Rent Far Cry Instincts: Predator for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Far Cry Instincts: Predator

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.9

4663 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

These guys don't know what they're talking about

posted by PJM5015 (PEPPERELL, MA) Jun 17, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

201 out of 222 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I'm writing this review to correct the geniuses who wrote the other ones so intelligently. OK, let's start with some of the basic complaints:

1. "It looks the same as the original xbox version" ya ok, maybe, but has anyone taken into account just how awesome those graphics WERE in the xbox game??? Or the original computer one for that matter??

2."The aiming controls are sloppy" if you think that those aiming controls are bad, YOU are bad at aiming. Those controls let you snap off head shots like crazy!!

3."The online playing is laggy" the game itself has nothing to do with lag genius, it's you and the people you are playing with's connection speeds. good complaints smart ones.

4.i laughed at this one:"There's not enough gore"??? come on, most FPSs don't. one person complained that there was only a big smear of blood, wow, because most games don't even have THAT.

5."This game is the same as the xbox one" DUH. That's the whole point. This game is the xbox version with some new added features combined with its SEQUEL, which are usually pretty similar to their PREQUELS, on one disc, so any similarities to the previous game shouldn't really be that surprising.

Most of these reviews aren't even mentioning the uniquity of this game. This is the only game I've ever seen with this kind of storyline, setting and characters. Most people aren't even mentioning the feral powers that make this game so different and fun. I'll admit that the single player on Instincts doesn't have that much replay value, but that's what the multiplayer is for, and it's fun. The mapmaker is better than I've seen in any other games, and the game is awesome online. And, thankfully, it's another of the too few games that let's you customize your character a little. Also, this game has some pretty cool vehicles and the first person driving is awesome. The driving controls are fluid and easy to learn. If you can appreciate this game for what it's worth, you'll like it a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good game over all

posted by HaloFreak (BLOOMINGTON, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

23 out of 32 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

The game is pretty good it starts of kind a slow with the feral powers but once you get the few good ones you really get going. The only bad side is really that you can't save anywhere and you have to wait for checkpoints and it gets really annoying when you die right before one other than that graphics and sound are great and the aiming is pretty good i would say cause head shots are pretty easy to land.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best looking water in a video game

posted by stregalaw (DAVIS, CA) May 20, 2006

Member since May 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If there was an award for best looking water in a video game, Farcry would win hands down. The story mode is pretty much single track, but the graphics are so great and the gameplay is nice and smooth. I've been playing on the middle dificulty and the AI is a little weak. Once the enemy becomes alert to my presence they charge at me, which obviously isn't the best course of action. I have seen enemies hide behind rocks occasionaly but not often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sure it looks great... But that's about it.

posted by Jaymoon (LA GRANDE, OR) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

29 out of 53 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

The first couple of levels you play through the single player game, you can't help but just be amazed at how pretty the water and jungle is from far away.

But once you start playing through the game more, you soon realize it plays just like a low budget first person shooter.

I was never able to adjust the controls exactly how I wanted them. They always seemed too jumpy. Of course, this is very bad when aiming at close range. The enemies were extremely stupid, but were still a little too difficult to kill even on the easiest setting. The controls of course didn't help either.

Probably the best part about Far Cry Instincts is the map editor. I have to admit it takes forever to create a good map, but if you have the time, it does allow you to tweak just about anything you want tweaked. I've probably sunk more time into the map editor, than actually playing the game. Once you have a map created however, you can publish it online, and others can play it. But I sat there for about half an hour waiting for somebody to join me to play on my map... Wasn't a very big map either, so I can't explain the wait time, other than nobody was looking to play on a custom map... or even willing to play the game for all I know...

In summary, I really don't like the single player. It seems like it becomes a chore just to beat it, which should not be the case. The multiplayer is nothing new, offline or online. The map editor is the best thing about the game, but if the best the game developers can offer is a map editor... It's a pretty lousy game.

And for those going for achievements only, don't even both wasting your time. There are a couple easy ones, which will get you less than 100 or so, but after you get those, the rest are just not worth it. Playing through the entire game on one difficulty is bad enough... Let alone playing through all the diffculties.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Could be better...

posted by Xboxxed (ANAHEIM, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Graphics are great but I found that no matter how much tweaking I did, I could not get the aiming response to where I wanted it. It felt too "uneven" at any setting. Call of Duty, Perfect Dark of any other game the aim control was much better.. IMO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty good game, just not my kind of game

posted by BuLLeT (LEANDER, TX) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I play on line with a big group of people and a lot of them recommended this game so I decided to rent it. Unfortunately I was very disappointed with the game because aside from the water and a few textures it looks just like the Xbox version. (compared side by side with 2 T.V.s). Luckily the multiplayer is enough fun that it will keep you occupied for a while. Also the map editor is amazing if you like custom building maps. I give it a 5 because I didn't love the game, but I didn't hate it either and I know plenty of people having a blast with it so I didn't want to shoot it down. Definately worth renting before buying because it seems to be one of those hate it / love it kinda games. Just find out which category you fall into and go with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lush landscapes,bad controls, ahhhh paradise.

posted by FLANKYA (ALBANY, NY) May 13, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Im a FPS fan all the way but far cry instincts predator falls way short. Don't get me wrong, I gave it a chance. It's a visually appealing game, from the swimming,the ocean and jungle look very realistic and the sounds are right on but what it has in visuals it lacks in controls. I've played many fps but this game by far has some sloppy aiming controls. I consider my self above average as far as aiming and picking people off, oh how sweet it is. but I found myself missing almost point blank shots, and if you've driven the vehicles you would probably do better blind folded. Also not to nitpick if I'm correct a turret gun shoots endless rounds. One problem the bullets never feed into the gun. Attention to detail makes the game not really stellar graphics, though they really help that's why my instincts say rent it dont buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game could have been better

posted by DeadlyDevi (GRESHAM, OR) Jul 10, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well let me start off by saying this was my first farcry game and i had good expectations considering it was a xbox 360 game and i was a little let down..

On the positive side:
The game has a pretty good story line-
Non stop action, your always doing something
The Feral ability's are an awesome feature

On the negative side:
Not enouf weapons...-
The car controls are HORRIBLE-
You have to beat it 3 times on each story if you want 1,000 gamerpoints

If this game had a better crosshair or some more weapons it would have been a little more enjoyable.. i give Farcry a 7..out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Give me some guts....

posted by CizzoE (LINCOLN, NE) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

It's too bad that this game is just not that good. With all the power and capability of the Xbox 360, you'd expect more than just an average game. Mind you the back rounds and scenes are spectacular. Games like this are a dime a dozen. And when it come to an un-original theme like the shooter category, you need something to make your game stand out.

What I feel is really lacking is the simple fact that when you do actually kill someone/thing it bears a string resemblance to the old school days of Wolfenstein. A smatter of blood, that's it.

Brings new meaning to no guts, no glory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as promoted

posted by ajroxu (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

The idea of the game play is the only good thing going for this game. The graphics are mediocre, look just like it's Xbox counterpart. The Achievements if you are interested are extremely hard unless you can play for countless hours. The ads in magazines and on TV made this game look awesome when reality it is no fun at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent from the beginning

posted by Haloman5 (PERRY, IA) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game might have been the best first person shooter i have played in awhile. It was a shame to look at what others thought about it. I don't have a clue what they were playing but Farcry is what I'm talking about.
It is a wonderful wide open game with much to keep you busy it kept me on the edge of my seat the whole game, I never put down the controller for even a bathroom break. When you get your powers is the turning point for the game and makes it even more enjoyable. the vehicles are fun and the weapons are even cooler.
disagree or agree this game is by far the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK but could not get into it.

posted by Seck1254 (RESTON, VA) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off i loved the first one but this one the controls got to me. I tried to adjust the sensitivity for aiming but it just would not work. The graphics where good but could of been better. honestly I really tried to get into it but aiming and movement was just no good. I was not able to really play the story because of the lack of control in movement and aiming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FarCry

posted by OrtonFan (BATH, ME) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best shooters that I have played in a while. The graphics are really good and the story line is pretty good. If you want to hooked for hours then I strongly advise you to rent this game. Its worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Old game licks

posted by cerealkell (EMPORIUM, PA) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has good graphics for it's day. But by todays standards are junk. You have no control over your aiming. They had to use an auto aim feature because you can't hit a thing without it. It's laggy in a lot of parts and it renders some parts of the game almost unplayable. Looks to me like a developers first stab at an X Box 360 game. Is a lot like Farcry 1 and serves as a prequil to Farcry 2, so it has a decent story and plenty of vehicles to cruise on. Has 2 story campaigns. So lot's of content, but I didn't like this game one bit and I'm a fan of the Farcry series. Would have done great on the PC, they should have left it on the PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's cool.. but also mean to you

posted by MeatLander (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has it's downfalls... and it's not dated graphics or control... it's the challange of the gameplay. It's not that the game is overly hard, but it's far more difficult then you would expect. Bonus for some, annoying for others.

For starters, unlike most FPS game, this game isn't about running-and-gunning so much as it is about hiding and killing. HitPoints respawn slowly, if at all (regenerating life isn't given until stage 3(?)) and aiming is more about estimating where in a giant circle you think bullets may hit, then it is about placing a small target on an enemies head. This doesn't mean you can't get head shots, but don't expect your character to be a perfect shot...

Enemies are terrible shots, and the AI is kind of dumb meaning that they'll either stand out in the open, or annoyingly run back and forth between the same cover spot. However enemies are often times bullet spongs and it's not uncommon to get killed in just a few quick seconds from a suprise enemy with a shotgun or a far off sniper.

Worse yet, the entire game plays like a big trap. Enemies spawn out of nowhere, often times behind you with little or no explination. Some parts boil down to simple trial-and-error and enemy spawn memorization. Checkpoints, although frequent, arn't always frequent enough.. average players should plan on replaying the same 15 minute section multiple times.

But don't think it's a bad game... it's actually strangly fun. It's a nice change of pace and unique in it's playstyle so it's definitly worth checking out if you're a FPS fan. The story is alright, you get a fair amount of sweet animal powers, and the stages/maps are pretty and varying in style and layout. You can swim, climb, jump, sneak, or just go rambo and pray for the best. there's a fair amount of scripted events too... nothing spectacular but enough to keep it interesting. You also get to drive a few vehciles... although driving is god-aweful in this game so it's best just to run.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A lot of nothing in a long stretch of time...

posted by sean5892 (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game isn't all you would think it to be. You start out on a ship, it gets blown up, dadadadah. You know the rest. You'll be on for about 5 levels with an M9, some rocks, frags, and MP5s. And it's basically just to repetitive. The AI, SUCKS. All they do is stand and shoot, no taking cover, no nothing. Though the spring trap feature is pretty good, the AI lacks, and it will be pretty hard to actually get the AI to spring the trap.

TOO DARNED REPETITIVE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

disappointed

posted by aaron126 (ADRIAN, MI) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I'll start by saying I didn't play this game all the way through, but for good reason. Yeah the water look AWESOME!! but i really don't feel like looking at it all day, so what else does the game offer? WELL! for starters, a jungle full of the ugliest 2 dimensional plants I've ever seen. The aim is pathetic, this game plays like an old man after a long night of the same old boring story. I really expected better, the game is just as lousy as the last one, except it costs $40 more. STAY AWAY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME.....

posted by jgkay2005 (INDIO, CA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game is really good and people say it is the same as the xbox copy but it is not it is complety befft up for 360 and easy points too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favorite Game

posted by shamrocker (CLIFTON, VA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

2 words people

Map Maker
Have you been able to make a map in this game? If you havent thats the reason why you think it sucks cause you dont have xbox live to play your maps with people online.

GET XBOX LIVE

GET FARCRY INSTINCTS PREDITOR

PLAY IT TILL 2 IN THE FREKIN MORNING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as it should of been

posted by Snake15 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game did not live up to me. The graphics should be better due to the fact that it is on the 360. The online lags and it is a complete disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average at it's best!

posted by sumofty (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty mediocre, mainly because if you've ever played an FPS before, you've seen everything this game has to offer. It changes things up every once in a while to keep things fresh but doesn't really help. Everything about the water looks absolutely amazing, though. The sound effects are also pretty good and help the atmosphere. The enemy AI also isn't too bad, it's not amazing or anything but it has it's moments.

Pros -
Nice Mapmaker
Water looks amazing
Sound effects are quite nice

Cons -
Everything besides the water looks like the Xbox version
Bland gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FPS fans, dont even bother playing this game!

posted by Fry220 (CAMPBELL, CA) Jul 2, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

First off, I would just like to say everyone is entitled to their own opinions. This review is based on my own experience with the game.

I bought this title expecting a lush tropical tropical environment with beautiful next-gen graphics. What I ended up paying 50+ dollars for was utter dissapointment.

I didnt pay $400 dollars for a next generation console to play games, that looked like regular xbox ports.

The aiming in this game IS terrible and clunky. I found it almost impossible to adjust to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

FarCry Instincts: Predator

posted by Guidahouse (NEW ROCHELLE, NY) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Single Player is pretty good but online is horrible. The lag kills it, if it was not laggy than it would be fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pipe Bombs!!

posted by DarFmule13 (GROVELAND, FL) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I would have to say that the pipe bombs and cocktail grenades make the game alot more interesting than kill mercs than the normal head shot or feral slash of a mountain side. Water effects are I think the best part of the graphics, very real. Multi-killing on XBLive with 10 or 12 people is also a big plus, just because it has NO LAG! unlike COD2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame

posted by NoExcape (SPANAWAY, WA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

after playing the first farcry for the xbox i had high hopes for this game but then as i got it i found out the new story could only be unlocked by beating the first story again.... but i found a code to get past that and after playing the first farcry there was nothing new to look forward to ya like 2 new types of gernade and new vehicles but nothing grands i say a 10/10 if you never played the first one but a 1/10 if you have

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse