Rent Far Cry 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Far Cry 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.3

5596 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kind of Meh...

posted by teekazeek (GARNER, NC) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

38 out of 42 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

There are a lot of nice things to say about Far Cry 2 (FC2). It's a beautiful game, it's got great weapon choices, an amazing locale, good voice acting, and a lot of nice interface features. That being said, the negatives out weigh the positives and make for an experience that left something to be desired.

As a FPS, it's crucial to really have the combat very tight. This game came across as quite loose with regards to FPS controls and enemy AI. When you're in a combat situation you should be excited or scared of what could happen. Instead I commonly felt annoyed at inconvenient enemy encounters. I'm currently playing through Battlefield: Bad Company and I kept comparing the two. BC controls are much tighter and make for a much more enjoyable experience.

Though the voice acting is good, the story in this game is underplayed. You're sent to take out an arms dealer but you wind up doing odd jobs for the warring factions to occupy your time between story missions. The odd jobs are identical and non-unique. If you felt the missions in Assassin's Creed were redundant, you'll feel the same about this game. When I eventually did get around to a story mission, the combat issue really made the experience less enjoyable than it could have been.

The map feature and the world the game takes place in are marvelous. The unlocking of weapons can be fun too. It's unfortunate, however, that more attention wasn't given to the AI, combat, story, and mission diversity. This could have been a much better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly Good

posted by ERock021 (MODESTO, CA) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I really wasn't expecting much out of Far Cry 2 given the member rating on Gamefly and the mediocre reviews received from many gaming sites. However, when I started playing I was pleasantly surprised with the game's gameplay as well as graphics. The game has a multitude of weapons which can jam if they are picked up off of an enemy and are very reliable if you buy it from a gun shop. All the weapons are also upgradeable. Another cool thing is that when you are low on health you may actually have to pull a bullet out of your arm or leg to stabilize your health. I have never seen anything like this in any other game. My advise is to ignore the other reviews on this game and give it a try for yourself. I think you may be surprised as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Shoot some, drive some, then drive even more,

posted by paustin (FOXBORO, MA) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game was pretty good and a long one. The graphics and sounds i thought were amazing. The only negative thing about it was you basicaly driving across the maps the entire time or worse walking. This game got very old for me fast because of this and caused a sort of boredom from the constant travel. Other then that it was great with the healing animations and weapon choices. A very gorey game and worth the rent if you have nothing better to do for a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, very tedious.

posted by VY10isking (LA VERNIA, TX) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

52 out of 60 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Far Cry 2 is a very, very unique game. I haven't ever played anything like this. Never had to pull bullets out of my leg or patch myself up.

Pros and cons:

Pros:

1) The game is beautiful. Nice environments and the character models are also nice.

2) The tutorial to start the game is very helpful to get you to understand the ways of the game and different things to do.

3) Like I said to start, one pro I'll give is that it's unique. I've never played anything quite like this.

Cons:

1) The game, as I said at the start, gets very tedious. You have to drive to every mission, because it will take you forever and then some to get there on foot.

2) The enemies can take a full magazine and still stand there shooting their shotgun at you. Headshots are always 1 shot, 1 kill, but the health of the enemies is ridiculous.

3) Stealth is garbage. They want you to scout the guard posts and sneak in and take everyone out, but when you go to stab the sniper, the entire country of Africa rushes at you and then you have to pull bullets out of you leg - it just gets downright ridiculous.

Overall, this game is a good rental, bad buy, in my opinion. Unless you like tedious games - whoever you are...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ehh its ok

posted by hnkhnk06 (SAN ANGELO, TX) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game really starts off pretty cool, but I have to agree with everyone else on this one. The driving around really gets boring!!! The Multiplayer is ok but like everyone else says the weapons physics just aren't there. GTA combined with (random FPS).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Far Cry Ups and Downs

posted by Northerner (GULFPORT, MS) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The shooter elements in Far Cry 2 are very good and highly developed but to get to these shooter elements you must first travel for miles bored to death.This wouldn't take long but every road you're attacked and your car/boat breaks down.Once this happens you must deal with an annoying health system.The online is good but their are too many loading screens and not enough people playing or game modes.There is a map creator but I don't like it for it never tells you how to work it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Far Cry 2

posted by dnarang (WASHINGTON, DC) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Impressively expansive maps are made an annoyance by the repetitive gameplay required to reach the next objective.

With no overall story arc - the lack of a strong narrative makes the game boring after a short time.

Although there are some interesting elements attempted (weapons/GPS locator/the use of in-game "buddies), none make up for the lacking game-play and poor mechanics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointed

posted by Hithere (CHANTILLY, VA) May 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2004

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

The game looks great but Far Cry 2 is a great example of a game that tries to be so real that it's a pain. Movement: The player moves too slowly which is frustrating when on foot. WTH?: At times there's not enough feedback to the player to know what's going on. For instance, since about 99.5% of the characters in the game are constantly trying to kill you I wound up filling my buddy with holes (the buddy that pulls you to safety when you're hurt) when he rolled up on me in a jeep. I didn't realize it was him until I died much later in the game and got no assist but it was too far into the game to go back and start over. You can't flip bodies over so I had no clue I'd killed my buddy. That was a pain. Moving About: when EVERYONE in the game world is your enemy it becomes a hassle to simply get around. Bad guys regenerate at roadblocks unrealistically quickly. Which is it? Real or not?! Hand-held MAP: The map mechanic is an interesting component but took too much of the lower part of the screen to navigate the world while holding it. No Arms?: I'm starting to hate games in which I can't do things that a normal grown man can do like pull myself up on a ledge that's chest high. Seriously?! So I get tired when I sprint, pull bullets out of myself, have weapons that degrade over time (which I like btw) but I can't pull myself up on a ledge?! Ugh. Side Missions: maybe I didn't do enough of them or got unlucky but in my experience there is ONE gunshop side mission, stop a convoy. They couldn't come up with another idea for a side mission? Glitches: In the heat of battle I somehow got stuck between two rocks at which point I wanted to throw my controller. This is when I know a game is more frustrating than fun. When I'd get home after a long day I never felt compelled to start playing FC2 after the first couple of hours of gameplay, it seemed more like work than fun ironically. I sent it back at about 25% completion. Sucks too because I was really looking forward to this gam

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game, but not great.

posted by Burntpea (GRAND HAVEN, MI) May 21, 2009

Member since May 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game was fun for me for the first 6 hours and then started to get very repetitive and monotonous. The only thing that kept me playing was the awesome graphics and A.I. that the enemies have. The missions just seemed to be the same, drive somewhere, kill someone... drive somewhere, blow up a convoy of trucks. The malaria and having to take pills every so often got annoying as well. It is worth a play just for the graphics, and is a rental not a owning game at least for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Welcome to rural Africa!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

33 out of 42 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Far Cry 2 is very, very, unique. The realism in environment physics are close to Dice's Battlefeild:Bad Company, but more advanced. Gameplay is similar to Rockstar's Grand Theft Auto series, but it is all in first person view. This game is completely astonishing, from the get-go. It is a keeper, not to sure why everyone said the only thing great is that it has a map editor. Although the map editor of Far Cry 2 takes it to a new level of gaming with the Map editor.

You play as a mercenary, in Ubisoft's Far Cry 2. Left with no money, in the, breathe taking, 100% realistic, rural Africa. Where you battle the weeds with a machete, or if your arms get tired of swingin an lopping off branches. Switch to your trusty flame thrower, watch it all burn as the day comes to the end, and watch the amazing sun set as the sun does, go down.. Just be wary not to aggravate local wild life, because sometimes the water buffalo are a lot more in numbers then what you have of bullets.. oh and its far more intresting as you play threw this game.

The AI in this game is remarkable never seen such intelligence in AI of the game, they will be taunting you, and even talkin about you when you are walking up to some, there is still the shoot on site AI as well.. The map(s) are gigantic, and you ever even able to custom make a map from the landscapes, level contents, and much more that you an your friends can battle on. There is ton of unlockable weapons, and ton of vehicles that you can control, drive, fly, and even para-glide

The only thing i have noticed that would possibly aggravate some gamers is everything is first person view, flying, driving, and not to much auto aim, actually the gun can jam, and miss fire.. Which none of that stopped me from believing that Far Cry 2 could easily win game of the year, just out of the fact that this game is limitless entirely. You can pick who you help out, you have a open ended story line, a MAP EDITOR, a brilliant game all the way around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Time Consuming Solid FPS with Gorgeous Setting

posted by Caocamhin (LAFAYETTE, IN) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

FarCry 2 really boasts an impressive environment and some really cool features. The AI is sometimes really good, and other times leaves you scratching your head. Enemies will react in predictable ways as you approach a base camp, but sometimes will use cover and present a challenge.

The immense amount of terrain in the game is fun to work your way through, but also can be tiresome as many objectives for quests in the game seem to be on totally different sides of the map. This is really annoying because although it forces you to go through the entire map, it creates artificial length to the game.

The amount of weapons are just right and they are fun to upgrade and experiment with.

Overall I think this is a good game because it offers a remarkable setting and tons of choices and ways to tackle your missions. The plot is just an excuse to get to the next camp. The gameplay is fun, while the driving can get monotonous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

average & boring

posted by double0dan (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

im gonna keep this short and to the point cause thats how i like to read reviews- there is nothing in this game that makes it stand out from the huge amount of new shooters. the graphics are good, but no better than call of duty or mercenaries2. the gameplay is repetative and glitchy, and you have to save like every 5 minutes. also you have to drive for like 5 minutes to get anywhere. i would stick with call of duty, or resistance 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The thing about this game....

posted by TheTrooth (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

is that everything you hate about it at first turns out to be everything that's great about it after you get accustomed to it. In alot of ways there is a bit of a learning curve with this game. The controls are very simple so the curve comes from basically just spending time with it and learning how to deal with the environment the game puts you into.

At first you wont feel 100% comfortable in working with the map in game and you'll get frustrated that your vehicle will get stuck in rocks and mud etc etc. And the map still is a bit tricky to work with from time to time, but then you realize you feel EXACTLY how you'd feel if you were trying to get through the jungle with only a map and your brain. Then you start to appreciate traveling through the vast and tricky jungle. And traveling and using the map becomes easier.

At first you'll get frustrated that when you're just trying to reach the destination point of a mission start that you're getting ambushed and fired upon every where u turn. Then you get better at combat and learn how to deal with ambushes and actually start to look forward to killing your ambushers when they try to hunt you down. And u realize you love the fact that you can never really "just drive" to any mission in the game without some type of combat or conflict. U start to love how the game throws enemies at you so you can find new creative ways to kill them. The realism this brings makes u feel like u are truly in a dangerous place.

It's the intense realism of the environment that is the games gift and curse. Which in itself makes it a unique one to begin with. It's a game that you could spend hours playing without realizing it. The way the game kind of sucks you into it's world is it's X Factor that seperates it from the current pack of all these new shooters coming out.

Spend some time with the game. Be patient the tutorial isnt too long but even after it ends, you'll still need to put in another 2 hours of play to appreciate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Graphics, Great Gameplay, and FUN!

posted by Sertasheep (LEXINGTON, KY) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I played Far Cry 1. I will tell you now, set aside ALL that you know about Far Cry 1. Do not let it limit your experience in Far Cry 2. That said onto the review:

Gameplay
It's an open GTA style gameplay. Different types of "missions" for different folks give different rewards. Unlike GTA 4, the side missions do not (yet) feel like a chore and the gains are substantial. The buddy system is a great addition and can really save your bottom plus you can save theirs (or let them die, permanently). The weapons feel solid and realistic (they can jam). Aiming system is a la Call of Duty 4, pulling up the sights will auto-aim your sights on closest bad guy on your sights. Fires can spread (go ahead and throw those motolovs). Integrated map, so you can look at the map while running around. All in all, it is very fun due to the variety of things you can do: hunt briefcases, driving, assassinate side missions, run over gizelles, raid guard posts, intercept convoys, take over safehouses, and so on.

Graphics
Crisp, clean, and alive. Things can catch on fire. Bullets and explosions rip up vegetation. There is day/night cycle and the sunset and sunrise can look amazing. Buildings are not destructable but some items are. The animations and effects are commendable, from when you are hopping into a jeep to extracting bullets from your body or when you run out of breath from sprinting.

Sound
The sounds have substance and are appropriate. It is difficult to tell where enemies are when they talk. Sometimes, they are 10 yards away but sounds like they are 2 feet away. They will also sometimes carry a conversation alone.

Controls
They are intuitive and easy to get use to, just don't play this game while playing Dead Space or you will waste many medpacks/syrettes in both. Sneaking is practically gone, unlike Far Cry 1. Having a targeting system similar to COD4 is a big plus.

Summary
Even though we have been inundated with FPS lately, this one will definitely stand out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

far cry 2

posted by adamzgamez (ROCKY MOUNT, VA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

far cry 2 is one of the best games ever. anyone who would dissagree hasn't played it too it's fullest potential. there is over 50 hours of gameplay if you let yourself enjoy this beautiful world. this is by far one of the most visually appealing games ever. i have spent many moments just watching the sun rise and set and sometimes i'll take a moment to stare up at the night sky. once you accept the few drawbacks to the game you can really appreciate the whole package. those drawbacks dont even seem like issues after a while, and they are all based on realism, like guns jamming and eventually breaking in the heat of a gun battle, and the biggest trouble in the game would be getting from place to place. there is no magic warp zone to take you anywhere you want, but you will learn to use the rivers and open country to make quick trips most anywhere. with the added reward of trophies/achievements a person could spend days just trying to locate all the safe houses. if you like exploring, shooting, hunting, sneaking, hang gliding, running over things in the road, boating, swimming, making things burn, plotting the destruction of bad guys, running, and more shooting then get far cry 2. this game truely is a diamond. cut the lights off and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too much walking around!

posted by D1rtyyyy (METAIRIE, LA) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game and do a KEEP-IT but it was just kinda boreing. All you do it walk around the jungle and go talk to someone then it directs you to another objective that is half-way across the map and then you do it again! It's an FSP with potential but it just missed it. And when you did encouter resistance, even though you walk the longest possible way to avoid it, the in-game control was sub-par. This game reminded me a lot of Crysis [PC], but no-where near as good.
It just didn't do it for me.

D1rtyyyy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gotta get past tutorial and play a couple hours.

posted by JonnyKill (WINTERSVILLE, OH) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

After playing the tutorial mission, I was really disliking the game. Starting to think this was lame and all I was going to do was be on errand missions. BUT, once you get that out of the way and explore a bit. The random guard shacks and villagers actually make this a lot of fun to play. The missions seem to take some time to get to, usually they start on the opposite side of the map from your location, but it is kind of fun to drive and kill the checkpoint guards as you make your way there.

My only gripe now with this game, has to be the GPS blinking light that alerts you to the diamond cases. So many times that thing has gone from blinking to solid green and I still don't see the case. I know they are supposed to be like treasure, but if you give me a tool that says it's really close and it is still 50 yards away. That bugs me.

All in all, worth the play for FPS fans, possibly worth a keep it purchase!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game - travel time

posted by macchonk (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is actually really good.. The AI is very smart.. or maybe too smart, you need to play this game stealthier than using snake on MGS4 on Bigboss hard... but then again, no matter how smart the AI are, they are still just a computer.... the AI will do things that are predicatble...

-Graphics = awesome
This for sure is on my top 5 ps3 games for best graphic....

-Gameplay = awesome
It's just pure fun IMO... kinda repetitive, but there is so many way to accomplish the mission... IF player keep doing the same thing, indeed it will get repetitive, so, it's all deppend on you...

-Very realistic
The feature implemented in the game is very realistic.. except that you can regain your health in an instant and some other things,
this game deffinitely is THE MOST realistic game I've ever played so far..

-Travel time and distance
Here is the problem... this is the part what everybody hates.. as I said earlier.. this game is realistic, but who want to spend their time driving with an ugly car almost the entire time you spend your time in the game.... what worse is we are dring the car in the Africa.. there is no asphalt there... the road is too bumpy..
Once, I travel with the car too much, that I got so dizzy.. almost puke... darn that...
To fight this problem is easy.. just WALK... yesh, that's what I did... It takes time, but it sure if fun... and I can find the diamond easier by doing this...

- ou, and the last thing... the diamond... at some point, it's so hard to find it, but once you understand how the diamond's tracker works, it's not as hard as you used to think...

overall, I give it an 8 for this game (actually, 8.5)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Waste of my time

posted by xXdeadXx (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was excited for this game been wanting scince it came out. I got COD: WAW instead. Now, when i got gamefly i got the opportunity to rent it and a lot of it was good.
The Good: Guns, explosions, graphics, the buddy thing where when you die they come and help you so you dont just die and restart from last checkpoint like every other FPS, and a couple of other things FPS' dont have.
Now The Bad: Not much exept the biggest problem about this game that ruined it. You do have to drive everywhere, thats not much of a problem. What had me returning the game next day was the locations of enemies and things like that. For example i had to destroy some cargo or something and the enemy was like off the map so i kept going and going. Then i checked the map again, and then zoomed back to the map of the whole africa and they were even off that map! I tried to reach it but i couldnt because everytime you go by a camp of enemy they chase you with cars that have turrets that constantly shoot you until your car is ruined. i got frustrated and figured i could never finish this game. If you play FPS like COD or Killzone please avoid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Stop Complaining

posted by TheWarDog (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is great. The gameplay, the plot, and the over all feel of the game is fantastic. So you guys need to stop exaggerating the problems. The only things wrong with the game are:
1.You can't talk even though the characters you could've played can.
2. The debriefings for missions are so boring that the debriefers could've just called you and told you the mission.
3. You have to drive all across the map for mission completion.
Number 3 is being exagerated, because you have the choice of driving all around (like an idiot)or taking the bus to a bus station closest to your location. So anyone who hasn't played yet should give it a chance before reading the negative reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A far cry from fun

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) May 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately, this game has nothing to do with the original Far Cry. Of course, this doesnt necessarily make for a bad game but it would have been nice to continue Jack Carvers story along with the same type of gameplay. Aside from the stunning graphics in this game(probably the best ive seen on the PS3) this game is nothing but boring. I actually finished it(call me crazy) but did so more out of duty to the original game than anything. This game is tedious, the areas that you visit all look the same(nothing new and exciting to see during the game) and as far as stealth is concerned, which really made the original Far Cry so fun is non existent. All in all, it's good for a couple of hours and than fit for the trash bin. I bought it and i am not happy that i wasted 60 bucks. Please rent first!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful Maping System

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Jul 25, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Worse Game ever for Getting to onepoint to another Point ,I Never seen anything like it , Are why would anyone make such a Travel system. It takes 30 minns to get to onepoint to do a darn Mission- People that gave the ok for this should be Kicked in the Rear- Oh Lets making a Maping System thats a Awful Pain to get Around ok lets do it- Then why have some Dude Sick that needs Darn Pills every 1hr Another Pain that dont Add to nooooooooo Fun at All- If you want a Game thats a Super Pain then buy FarCry 2- Cant say Enough how much i Hate this Game One of the Worsed Games of all Time- Thanks Good Luck with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The bugs ruin it.

posted by ntesla5 (HENRIETTA, NY) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

FarCry 2 would have been my kind of game. It has great graphics, the right amount of realism, and lots of guns. It's too bad that it also has bugs that make it less believable and harder to play in annoying ways.

There's a lot of sniping in FC2, and most of it's good, but for the first half of the game I thought I was pretty bad at finding the snipers. As it turns out, I couldn't find them because they are sometimes hidden inside rocks. Even worse, they can shoot out, but I can't shoot in.

Another problem: in the game you have "buddies" that will help you in various ways. Occasionally, though, your buddies will get hurt, and you can choose to help them, or not. I've seen characters fall over injured without being shot at at all. Arbitrarily, sometimes these characters will die no matter how much help you try to give. Happily, this malady affects your enemies as well: I once beat a scenario because my target died suddenly for no reason before I could get anywhere near him.

FarCry 2 might have been a fun game, but I'd rather play something that works as intended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BORING!!

posted by DiabloBl7 (LAUREL, DE) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game really was very slow and boring. It was big but too big for the amount of action in it. I like games like that usually, but when it’s too big for its own good without any good way of fast-traveling across the landscape...I find it hard to stay interested in it. I really did try to play this game and enjoy it, but I was hard-pressed to. First of all I would like to say that as far as graphics and level of realism this game is on point. The graphics are great and very realistic. Even gameplay is realistic. The dialog was weird and choppy and sounded like every NPC you talked to really had to take a leak so they had to talk to you quickly. It was just weird. But really though the game was ok, not great not bad, just ok. Like I said if it had more action, or a way to fast-travel then fine. But it doesn’t. Another thing, when you do finally get to the action. The amount of damage you do in comparison to your target is so disproportioned its ridiculous. There were times I would shoot my target from 10 ft away with a shotgun. He would stop, SHAKE IT OFF, and then return fire! I'm pretty sure if I was shot with a shotgun I wouldn’t just be able to shake it off as if I just got whacked in the back of the head. I would unload on targets with a mounted machine gun until it started smoking and they would STILL be shooting back at me. I'm sorry but something just doesn’t sound right about that. I'm not sure what’s in the water in Africa but I’m pretty sure it doesn’t turn militia into supermen. Anyways like I said its ok. If you really don’t have anything to do and you have time to mess around and just play the game then rent it. But really I still had absolutely nothing to do and while I was playing the game, I felt as though I could have been doing something more productive with my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth it if you like atmospheric games

posted by ceege111 (BRISBANE, CA) Mar 16, 2009

Member since May 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had a great time playing this game, though it did take a long time. I don't mind that in a game and I actually found the story to be reasonable. It's really experiential.

People complain about the distances in the game and they are large but that's what the game is about - the landscape is really important and you have to use the geography to your advantage - sniping from high points, hiding in the grass, using fire to slow enemies when you are retreating, but only where things are burnable etc etc. I started out driving but as I got stealthier and better ranged weapons like the dart gun I started walking or sometimes boating everywhere - it was just much easier to stay alive in hardcore mode by doing a lot of listening. That made it quite realistic. The game is set up so that driving is sub optimal - the best thing to do is take the bus then a short drive or walk to your destination - which is what I would imagine a mercenary would do. You have to think about the geography which I liked a lot. The combat was not fantastic compared to COD4 or R6 games but I would say it was better than other sandbox games like GTAIV or Fallout 3, and the variety of weapons make for a wide variety of workable strategies, like using IED's for assassination. The buddy thing was interesting but I think it wound up unfinished somehow - you save them, they save you which is fun but that's kind of it. The sound is great, I left the the music for many hours but eventually turned it off. Also I liked how time seemed to pass at more or less the same rate that it does in the real world. Just a good mood all around and nice little touches like having to take malaria pills on a regular basis.

Consider buying it since it seems to be holding its value - perhaps people like multiplayer, which I don't. Looking back I would have been wise to buy and re-sell it since I played for over a month.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse