Rent Far Cry: Vengeance for Wii
view large frontback

Far Cry: Vengeance

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.3

846 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great with a few glitches...

posted by Unaboomer (STANCHFIELD, MN) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. I don't care that everybody else says it's mediocre at best or the few glitches it might have. All the controls make sense and make game play very intense with the jumping with the nunchuck and the melee attack with the wiimote. It has a very interesting story about a man named Semeru who has the same abilities as Jack Carver(you), and wants to bring the fall of civilization with his own hands. There lot more weapons in this than any other FPSs on the wii I think, and a verity of vehicles to drive. and I know the graphics aren't the best, but if you can get past that, this game is worth at least a rent(I bought it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Skip this title

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

21 out of 23 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I was very excited for this game because it was one of the first FPS shooters for the Wii. But it appears that the developers stopped working on this game with only 60% complete. There is a ton missing, frame rate issues, and terrible textures.

You start out in a prison of sorts, and your goal is to escape. From the start, you see the Wii's controls are tacked on, with no real innovation to set up. The only decent thing about the controls is that you can shoot the guns separately, but this is something you can do with about any controller now a days. The graphics stink, and in more than one spot do you have drastic frame rate dipping, which makes the game very difficult.

The multiplayer is fair at best. You can play up to 2 people, and it's basically a death match set up. The multiplayer levels are hard, and very big. So it easy to run around trying to find each other, and beings that this game only supports two players, it just seems pointless.

I wouldn't worry about trying this for the Wii, it's really not worth the time it takes to get to your doorstep. Maybe next time..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is what I was so excited about?

posted by PiercedLip (BARBERTON, OH) Dec 23, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I was so excited to get another shooter, as the game released screens it looked like the graphics were going to be bad. Well I am probably an hour or more into the game and its ok, but I feel like im playing Turok the dinosaur hunter on n64. The enemies AI is horrible, as they just sit there and look at you. The graphics are disappointing and grass and such pops up out of nowhere in front of you.

The controls are pretty solid but could of done for reloading and duck/jumping how Red Steel was setup. The aim is ok, I had to put the option for sensitivity up to 10, but it still doesnt move left/right as quick as I'd hope for.

If your out games to play, this ones worth giving a shot, but don't expect a whole lot of out it visually.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Try to stay away from this one

posted by Soldier786 (Delete, CA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The wii version of Far Cry is really really bad. The aiming on this game is poor, as you turn with your wiimote, the aiming lags big time. I don't think it is a glitch because in red steel I have the same issue I guess because both games were developed by ubisoft. Ubisoft makes great games, but for the wii they just dropped the ball on this title. I'm sending this game tomorrow. My advise, don't waste your time on this game as the controls are very bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is garbage.

posted by zzzxxx (CHICOPEE, MA) Dec 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

How could Ubisoft possibly screw up Far Cry? It was a great game on the PC, but is complete trash on the Wii. The graphics look like an N64 game, the enemy AI is as smart as tree, and the levels are a complete bore to go through. The game is so easy, that if you actually die, once, I will give you $10. The AI can't even shoot you. They shoot 50 times, and you are lucky if you get hit once. The controls work fine, but the rest of the game is complete and utter trash, so it just isn't any fun to play. They have ruined Far Cry. I didn't even know that was possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a great game for some but not others

posted by smalowman (ACTON, MA) Dec 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

To start off far cry vengeance is a great game it has all the features of a great shooter plus more.
the storyline is great and has many twists and turns but will be a little bit confusing if you havnt played the xbox version
Controls: The controls in this game are WAY better than red steel mainly cause you can adjust the sensitivity in the game. the only problem i had with it was that when you try to reful your health using a shake of the nunchuk the game gets confused with the jump motion so while taking cover you find yourself jumping out of cover and gettin killed rather than regaining health.
Equipment: the guns in this game are amazing and are all familier to most fans of the series. they have about 15 different guns in all including a blow gun!! you can also duel weild certain guns like in halo 2. the vehicles in this game are great too and can be steered with one hand and shot out of with the other and having the ability to jump from the front seat to the turret is a real treat. the game also includes grenades, mines, c4 bombs, rockets, mines, and the best thing ever molitof cocktailes!!
AI: the enemys are very smart and use cover and even switch weapons and have great aim they also comunicate with eachother.
Originality: the game is very original in two ways one way is that you can either be stealthy or go crazy its your choice. way number 2 is your feral abilities wich u gain wen u get head shots and knife kill enemys and when yor bar is full you can get super speed, super jump, feral vision wich allows you 2 track enemy sccents and feral claw with this you claw enemys and they go flying away. you can also use your feral bar to regain your health.
Graphics: the graphics are poor and better on the original xbox but once you start to play with the smooth controls you forget the graphics and have a real fun time.
Multiplayer: only 2 people at once but has great levels and modes has no online multiplayer until 2007 wich was a key part of farcry games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Best FPS out of Red Steel & COD3

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Dec 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

There is still a lot of work to be done on first person shooters (FPS) for the Wii. I have played Red Steel, Call of Duty 3, and now this game... After playing Red Steel (horrible game) i rented COD3 (After playing COD3 on XB360, i couldnt get into it for the Wii). Now i have rented Far Cry and its really not a bad game, its much better than red steel, the controls in this game are NOT bad, and there is minimal lag, much less than red steel! Far Cry is my favorite FPS for the Wii so far... But there is a lot of work to be done on games, as expected for a new console... Try this game out, I think its worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS!!!

posted by williejay (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Apr 3, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

WOW!!! I just got a Nintendo Wii and was waiting for gamefly to send me a game so unfortunately i made the mistake of going to blockbuster...(and they didn't have ANYTHING) so i unfortunately spent 9 bucks on this game....played it for like a half hour.....and oh my gosh this game is HORRIBLE!!!!!!! there is a reason that this game is available to rent on Gamefly because it sucks and no one wants it........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game I think

posted by jonnyred (BYRON, NY) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Pros: The controls are much better than red steel which I had in my console for a whole hour before deciding to send it back. Classic far cry story line and generally just fun.

Cons: Graphics are not that great but the controls make up for it. Anyone who complains too much about graphics on this system consider the difference in price you paid over other consoles. Your paying for fun not HD.

Thanks UBISOFT and nintendo for making life better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Waste Your Time!

posted by sixthhour (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The graphics are lame yet it stutters often. Go for Call of Duty instead. COD looks good and the controls are much better than those in Far Cry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good in a Vacuum

posted by Disolution (HARPERS FERRY, WV) Jan 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game might be good if....

You have never played Half Life2 on PC
You have never seen a Gears of War trailer
You are legally blind
You are 8 years old

This game is a perfect example of why the only games you should play on a Wii are games made only for the Wii. Porting over a FPS that was built around the high detail graphics of other systems should be a crime. The graphics are really really bad. Please understand, I'm not a high end console snob, matter of fact I own a PC and a Wii, but this style of game looks horrible on the Wii. Take this same game and wrap it in a Mario theme and my ratting would probably jump 5 points. The controls and game play are ok, but this is and ugly clunky game.

Developers need to understand, the Wii is not a PS3, understand the graphical limits of the platform and make games that fit. Want to buy Wii Sports Paintball!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok

posted by darthl1378 (SAINT HELENS, OR) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well I just got a WII and so I guess this is my first review.

PROS

+ Stunning graphics

+ Great use of the wii mote

+ Awesome weapons

CONS

- Better on xbox and pc

- Hard driving levels

- Just too hard[Even on easy mode]

Overall:This game is just way too hard and best on the pc

6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Makes me want to quit gaming

posted by ThomasMack (Dagsboro, DE) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played this game for a total of 10 minutes. It's now on it's way back to the GameFly-- the same day I received it.

This game is just the worse game ever played. The graphics are a big disappointment-- I know Wii can do a LOT better then that, Gamecube can.

The controls are so clunky and tacked together it's not funny... I can't ever imagine how people gave this anything above 1... if there was -10, thats what it would of got from me.

I do not recommend wasting time for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst game on the wii up to date

posted by DrkRaven15 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Mar 10, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ooh my god when i first got this game i was with my wife she plays game too the first movie i saw was so horrible ps 1 graphic ooh my god but then i got to the game what in the world is this i said this has to be turok for the 64 this game look so bad man it gave me the felling to trade my wii cause man it suck butt now and on top of that i loose respect for ubisoft two of the games i play for them suck butt this piece of cra# and red steel please don't buy this game or rent it safe you eyes from this horrible graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

only worth renting

posted by wayway (WARREN, OH) Jan 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

exactly, it's only worth renting. pc version and 360 version is better.
i love the far cry series but this was somewhat a let down. maybe because the graphics are just grotesque, whats far cry without beautiful graphics?

controls (7) - far better then red steel.
gameplay (6) - to me it was repetitive and somewhat dull, but when you actually get into a good fight its fun. melee is pretty bloodly :D
graphics (3) - disgusting. red steel so far has the best FPS graphics for the wii.
storyline (4) - kinda cheesy
multiplayer - i decided to return it before trying it.
overall - 5 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, But Dissapointing

posted by bobistheru (GLENCOE, IL) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nintendo should work on the control of shooting with the Wii controllers because it is too hard to aim and shoot with the remote because your hand shakes. It is also hard to move around with the nunchuck and it is also hard to jump without screwing up your view.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

THIS IS NOT FUN AT ALL SOMEONE PLEASE STOP IT!!!!

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Apr 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS GAMES IS NOT FUN I HATE IT IT'S TO HARD TO MOVE PLUS YOUR RUNING ON AN ISLAND HOW DO YOU EXCAPE
NOT FUN THE GUNS AND EVERYTHING ELSE SUCKS OTHER THING THIS SHOULD STAY WHERE IT SHOULD ON THE "PC"

WHO EVER MAD THIS GAME IS THE WORST GAME MAKER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Game.

posted by NoahReed (SALEM, OR) Jan 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Far Cry is so far the best shooting games for the wii. Totally beaets red steel and what ever other ones there are. It is a great story and very fun gameplay. This has got to be one of my favorite games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME IS AWFUL

posted by venom241 (CHINO, CA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

this game is horrible, hmm lets see

no online
only 2 players
Terrible AI
no map maker
N64 Graphics
EXACT SAME single player as evolution
only 2 new guns
2 new vehicles

ubisoft has destroyed the once great far cry franchise, every far cry game that came out after Instincts sucked, PLEASE UBISOFT NO MORE OF THESE GAMES, YOU ALREADY KILLED A ONCE GOOD FRANCHISE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sux

posted by willdawg (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

sux

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not good

posted by miniyou2010 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

no action real borring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but tweaking is necessary

posted by OldRed (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

The review title says it all.
This is a good FPS as far as early attempts go for the Wii.
The storyline in my opinion does very well but some parts will have you retrying the level over and over again.
The graphics are sub-par at best.
The many choices in thrown weapons is new in that you can use rocks to distract enemies, grenades to blow them to pieces, molotovs to BBQ them at their posts, or remote explosives that you can trick a group of enemies to walk over.
A stealth feature gives a new way to kill your enemies by hiding underwater or in bushes and then sneaking out to kill them with the machete or silenced pistol.
That brings up the point that you can actually swim in this game which is unheard of in FPS.
The fact that you can unhinge mounted weapons is another interesting feature. It gives you 200 rounds in a heavy machine gun or 20 in a high-velocity grenade launcher.
The biggest problem with this game is lag. In big firefights you may find that suddenly your rate-of-fire greatly decreases and your character slows drastically.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT WERE THEY THINKING!!!! did they even test it?

posted by centurion9 (NORTONVILLE, KS) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

this game is a travesty and abomination to the far cry series with graphic details of a gamecube game released in the year 2000! that and the frame rate drops below 10 frames per second! and the combat cant be more bland even if the guns were replaced with toys all i can say is that this game is not worth even renting. IF YOU HAVE THIS ON YOUR Q SAVE YOURSELF SOME FRUSTRATION AND TAKE IT OFF!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by bhudagod81 (EDINBURG, TX) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Shame on Ubisoft for crapping this thing out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont get it i beg u please

posted by pspgo1 (RUNNING SPRINGS, CA) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

it was complete garbage i thought it would be a little fun but it is 100% bad i like redsteel better than this and red steel gave me a sour arm theyll use all your bullets on you but theyll neva get u list of things bad about it 1.bad graphics 2.no online thats boring 3.short story get far cry 2 on ps3 or 360 thats a good game but this is horrible. list of good things on about it. uuuuuuuuuuuhhhhh? nothing really the only thing good is that u can hold 2 guns but thats it. read mine first thhannnn anybodys else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse