Rent Fantastic 4: Rise of the Silver Surfer for PS3
view large frontback

Fantastic 4: Rise of the Silver Surfer

Not Rentable
Also on:DS, Wii, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.0

574 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worth checking out if you have multiple players

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The single player in this game dulls out really quickly. Basically you can power up one person to super-superhero strength and the game is cake. In multi-player its much more fun as 2-4 people can work together to solve the somewhat challenging (somewhat annoying) puzzles that lead to fight sequences, that lead to more puzzles, you get the idea. The game becomes very tedious very quickly and doesn't offer much to keep you playing. Needless to say I didn't finish the game as I got bored playing. Its worth checking out if your a fan of the comics or movies and especially if you have four people to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by feeblenewt (BAY SHORE, NY) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible, it's no different than Xmen legends, only you can just be the F4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by MikayD (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Well I for one love this game. The four player mode is crazy. It's kinda short but hey its all good. This is an good game for the family. lot's of action

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dissapointed

posted by theplayer1221 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

ok so the game is not the worst out there but it doesnt even deserve to be on ps3 maybe ps2 at best because the first fantastic four game was for ps2 and it was better please for your own sake dont ever rent this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic four;riseof the Silver Surfer

posted by robert35 (CANNON FALLS, MN) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

It was very good anybody should try it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wanting more

posted by Dueldar (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

F4: RotSS was a lot of fun to play. Unfortunately, the ending came rather abruptly and it was fairly easy to defeat the final boss. By contrast, several mid-level bosses were more challenging to defeat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not very fun

posted by KwikEMart (OCEANSIDE, CA) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

I only played this game for about 5 minutes the only reason this game gets a 5 is because flying as the Human Torch is pretty fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fantastic for a four year old

posted by AVI8OR (SANDY, OR) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

This game may appeal to a kindergarten or first grader, but anyone who has played a game or two would not be interested in this game. It was far too easy, there weren't any challenges to try and figure out, it was just walking along and punching random enemies. The four different characters have different abilities, but it's really the same thing, and the game tells you which character to use for each challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wifes Favorite game

posted by mrtnztrio (MIDLAND, TX) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

She loved this game made me go find it for her at a pawn shop, got it for only $12 but hey made her happy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Non-fantastic 4

posted by hurrycaine (DURHAM, NC) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I have played better games on PS1. The graphics were terrible, the plot was horrible, and I can't even begin to say how bad the gameplay was. You have redundant combos... There were better punch combos on Mike Tyson's Punch Out in 1988. The Human Torch cannot even go in fire or lava...Isn't he made of fire??? If you're thinking of playing this game, satisfy your hero hunger with any other comic book series. Or go buy some action figures you'll get much more detail in characters and probably find more enjoyment talking to yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fantastic four Rise of the silver surfer

posted by nickdipao (CAMARILLO, CA) Jul 4, 2008

Member since May 2008

I had to go rent Metal Gear and Quake from Blockbuster because Gamefly wouldn't send them, when i finally get a game they sent me Rise of the Silver Surfer, number 13 on my Q, Man if you want game fly don't please turn back now, It should be called game crawl or game suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i advise not to spend a rental on this game.

posted by kiloonthel (POMPANO BEACH, FL) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

just don't do it. the game sucks it's no good. the game gets boring after the first 10 mins of playing it's the same thing over and over. good thing about the game are the combos that you do with the other players are pretty cool but other than that there's nothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Fantastic Bore

posted by HeroDude (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game has to be one of Marvel's weakest releases. The visuals are great. The levels are designed well. Granted, I have a preference for the Human Torch and fighting from a distance, but this game has a lot of reasons for melee, and the melee is repetitive, lacking in any cool factor and downright boring, no matter who you are.

At the end of each level, you get the opportunity to level up your characters, splitting your points where you will, but as you quickly develop a liking of one character over the other three, the other three quickly become weak in comparison to the character you're leveling up (The Human Torch because his powers are actually cool). The game randomly drops in levels where you are forced to play as one of the other characters on a solo mission, which may not go so well if you haven't improved their powers.

And the AI? Can we say, "Artificial"? Bogus!!! You can convince them to stand in one spot and get pummeled or have them running every which away into harms way and get pummeled.

Basically, this game should be taken back to the factory, and they should fix it so that you could have the option of playing the game as any one of the Fantastic Four without being forced into lame solo missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time

posted by jonrph (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Wow! What a piece of s#it. Horrible PS1 like graphics, characters don't really look like the movie. Clumsy controls, and inane gameplay. Played for 30 mins, and sent it back. Now I have to wait like another week or two for a new game. Don't waste your time on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If you played the original X-Men PS2 game...

posted by Mikemare (CLYDE, NC) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

Almost the exact same game as the PS2 X-Men and X-Men legends game.

You get to control one of the characters from a top down position throughout multiple levels. You can play with multiple players on one screen, or play online with one other player. I still do not understand why they did not make the multiplayer with 4 characters available for online play, would have made this game 100% better.

Special effects are ok, nothing special, and the graphics do not seem any better then a PS2 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad, just bad.......

posted by itsyoboy (MARIETTA, GA) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Feb 2004

I usually don't write reviews, but I had to in this case. There's no words to describe how awful this game is, I could only bear to play this atrocity for about 10 mins tops before I had to shut it off and walk away. Everything, from the controller layout to the mechanics of the game were borrowed straight from X-men legends and Marvel Ultimate Alliance. Now that I think about it this isn't a review but more like a warning, I don't even think that a die hard fan of the comic or movie would enjoy this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not fantastic

posted by mrenigma (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 16, 2007

Member since May 2006

this game sucks, i'm trying to find a another word for it but i cant it just sucks. i always thought that games made from a movie were not the best idea because it limits the game. spider-man kind of made me change my mind but then this game came along. i am truly sorry for all you people who work hard for their money and actually spent it on this game. plus the fact that i finished it in a 2 like 2 hours. i wish they had a 0 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Blech!!!

posted by 1gamer5 (LA VERNE, CA) Aug 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This game is not really what I have been expecting. The graphics are good, but the story sucks. I suggest you don't rent it, but rent it if you really want to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stop...

posted by freezebite (DETROIT, MI) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

If you rent this game u deserve to be slapped...this game is bad i sent back after 1 hour of playin this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very disappointed

posted by taylor9590 (RIPLEY, TN) Jun 30, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I got this game thinking it would rival ultimate
alliance boy was I wrong the graphics are excellent but the villians you encounter are very
cheesy.The last act wasn't even a challenge Dr. doom is so easy to deafeat it was pathetic I would
have thought would it would be a little harder to take down.Even if you play the game in fantastic mode there isnt really any difference. If your board its a good game to play, but if your looking
for a game that will will push you to the limit dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

a fantastic failure

posted by daBoSox (NEWTOWN, CT) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Graphics- 6 out of 10
Sound- 2 out of 10
Gameplay- 1 out of 10
Multiplayer- 4 out of 10
Storyline- 3 out of 10
Entertainment- 2 out of 10

Waste of money- 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not that good

posted by soleguy (NEW LONDON, CT) Jun 21, 2007

Member since May 2005

its a straight game, kinda boring. its just smashing buttons i think. not worth buying just renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by shobiz (WINTER PARK, FL) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Now tell me why i would want to play a game with no intro sequence. Or that doesn't even have online play like the older xmen legends game which this is just a cheap clone of. Now tell me why there isn't even one good Ps3 game besides resistance: FOM!

RISE OF THE SILVER SURFER is the most misleading game title since katamari damacy or whatever it was called. I want to actually BE the silver Surfer not play as some stupid four-some. (I can have one of those on my on time). This game really disappoints yeah you can play as the SILVER SURFER once you beat the game but he has no storyline to play through. I think that this game should be called Fantastic four: Sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

For the (very little) kids

posted by danimal116 (WARREN, OH) Jun 20, 2007

Member since May 2007

This game really disappointed me. Most of the few PS3 titles out have though. Just thought another marvel game would be atleast as good as spiderman 3 was. Very minor league level gameplay. 4 characters running around with some pretty elementary attack/defense moves. My 3 year old son loved it though. I think young kids could get into this one more than anyone else. I hope the actual movie is alot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

DO NOT BUY, DON'T EVEN PAY TO RENT, JUST BORROW IT

posted by hearMEnow (FRESH MEADOWS, NY) Jun 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Yo dis brother bargain in da house. aight yo check it. dis be a weak similarity to marvel ultimate allianc. boring, craaaappy, da same shizel. seriously it sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse