Rent Far Cry: Vengeance for Wii
view large frontback

Far Cry: Vengeance

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.3

845 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by hertig (BOWDEN, WV) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game is awesome and cool. This game only has 9 levels but they are very long and cool. I like all the vehicles and guns. i like it so much i played through it like 100 times. You might not like it so you might want to rent it from Gamefly. Semeru the boss of the game is kinda hard but not really. the ending is great so you have to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Game.

posted by NoahReed (SALEM, OR) Jan 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Far Cry is so far the best shooting games for the wii. Totally beaets red steel and what ever other ones there are. It is a great story and very fun gameplay. This has got to be one of my favorite games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hear my Cry!!!!

posted by 1h2l3n (PARMA, MI) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game is one of the best shooters on the Wii platform. It follows a very good storyline. Jack Carver is like Spider Man, Jason Bourne, James Bond And Sly cooper all rolled into one. The graphics are outstanding, i thought that i could actually jump in the screen and fight rebels alongside Jack and Kade. The only thing that was a little iffy was the game play. The aiming system was a little difficult, and you could only hold 3 weapons at a time. But despite it all, i was won over by the fact that you could go into predator mode. Who doesn't want to run 50 mph being able to claw people 30 feet in the air. So i highly recommend this game to any one that likes Brothers in Arms or Prince of Persia Warrior Within. I highly recommend this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a great game for some but not others

posted by smalowman (ACTON, MA) Dec 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

To start off far cry vengeance is a great game it has all the features of a great shooter plus more.
the storyline is great and has many twists and turns but will be a little bit confusing if you havnt played the xbox version
Controls: The controls in this game are WAY better than red steel mainly cause you can adjust the sensitivity in the game. the only problem i had with it was that when you try to reful your health using a shake of the nunchuk the game gets confused with the jump motion so while taking cover you find yourself jumping out of cover and gettin killed rather than regaining health.
Equipment: the guns in this game are amazing and are all familier to most fans of the series. they have about 15 different guns in all including a blow gun!! you can also duel weild certain guns like in halo 2. the vehicles in this game are great too and can be steered with one hand and shot out of with the other and having the ability to jump from the front seat to the turret is a real treat. the game also includes grenades, mines, c4 bombs, rockets, mines, and the best thing ever molitof cocktailes!!
AI: the enemys are very smart and use cover and even switch weapons and have great aim they also comunicate with eachother.
Originality: the game is very original in two ways one way is that you can either be stealthy or go crazy its your choice. way number 2 is your feral abilities wich u gain wen u get head shots and knife kill enemys and when yor bar is full you can get super speed, super jump, feral vision wich allows you 2 track enemy sccents and feral claw with this you claw enemys and they go flying away. you can also use your feral bar to regain your health.
Graphics: the graphics are poor and better on the original xbox but once you start to play with the smooth controls you forget the graphics and have a real fun time.
Multiplayer: only 2 people at once but has great levels and modes has no online multiplayer until 2007 wich was a key part of farcry games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

cool

posted by theriddle (FEDERALSBURG, MD) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

this was a really cool game but the controls were sloppy camera was annoying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great with a few glitches...

posted by Unaboomer (STANCHFIELD, MN) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. I don't care that everybody else says it's mediocre at best or the few glitches it might have. All the controls make sense and make game play very intense with the jumping with the nunchuck and the melee attack with the wiimote. It has a very interesting story about a man named Semeru who has the same abilities as Jack Carver(you), and wants to bring the fall of civilization with his own hands. There lot more weapons in this than any other FPSs on the wii I think, and a verity of vehicles to drive. and I know the graphics aren't the best, but if you can get past that, this game is worth at least a rent(I bought it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not as bad as it seems

posted by wolf510 (PITTSBURG, CA) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Over all this is a pretty good game as far as fun goes. It definitely could use an overhaul in the graphics department. However, I enjoyed the controls and found them very intuitive. Anyone who was a fan of the N64 game Goldeneye would probably enjoy this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but tweaking is necessary

posted by OldRed (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

The review title says it all.
This is a good FPS as far as early attempts go for the Wii.
The storyline in my opinion does very well but some parts will have you retrying the level over and over again.
The graphics are sub-par at best.
The many choices in thrown weapons is new in that you can use rocks to distract enemies, grenades to blow them to pieces, molotovs to BBQ them at their posts, or remote explosives that you can trick a group of enemies to walk over.
A stealth feature gives a new way to kill your enemies by hiding underwater or in bushes and then sneaking out to kill them with the machete or silenced pistol.
That brings up the point that you can actually swim in this game which is unheard of in FPS.
The fact that you can unhinge mounted weapons is another interesting feature. It gives you 200 rounds in a heavy machine gun or 20 in a high-velocity grenade launcher.
The biggest problem with this game is lag. In big firefights you may find that suddenly your rate-of-fire greatly decreases and your character slows drastically.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Renter

posted by louie77 (WETMORE, CO) May 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Ok. The Graphics could be better and there are a few glitches. Other than that, It is a perfect game to rent and beat in a couple of days. It is a good story and kept me involved. The two player mode is awsome. You basically just hunt down and kill each other. The main game is a good action/adventure shooter. Which means that you walk around shooting people and collecting guns and ammo ect....................my kind of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's not a bad game.

posted by Skooch (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 29, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

If you're looking for the revolutionary shooter that the Wii seems built for, this game is not it. If you're looking for a fun, different shooting experience, this game is it.

The good: I liked the aiming, it was smooth and easy enough for me not to feel put out about it. I found this style of aiming much more enjoyable than the simple moving of a joystick. Melee attacks were also fun to pull off with a swipe motion.

The bad: The graphics really aren't good, but I didn't play this game for the graphics. A few of the movements are hard to pull off in a tight spot, such as shaking the nun chuck and sniping, and even though they get easier with practice, they never felt smooth to me. I also found the story to be pretty sad; it was full of cheesy 'tough guy' lines.

I also never found this game to be terribly difficult, so a hardcore gamer probably wouldn't be entirely satisfied. Even though the bad seemed to outweigh the good, I still found myself having a good time playing. Go figure.

The end

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Far Cry (Wii)

posted by CSanwong (PLEASANTON, CA) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

So what if the graphics suck. The game controls very well. And good control is better for immersion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game I think

posted by jonnyred (BYRON, NY) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Pros: The controls are much better than red steel which I had in my console for a whole hour before deciding to send it back. Classic far cry story line and generally just fun.

Cons: Graphics are not that great but the controls make up for it. Anyone who complains too much about graphics on this system consider the difference in price you paid over other consoles. Your paying for fun not HD.

Thanks UBISOFT and nintendo for making life better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Best FPS out of Red Steel & COD3

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Dec 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

There is still a lot of work to be done on first person shooters (FPS) for the Wii. I have played Red Steel, Call of Duty 3, and now this game... After playing Red Steel (horrible game) i rented COD3 (After playing COD3 on XB360, i couldnt get into it for the Wii). Now i have rented Far Cry and its really not a bad game, its much better than red steel, the controls in this game are NOT bad, and there is minimal lag, much less than red steel! Far Cry is my favorite FPS for the Wii so far... But there is a lot of work to be done on games, as expected for a new console... Try this game out, I think its worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok

posted by darthl1378 (SAINT HELENS, OR) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well I just got a WII and so I guess this is my first review.

PROS

+ Stunning graphics

+ Great use of the wii mote

+ Awesome weapons

CONS

- Better on xbox and pc

- Hard driving levels

- Just too hard[Even on easy mode]

Overall:This game is just way too hard and best on the pc

6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, But Dissapointing

posted by bobistheru (GLENCOE, IL) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nintendo should work on the control of shooting with the Wii controllers because it is too hard to aim and shoot with the remote because your hand shakes. It is also hard to move around with the nunchuck and it is also hard to jump without screwing up your view.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What a pity...

posted by Wraythe (GLENSHAW, PA) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

... it is that they rushed this game to have something out there for the Wii. It could have been SO much more. The graphics are horrid when compared to Resident Evil or Metroid. The gameplay isn't bad, but again, if it wasn't rushed it could have been much better. GameFly this game, but don't buy it unless you are happy with simplicity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's ok but just rent a different game

posted by ZachFromMN (HIBBING, MN) Apr 16, 2008

Member since May 2007

This game was ok but for the most part it just wasn't any fun to play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

May or may not like

posted by Nernicle (PENNELLVILLE, NY) May 22, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This is my third attempt at an FPS. I must admit to date I still have trouble getting used to the WII controls for FPS's. They all seem awkward to me. Having said that my real reason for not rating this higher is the graphics. I know the WII is capable of better. I've always liked Far Cry be it on the PC or Xbox360. I just find this version harder to control and with not so good graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WHY Ruin This Ubisoft!!!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) May 6, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

I like you as a game company and you create awsome games and I realy wanted Far Cry to be a sleeper hit! The controls are an after thought and the graphics suck. Dont rush a game for a quick buck; it will ruin your reputation and Nintendo's. BTW; I thought Nintendo plays all games before release to make sure everything is polished before it is released on thier sysytems (example ET back in 82).

5 is the lowest I give for a game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Well it had to come down to this

posted by chipyg (SALEM, CT) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

Well at first I was pretty excited because of course another FPS on the wii. Also knowing that the other games in the series are known for their stellar graphics, but what a down grade. Not only is this game bad looking, but the cinematics are even worse. Yet there are some positives to this game. The one thing that the far cry series has always been known for its wide open environments and this game does not fail. it lets you go where ever you wish. Another plus is the wii-mote controls. It is a much better version to the red steel lay you. Now back to the cons. Where is the unstoppable baddies that I have come to love. All that there is now is the terrorists that support no AI whatsoever. If this is what the future for the wii holds than I don't know why I bought that thing. Oh yeah to see Mario fly into space with amazing speeds. In all this game is a disappointment to a extreme this is why I gave it exactly what it deserves a five out of ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A far crying shame

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Mar 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

Far cry is known for its outstanding visuals, and atmosphere. The Wii doesn't deliver anything new, and certainly is a huge visual disappointment. Is it a competent shooter? Yes. But that's about all you get. We've done this game to death already, and I was hoping for something new and compelling to shake up the game to make up for the expected loss of graphical pop. Nope. Nothing really to speak of. I have to say that Far Cry didn't work for the Wii. Its a sad day when you can't even port in a good shooter that stood out on the X Box to the Wii which is equally as powerful if not technically more so and see such a flop. Maybe rent it, for shooting thrills, it's no better than Red Steel all in all, but at least you can still pop anyone, however bad they look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

only worth renting

posted by wayway (WARREN, OH) Jan 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

exactly, it's only worth renting. pc version and 360 version is better.
i love the far cry series but this was somewhat a let down. maybe because the graphics are just grotesque, whats far cry without beautiful graphics?

controls (7) - far better then red steel.
gameplay (6) - to me it was repetitive and somewhat dull, but when you actually get into a good fight its fun. melee is pretty bloodly :D
graphics (3) - disgusting. red steel so far has the best FPS graphics for the wii.
storyline (4) - kinda cheesy
multiplayer - i decided to return it before trying it.
overall - 5 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A let down for me... original for pc was better...

posted by Seraph0000 (GAINESVILLE, GA) Jan 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Don't get me wrong this game is pretty fun. I may be a little harsh giving it a 5 but if I hadn't played the original I might have given it a 6 or 7. The controls are much better(for the most part) than that of COD3 and Redsteel in my opinion anyways.

The graphics almost killed me after being used to the nice environment of the original. Also I liked how you could hide in the original... in this version when I go to duck for cover in the foliage they can usually see through it which really stinks. AI also seems like it was down graded from the original. Hmm... did I mention the horrible graphics?... Oh I did? Well the cut scenes look much better... but they are a let down as well because they lag really badly.

The actual fighting/gameplay is pretty fun once you get over some of the little humps in the road.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Ok...

posted by doublejman (HUMBLE, TX) Dec 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

When I first got my hands on this game I thought it was above average. As I played along the game was a little simplified. I found the enemies too easy and the controls (in regard to the remote) too slow to turn left and right and changing the sensitivity did not help. Worth a try if you wish to see the capabilities of the Wii controls with shooters (this was my first shooter on the Wii), but I enjoyed Call of Duty 3 much, much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is what I was so excited about?

posted by PiercedLip (BARBERTON, OH) Dec 23, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I was so excited to get another shooter, as the game released screens it looked like the graphics were going to be bad. Well I am probably an hour or more into the game and its ok, but I feel like im playing Turok the dinosaur hunter on n64. The enemies AI is horrible, as they just sit there and look at you. The graphics are disappointing and grass and such pops up out of nowhere in front of you.

The controls are pretty solid but could of done for reloading and duck/jumping how Red Steel was setup. The aim is ok, I had to put the option for sensitivity up to 10, but it still doesnt move left/right as quick as I'd hope for.

If your out games to play, this ones worth giving a shot, but don't expect a whole lot of out it visually.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse