Rent Fatal Frame 2: Crimson Butterfly for PS2
view large frontback

Fatal Frame 2: Crimson Butterfly

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

781 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by brianmoore (SUNRISE, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A must have along the lines of horror titles. Very scary, very interesting, and just long enough to satisfy most gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

OMG one of the scariest games ever!

posted by Phantom18 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is one of the most creepy games i have ever played recommend this game for fans of survival horror and japanese horror. After you play this game you will understand what i mean.

you play as two sisters stuck in a tormented, haunted village. where ghosts pop up and scare the bejesus out of you. To vanquish the ghosts you must use your camera and take pictures of them i know it doesn't sound scary but it is. check this game out and if you dont get scared then you must be that awesome.
RENT RENT RENT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I had nightmares thanks to this game!!!

posted by amiko1 (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 8, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Seriously, I'd never thought I would be playing a "survival/horror" game ever. The whole concept just didn't faze me.

I don't know what it was that got me to try this game. The first time I saw it I was at a game store and I checked it out. Playing a game with a camera was not my idea of fun. But I decided to try it out when I started GameFly. And I'm glad I did. This game really does scare the living poo out of me. Even playing during the daytime, I still got scared. The random ghost popping up really did the trick. Every time the controller vibrated in my hand, I had to pause the game a walk away. It's a pretty cool game. The graphics are good. You may want to turn the brightness up on your TV a little cause it does tend to get dark. The puzzles in it may be a little confusing. I had my moments trying to figure out what to do next. I got through it however and finished the game. I recommend that those who are crossing over into the "survival/horror" genre give it a try.

P.S. If you want to see something freaky, when you "rescue" Mayu for the first time and you're both in the Great Hall of the Kurosawa house, snap a picture of Mayu. That scared me. I had some nightmares thanks to that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

haha WOW

posted by PUNISHER23 (RIPON, CA) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

scared the ba jeebers outta me YOU-"ah taking photos of ghosts arent scary thats bull" ME-"YOU MAY THINK THAT BUT OMG!!!! ITS HECKA SCARY escecially when a lady with a broken neck is right behind and u turn around not expecting it !! graphics r pretty good too for ps2 and its age music creeps u out and makes u want to turn the game off and crawl into a corner and cry the ghosts r pretty darn scary too most of them anyhow if u love scary games GET THIS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Scary and gorgeous

posted by Sarene (FRESNO, CA) May 2, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game will both scare the heck out of you, and dazzle you. The characters are absolutely pretty [and hot too!], and the scenery, though eery, is well done. The game play, though it doesn't really alter throughout the entire game, does add to the terror factor because you can't help but feel a little helpless with just a camera! The occasional panty shot always spiced it up as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best, and most overlooked, franchises

posted by sabenge (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When you think of horror, the first thing that comes to mind should be scared teenagers running for their lives not a heavily armed government agent laying waste to the undead with a chain gun. While screaming is in short supply, Fatal Frame 2: Crimson Butterfly contains its fair share of running for your life, even if you aren't a teenager.

You are Mio, a girl who is desperately trying to find her twin sister, Mayu, who just can't seem to stop getting lost in a haunted village that shouldn't exist. The core component of the gameplay, and aiding you in your search, is a mystical camera known as the Camera Obscura. With this implement, you are able to exorcise ghosts from the physical realm, and thus the story begins, but I won't spoil that for you. Alright, just a little morsel. The village is host to a deadly ritual that involves twins. That's all you get, though. Where's the fun in playing if you already know the ending?

The only major flaw that can be found in the game is in the character's movement. Maybe the miniskirt and leggings are too tight for her because, even when running, she moves quite slow. This, of course, is only a minor grievance and really the only problem with the game that is even worth mentioning. So, if you can get past a slow-moving character, you enjoy horror of any medium, or just want the nerd cred for knowing about this game, then bump down whatever Resident Evil game is at the top your Game Q and get ready to cosplay as a scared Japanese chick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The definition of fear!

posted by EQOAnostalgia (NEW YORK MILLS, NY) May 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I love my old school survival horror games, but NONE of them have anything on how completely terrifying this game and it's predecessor are!

I have seen tons of scary movies and played almost every survival horror game to date. This game will scare anyone! It offers the perfect mix of atmosphere and jump scares.

It does what Silent Hill does for mood and atmosphere and makes you jump like the old Resident Evils did. It's a blast to play and leveling the camera up is satisfying and gives a sense of RPG element.

I simply cannot stress how scary and amazing the Fatal Frame trilogy is! Armed with just a camera as a female protagonist uncovering the secrets of this ancient town gone horribly wrong is so much fun it should be illegal!

Rent this game NOW! Prepare to change your shorts!

Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Kodak moment!

posted by slicknick (Brooklyn, NY) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

Hey.This game is a good game.I quit on it cause i couldnt figure out where to find a key and i dont have the patience that I did in the past,but its a good game and worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by catinthe (RAVENSWOOD, WV) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

this was a good game very hard and scared me alot so i gave it a 10 rating

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EXCITING, SCARY!!

posted by whipkeydillon (ENGLISH, IN) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The game is really amazing when i got it today i poped it in and started playing blew my mind with the graphics and the game play its a must rent if you like horror. it sucks that the first one was higher in my Q above the second one and they shipped it before the first so i gotta beat this one and then get the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BLEH

posted by GamerGirl2 (WEST SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Hated this game. It's so dark you can't see anything, and that's with the help of a flashlight. I had the plot figured out within the first 30 minutes of the game. I'm still trying to figure out what exactly is so awesome about this game that it deserves an 8.2 rating. I really wanted to enjoy the game because I read all of the reviews and they seemed so positive. I was really bummed when I popped the game in and played for 2 hours and was so annoyed by the lack of visibility, the horrible controls, the mind numbing repetitiveness of the houses in the town, etc. I literally packed it up and sent it back within 2-3 hours of receiving it in the mail.

Like I said really wanted to like this game, but in the end it's horrible (in my opinion) and I'm sorry I had it on my Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not scary and horrible controls

posted by 420gamer (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

Don't waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I still play even after beating it!

posted by xxShayxD (EUSTIS, FL) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Orverview:
Oh I LOVE this game! I got it a LONG time back from Gamestop, it was my older sister who told me about it, Me and my best friend LOVE this game! It could make us SCREAM. HAha! I LOVE it! And it takes time to beat it, so its something to look forward to everyday! The storyline was GREAT! Maybe some confusing parts but AMAZING! :). WILL NOT get over this game!

Ratings:

STORY:
10/10.
Loved it, there is so much to the story line! And it just keeps going JUST when you think you're done!

GRAPHICS:
10/10.
LOVED The graphics! They were awesome! But of course, here and there there was JUST a few lagging parts. (: . NO BIGGIE!

GAMEPLAY:
9/10.
Gameplay was great! It took time to get used too, but edventually you will love it! The only thing I did not enjoy, is th screen switching. The screen switches constently making it not only creepy, but a few times annoying because you cannot see were your going LOL! (But, again luring you to the creepinest.)

OVERALL:
10/10.
WILL NOT GET OVER THIS GAME(: .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Survival Horror Out There!

posted by ZeroGamer (ENUMCLAW, WA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

I played the first Fatal Frame and fell in love with it. When I saw there was a sequal, I thought "There's no way it can match up to the first one". But when I played Fatal Frame II: Crimson Butterfly, not only did I love it even more, but I think it may be The Best Survival Horror Game hands down!

This game was amazing! The graphic details, music and the depth of the storyline were very, very well done. I was so scared every time I played, but I also felt sad for what happened to everyone in the village. But mostly I was scared! There were times I'd pass through a few rooms where no ghosts would show up and then BAM! (Tip: never look through the windows! You will be scared!) There were even rooms where either your flashlight wouldn't work, or you had to play deadly games of tag with ghosts where one touch gave you a GAMER OVER!
There were not as many puzzles as in the first Fatal Frame, and they weren't as hard. But they weren't so easy that you finished it on the first try, they still made you think about what steps you took.
What makes things scarier is that items are more hidden and thus, harder to come by. So be careful; every camera shot and Herbal Medicine counts! It's also dark, and I mean really dark. You'll need to change the lighting on your TV before you start playing.

This game was massively addicting, and it was also a good challenge. I highly recommend this game to anyone looking for a good scare! You will love it and, as much as it may scare you, you will never want to stop playing!

Also, do not play this game in the dark! I know I said this last time but DO NOT PLAY THIS IN THE DARK! I had such a hard time sleeping I was so scared, and when I did manage to sleep, I had nightmares! It's that scary! But this game is worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fatal Frame 2 Crismon Butterfly

posted by codhero (CRESSON, PA) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I thought Fatal Frame 2 Crismon Butterfly was an awesome game the game had a cool story and hard puzzles. Fatal Frame was a very scary game too the game had lots of ghosts, blood, and gore. But other than that it is an awesome game anyone who likes fatal frame games will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Art of Fear

posted by galdon (ORANGE, TX) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

I actually rented this game to re-play it after having beat it a few years ago when it first came out in the US. And frankly, it's just as scary this time! Of course, it's not just the ghosts or the ambient music and sounds that make this so scary... the plot itself is so sad and detailed. The area you explore here is much bigger than in the first one, and the plot is bigger as well. There's even a place that kills your flashlight!

Then there are the puzzles. They aren't hard, nor are they so common that you get frustrated. They're usually "go where I show you, retrieve this piece, then come back and solve this simple, but not-too-simple puzzle" of "take a picture of the thing I'm showing you to release the seal". Nothing too hard... just a bit of backtracking in some cases.

I have to hand it to the Japanese... they know how to get horror right. Taking pictures of ghosts doesn't sound scary... but when you are defenseless except for a very old camera and they can and will hurt you, it takes on a strong edge of fear. And they will jump out at you sometimes!

Overall, I suggest you rent it - especially if you have either played the first and loved it, or if you haven't, but want a long horror/survival game that makes you think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best jphorror game ???????

posted by Petey559 (COALINGA, CA) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I used to have this game along time ago but no that I'm in Gamefly n saw the game it was the first game I rented in Gamefly this game will scare anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by lilevil35 (HUNTINGTON, IN) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Fatal Frame is without a doubt one of the best games ever, the graphics and details are terrific. If you like games like Resident Evil, You'll love Fatal FrameThis game will keep you in suspence and scare you, it will keep you on the edge of your seat and scare you some more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Scary and well-put storyline

posted by topdog101 (CUTLER BAY, FL) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is scary and will keep you on edge throughout the entire game. From strange noise to ghost appearing from around the corner you will have your hands sweat and heart racing. The graphs in the game are beautiful and well-detailed from the lighting to the way the character moves. The game is one of the scaries game I ever play in a long time. One of the most scary part about the is the fact that the game is taking in complete darkness and the only way you can see anything is a little flashlight. The only part about the game is how the character moves slow even when running. But other then that this game will have you having nightmare. Keep your flashlight handy!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Could You Get Any Slower

posted by lightninbu (SEAGOVILLE, TX) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I actually grew grey hair playing this game. What is it with the Japanese and their fascination with cameras. I got the game for the M rating and the tempting intro, but, bleeeeeech. BORING...BORING...BORING. Can't move fast enough and all operations from the menu take longer than normal. The one thing that hassled me the most was the camera shutter...Snapping a pictur with the triangle, then trying to close the camera down got me a lot of times because backing out of the menu is the same as the shoot button. I caught myself wasting film because I wouldn't close with the circle. I kept forgeting that is how you get out of camera mode.....I did not care to finish the game.......You just can't beat Laura Croft or Silent Hill..........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A kick butt ride

posted by bekhie6 (MIDVALE, UT) May 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Oh my God!! Finally a game that scared me as much as playing Resident Evil 1 on my playstation
years ago. I actually threw the paddle when the dogs jumped thru the window on res 1. The creepy music and the very scary ghosts absolutly fantastic!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a decent horror game..

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Mar 23, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

i like the part where the camera is your only weapon!!.. god graphic, story and easy gameplay.. But somehow it doesn't feel as horrid as silent hill games, maybe there's little blood?? .. but the game did draw in my attention with its music and environment design. Beside it's limited running ability, the character can run but it's like trying to run in a sand bag! it's so slow!! It does take soemtimes to explore because of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game Highly Recomended

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

This game is over 4 years old and it still holds up. The game is very well made although not perfect it was still very entertaining. It can be very difficult unless you pay attention to the clues given. The game clock said 17.5 hours but it felt like alot longer. I would guess it took me about 25 hours to complete. If you wanted to get all of the ghosts, it would take alot longer. Replayability factor is pretty high. Also, the ending will surprise you but not necessarily in a good way. I thought they blew it w/ this ending but you can decide for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!

posted by MrsDiana (KINGMAN, AZ) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is entertaining... IT'S SCARRRRRRY!!! It's downright awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its screaming good!

posted by Crimson1 (Beaverton, OR) Apr 1, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game is an excellent example of a horror survival game. The storyline is excellent (I was emotional(cry/other) at the end(smiles)and the game wouldnt get out of my head until I beat it!Not only is the story line good but there are so many hidden items to find that you will be playing for quite a while. Camera controls can sometimes be hard but that just adds to the realism. BTW for PS3 users, its alot harder without the vibration. Anyway this is one of my favorite games and I hope you all enjoy it. (It scared my best friend and my ex so bad that they had to sleep with the lights on)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse