Rent Family Guy - Video Game! for Xbox
view large frontback

Family Guy - Video Game!

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
5.9

1285 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Purely for the fans...

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Feb 25, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2006

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I am definitely a Family Guy fan when I have the remote in hand, not so much with my XBOX controller. It wasn't horrible, and it was an accurate send up in re to its irreverent humor and adventures, but its not for the lukewarm watcher (really too adult for the kiddies too). It has some fun moments, and its certainly got some laughs, but you're going to be slipping it right back in the mailbox soon after giving it a whirl. If they cut out half of the "sneaking" missions I think they'd have had a much better title, but alas. If you're a fan of the show, you'll definitely get a laugh, but as a game it really needed some more time in the oven.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rent if you are a family guy fan.

posted by LambOfGod (ANAHEIM, CA) Oct 29, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

24 out of 32 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

im only about half way through the game right now. and i love it, but really only because its a family guy game. so you get to be peter, brian and stewie. as stewie (at least so far) you spend most of the time inside peter trying to get to the testicles, ill let you find out why. as brian, you get to sneak around like a stealthy brian ninja dog thing...but yeah. and as peter, you go around beating the...well you know what out of people. oh,you know all of the flashbacks thing in the show? well in the game they are interactive, my favorite one so far is stewies sexy party..lol. so back to the review. ok the reason i didnt give this game a 9 or 10, is bacause the gameplay is not very diffent going from one level to another, like i said, brian= sneaking around...peter=beating up people...stewie=shooting things inside of peter....and thats about it, but again, if you love family guy, rent this game, so there you have it, family guy, 8 out of 10...this calls for a sexy party!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

attention family guy fans!!

posted by superguy1 (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 16, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game captures the same humor as the episodes and is very entertaining with all the characters you play also definetily a family guy fan must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short but Friggen' Sweet

posted by Macrosax (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

The game follows the TV Show very well. I am also impressed about how they got all the voices from the actual actors for all the characters. The games three story lines are all challenging enough that you don't just breeze through on the first try. It is definitely worth the rent just so you get to see the story line, But the game's not long enough for a purchase. There isn't a whole lot of replay value either unless it suddenly becomes your favorite episode of family guy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

family guy for the xbox

posted by bobbyh15 (SALTVILLE, VA) Nov 5, 2006

Member since Apr 2004

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Family Guy is a pretty good game ,(as far as based on TV shows go). It has all the characters and original voices. In the game you play 3 of the characters, Peter,Stewy,and Brian. Each of the characters plays differently. Peter's part play like a side scroll beat-em up. When you play as Peter, in his role he gets a blow on the head and he thinks Mr. Belvedere stole his family and he goes around beating up the elderly,children, and adults trying to find him. The controls are a bit weird here, but o.k. Stewy plays like a platformer and 3rd person shooter. In this part Stewy tries to defeat his sperm brother Burthrum. Stewy's is not good, it sometimes doesn't even work when you have more than one enemy. The platforming parts are good, even though the camera does screw up once and a while. Brian is a stealth game, in this segment Brian is accused of inpregnating Mr. Putersmitz dog, so he has to find the real father of the puppies. The controls are really great, my only complaint is that when you get spotted you have to start all over again. Just like the TV show the game has cut-a-ways, But in the game there interactive like a minigame. The graphics are good, they have a shell shaded look like the TV show. The really bummer in this game is that you can beat it really fast and there's no real replay value. Overall Family Guy the video game is for the fans,you will get some laughs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you like Family Guy you will like this game.

posted by Ou81218 (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The main characters are Peter (Fighter) Stewie (Shooter) Brian (Stealth) The side games are simple and silly but fun and funny. One side game, Peter explains that they couldn't afford anymore side game so if you just press any button and you win.....um yeeeah, I guess you have to play the game to see the humor. Peter's final fight is between his human sized chicken nemesis...great fun. I have not played this type of game in years. I am more of a Splinter Cell, Halo, GTA type of gamer but this game was a breath of fresh air and has encouraged me to play more of these types of games. I recommend this game whole heartedly to everyone, especially Family Guy fans. Don't always go by the Game Fly rating. If it looks fun check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Family Guy for XBOX - A Let Down

posted by kikstand (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Like almost everyone else that played this game, I rented it thinking it was as good as the show, and ended up wasting my time playing what seemed to be a poorly designed game meant to frustrate a kindergartner. The storylines are the same for each character, which is too repetitive for my taste. Within playing 3 levels, I was bored and ready to turn it back in. To sum it up, this game is HORRIBLE!!!!! The makers of Family Guy should be ashamed that they let XBOX mutilate what should have been a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Only if you LOVE Family guy

posted by NALUxRIDER (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) May 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game reaks of bad design. The controls are repetitious and stingy and sometimes completely guessed at! The look is reminiscent of the stand up Simpson's game with it's characters sort of moving oblivious to their surroundings instead of being part of them. The mini games are Horribly contrived and you are often times thrust into them with no clear idea of how or even what you're supposed to be doing. I've lost most and won some only to stare at the screen with my "...OK... What was that" look on my face. Very very bad. BUT, for those of us who love Peter, Lois, Meg, Brian, Chris and Stewie this game... works. You will find it mostly amusing and usually funny if at times gross. The game has cut scenes (just like in the show) and once you glean the basics of each character the game becomes a sort of trial and error based stint. All and all I give this game high ratings for what it is (poorly made) but only because I am a Griffin at heart. Otherwise P U.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GOOD FOR AN AFTERNOON

posted by JDADDY518 (COHOES, NY) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

KINDA OK, REALLY GLAD I RENTED IT RATHER THAN SPENDING 30 BUCKS. BUT THE JOKES AND GAMEPLAY ARE REALLY WEAK. THIS SEEMS MORE LIKE SOMETHING YOU'D DOWNLOAD FOR 10 BUCKS THAN A FULL GAME. ANYWAY YOU'LL PROBABLY SEND IT BACK WITHIN 2 OR 3 DAYS. THE ANIMATION WAS FAIRLY WELL DONE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rent...if you want

posted by MrChaos (SUMNER, WA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played it for 2 hours and was bored out of my mind. Sure it was funny, but I was playing a game not watching the TV show

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Family Guy Another Licensed Game

posted by CaptKoala (NEWFIELD, NJ) Dec 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I personally love the family guy tv show. The game delivers some of the humor from the show, but lacks storyline. The controls are really basic and seems to repeat itself to be fun after a while. Stewie is the best character in the game with his gun. Even though his story is very complex and hard to follow at points. Peters story is rather simple you are looking for bevedere. After punching and kicking the same enemies i got really bored of his story. Brian is by far the worst story. You have to use stealth rather poorly to escape danger. His levels are frustrating and at times i just turned the game off. The mini games are pointless and serve nothing but a lapse of action or storyline in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slightly Sweeeeet...

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Oct 23, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is a pretty average foray into the TV-to-videogame translation. Although the show's humor shines through (jumping onto pregnant women's stomachs to shoot out babies says it all), the gameplay itself is pretty stale. The collect-this and shoot-that mechanic of Stewie's section and Brian's Metal Gear Solid sneaking "lite" aren't anything to rave about. The non-sequitor (or "manatee") jokes mini-games do break the tedium a little, but not much. To me, "Simpson's Hit and Run" is the gold standard for these kinds of translations (and after numerous failures itself..."Simpsons Wrestling" anyone?)
The graphics appear cell-shaded and represent the cartoon well. Little show references litter the environments, as well they should.
Not surprisingly, the voiceovers are excellent since the cast did it themselves.
Fans of the show will like this, but not as much as they could have, had it been made more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

EHHH

posted by Chuba23 (PALMYRA, VA) Oct 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game has some funny moments, and is quite challanging. i would defantly not buy this game, but it was worth the rent, Stewi is the best charactor to play, the rest of the stories are lame...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PRetty good.

posted by CourtBrett (NEW BOSTON, OH) Nov 3, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Not really meant for children under thirteen. It's a great game. Graphics are great, and the storyline, nice. If only you could play as meg and them.
I also like the sound. You can hear them great and it sounds awesome.
I hope for more family guy games. :).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good graphics bad game

posted by john14 (ANTIOCH, CA) Oct 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty good game.But it apose to be just like the tv show. i think the tv showw is like better then the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

its okay

posted by loganpg13 (THIBODAUX, LA) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i've played it throughout the day and its okay a few glitches but its still a fun game with all the action the cut-games while playing as peter you just walk around punching people for no reason but you try to find this guy that peter somehow wants to kill while playing as stewie you fight against stewie's half brother bertrum and when your playing as brian you are arrested for getting carter peutersmith's dog sea breeze pregnant but brian disagrees while playing as brian you can crawl and hide under desk and tables you hide in shadows put on funny disguises and you collect clues in this rated m action packed game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I thought it was funny!!

posted by schapp1 (SHERWOOD, OR) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Personnally I loved the game but I am a hardcore family guy fan it is one of my favorite T.V. show. But if own almost all of the episodes it will grow on. It was a fun game but got kind of tricky when playing on the hardest difficulty. I just wish there was an XBOX 360 version of the game so you could get add-ons and new characters like Lois and Chris but never Meg! But if you like a funny game then I would recommend getting this game for sure. Oh, and Quagmire is the funniest character in the whole series!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

family guy

posted by stewie250 (HARRISBURG, PA) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Does the game work in a xbox 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Truly for fans of the show, but so worth it!

posted by Doctorlove (APOPKA, FL) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I'm a huge fan of the show and I absolutely loved this game! Basically it's 3 storylines, one which has Stewie in sort of a 3rd-party shooter trying to find out what Bertram is up to, Peter on a side-scrolling fight game trying to find Mr. Belvedere and Brian on a sneak game trying to find who knocked up Sea Biscuit (It's not Ted Turner this time). After you complete a level in one part of the story line you automatically go another storyline and complete that level and so on. Almost everything in here was hilarious! Probably the only misstep is there's just a little too much material taken word for word from the TV show. If you're a fan like me you've seen the first couple seasons episodes several hundred times and when they rehash something that you've seen on this show there's a little twinge of disappointment. But there were several skits that had me LOL. My wife wouldn't even let me play when she was home because it got too distracting. Even though it's for the original X-Box, I almost bought it. It's that good. One feature that would have been great would be if you could see all the movie clips back to back like an episode when you got done. That would have been freaking sweet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Die hard family guy fan.

posted by zilvervolf (WEST JORDAN, UT) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I loved the jokes and silly humor that I've loved over the years from Family Guy. Some of the missions as Peter were a little tougher than expected but still a fun game to run around and kill some time. Worth playing if you love family guy. I laughed the whole way through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by Seanman87 (TRENTON, NJ) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

just....bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Over

posted by gamer2009 (GARNETT, KS) Dec 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

Stewie:all right brian im gonna run this wire down through the wall take your walkie out i'll tell you when i get there
Brian:ok
(stewie walks away)
Stewie:brian pick up over
Brian:what?
Stewie:brian please say over when your finish talking over
Brian:ugh what over
Stewie:do you see the wire yet over
Brian:no
Stewie:no what over
Brian:no over
Stewie:ok im gonna start feeding through over
Brian:wait if you haven't start feeding it how come you ask me if i can see it
Stewie:didn't copy that over
Brian:i said if you haven't start feeding it how come you ask me if i can see it...over
Stewie:O thats better i can hear you now did you see it yet over
Brian:you know your a jerk for the recored i don't want to hang out with you anymore when this is over
Stewie:didn't copy that over
Brian:i said i don't want to hang out with you anymore when this is over
Stewie:when this is what you gotta finish your sentence over
Brian:thats it my sentence is over
Stewie:your sentence is what brian over
Brian:my sentence is wait i have to say over even the sentence ends with the word over
Stewie:ends with the word what brian over
Brian:O i see the wire
Stewie:you see the wire what over
(brian pulls the wire)
Brian:OVER!
Stewie:AHHH!
(CRASH!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

tricky

posted by hahahahaaa (BEVERLY HILLS, CA) Jun 3, 2008

Member since May 2008

a lot of button mashing. it was good. you want to watch the videos.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Holy mother, its the holy father!

posted by purewitz (Orlando, FL) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Very funny game, loved every joke. Story was very well written, felt like I was playing through an episode. With all that said, the game play really sucked though.If you are a fan of the show, like I am. It is worth one play through to hear and see all the jokes. So this one is just a rent, not worth it to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is a game for fans of Family Guy only.

posted by Xolitz (ANAHEIM, CA) Jan 9, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

The graphics aren't the best but they are fine. The humor and pointless segue ways are spot on. Evey time it goes to a segue it triggers a humorous little mini game that will help your current character. Peter gets a food bonus, Stewie gets a weapon power up and Brian turns invisible for a few moments. Unfortunately the game play is repetitive and pretty bad. You do the same thing over and over agian with each character until the game ends. It is a fairly lengthy game though and if you can stomach the repetitive levels the storyline is quite funny and they hit all the main points of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse