Rent Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.3

1345 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Exactly what I'd expect from a Family Guy game.

posted by King4day (CHARLOTTE, NC) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Jan 2007

20 out of 22 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

If you played the Simpsons game from a few years ago, it's very similar to that, only much cleaner gameplay.

I enjoyed this one very much. There was much humor as expected. Some ported straight from the show, but there's also new material. It's an easy game and quick to beat but you can still do side things and the replay value is there.

CONS:

- Some material gets repetitive
- If you find some collectibles, but not all as you play, you can't go back and pick up where you left off. You MUST do the entire level over and find all the same ones over again.

I'd strongly suggest renting this and if you're a big fan of the game, buying it (especially for the holidays) isn't a bad idea.

Disregard the negative reviews you read. It's as if people expect this to play like 'Assassins Creed' or 'Halo' or something. It's in its own category and I see no way anyone won't at least enjoy it the first time around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good rental

posted by synstershadow42 (MCDONOUGH, GA) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

19 out of 23 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game suprised me with how much I enjoyed it. It is fairly short 6-8 hours, but is fun couch co-op. It does have "multiplayer" but it is only local. The main campaign is funny and enjoyable. It has you traveling around different universes trying to stop Stewie's evil twin from destroying their universe. The locales are nice, the game goes from Frat Rows to Amish towns to space. This game a fun rental but do not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Don't Buy This Game!

posted by PaenfulRain (PASCO, WA) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

16 out of 24 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I would like to start off by saying that this game isn't that bad. However, it is short and not nearly what i expected from Seth and the rest of the Family Guy Gang. Some levels are fun and hilarious but others are just weird and the things that they say go way beyond the shock humor. The game play is alright, not pollished enough for my taste. I beat the game in less than 8 hours and that includes the time it took to install the game. Not worth the money to buy this brand new so just gamefly it and don't risk being upset for spending too much money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nothing to get excited about

posted by dmt317 (HUTTO, TX) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

As someone who watches Family Guy, I thought this game would be interesting and entertaining. Unfortunately, it is the opposite of what I had hoped.

The graphics are terrible...its like the game was developed by an animator who just graduating from Devry. It felt like it was made for the PS2. The sound in this game is also horrendous. For example, when trying to interact with a character and listen to the instructions they provide, the voices and noises in the background often overlap. If it were not for the captioning, one would have difficulty understanding the objective they are supposed to achieve.

Fans may appreciate some of the one liners found in various Family Guy shows, but they become repetitive and annoying. With a game like this, as a Family Guy fan I hoped newer material was created strictly for this game. The controls take some getting used to and the movement often feels jagged and rough. The layout of the game seems like a maze with little free reign. And I couldn’t count the many times I felt backed into a corner and zapping the characters charging me. Because of the controls, victory wasn’t mine at all.

Now to be fair, I didn't play past the fraternity level so I have no idea if the game improves at all, but all it took was playing that level to feel as if I was wasting my time; therefore I didn't finish the game and returned it to gamefly the next day.

Despite my opinion of the game, no doubt loyal fans of Family Guy may ride it through to its climax (giggity). And who knows, perhaps the game shall improve much more significantly than the amount that I briefly played and experienced. To me, it was as if they rushed to finish this game so they could release it before Christmas.

The best thing one can suggest is for one to rent it for themselves and come to their own conclusions. But if you're like me, renting a game that makes me feel like the time I invested into playing it was a complete and total waste truly grinds my gears.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

DO NOT BUY! ONLY RENT!

posted by garycretors (CLEVELAND, TN) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Got the game in the mail and played it the next day. Finished the game in about 2 hours. Not worth buying. The multiplayer isnt even online. I was hoping to play againest someone online. Seth could have done better. Not to bad though. Even though its a very short game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun rental but don't buy

posted by N3xium (DETROIT, MI) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game has about 6 hours of story mode that has familiar characters from the Family Guy universe in it. For the die-hard or even casual fans of the show this game is worth a rental and at least one play through. However I myself would not buy it unless it was in a bargain bin. The multiplayer only allows for local use such as a split screen setup but no Xbox Live ability. The gametypes for multiplayer are fun but if you are a loner then they won't be near as entertaining. To sum it up this game is not the most horrible thing on the planet despite some reviews I have seen. But it does leave something to be desired after it is all said and done. The game itself is fun but that can only go so far in a game nowadays. Overall I give this game a 5 out of 10 score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

garbage

posted by dragonknight (BUFFALO, NY) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

flat out garbage, multiplayer games are just dumb, story line is lame, slow loading times. this game should be in $1.99 bin at your local car wash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Family guy

posted by Aariyana228 (WINNETKA, CA) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

great game easy achivements what more can u ask for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved It

posted by Jack1991 (CARNEYS POINT, NJ) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was very very fun i am a super fan of family guy and when i saw this game i had to play it an i loved it so much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun

posted by Chefsetlich (CHINO, CA) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if u love family this is a great game to play. Every level has funny characters all around doing funny thing and saying funny stuff . I think you well enjoy if so try in out..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hardly a Game

posted by SesshomaruDC (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played through the first level then went to go try the multiplayer. Guess what, offline only. Tried the second level got bored half way through. Never liked the South Park FPS, and this is a spiritual sequel. So if you liked that game try this, otherwise skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This is definitely a party game.

posted by No0BDuDE (SUSSEX, NJ) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While the solo experience is a lot of fun for the first 15-20 minutes of gameplay, it gets quite repetitive and tedious after that. Playing with a friend however changes the experience. It allows you to overcome the obstacles faster which helps each area from stagnating while you are playing them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a strong entry for this license

posted by TheSolly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 25, 2012

Member since May 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Fans of Family Guy or strong gaming will be disappointed. Both the use of the license as well as actual game play are sub-par by most any standard. It appears to have all the graphical sophistication of a circa 1996 game. Family Guy isn't exactly the pinnacle of animation, and yet this game makes it look worse. Robot movements, no one blinks, etc.
The tie in to the show is pretty thin- essentially just characters saying some line from a show episode and relying on players familiarity with that to make the game 'Family Guy'. It just lacks every ounce of the wit and sarcasm of the show.
It's not deep, rewarding, or compelling, and the entire game is a series of highly repetitive levels with a couple variations of enemy, all of which have AI that makes Pac Man's AI seem advanced.
Stewie's ray guns and diaper grenades at least seem fitting to the world, where Brian makes due with sniper rifles, molotovs, and mowing down the Amish with a handgun- all of which seems out of place and frankly, too lazy to create anything beyond the Stewie character's weapons.
I consider a game to have failed the litmus test when even my 12 year old Family Guy obsessed kid quit in less than a half hour to find something better to do.
Despite my disappointment in the game, it's childishly simple game play and barely justified use of the license, it is a romp around the Griffin's hometown with familiar characters being, well themselves. It's a simple diversion, a game you might finish but certainly won't care if you don't.
It's worth a rental at most, but at full retail price, any gamer will be left feeling a bit ripped off. It's especially galling since there is also a Family Guy MMO in the works- so it seems Seth pretty well just sold the license to anyone with market niche to fill. Gamers hate money-grabs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Easily the worst game I've played all year.

posted by TylersDad1 (PHILLIPSBURG, NJ) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2003

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is not worth a rental. The gameplay is repetitive and boring. The funniest lines in the game are clips from real Family Guy episodes. Do yourself a favor and just watch the show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Much Religion Here

posted by EuphoricFedora (NOBLESVILLE, IN) Jul 3, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game is moderately/nonreligious, therefore; this game deserves a decent rating considering my intelligence was somewhat enlightened by the euphoria of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun, but stupid lol

posted by INSAN3J3D1 (HIALEAH, FL) May 20, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

Let me start by saying that it's hilarious for anyone to take this game as a serious video game title. Most of the reviews on here talk about how horrid of a game it is. If you're super uptight about playing the best of the best, I'm wondering why you even clicked on this title. Very short campaign, weak graphics and less than average third person gameplay. At first, you wonder why you're playing the game and start to question how much longer you'll actually be playing. Not long into the game I got the hang of the controls and then it became fun. The story is very simple, but if you enjoy Family Guy and it's character's then you should be able to finish this game and say, "Okay, that was fun.".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What were they thinking.......??

posted by Tiny_Tom_79 (LAS CRUCES, NM) Mar 11, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

So. I got this game yesterday, which was March 10th, 2011, popped it in installed it and started to play. I was able to beat the game from start to finish on it's default setting within 6 hours roughly give or take. That was without even skipping any of the cut/movie scenes. What were they thinking on this game and even took t to my local post office to send it back in under 24 hours......?? WOW.... and I don't mean 'World of Warcraft' either. I mean, come on. It could have been way better. To me the only really good part of the entire game is in the next to last part of it where you actually play as Peter for a 4 round bout with his nemesis The Giant Chicken, and even then you only use four buttons. I mean really....? Four buttons....?? Come on. The graphics, even after install being played on a Sony WiFi HD Television were somewhat glitch at best and most times it looked like Stewie was rocking the 5 o'clock shadow due to the, less than acceptable in my opinion, texture shading as to what is seen in todays games and even in Family Guy the animated series. Come on. I am disappointed being a Family Guy fan. They could've done way better on this game, made it longer, and even harder. If you want it for the story mode, ehh.... Don't bother. It's a complete hack. Next up on my Game Q. Hope to see Thief soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not horrible but at the same time not good

posted by K1NG0D (PLEASANT GROVE, UT) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

It was fun to listen in on all the stuff all the people from the show had to say in each universe. Apart from that though i just didn't see a good game i like the tv show and thought it was cool that they put lines from the show in the game, but hearing the same lines from Stewie and Brian got repetitive and irritating. So in short i just don't think this is worth the time to rent and definitely not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Idk how to talk about this so pros vs cons time

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Jan 31, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Pros: fun funny what you'd pretty much expect easy game
Cons: few bugs stupid bad graphics cliche ending

Worth bout 20 bucks or a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun

posted by Tatatijo (TAMPA, FL) Oct 1, 2013

Member since Feb 2008

Had a really good time with this game. If your a Family Guy fan then you will also. Fun gameplay and writing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its family guy

posted by BRYLOK (BOCA RATON, FL) Jul 9, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

The game is funny,some parts are challenging bout over all its fun to play.not sure if I would buy it is funny as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Do Not Rent This

posted by Banjo (SUPERIOR, WI) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

While the graphics and gameplay were very good, the fact is this game is the shortest I have ever played. My wife and I completed campaign in 2 hours on Co Op. This game was stupid easy and stupid short, do not waste the time it takes to get to you and return it for a new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game and what you expect from family guy game

posted by gunznbutta (MECHANICSBURG, PA) May 3, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

i really enjoyed this game for a rental though too short to buy took me only day n a half to beat n thats with compleating all the side missions.classic comedy from family guy u love. really easy too not alot of thinking invoved witch is good for a chage from the usuall more populars games.definatly rent this good game quick change n easy way to get a decent amout of achivements too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Really, this is a game?

posted by BamBamBradley (OLYMPIA, WA) Apr 17, 2013

Member since May 2012

So I like family but this game was so boring and repetitive. Even the dialog repeats it self every few seconds which gets real annoying luckily the game is only 10 levels. Multiplier is alright but its local only. I would say just play this for achievements but they even mess that up by the get all the achievements achievement can be glitched as it is for me. Otherwise not terrible and if you love family guy have fun I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by loRd_iCeMaN (TEMPLE, GA) Apr 15, 2013

Member since May 2012

Really thought this game was going to suck. But due to the controls being the same as Call of Duty I was able to jump in and have a blast. If your a fan of Family Guy the show you must play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse