Rent Far Cry 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Far Cry 3

Rent

Keep for: $16.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.7

7104 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Did i ever tell you the definition of insanity?

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Dec 4, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

78 out of 85 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Far Cry has always been a great shooter, but its never been a stand out. Far Cry 2 had some really innovative(and frustrating) features with the gun jamming and malaria. With Far Cry 3, it ditches those and adds in some Red Dead Redemption, Skyrim, Assassins Creed and Far Cry 1. This game is perfection of the shooter/RPG genre, let me break it down:

The Good:

-Voice Acting/Mo-Cap: As soon as you start playing, you'll immediately see the incredible performances of Vaas, Grant(main characters brother) and Jason(You). The facial animations, the motions, are fluid and lifelike.

-Graphics: Outstanding, nuff said.

-The Path of the Warrior: The whole premise (basically) is to become a killing machine, and a Tatau(tattoo) charts your progress in the form of 3 skill trees(Long Range, Survivability, Stealth). Since there isn't a level cap, you can essentially get all the skills. Its really cool.

-"Down the rabbit hole": While at first you'd hate the whole rich kids getting stuck on an island premise, but bear with it, the story is very compelling and Jason's journey is one worth taking.

-Guns, lots of guns: You want a Bond inspired silenced pistol with red tiger stripes on it? Done. What about a .50 cal Sniper with night vision? You got it. You want em free? Go take the Radio Towers back!

-Its gonna be a long vacation: It took me roughly 20 hours to clear the story, alone. With the distractions like Hunting, Treasure finding, Poker, Knife Throwing, Sniping, Trial Of the Rakyat, Radio Towers, Outpost Takeovers, Racing, Gun Customization, random firefights, and Hang Gliding, it would have taken me countless hours!

The Meh:

-Checkpoints: While only during the story missions, they occur randomly, meaning you could've cleared a camp and died...but it didn't save after you cleared it. Doesn't happen TOO often though.

-Multiplayer: tacked on, could've been better.

Overall, support UBI, buy this masterpiece.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addicting gameplay with top-notch presentation

posted by MDgeist (ATLANTA, GA) Jan 4, 2013

Member since May 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

FarCry3 is one of those games that just stands out from the rest of the pack. It's challenging at times, but never too difficult, and it gives you options of how you want to approach your next goal: by using stealth (which earns you more XP) or by just going in and shooting everything in sight. Here's the breakdown:

Graphics 8/10 - At times, the game can be a little dark, pop-ups and other glitches can be seen (at least 3-4 enemies got stuck on staircases), and the enemies look a little generic. However, the main characters, environment, vehicles, set pieces look amazing and very detailed.

Sound 7.5/10 - Adequate tense music that fits the situation, vehicle sounds are pretty standard, and the explosions are nice and booming with some slight clipping.

Gameplay 9/10 - The gameplay is varied and very fun. All of the weapons are accurate and detailed. The hunting is fun and can be challenging later on. Finding radio towers is a fun way of discovering more of the land and new weapons. For me, the most fun I had (outside the main missions) was capturing enemy camps. The stealth and shoot-out aspects were very well done.

Story & Presentation 10/10 - By far, the best part of the game is the voice acting and the characters. Vaas is amazing, Citra is well done, and the game even got me over my initial hatred of Jason Brody. The story is well done and throws many surprises your way.

Overall, this was a fantastic game that was very addicting and filled with memorable moments. Definitely worth a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game.

posted by EXIL3DCRE3D (TONAWANDA, NY) Dec 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game was amazing, so much stuff to do to keep you playing for weeks. A must rent/buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My nominee for shooter of the year

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Dec 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Far Cry 3 is the latest installment in the Far Cry series which dates back to it's roots on the original Xbox ,and though it remains true to it's pedigree as a Far Cry title (great solid gunplay, immersive first person elements, vehicle driving, jungle setting etc), it treads new waters by actually being closer to a hybrid RPG FPS. An ideallic vacation goes horribly wrong for Jason Brody when him, his brothers, and friends are kidnapped by a gang of pirates that are terrorizing an island and held for ransom...Jason escapes and manages to hook up with a group of rebels on the island and embarks on a quest to rescue his friends & family and his progress from victim to victor (?) is a truely great story due to the terrific cast of crazies that populate the island..everyone is a little off in a very believable way and to be honest I can't remember a more memorable cast in all my 36 years of gaming..all in all definately worth a rent or purchase in my book..if you're still out there just look up the first 10 mins on youtube and judge for yourself...peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FAR CRY 3 > CALL OF DUTY

posted by MrSche (MEMPHIS, TN) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is great. A DEFINITE BUY. Tons of replay value. Great graphics. Fun gameplay. GREAT STORY. This is the best FPS this year, better than call of duty or halo. The single player is what Ive experienced, ..havent tried the mp, mainly due to the stupid online pass that I refuse to buy! ANYWAY...LOVE THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Well done

posted by kerrycraig (TUCSON, AZ) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I haven't had this much fun with a game in a very long time. I have absolutely nothing to complain about. Great gameplay, amazing story, and character progresssion is second to none. There's nothing like starting off a loser with no combat experience and turning into a killing machine by the end of it. Can't recommend it enougn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games of 2012

posted by MrDominator (FORT WAYNE, IN) Dec 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best games of 2012 in my opinion. From stabbing pirates to Han gliding, this game has it all! The main character, Jason Brody went on a vacation with his friends. They all went skydiving but something went horribly wrong. They were all captured by a man named Vaas, who is going to sell them into slavery.

Jason manages to escape and vows to find his friends and kill Vaas. With the help of the Rakyat people Jason turns from an ordinary man, into a killer.

In this game you can kill many animals from the open clear waters to the darkness of a cold cave. Hunting is very important in this game as you use the skins of the animals you hunt to craft wallets, ammo pouches, weapon holsters, etc. You must master hunting to be able to survive on this monstrous island.

You can explore this island by going to radio towers. Radio towers can bring in new stock at stores, update your map, and other valuable things in order to survive on this island.

There is many other valuable things you need to know to survive but those are the most important. I loved this game and I know you guys will too! You may find it difficult at some points, but be patient and you will beat it! I gave this amazing game an outstanding 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely phenomenal

posted by halo13245 (SUFFERN, NY) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I haven't seen a game with a map so subversive since Just Cause 2. This game came beyond my expectations, the gameplay is stellar, story is great, it all around is great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eh

posted by MittensTheCat (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Keepin' it simple. The game is entertaining, but totally overrated. Once the initial shock and awe wears off, you should be able to realize that the game is incredibly repetitive. The only thing that really breaks up the monotony of repeating the same kill side quests are the moments of Uncharted style set pieces.

Good villain, mechanically sound development, but just another typical shooter in the end.

It tries hard to pull you in, but if you look past it all, you'll see yourself doing the same things over and over and over.

Hence, good, but a bit overrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game

posted by talentoverflow (WOODSTOCK, GA) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

First off this game is one of my new all time favorites. I have just completed the story line and it was amazing. It was a little slow at start but the last half has multiple jaw dropping moments and, the end takes an unexpected turn. Not going to spoil anything by telling what happens but, you do get to make a choice of two different endings.

The great storytelling mixed with a combat system that allows you to sneak around like a ninja pulling amazing finishers or going in shooting anything that moves. Making both in there own ways extremely fun.

The co-op on the other almost doesn't resemble the main story type game play at all. It seemed to be just thrown together and the small amount i played was boring and repetitive. you just run through a pre determined path shooting at oncoming enemies. there is no leveling system and you pick from pre made classes not allowing you to enjoy the full weapon system feel. Also being sneaky is nearly impossible. Was not impressed but still won't give this a 8 or 9 because i really enjoyed the the single player experience.

The online multilayer i haven't tried yet but, it seems like you have to buy a pass to even play it. So I probably couldn't play it even if i wanted to.

All in all it's a great game and, about to spend anther 20 hours finishing up all the side quests.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10/10

posted by DAV1S94 (WHITE SPRINGS, FL) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I rarely give a game 10 out of 10 but this game deserves it. It is definately the best game to come out this year, but might also be the best game ive ever played.. If not then its in the top 5 games ive ever played. Map is huge and it now has fast travel so theres that. I traded in Hitman Absolution, Mss Effect 2 & 3, and Battlefield 3 to get this and the content is worth it. More time will be spent playing this than all 4 of those

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a Bad Game, Just not great.

posted by sudrin (NASHVILLE, TN) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Admittedly I was not a fan of Far Cry 2, it seemed to go on and on forever, and I hated the never ending respawning checkpoints. You could clear one out, walk 100 feet into the forest, and turn around to find it respawned. This game solves that problem by having them set up so you can take control of them, but that control is absolute and it leaves me feeling like "Why didn't someone do this already?".

The world is populated by flora and fauna, but it doesn't really seem to do much. Sure, you see animals attacking other animals or people, but the animals are almost absurdly powerful. I suppose to give them a chance against the NPCs. I mean I fully appreciate that a bear might be tough to tackle in the wild, but if I put 100 rounds from an SMG into a Dingo before it goes down, its remarkable that our society grew to the size it did with the unstoppable Dingo army nipping at our heels.

The skill progression system feels broken, with a great portion of the skills being locked until you progress in the story. I understand from a story perspective why they did this, but the game does a poor job of letting you know when IT wants you to go explore this big world and when it wants you to stay on the story.

Graphically it looks very nice, and I did enjoy feeling like I was in this South Pacific Island but overall I felt games like Just Cause 2 or Mercenaries II did a better job of making me feel like I was taking control of an area with my big guns.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Farcry 3

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I hadn't played much of the Farcry series since the earlier games, but I was excited nonetheless when I heard about Farcry 3, so I pre-ordered it and bought it, and what a great decision. I am loving this game. Anyway, here it goes:

The Good:
- The story is good (haven't beaten it yet, but so far I like it)
- The graphics and motion capture are absolutely amazing
- The island map is huge and extremely detailed.
- The gunplay is incredible. Do you want a silenced pistol painted with tiger stripes? You can have it. You can even kill people with the repair tool!
- The hunting to upgrade your equipment is a lot of fun. Think like Red Dead Redemption as far as killing and skinning.

The Meh:
- Multiplayer has nothing special, just kind of tacked on at the end, but that's alright since the story is very well done.

The Bad:
- Honestly, I haven't found anything I don't like about this game.

Long Story Short:
Honestly, I rarely ever give anything a full 10/10, but this one deserves it. It's good to see a game actually put work into the story instead of focusing only on the multiplayer. If you are a fan of the other Farcry games, you probably have already played this and know how good it is. If you haven't tried it yet, but are a fan of open world games (Skyrim, Red Dead Redemption, etc.) you will like this game. Definitely worth the money for it. At least rent it if you aren't convinced, and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic Game Game Of The Year Material

posted by Airborn23 (PASADENA, MD) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is literally the best game i have played in awhile. Defiantly worth the $60 and every penny. Its good graphics, free roam, amazing storyline. I gave it 10/10 didnt see one thing wrong with this game at all. Best game of the year if you ask me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A video game to rent, NOT a video game to keep.

posted by RyanChristopher (TRENTON, NJ) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have never tried out a Live session on here where I play off against different users, but all I can say is this: Far Cry 3 certainly doesn't deserve the rating it has received. Sure, it kicks rear end as a open world first person shooter video game, but it's like the Godfather video game series: Unless you SERIOUSLY enjoy open worlds that you would search around aimlessly while seeing civilians that all appear practically the same, then this is the video game for you. If you dislike a very small selection of an armory and if you dislike the fact that all you're fighting against is pirates and that's all you will be fighting against for this whole storyline, then finish this video game and the side quests, and send it back.

To those who haven't rented this game yet - You will have a maximum of three weapons for each category (being assault rifles, sniper rifles, shotguns, pistols, and so on and so forth). You will play the same character for the whole time being Jason Brody, which heavily contradicts the statement that the game developers made, "Just like Elder Scrolls: Skyrim, except with the guns." Instead it would be "Just like Godfather II, except with a tribe you're assisting." Again, this is a FAIR WARNING, only RENT THIS GAME. Wait for the next entertaining open world like Grand Theft Auto V and then spend 60 dollars on that, NOT on the Far Cry series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game, Slight adjustments needed

posted by midka (PLANO, IL) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I first popped the game in (and after it patched) it took forever to get past the "Logging in" screen. The games multilayer platform seems to have issues so logging in can sometimes be a hassle. If you'd rather just play the solo campaign you could disconnect from your internet if your having the same issue I am.

Game play is good. I'd give it a 6.5/10. I had to turn up controller sensitivity to help with movement. Turning and aiming seemed to take forever. It plays like most FPS games, just with a few added character perks. (Much like Skyrim and FPRPG games)

Graphics are amazing. 8/10. Much like Skyrim, loading screens are a hassle and time consuming. If you get to moving too fast the area will blur out until it can catch up.

Storyline is the only iffy part. 5/10. Far fetched and a little weird, but enjoyable all the same.

Great game. I'd recommend renting and beating, but it's not a "buy and keep" game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skyrim With Guns huh???

posted by racoonsurvivor (HIGH RIDGE, MO) Dec 25, 2012

Member since May 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Yea this is Skyrim with guns, more so then Fallout if that makes any sense. This story is awesome the characters are great and visually it is beautiful. you can hunt and create, you can find collectables and take back this huge island, driving trucks or paragliding are both functional and fun. Gunplay works well and the controls are fluid. This is my Personal GOTY so try it, I bought first and could not be happier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Huge Disappointment

posted by Mat1393 (DENISON, TX) Jun 17, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played Far Cry 2 and believed it to be amazing but, Far Cry 3 had very little in the way of story line. It was from the start, very unrealistic. They tried to get the trippy drug aspect to justify it but I believe they failed miserably. If you liked Far Cry 2 Dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FarCry 3

posted by sbell124 (WEST UNION, SC) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Excellent Game!! Amazing story, great actors, and a great co-op mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So far so good

posted by KenTrojan (MONTROSE, CA) Dec 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I've been playing it for about 3 to 4 hours, can't quite remember..but so far it's been great. The story line isn't great, but it's still pretty good. I haven't gotten to deep into it. I've spent most of my time exploring the land and hunting animals for their skin to upgrade my items, which is pretty important.

The guns are fun to use. They feel realistic with the handling and they sound cool. No more jamming either(I kind of liked that from Far Cry 2)

The graphics are outstanding. It just cries out for exploration. The main characters look like some of the best yet while the other AI look good but not great. The enemy AI is also smarter than in previous Far Crys, they try to flank you when you're pinned down.

The sneak ability and the hunting(and the RPG aspect of the game) are so far my most favorite aspects of the game, rent it for sure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Enertaining game!

posted by spaces (HENRICO, VA) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I've played a ton of games in my life but this one is by far the best. You can play this game for hours on end and not want to quit. The cool thing about this game is you can continue to roam free after beating it. I give this game a 10/10.. like I said, one of the best/funniest games I've ever played in my 20 year game playing span!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FAR CRY 3 and SKYRIM TRUTH

posted by bmc_knows (AUBURN, WA) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Far Cry 3 is FANTASTIC, but its not to be compared to SKYRIM! Considering, i feel SKYRIM since its last 4 DLCs has gotten much better. So for now SKRIM is better than FAR CRY 3. Espeacially since in SKYRIM you put together your armor, your weapons, and your housing now. In the new, DLC you can build houses by harvesting WOOD, STEEL, and INGOT types. As well as DRAGON RIDING, and new fun magic, and armor to build up!

Also SKYIM now has far more beast and wild animal types including VAMPIRES and PART DOG/PART BOAR/ and PART BEAR type beast, (YES this is 1 beast that looks troll size to ride on but seriously had MATING ISSUES lol!) that can be riden, and is a lot of FUN!

FAR CRY 3 does NOT have a FIRE BREATHING DRAGON TO RIDE! Its got a hang-glider, custom guns from hunting animals or treasures, and outposts to take by yourself. Never do you feel in control of the stories outcome as you do in SKYRIM every STEP!

FAR CRY 3's equal to SKYRIM in sence of MAP SIZE, but NOT in DEPTH! As well as the low quality hunting feature in FAR CRY 3, compared to hunting DRAGONs and TROLLS and such...with different approaches as well, SKYRIM is way more SEXY! LASTLY outposts are also in comparison to SKYRIMs and equaly as FUN to takeover as SKYRIMs outposts due to FAR CRY 3s new STEALTH GAMEPLAY! Although no DRAGONS will come down EPICLY to tear everyone apart including you LOL! Hope everyone RENTs this at the LEAST! Its FUN just not in comparison to SKYRIM as of NOW, as you can SEE!

I would recommend BUYING SKYRIM if you still havent and instead of purchasing FAR CRY 3...purchase the new 4 DLC's for SKYRIM tha have made it so much better than what those of you think it still is since it came out! THEN ULL NOTICE FAR CRY is way behind in comparison to SKYRIM!

OVERALL if you've played the SKYRIM recently with its new DLC PACKS SKYRIM has far better content and ill be purchasing SKYRIM since i love the new DLC on it. As described here

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Island Adventure

posted by TruGamer30 (CHINO, CA) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Despite your lack of experience from playing the other 2 farcry games - this 3rd installment is entirely new adventure. Set in the same island from part one, you take on the role of a new hero named Jason who must fight his way through various enemies from gun wielding mercs to the island's savage animals in order to save your friends.

The open world is wonderful and present that same feeling you get when playing Skyrim. There are endless hours of adventure away from the main storyline from hunting animals to improve your items to finding hidden relics.

Overall this game is definately worth your time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Classic

posted by jjasper (CINCINNATI, OH) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I usually rely on others to give me the scoop on a game. But with this deep masterpiece here, I had to be one of the few to provide insight to my fellow gamers.

THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GO BUY IT!!!!!!

This game is the perfect blend of Grand Theft Auto and Bio Shock.

Tigers, sharks, vehicles, and free guns!!!

Get this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nicely done, but.....

posted by ThreeFeathers (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Feb 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am still playing it. I enjoy the variety and the adventure.
The movements are good.

My concern and complaint-- the SAVES.
Seems I complete a mission or task, then I SAVE and QUIT-- but when I come back, I have lost the previous achievement(s) and find I am required to do it all over again.
I may be at fault-- but I SAVE as directed.

Considering a KEEP on this one, as it provides a challenge and I enjoy trying various tactics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse