Rent Fatal Frame III: The Tormented for PS2
view large frontback

Fatal Frame III: The Tormented

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

816 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Prepare to be SCARED

posted by ShadoOfGon (REDMOND, WA) Aug 21, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If want something new, something different, and something SCARY! Then I recomend this game completely. I have played and beat all of the three Fatal Frame games, and recomend them to anyone who loves a good scare. But thats not all the game is about, it also has some very intuitive and fun gameplay. You use a camera called the Camera Obscura to snap photos of the ghosts when they try to attack you. This may sound silly and stupid, but trust me when your on the final boss levels and ghosts can kill you almost instantly and have insane teleport or are very fast ist fun, hard, and addicting. If your not scared very much its still very fun, if you do want a scare play this at NIGHT like i did with all of the lights turned out and you will have a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

1 of the Best for all Playstation Systems to Date

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first Fatal Frame is still my favorite of the series. It’s sad that the studio announced back in 2005 that the series would be discontinued. I’m a fan of the series & believe Fatal Frame does rival other thrilling, bone-chilling titles such as Silent Hill, Parasite Eve 1 & 2, Resident Evil (Director’s Cut my cup of tea.) I’d have to say, that this 2nd installment is my all around runner up favorite to the 1st installment. I’m very pleased with the continued ease of use & the puzzles, got to love them all! It’s a mind-bending mystery to you as the player, of knowing what is to come around the next corner. The storylines, I can’t seem to get enough of them. Deep, intense, very mysterious throughout, game play is & graphics engine are beautiful, loading in between are a breeze to save, one of my favorite games between PSone,PS2& PS3 to date. I will without a doubt, recommend this title to all gamers. For the casual gamer, gamer enthusiast, to the hardcore gamer. It’s short in parts, overall a solid piece of artwork. I applaud the studio & creators of this series. The game is a job well done. Hope this way helpful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So frightening you must see it for yourself

posted by Axlthehntr (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Nov 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After two games developer Techmo obviously went into making this game knowing that at this point players would be "expecting" to be scared by this game. With this fact in mind I'm sure many who played the other two wondered if they could do it again and YES, this game does deliver and is every bit as good as 1 and 2. The great thing about FF3 is that when you expect something to pop out at you or try to scare you, nothing happens, it just drags and drags, almost until you start to get borred. It is right at this point when you are walking back down the same hallway on say the second or third time something happens that makes you want to wet yourself.

Because of these moments it's easy to say that it could be the best of the series. This game also has a nice twist in that you play as 3 different characters, each with unique abilities.

In the end if you have never played a Fatal Frame game, it really won't matter which one you start with as they are all stand alone stories, however, it makes many references to the first two. This is an excellent game and anyone who wants a good scare should check it out for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Scarred the life out of me...

posted by MrBlue (WASHINGTON, PA) Jun 20, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have been a big fan of the game for a long time and fatal frame III holds its ground with the other 2 games. At first the game started off dark but as the game goes on it gets just, well evil is the only word for it. so, if you like to be Scarred and or you like the other fatal frame games then you will like this one.

(WARING this game is additive, its like a disease)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More like Fatally Flawed....

posted by pyseas (BUENA PARK, CA) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off let me say that up to this point the series was continually getting better, I loved Fatal Frame II: Crimson Butterfly it was/is one of my favorite survival horror games, primarily because it had an enthralling story, and I was able to easily overlook many of it's superficial flaws because of it...The Tormented (Player), however falls flat on many accords, so many I couldn't even bring myself to finish the title...The main reason? The story...You begin by playing Rei, who loses her lover in a car accident, and somehow (years later?), end up doing research/photographing an ancient Japanese mansion (sound familiar?), accompanied by your assistant Miko (of the first FF game)...Rei spots Yu (her dead lover), and all so our story begins it's almost like a bad translation of what could have been a promising Japanese horror movie...There's a half-naked Japanese woman with a snake tattoo that dominates the story, but it's never clear exactly why...But the true villain of this story is the BAD EDITING...After each scenario your taken away from the Mansion and back to Rei's house where menial task are required in order to get the story back on track it's almost like required intermission in between each Acts, and it was a horrible idea, but the only way to thread so many playable characters into the game...Miko from the original title who should be having a serious case of deja vu, acts as if she is in complete denial, or just has mental block of the previous traumatic events it's truly mind boggling...I got about halfway in before I gave up on the game ever making any sense...Maybe it gets better after that, but from most the FAQS I checked into it didn't seem likely...My advice? Pass this one up, and if you haven't played Crimson Butterfly, get that instead...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME

posted by WolfGamer (NORMAN, OK) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I originally played the second one, and that one scared me bad. So i knew i HAD TO play the third one and was like OMG... I would recommend this to anyone, Great playing!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

To many similarities...??

posted by itssosublime (FAIRMONT, WV) Dec 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I am a huge fan of the fatal frame series. i find these to be one of the best games that i have played, yet with this game i felt there was to many similarities between FF3 and FF2. Not just in play style either. its almost if they just copy and pasted a large portion of FF2 into FF3...

I have yet to finish this game and will continue to play and see what directions the game will go in, but at this point its becoming a bit hard to commit to having played the previous games... i know that its a series and that i would be offended if it didnt follow the same pattern of previous games, however to use the exact same scenarios, location, and characters in a cut and paste manner such as this is a bit too far...

Will keep ya posted but lets just hope that the new fatal frame for Wii (already released in Japan and has been for some time) will make its way to us in the us so we can continue to enjoy a wonderful new chapter in an already epic adventure through this series..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good till the end

posted by koroadies (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Game is good and has a good replay value the only problem i had was the final boss. Very anti climatic. Way to easy. I beat the boss in like 30 sec. No Joke. Overall Good Game,Will i play it again,Not likely

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FF3- The Good, the Bad, the Ghostly

posted by aalbano (CORNING, NY) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

OK, the Good: Upgrades are awesome! with a souped up camera and the right film, ghosties die! the story: creepy, moody, dark - everything a fan could want! Gameplay: Addictive as always - keeps you coming back for more.

The Bad: Figuring out what to do! Always tough in all 3 games, sometimes I felt like I was running around in cirles.

The Ghostly: All I can say is, the upside down crawlie under the house - FREAKIN' SWEET!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fatal Frame III

posted by PandaSlayr (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

A great third entry into the Fatal Frame series; a must for fans, iffy for gamers with game control issues.

+The atmosphere is amazing, creepy, gripping, and mysterious.
+This iteration features the MC's apartment area, wherein she can gather further information about characters she's learned of.
+More classic scares!

-The controls unfortunately haven't improved much and you'll find yourself struggling to work with the camera angles.

A great, original survival horror game that stands out among the rest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A pictures worth a thousand screams.

posted by LunasCrain (NASHUA, NH) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The game is great, shocking and thrilling with all the nightmarey goodness of a bad dream.
You play through the majority of the game as Rei Kurosawa, a young women investigating the loss and disappearance of her late fiancé.
You spend most of your time in the land of dreams searching the rooms and halls of the Manor of Sleep.
Poor Rei runs into all sort of fear-full ghost and apparition while wandering the halls and rooms there in, her only defense against the army of terror before her is a humble looking camera, this camera, is no other than the "camera obscura" a special camera imbued with the power to exorsize the creatures of the spirit realm.
With the camera obscura in hand Rei slowly unfolds the dark secrets of the manor of sleep, and the horror there to be had. All the time wakeing less and less from the horrible nightmare of ghosts and spirits, torn from limb and distorted in ways that make one cringe.
As if she did not have enough to worry about with her crash course in ghots busting, Rei is becomming more and more aware of the painful Black marks slowly creeping acrossed her back.
Its just one horrifying thing after another on a quest to find out what killed your beloved fiancé,
but it becomes so much more than that, as you start to unravel the mystery's of the manor of sleep.
All in all Rei has it rough
but thats what makes this game so great,
there are so many layers to this game and much to take in. there is absolutely no way to get it all in one play.

So as far as ratings go.

10 for Game play.

10 for fun factor.

10 for Scare Factor

9.5 for Replay value.

9.5 for Graphics.

9.5 for Challenge

9.5 for Play time

10 for Story

7.0 for Group entertainment.

10 for Sound and Music

a total of 95\100

Cant wait to play number 4 on the Wii.

Well I hope you injoyd this Review Now go buy copie and have fun.

Lunas Crain Cloud

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

does it work on the ps3?

posted by misfit2466 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

I would like to leve a review BUT!!!!! I have no working ps2.and it did not play on my ps3,so if some on can tell me who has a ps3 and had it run on ther system.I like the outher two and would like to try pt.3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fatal frame three revew and reccemendation

posted by jynx12345 (SEATTLE, WA) Jun 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

i rented fatal frame because of my interest in the paranormal. i was hoping that it would be a fun game. i was not disappointed. I love this game and highly reccomend it for paranormal and survival horror buffs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth playing

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) May 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

I thought Crimson Butterfly was alot better, however, this is still pretty good. There were alot of annoyances with this game first off is the stiff, slow movement next is that the game is not as sensitive as it should be, you can be in the right spot pressing buttons and it takes several times to lock onto something and pick it up. The last annoyance is that when the ghosts get you you can't get them off until their done attacking. Now for the good: It had a nice length to it, maybe 25 hours, good graphics and was pretty scary. The story was good but the whole legend part was kind of dumb. I like this series alot, hopefully they will make some more for the next gen. systems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FF III - Keep the ghosts coming

posted by Wes1971 (CYPRESS, TX) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

Tecmo has outdone themselves again with another successful Fatal Frame saga. The ability for the main character Rei to "dream" for herself and 2 other characters adds to the overall storyline and develops more than just the main character. The gameplay is never repetitive and the masterful interweave of the Crimson Butterfly story keeps you wanting the game to never end. All in all, this game is a keeper to be played over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

different but a good horror game netherless

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Nov 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

Instead of zombies like in silent hill and resident evil, fatal frame fanchise has ghosts! the setting is in japan unlike silent hill and resident evil. The controls at the beginning is surprising easy to use, despite the lacks of weapons. Your weapons?? it's a camera and your guts! Take picture of ghosts when they appear t receive extra points or use it as a weapon. The graphic is above average with decent voice acting, the story good and probably keep you play until the end to see how it will turn out. In my opinion.. this game doesn't have that scary setting like silent hill, since the environment is pretty clean (no blood everywhere like silent hill) except for some ghost popping up here and there. Still i like it, this is one of the few horror games there are on the ps2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost as good as the first two Fatal Frames

posted by mattyland (BRISTOW, VA) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Fatal Frame 3 is almost as good as the first two, but I did not find it to be as "scary". The game play is very similar (moves, controls, etc.) but they did add some new filters to the Camera Obscura, which was nice. Also, while you mainly play with the main character, Rei, you also play certain chapters with two other characters which was interesting. In between chapters, the character wakes up in her own room and you have to explore the house (similar to Silent Hill 4: THE ROOM) which cuts the pace of the game and I feel was unnecessary. Bottom line: it is still a great game. If you liked the first two games, I would definitely recommend it. If you haven't played the first two, I would say to start with those, especially for the storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not to bad!

posted by sonygamer (KAUFMAN, TX) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

for all you horror fans out there, this is the game for you. but unfortunately, if your a good special effects person, this game is good on special effects, but it COULD be better. the voices have flaws on them, but not every games perfect...now if your also just a Ring fan...or a (definent Grudge) fan then i insist for you to rent this game. and turn off the lights, turn your stereo up, and get ready to scream!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great

posted by Kane22 (NEW YORK, NY) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

It's a great game for its genre. Atmosphere, music and dialog are well done. Visually well done. A few problems with the actual game camera when walking from area to area, or trying to scan an room. Running or walking in the game is not that different speed wise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I got bored right away.

posted by VeganFreak (HOMOSASSA, FL) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

I loved Fatal Frame 2 and couldn't wait to play this one. I didn't like the hoping back and forth from scary places to the apartment. I got bored and just stopped playing. Maybe I gave up to soon in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best of Its Kind

posted by FreakyCris (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This game is really great!I have played all Fatal Frames but this is my favorite yet!This game is bone chilling and you will never get tired of it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I love FF.

posted by amiko1 (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

I played this right after playing the second and I must say that Tecmo did a great job with the scary factor on this one.

The game had me on the edge of my seat at all times. When I was expecting the ghosties to pop out they never did until right after I let my guard down.

The only thing I didn't like was the easy factor. It was way to easy to get a Fatal Frame on any of the ghosties, except on the last boss. But other than that the game was pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by teresa (SAINTE GENEVIEVE, MO) Aug 28, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

this game is so amazing the storyline and gosts will keep u hooked rent this game!!!! its worth it i got a couple of scares out of it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Top Notch

posted by Marastar (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 2, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

Fatal Frame III provided a dark and forboding environment not seen since Silent Hill 3. The game did lose it's scariness during the down times in the main charcter's apartment, and there did seem to be too many abstract devices whose only function was to creep you out, but other than that the game is, well, top notch. The especially scary parts are when you are controlling the gut due to his lack of fighting skill. The game seemed to ramp up the difficulty near the end, but the amount of speical features available for beating the game are awesome. I would recommend this game to any one likes getting the living daylights scared out of them.

P.S. I only played it at night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »