Clocktower you will swoon over the Fatal Frame series. Just be prepared to scream!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Should this game scare you?

posted by orphen06 (PLEASANT HILL, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

This game will scare you if you're not used to watching horror movies. The game is great because anybody can play this with or without the vibration. In order for this game to come to life play this game with a home theater system. Another suggestion is to play using a wireless controller not the dualshock analog 2. The reason i am saying this is because the wireless controller does not vibrate as much. The final boss of this game is not easy because the boss can regain health if a bad picture is taken and you cannot touch her or its game over. Be prepared to solve puzzles, take fully charged photos, and use every opportunity to purchase upgrades for your camera.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »