Rent Fantasy Aquarium World for Wii
view large frontback

Fantasy Aquarium World

Not Rentable
GF Rating
2.3

201 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Enough Fantasy in this Aquarium

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

For those of you looking for a Nintendogs on the Wii, this is your game - at least that's what the developers were shooting for.
Too bad they missed.
Fantasy Aquarium is not really a game as a tool used to take care of digital fish. It's not even much of a tool, either.
You start off by taking on challenges that also serve as a tutorial; you put fish into tanks, transfer them between tanks, feed them, adjust the conditions of one perticular tank (it's temperature, pH level and cleaning up the wastes that accumulate within it.)
I take that back; you don't need to feed the fish; you can set an automatic feeding time so all you have to do is clean the tank every now and then.
This is one "game" you are supposed to play for about ten minutes each and every day or so. This is enough time to clean and maintain all your fish tanks you've earned. Hard core gamers will stay far away.
Fantasy Aquarium might be good for casual gamers if the game had animals that are cute like in Nintendogs, and animals that you can play with like in Nintendogs, but that is not the case. The graphics in this game make the fish look like nothing more than floating bits of color. Besides, all they do is swim about the tank you placed them inside.
Fantasy Aquarium doesn't have the charm nor the thrill needed to attract player's attention (even the casual ones). SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good for beginners

posted by g3020284 (FORT SILL, OK) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is extremely boring. However, if you have a child under the age of 5 playing a Wii, then it is a great way to keep them entertained. My seven year old tried to play this game and was ready to send it back after 5 minutes. My daughter of nearly four found it exciting and slightly challenging. I guess you could call it a good game for beginners!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hamtaro

posted by shinku (ANCHORAGE, AK) May 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This is by far one of the worst games that I have ever played. I would just as soon watch paint dry. If it was possible to give it a lower score, I would. I told my friend that I would like to put it under the rear wheel of the neighbors truck and watch him back over it, that would be more entertaining! This game totally ------- sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst game ever

posted by msuehr (SPENCER, NC) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i got it and sent it back in the same day because it was the worst game i ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

From Zelda & Metroid greatness, to this?

posted by jackzodiak (APO, AP) May 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This is a poorly made port of an old DS game with awful controls. Beginners through vets will find nothing of value here. Nintendo goes from Zelda and Metroid greatness to this money grab from consumers? How do I stay a fan? Please vote if this review was helpful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game was BORING!!!!!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

When I first started playing this game I thought it was fun but then I really started to know that it is just like owning your own tank at home.... So If were you I would not get this game cause this game is really DUMB & STUPID ALRIGHT PEOPLE!!!!!! WELL THAT IS WHAT I THINK OF THIS GAME OKAY.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT RENT

posted by Enjoyit77 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This has to be one of the worst titles I have ever rented! And belive me, I am NOT a picky gamer. I dont mind bad graphics, and easy game play. I am a big fan of Harvest moon series , Animal crossing and all the SIM games. But I was so utterly dissapointed by Fantasy Aquarium. So dissapointed, that this is the first review I have ever written about a game. I went against the review rating of others assuming they just were too picky... I was WRONG!! This is NOT A GAME! Picture this..... You can see a rectangular aquarium accross the living room. It looks like there a some fish swimming around in it. Well folks, thats as good as it gets! You CANT zoom, or anything. I cant click on my fish and see what they are thinking or if they are hungry.. I have goals to really achieve. Once you pass the tutorial, they expect you to just come back every 3 days, clean the tank which takes 2 minutes and then turn off the game. The game has an auto feeder, so you dont even have to feed them.. Just watch from afar and wish you could get closer. I feel cheated out of my game rental this week. :( So please, dont waste your rental on it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lots of hype no delivery

posted by Frogger320 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The description of this game makes it sound like so much fun. I love other aquarium games and other underwater games, so I rented this one, it was terrible. The first 10 challenges are really easy. Then you get to challenge 11 and it took forever to figure out how to move the selection screen. Once Challenge 11 was finished challenge 12 makes you wait three days before you can move on. I do not want a game for my Wii that I have to stop playing and wait on. It is bad enough that I have to do that on certain computer games. This really is a bad game. Even my 7 year old and my 9 year old got bored with this game quickly. I got this game on Saturday and if mail ran on Sunday it would have been back in the mail on Sunday, as it was I had to wait until Monday to send it back. Do not rent this game. It is not worth wasting one of your rentals on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Like a bad Facebook game

posted by opalangel (HARBOR SPRINGS, MI) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game reminds me of a bad Facebook game. You get your fish and then you feed your fish and clean up after them. Yay! Over time this would end up being less of game and more of a chore, just like a real aquarium. You would spend your 20-30 minutes of time a day taking care of your fish and that would be about it. I am most definitely glad we rented this versus buying it because I would have been sore about spending $30 on this awful thing. We literally sent it back the first day we played it. Awful and boring game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Good for ages under 12

posted by nikki6 (TAMARAC, FL) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

A very basic and boring game but good for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too much work!

posted by thehills (NEWNAN, GA) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Think of everything you hate about keeping an aquarium - maintaining pH balance and temperature, cleaning algae, dealing with fish illness, etc.

If you don't get enough of that in real life and want to deal with the same things in a virtual world, then, boy, is this this game for you!

Hopefully they're working on a follow-up game where you get to mop the floors, take out the garbage, and keep up with dishes and laundry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by rbmf2000 (DUBLIN, GA) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

this does not compare to watching paint dry,it is worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »