Rent Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse for PS3
view large frontback

Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.0

950 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Hesham99 (NASHVILLE, TN) Jul 11, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game is just terrible its boring and dumb

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you like family guy it's awesome

posted by Theacealltheway (DALY CITY, CA) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Great game a little short but a good game great for family guy lovers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Getting a bad rep for no reason!!!

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I was supposed to recieve this game from GameFly but ten days after they were supposed to have shipped and it never arrived I sent in a lost game form and went and rented it, it was not at all what people were making it out to be it's fun,funny,and a all around good game yeah the graphics are not that great but I wouldn't compare them to ps2 it's like a step up from walking dead if you've played that it's def worth putting in your gameQ and you will be entertained, so even though some people don't like it dosen't you wont! I give this game a 8/10 for the fun and entertanment!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just The Absolute Worst

posted by Gatasabul (PALM SPRINGS, CA) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Man, what can you possibly say about this game except what a waste of a perfectly serviceable group of mass-produced Blu-Ray disc.

I gave this game a try, I really did. But terrible controls, erratic aiming, and last-generation wonky graphics go hand-in-hand with lame sight gags, jokes that oftentimes are hard to hear for one reason or another, or simply overlap with background dialogue. Oh, and the characters saying the same freakin' things over and over again, especially in situations where the saying doesn't actually even pertain to the situation. So, yeah, I get it. Victory is yours or whatever. Thanks for telling me that for the seven hundredth time for no reason whatsoever.

I remember seeing ads for this a few years ago for the PS2, so it's rather obvious that they decided the best thing to do was to try and make a great game with next-gen tech and...oh, wait, sorry. No they didn't. They apparently just took whatever quarter-finished game they made for the PS2 and tossed it on the PS3 because, hey, who cares, it's "Family Guy!" Someone said McFarlane's rolling in his grave over this travesty, which is unlikely because one, he's not dead, and two, he's too busy laughing it up with his money manager or accountant or whoever covers his finances to even care if this game is good or not. And it ain't.

I think the most harrowing thing of all is that somewhere, out in this vast world of ours, this game is someone's favorite game of all time. And that gives me the sads.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nothing to be excited about

posted by dmt317 (HUTTO, TX) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

17 out of 33 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

As someone who watches Family Guy, I thought this game would be interesting and entertaining. Unfortunately, it is the opposite of what I had hoped.

The graphics are terrible...its like the game was developed by an animator who just graduating from Devry. It felt like it was made for the PS2. The sound in this game is also horrendous. For example, when trying to interact with a character and listen to the instructions they provide, the voices and noises in the background often overlap. If it were not for the captioning, one would have difficulty understanding the objective they are supposed to achieve.

Fans may appreciate some of the one liners found in various Family Guy shows, but they become repetitive and annoying. With a game like this, as a Family Guy fan I hoped newer material was created strictly for this game. The controls take some getting used to and the movement often feels jagged and rough. The layout of the game seems like a maze with little free reign. And I couldn’t count the many times I felt backed into a corner and zapping the characters charging me. Because of the controls, victory wasn’t mine at all.

Now to be fair, I didn't play past the fraternity level so I have no idea if the game improves at all, but all it took was playing that level to feel as if I was wasting my time; therefore I didn't finish the game and returned it to gamefly the next day.

Despite my opinion of the game, no doubt loyal fans of Family Guy may ride it through to its climax (giggity). And who knows, perhaps the game shall improve much more significantly than the amount that I briefly played and experienced. To me, it was as if they rushed to finish this game so they could release it before Christmas.

The best thing one can suggest is for one to rent it for themselves and come to their own conclusions. But if you're like me, renting a game that makes me feel like the time I invested into playing it was a complete and total waste truly grinds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Family Guy Road to the Multiverse

posted by MrNight (CANTONMENT, FL) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics for this title where very similar to playstation 2 graphics. I was expecting much more from this game, the characters run around spouting rehashed tired voice clips from the television show with no originality.The story itself is nowhere near on a level with an episode of Family Guy.The controls were at best awkward and clunky.There is noway to change the view you are stuck about half a mile behind the character you are playing. At best this is a second rate peck and hunt collectibles game at worst it is a pitiful attempt to make a quick buck off the fame of the show so buyer beware of this horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fantastic Guy

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Dec 3, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So, in what was completely unexpected... this game was actually good. Even a bit more than good.

First and most important, this game feels exactly like the show. Something most licensed games are terrible at. But from start to finish, this game hits the mark, and that means a lot.

The story is short, but their are collectables and it certainly need to be longer.
Co-Op is great, but it gets crazy difficult. Luckily, there's infinite lives.
This is a arcade game, the classic kind. It's a great experience. No online co-op. No complaining! Not enough games provide a good local multiplayer.

The actual multiplayer is pretty cool too. Reminds me of that N64 era of multiplayer. Good stuff.

So, the game's a bit nostalgic. And you probably have to obviously be a fan of the show to appreciate a lot of the nuances of the game.

Graphic wise, it's probably what you'd expect, but it gets the job done pretty well. Some of the outlines are bit too thick, and it may not always look super smooth. But it's good enough.

The fact is, the game wasn't supposed to be good and it was. Don't pass it up just to write it off as another failed licensed game, because I assure you, that it is not.

Note: GameFly it for sure, it's a perfect rental. Buy it? Maybe not...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The typical tv show based video game

posted by DaisyHimself (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Like most video games based on tv shows of movies its terrible, just terrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

0?

posted by RevToolbox (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Can you give anything less than a one? This game is utter c.r.a.p. The graphics are terrible. The game play is terrible. Even the cut scenes, which were clips from actual Family Guy footage, look terrible. I was hoping for a better looking game than the last one, I was sorely disappointed. Seth McFarlane is rolling in his grave.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love this game!

posted by Dauby (LANCASTER, OH) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am not an avid gamer nor a huge Family Guy fan, but I love this game! It is a third person shooter, and so much fun. There are not too many games that my husband will play with me, but this is one! I love it because it is cartoony and he loves the shooting. I like 3rd person shooters, but games like MW3 and Black Ops are just too must for me. This is perfect and sooo much fun. The only downfall is that coop mode splits the screen instead of letting you play together on the main screen, but its not that annoying. SOO MUCH FUN but definately rated mature. It follows in Family Guy tradition and is very politically incorrect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is freakin sweet!

posted by Clankrocks (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

Pros of this games:
-the graphics of this game are great, but not perfect. But come on how good can they be for an animated show.
-the campaign is rather short, really fun and can be really challenging
-the final battle is really epic and has really epic music.
-the multiplayer and challenge modes are really fun.
-multiple players to play as, and each character has their own unique arsenal.
-MOST IMPORTANT: THIS GAME IS FREAKIN HILARIOUS!

CONS of this game:
-the controls are really different from the other shooter games

That is really all of the negatives for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MORE OF AN ARCADE GAME

posted by lukehall218 (GAINES, MI) Aug 13, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

Very cool game has some funny parts that I had a good laugh. its not a buy and keep game more of a rent and move on. the only thing I didn't like was how annoying some of the enemies where in it haha lol. Besides that its a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad

posted by Edubs23 (EAU CLAIRE, WI) May 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

As a huge family guy I fan i did enjoy this quite a bit.
It's a little short, and nothing you havent seen in a game before. Its a fun 6-8 hour play if your burning straight through. With all that said, this game will not hold up with people who are not big fans of family guy, there are a few original jokes and some original writing, its like a long episode , casual fans may still be let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Who else but Quagmire

posted by THATCATOGUY (BAINBRIDGE, GA) Feb 28, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I found the game to be repetitive and demoralizing to the TV series, and this is just another representation of why you should never get a movie or TV biased game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

suck my balls plz

posted by urmommafool (RIVERSIDE, CA) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A surprisingly fun play, especially for fans.

posted by PSN_Jay_Cash (TOPEKA, KS) Jan 8, 2014

Member since May 2012

Jumping into it, I thought this was going to be a bad game. Yet, it's actually a surprisingly fun game. It may not technically be a great game as the gameplay is fairly generic and it looks close to a PS2 game. Yet, it has that family guy humor and there's plenty of variety in the 10 levels there are to play through. There's also some challenges and a hoard-type mode that can be played via co-op along with the main game.

It's a short-lived experience, but for what it's worth, it manages to be an entertaining game. Fans of the show like myself are more likely to enjoy it, so for me it was definitely worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amusing

posted by Morilina (MONTGOMERY VILLAGE, MD) Dec 27, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

This game is downright amusing. If you are a Family guy lover, then this game is for you! The gameplay is good, there is a lot of fun things to do, and the levels of the multi-universe are amusing as well. A job well done, in my opinion!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very fun game

posted by rockoscum (WAYNESBORO, VA) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

definitely fun and entertaining well worth the rent especially if you are a fan of Family Guy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game for those that like the shows

posted by chargerbrett (DAYTON, OH) Oct 13, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Very fun if you like the Tv show. Good co-op selections and being able to play co-op in campaign is very helpful. Quotes from the show are used continuously in good scenarios. Through out the game there are characters doing funny stuff on the side. The artwork is great and spot on. Being able to respawn in co-op is helpful and I like that you don't have to go back in the game when you respawn, it just costs you money and you respawn right where you were. The game is challenging but not so much that you give up. There is an awesome Peter/Chicken battle which could only be cooler if you could use the environment to fight. Good in game secondary goals for those that like to do side missions. Cool costumes are available to purchase from different episodes. Very well put together for being a game based on a tv show.

The only draw backs are that the loading screens take a long time. The replay value is rather low. Great game to rent but prolly skip on purchasing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just for a fun game!

posted by Hollywoodsteve (GAINESVILLE, FL) Oct 3, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Game play was clean and easy. Story was ok, just your same old Family Guy ( Stewie and Brain episode). Lots of action and challenging at some points but for the most part a very easy game to beat. Give it a try if you just want some simple game play for laughs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun 3 person ?

posted by TonyTequila (KERMAN, CA) Sep 29, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

Funny lines, yes. Fun missions, yes. Replayability, most definitely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If you love family guy and only if you love it

posted by Toast4Twenty (PARK CITY, KS) Sep 3, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I didn't expect much from this game, I only got it because I'm a big fan of the franchise. It seems like the developers forgot that they were making this for PS3, it's graphics seemed very PS2ish and the gameplay was just down right dull. It's the same thing every level but they change up the universe and unlock upgrades. Upgrades are not based on experience but you spend the money you find throughout the game to obtain new costumes, weapons, and specs. There is nothing original about this game. The multiplayer should be mentioned because it is classic up to four player death-match and that never get's old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Gets old real fast.

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Jun 26, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

This was fun for about an hour but then hearing the same quips over and over got dull. Very repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a good quality game

posted by machoflaco (FORT MYERS, FL) Jun 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

The controls were awful. For someone that is an avid gamer like myself, I found it very difficult to play. I was getting chased constantly by bad guys and didn't get a moment to figure out the next step of my mission. I love family guy, but this was a major disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent for Fans of the Show

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

I actually like the visuals a lot. It looks like an episode of the TV show. Some of the in-jokes are actually pretty funny. The good qualities stops there and makes this just a good rental. The enemy AI is incompetent and sometimes doesn't even try to hurt you or runs into walls. The fetch quests are very repetitive and a lot of the dialogue loops out of context lines from the TV show. Some of ideas are obviously really well thought out. I don't think this was just thrown together in six months so Activision could make a quick buck like some of their games (Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified and The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct.) It seems to have had at least a little bit of effort and time put into it before they slapped it on store shelves. The source material just doesn't leave them with much to work with for a stellar game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse