Rent Far Cry 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Far Cry 2

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.3

14098 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Far Cry 2 Pros & Cons

posted by bighank (HAVERTOWN, PA) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

350 out of 381 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Pros:
1. Graphically amazing
2. Tons of guns to choose from all feel and sound amazing
3. Heart pounding combat sequences
4. Tons of things to blow up
5. Fires carry with the wind leaving a huge path of destruction
6. Do whatever you want in any order you want
7. Travel by land, sea, or air
8. Lethal upgrades
9. Satisfyingly long single player campaign
10. Solid online multiplayer
11. It looks really cool when you pull bullets out of yourself or snap your arm back in place
12. Incredibly intelligent AI will try to run you down, take sniping positions, and attempt to outflank you in combat.
13. No two battles are the same
14. Play however you want to, run in guns blazing, or use stealth

Cons:
There are really only two flaws in Far Cry 2, but they are super annoying and can get to be extremely frustrating.

1. Whenever your objective requires you to travel through a guard post you usually have to kill all of the soldiers stationed there, because they will follow you in trucks otherwise. This is fun to do because you gain experience with each conquered guard post. The annoying part is that the guards continue to respawn at the guard post indefinitely. So, every single time you pass that guard post, you have to stop and kill everyone there. This is fun to do most of the time because you can test out all of your guns, however, when you have to stop in the middle of a mission over and over again, it gets to be quite tiresome.

2. Your character cannot climb up the side of hills or mountains. Not too bad, except for if your car gets blown up in the middle of nowhere and you have to walk for a super long time to get anywhere near civilization. Practically everything is surrounded by mountains, so if you total your vehicle in the middle of a long road, make sure you brought your hiking boots.

Overall:
Far Cry 2 is a really fun shooter with a satisfying campaign and tons of vehicles and guns to complete it with. This game is an absolute must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FryCry2 is worth renting

posted by raja0073 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

26 out of 28 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I would describe this game as a blend of GTA and the Call of Duty series. The gameplay is very similar to Call of Duty games, as it is a Ubisoft Montreal game. However, the GTA component is in the game layout, your free to roam the entire country, seeking missions from various actors. It is set in a modern day civil conflict in Africa. For how sensational video games usually are, this sticks to a very real plot/storyline, that could be a number of African civil conflicts in recent memory. I don't get how any hardcore gamer could give this game lower than 9; I play a lot of 1st person shooters, it is very rare that the game keeps my attention long enough to beat it. This game did. I was told this game won a 'game of the year' award from IGN or another big video game reviewer the year it came out. If this is true, it was well deserved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Sniper's Dream

posted by diceshow7 (EL DORADO HILLS, CA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

43 out of 48 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game took me through a wide range of emotions. Loved it, then hated it, then loved it again. Repeat. It got enthralling, then it got frustrating. It wasn't until purchasing a sniper rifle an hour or two into it that the game really took off for me... and rest assured, this game was meant to have one on you at all times.

The visuals are stunning. The storyline is intriguing. The gameplay is sharp.

Yes, the game becomes tedious and ridiculously consuming. Yes, you must drive from the far reaches of a map to the other to pull off the same basic mission, over and over again. But the game's good enough to keep you captivated.

Far Cry 2 is engrossing. And the feel and play of it is unlike any game I've played. At times it's too much, but don't judge it too quickly. It grows on you.

Anyone who enjoys sniping foes in the head and/or body from far away distances will be thoroughly delighted with this title. Chose your angle. Stalk your prey. Day or night. Snipe away... It's the only way to go.

This game rocked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Fps ever!

posted by The_Jman (BELLE, MO) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To start off, this game has nothing to do with the original Far Cry. This doesn't make the game any worse, I'm just saying it's a totally new story. So the first thing you notice in gameplay: there are no zombies, unlike Far Cry. Oh, and your in Africa. So basically what happens is you get a disease, get fired from the army then nearly die. After you nearly die (before killing some dudes, of course) The boss of the people you killed thinks you owe him something for killing his troops. You become his "errand boy" and start running around the HUGE country. Well, most of the time your driving. But the driving isn't as bad as other reviewers say. One more thing about story mode is your buddies. They can give you side missions, and if you complete the mission it might upgrade your safe house. The can also save you when you nearly die. Last but not least, the map editor. You can make mountains, rivers, all sorts of stuff! And let's not forget there's over 1000 items such as cars, houses, and forts! Overall, I give this game a 10/10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most Played & Re-played Game in my Library

posted by TheBigOreo (REDMOND, WA) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Out of over 60 games in my personal library, FarCry2 has seen more play time than any other title by far.

What draws me back (the Good):
- Realistic AI: The computer guards act realistically. If you snipe from a position too long, they will triangulate your position and hunt you down. If you headshot snipe a guard outside line-of-sight it is a silent kill. If a guard encounters the body he alerts and reacts appropriately. Guards have realistic run-for-cover behaviour, use obstacles, and search patterns. Guards chase appropriately. I can't say enough about the AI, except for the 1 bad listed below.

- Excellent graphics: It really feels like they have reproduced Africa accurately. I can really believe I'm in that environment.

- Rock solid gameplay: Darkness acts appropriately as a cover, objects can be used strategically, fences can be shot through, etc.

- Reactive controls: no lag, or mis-controlling. Everything behaves as it should.

- Upgrades/weapons: There is a great progression in weapon availability and some weapons have a great fun-factor. Saving up for the scoped explosive weapons is really worth it... using the grenade launchers to assault vehicles is pure fun.

- Non-linear (semi) plot & free map are great. Guard posts CAN get tedious but there ARE ways of getting through this game without dealing with guard posts ad-nauseum. When you learn your way around the maps and how to use the various vehicles (like the conveniently placed hang-gliders) the game is a lot more fun.

The Bad(s)
On the whole I don't have a lot bad to say about this game, and I'm almost out of chars so bads are brief:

- AI: The only thing bad about the AI is it's ability to patrol/scout buildings. While the AI WILL attempt to flush you out of a building with a grenade, or shoot into a building... 80% of the time you are completely safe simply by ducking into a building and hiding.

- Side-missions: The non-plot missions are somewhat pointless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Far Cry 2, Next Generation Gaming in the CD

posted by Shadow360 (GASTON, SC) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

30 out of 36 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Far Cry 2 I only rented for the map editor, to my surprise i only used it for a few seconds right when i got it. The single player is what the next generation of gaming is all about. With an Epic map in all its ways the game lets you play how you want to play, chose a side, chose no sides, chose both sides, or kill them all, the choice is yours. The shooting is hard to get used to but once you have the hang of it you will love to cap the entire town with ease. The weapons buying system is great with a large amount of upgrades that help with stopping your gun from jamming to better accuracy (recoil). The more you use you gun it becomes dirty (cool effects). The average gamer could sit down with this game for about 50+ hours enjoying every minute of it. Set in Africa where there is no such thing as a good guy, you will find yourself hitting a small road block, and on sight you will be shot up even when you only need directions. This game truly is a Hardcore shooter fans dream. I would highly recommend this game to be a must have. This has been a review by the one and only (ShadowBlood 360)
See you on Live

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Far Cry 2: Thumbs Up +

posted by isturbo (DES MOINES, WA) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. In terms of the Far Cry series, the Shooter genre and a video game in general, Far Cry 2 not only stands out in my eyes, but also above most. It plays and feels like a great shooting game but also feels like an open-ended action games as well.--Think Grand Theft Auto, but in first person--and in Africa. The graphics are beautiful. The sounds and music are enthralling. And the storyline and characters are captivating. Toward the finale of the 60+ hour single-player adventure, I was on the edge of my seat like any Call of Duty game. I am amazing with how much fun a game like this could be, while at the same time hold my attention and love. My only gripe is that by the end of my 60+ hour rampage, the missions got a little tedious. But it only took me as long because I wanted it to be. It's an open-ended game with many choices and missions. But if you prefer to travel along the primary story only, it shouldn't take you over 20. Now the online multi-player rocks. As good and fun as any Halo or Call of Duty game, with many play modes like capture the flag, zones and strait-up death match. There is also a cool map editor mode with the option to upload and download player-made maps. I rated this game a 10/10, so that'd be an understated "Thumbs Up Plus" in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A bit underrated

posted by Injured (Saint Petersburg, FL) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

20 out of 25 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

far cry 2 has been getting good reviews for the most part, but i think it should at least be a nine, simply because it tried something that has never been done before. Sure the driving sucks and the enemies have plus five thousand armor, but the game is so interesting i can let a couple small issues slide.

First of all there has never been an open world FPS before ever, which is a bit hard to understand because it's such a good concept. I think the developers might have focused on the word open a little too much. The map is massive and a five hour drive can cut into the action from time to time, but i think the breaks away from gun fight is refreshing.

Second, you can buy guns. This might not sound like much, but it's really fun to pick out your weapons for each mission. Every time you buy a gun you have an infinite supply of them at gun shops, so they dont just disappear after use. Guns are expensive, so you'll probably buy a new one after three or so missions. This adds a lot because your fighting style greatly relies on your weapons, so you can pretty much pick your rout.

Lastly, the game is fun. I can't tell you how satisfying it is to set your in-game alarm clock for 2 in the morning, pick up a RPG, drive over to the check point, wait for the passing convoy, shoot, and enjoy the fireworks.

The game is addictive, immersive and fun. Rent it and keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Rental - Not sure about the Buy

posted by Kamakazee (BELLEVUE, WA) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

70 out of 92 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Far cry 2 is a really nice game, especially at first. Great visuals, awesome environments but a few shortcomings make it worth the buy. The map editor is fantastic and multiplayer is fun. But here are some issues I have with the game:

1) enemies take about 30 bullets to kill - This is absolutely absurd and it removes the realism that Far cry is trying to achieve

2) Landscape is huge but getting from places gets to become a pain in the butt. When dropped in an open world, sure its fun to explore. But if you're like me and love the action, it can get quite tedious trying to find Vehicles near by. Also, getting from place to place gets so tiresome. I find myself spending more time trying to figure out where to go, than actually going there

3) Whats up with these lame guard posts everywhere? So great i find a car and i'm zooming to my next checkpoint and only to be shot at buy a bunch of bandits. So the drill is get out of the car, throw a grenade into the camp and blow those guys up. But it gets really annoying sometimes, especially when you've just saved your game and you're on your way to the mission objective, only to get owned on the way. Some bigger guard posts are marked on the map so at least that helps, but the small ones are annoying

4) Missions get VERY repetitive. I've played it for 3 days and its kinda getting the same, find this guy kill him, Destroy this convoy, Find this place..blow it up. Thats pretty much all you do (i'm at 40% completion so far..maybe that changes..but already i'm having doubts).

5) Stealth sucks. So its awesome that you can choose missions in night and day but when going stealthy, when you knife a guy, the whole of Africa runs out after you. This can get frustrating. So its probably much easier to just go in guns blazing

6) Absolutely pointless Malaria!

So The reason i gave it a 8 was the Great map editor and pretty solid multiplayer. Overall its a fun game but can get quite repetitive. its worth a RENT atleast before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

at best pretty, at worst grueling

posted by Ro6ert66 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

40 out of 52 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

good; best shadows and foliage ever, lots of weapons, living world filled with lots of environments and ecosystems, fire is amazing and works like real fire, jackals character was the only thing that kept me playing, beautiful engine/tech demo, weapon deg was cool but a little extreme at times picking up a weapon which had just been used by enemy perfectly then having it jam within one clip, buddies dying permanently draws comparison to the real finality of death not looked at by most games, good ending and ending missions,

bad; 70% of game is grueling travel between mission objectives having to fight any and every enemy everywhere you go non-stop, artificially lengthened by making you do missions for: arms dealers to guns you can actually use and force you to spend your diamonds which is the only thing you can use them for/ doctors to maintain a supply of mal meds. Enemies take too much to kill, bullets never have feeling of impact or mass, enemies have huge agro radious bigger than the console can render sometimes, enemies can shoot and even machine gun snipe you even when they are not viable and you appear not to be visible and/or hidden, must fight every visible enemy all the time, even those driving by in civilian looking vehicles, factions are always hostile even while you are doing missions for them, enemies will not die even when hit mult times in chest with assault rifles, and light machine guns, sometimes enemies will flank magically or even just pop behind you, can't play at night, fast travel system needs to be bigger, buddies are worst fighters in the game, artillery will hit you even when out of their line of sight and moving, where fire is coming from is difficult to find sometimes especially when enemy moves magically to extreme flacks

final thoughts: when it's good, it's great, and could have been a great game. When it is bad though, which is 90% of the time, this game is a nightmare, grueling, frustrating, needlessly meandering and difficult

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This game is decent

posted by IisSpartan (Puyallup, WA) Nov 5, 2008

Member since May 2008

27 out of 35 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I was stoked of this game and was uber-excited for its realease. I got it and was stunned by how awesome it was. Unfourtunalty after the first day of play, my expierence with it goes down the toilet. Here's why:

1. You must drive everywhere! I spent 4 times as much time driving my truck than shooting.

2. Your car will break down. If you drive past a guard post (On a typical mission you pas two or three) you will be shot at like crazy. The guys shooting you have accuracy comarable to God. If you take more than 7 shots your car will break down and you'll have to get out and spend 15 seconds fixing it. OR you can drive past the gaurdpost and then the bad guys hop into trucks and still shoot you.

3. Guns! In order to unlock any guns you must do arms dealer missions which have you drive 20km to blow up a truck. THIS TAKES FOREVER! The other option is to pick up enemy guns, only problem is they will jam at the worst time imaginable and will eventually disenigrate.

However, although this game has many issues, i must complement its graphics! They are exceptional. Also, the map editor was really nice.

NOTE: I never played this game on Live

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great comeback from the okay previous far cry

posted by EWreviews (MASON, OH) Oct 23, 2008

Member since May 2007

27 out of 36 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

By far the two coolest features of far cry 2 are the giant map for the campaign and the massive map editor. The map editor in the previous far cry was already the best map editor i knew to the 360 console, and this new updated version even blows that away. I would recommend this game to anyone with a little creativity just based on the map editor feature. If you wanna taste for yourself, look up the map editor video on youtube or just get the game. The terrain is extra detailed and realistic in the sense of it's reactions to weather and damage from its surroundings, in my case grenades provided enough evidence when they impacted the african brush. Great game for what you pay, i think most gamers from strategists to FPS players will enjoy this incredible new title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Far Cry Online Multiplayer

posted by ifrick1947 (TEHACHAPI, CA) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It's the live, online multiplayer that keeps me coming back. For those who like to rank up in a game, there are 8 or 9 ranked maps with up to 16 players. The maps vary from close quarter "run and gun" to large maps with great cover for those who prefer to stalk their prey with 50 cal sniper rifles, or stealthy with nasty silent dart guns.(campers of the world unite!) It is the unranked "player" maps that the real fun begins. The maps are limited only to the map author's imagination. The maps can be created and published so that anyone can download them for when they decide to host a game. The weapons are varied, and there are lots of things to blow up or set fire....note: be careful when setting fires in the brush to flush out the enemy....the fire may turn on you quickly. The "player" games are just for fun...you gain no rank or achievement points. The trade off is less pressure, more relaxed competition and hundreds of maps (some very bizzare) in which to stalk your fellow gamer....good hunting and I will shoot you later(look for LOON TRACKER).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent game

posted by jmoore2108 (RICHMOND, ME) May 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

all in all an entertaining game. large area to explore in Africa. weaponry is excellent, but the game is a bit repetitive. there are some african animals running around, like a zebra, wilderbeast, and gazelle, but wheres the rest? you should be able to face off with many animals in the african wilds to add to the challenge of the game.
once the .50 cal sniper is unlocked, its hunting season on all humans. the game gets real easy. just zoom and boom! they could have done sooo much more with this game.
good game though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been the best game ever.

posted by EvelEnivel (TAMPA, FL) May 9, 2009

Member since May 2009

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This FPS had the potential to be the best game ever created if the developers didn't cut a few corners and actually proof the product rather than just push it out.

Far Cry 2 is a visually amazing game. The shading they use in the scenes are really a wonder to look at- Just don't stare too long, because there are buttheads in jeeps that like to run over you every chance they get.

The controls are very smooth when it comes to the weaponry. When using the flamethrower, the breeze in the air determines where the fire spreads. I was loving the way the weapons degrade over time and with extended use. Of course, because the gun shops are too spaced apart, good luck getting new ones in a pinch.

Guard posts everywhere. Clear one out, walk a bit, turn around, and it's stocked with bad guys again.

It can take hours to complete one mission because you're too busy getting run over by jeeps.

When sniping with a dart gun, you should be able to execute stealth. How is it possible that everyone knows EXACTLY where you are at night in the jungle when sniping a guy from 100 yards out with a silent air gun?

Malaria? Why...? Last I remember, Malaria is a cureable disease... So why am I taking all these pills and not getting better?

You can sort of tell what they were going for- a sandbox game in FPS mode. Could've been a great idea, if Ubisoft gave up about 3/4 through and handed the game to Rockstar to finish and edit.

Ubisoft games all seem to be locked into the same pattern- innovation without finishing the product. Every Ubisoft game I pick up has the same flaw- "Wow" factor? Yes. Just expect to be cursing the game out. It feels like a job more than a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

far cry2

posted by danman88 (DAVISBORO, GA) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

i got the game on sat and i played it for hours i couldn't believe the graphics and the textures they where so fine edged and the game play is one of a kind the way you can interact with the game and your environment is just unbelievable the game has one mission and that is to kill the jackal but it is easier said than done there are many missions you have to do to find the jackal so pick this game up and give it a try you want believe how far they went to entertain you with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good looking FPS, but far to slow

posted by Jordan0099 (BRIGHTON, MI) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

To get this out of the way up front, Far Cry 2 is a very good looking game. The tress blowing up and burning, the wind moving fields, and the general atmospheres is just great. The dev team made one very good looking world.

So why a 6 for this game then? It all comes down to the fact that this game is far to slow in its pacing. The missions are tough and full of gun blazing goodness, but in order to experience them your going to have to drive and drive and drive around the landscape.

I am a big fan of sandbox type games where you have a wide open, expansive world that you can just pick what you want to do. When you first look at the game, it almost looks like this will be the case, but its most differently is not. The only real reason for the large land mass is to frustrate and artificial extend the game play time. The missions are all very linear and must have to go though both factions in order to progress in the game (there are side missions as well, but they are just the same thing over and over of kill this guy or blow up this truck). When you get a mission is a marry-go-round of get the mission at one area, drive around a few miles to the mission point, and then kill things. It just stretches the game out to the point where I personally got bored.

Overall, Far Cry is a ok game with a big flaw in its pacing. It looks good, but the basics such as game progression just kills it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

far cry 2

posted by Tnightmare (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

great game with great graphics. the weapons are amazing and the world around you is life like. it seems like you spend more time trying to get from mission to mission than actually doing the missions. and the guard outpost become old quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Very Explosive Shooter

posted by WeaponAndy (KALAMAZOO, MI) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Far Cry 2 is amazing. It captures the landscape of Africa along with its war-torn inhabitants very well. Everything is beautiful and nothing is scripted except for the lines that characters say. You want to go in guns blazing? Do it. You want to scout the camp from the rocky ridges above? Do it. Maybe you'd like to get just outside the camp and then use explosives to scatter the few guerilla's that remain? Do it. Basically, anything you can come up with to deal with a situation is something you can pull off in the game.

Usually I'm overwhelmed by open world games, but Far Cry 2 gives you the transportation and maps that make navigating the large landscape fun, fast, and easy, but they also give you the firepower to wreak havoc and generally just blow stuff up. Whether you tackle missions for people, go on diamond hunting expeditions, or decide to start a few brush fires and burn out the local flora and fauna-Far Cry 2 is basically the gamer's game. Pick this up and play it today, I challenge you to not have fun with this game-I think it's impossible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game to play, definitely a rental

posted by Dredly (SAYLORSBURG, PA) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Far Cry 2 has some great graphics, unfortunately the graphics are the end of the praise.

Game play is dull and repetitive, driving is a mundane experience however you will be doing a lot of it, weapon damage is poor and the voice acting is horrible. Fire is a nice feature and the AI isn't bad, however they respawn constantly and they always know exactly where you are, they will often begin shooting at you before they can determine it isn't an ally, this includes while driving a truck or walking.

Vehicles are extremely limited to basically a truck, a jeep, a dune buggy, and a hang glider, and all vehicles (except the glider) feel the exact same while driving them, as mentioned, driving is extremely boring, think of driving to the store with Mrs. Daisy, thats basically the experience that driving in Far Cry 2 is most like.

The MP is okay, the Map Editor is really the only thing new or worth while. Lag issues and poor damage and hit detection result in a very frustrating experience. There are no new or exciting game types. Weapon selection is basically by "kit" which limits selection to a few weapons, upgrades change to a new gun so if you prefer one gun over another... oh well.

Its a fun game to rent and play for a few hours, by hour 10 you'll be ready to put it down, you really won't be missing much by doing this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak storyline

posted by backusduo (AVONDALE, AZ) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

29 out of 46 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

To me this game is a disappointment on a few things, that make it less than a joy to play. I always appreciate when gamers point out the annoying things of a game, and then let me decide if I can live with them or not. I will lay them out for you and let you decide. First the storyline of this game is weak. Mission after mission will occur with absolutely no storyline movement. You are just doing similar chores time after time, to no avail. To me that is annoying, I want to feel like I'm part of a movie, not pulling weeds outside. Second the enemies appear to be the same level after level. There is no character progression as you go from level to level adding to the challenge. Guns may change but the same AI characters (they rarely notice when their friend is blown up, but can spot you from a mile away when you are crouched) keep coming. Finally I do not want to take 5-10 minutes to drive from point A to point B, only to die and have to make the same stupid drive over again. It is not fun, it is not challenging, though you may get chased by tweedle dee and tweedle dumb occasionally, and again it adds no storyline to the game. After a weekend of play, I just don't think this game is worth my time when there are so many great games out right now, but you decide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good for a rental but gets INCREDIBLY repetitive

posted by MidTwentez (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

18 out of 30 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game is alright, but doesn't offer much new. If you want to unlock new guns you have to navigate through all this boring terrain and go through the same roadblocks again, and again, and again. Oh and you have malaria, and every hour or so you have to hit a button to take your malaria pill. Then when you run out of malaria pills, you have to do another repetitive mission. The game is 90% pain in the butt getting around. Great graphics, and semi-cool use of fire, but other than that, blehhhhh. Once you figure it out it's just a hassle. INSANELY REPETITIVE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

farcry2 one of best games in history

posted by GTAIV4 (POTTSVILLE, PA) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

farcry2 is by far one of the best games Ive ever played graphics are amazing tons of guns the map editor is the best Ive ever seen EVER! when u light a fire it doesn't stay in one spot it spreads the campaign is awesome very huge map to explore tons of missions online multiplayer is also awesome overall id give farcry2 a 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

grate game

posted by agrozema (HIALEAH, FL) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

its a good game the multiplayer is varry fun. the custum maps are realy cool. i give this game a 10..thank you gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for such a low budget.

posted by TrueYankee (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really enjoy this game. I bought it because my brother used to have it so I already knew what it was like. The map editor is great for people like me who forge everything in Halo. In Far Cry 2 though, you start out with a flat desert and can make ANYTHING. The storyline is great offering at LEAST 35 hours of gameplay if you ignore the side quests and play on easy. The only annoying thing to me is that u have to fight EVERYBODY. Even the side you are doing a mission for. It's not very noticeable though, because I can't distinguish APR from UFLL (The two factions in the game) by looking at their clothes. The driving takes a little bit of getting used to, but its fairly simple and easy to use once you get the hang of it. Also, keep in mind that Ubisoft had a very low budget to make this game. They couldn't spare $500,000,000 or anything like that. With what they had to work with they made a very awesome game that's a MUST rent and a must buy if you like being a mercenary with guns and pretty much being able to be like Rambo. The only reason I gave it a 9 is:
1. Because I really don't consider any game perfect.
2. It does have a couple flaws, but not nearly enough to hurt the game down to a lower rating.

It's a good, solid game worth getting.

Oh, and by the way, to anybody who doesn't know, the multiplayer is set up with create a class in mind. I found it extremely fun even though I'm horrible at it. (First match i played was Team Deathmatch and I was 4 and 12. Which means 4 kills and 12 deaths to anyone who doesn't know.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse