Rent Family Fest Presents: Movie Games for Wii
view large frontback

Family Fest Presents: Movie Games

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.6

218 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

"Movie Games" no one should watch

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cut, cut, cut, cut, CUT!
Family Fest Presents: Movie Games is supposed to be a family friendly knock off and satire of the movies.
But it doesn't even rise to that level. With the many, many mini game compilations out there, Movie Games has to have something that separates itself from the others, and it doesn't.
First off, the games are bland. The best are where I get to shoot pirates and pictures.
But this compilation includes games that have you shaking the Wii very hard and fast (Tennis Elbow, anyone?), a Match Three that could not be any more basic and a dancing game with music that's terrible. I didn't like any of those.
To make matters worse, the graphics are terrible. The actors you use just are bad to look at, and the scenery is one eyesore after another.
The thing that really gets me down on Movie Games is that "family friendly" games just mean "lacking content". This game has 20 games each lasting about two minutes each for a total playing time of about 40 minutes. I got bored with Movie Games in less that two hours.
Why can't they put in more mini games? Stuff the disc with as much content as you can with a good variety of mini games.
Your family deserves better than "Family Fest Presents: Movie Games" SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nothing special

posted by Jonocross (AMELIA, OH) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first saw this game in a store I thought I just had to try that. I put it on my game queue and it came... MAN am I glad I rented it instead of impulse buying it.

It's good points, if you've never played a Wii game with mini games before, its "ok" at best. There are a couple interesting games like finding the crystal skulls by pointing at them (you get more points the longer you point at them before you click them but your opponent can point at them and steal them if they're fast so it's actually more fun than it sounds) and they have a wiggle the wiimote game where you can't let you guy go too fast or too slow or he loses points. I thought that was an interesting take on the wiggle.

The bad points. WAY TOO SHORT! If you're having a party and want to play it with four people, you'll get an hour or so out of it. The games are lackluster if you've ever played anything with mini games before. Graphics... meh... I had a hard time investing myself in this game. It wasn't overly interesting or challenging or cute or well, overly anything. The name had potential, the game didn't live up to it. With all the mini game based wii games out there, save time and rent something else unless you've just GOT to try this one.

Fun - 4
solo fun - 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

2 thumbs down

posted by NinjaGato (RAINIER, WA) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This was a major crapfest. It's awful. There are only 19 games, and they're all about 5 minutes long. You can beat the game in a matter of a couple of hours. It's so easy a 4 year old could figure it out- and I think anybody older would be bored to tears within minutes. I'm glad I got this on a trade in...because it's going to be traded back in and I won't miss it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good For YOUNG kids

posted by Weenie1802 (AUGUSTA, GA) Mar 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I have been looking for a game that my 4 year old twins could play and this is it!! Other Wii games are too difficult for them since their fine motor skills are still not 100%.

If you are looking for a game for young children then I think this is your best bet!!! You get to run from a dinosaur and take pictures of ghosts, two of my children s favorite things. But if you are looking for a game for adults this is fun the first time but once you have done it you have done it. My husband and I played it together but beat/completed the game in less then an hour. There are only 5 different levels with 4 two minute games so it is not a game that can be played for hours and hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Movie Games Dies an Early Death

posted by nate33 (ENCINITAS, CA) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Movie Games would be fun- except for the annoying dancing parts and the shortness. First of all, who wants to shake the Wii remote monotonously for twenty minutes to make your virtual person "dance"? Also, the game can be beaten in an hour, maybe two. There are a few fun shooting events, but that's only a fifth of the game. I recommend one of the Raving Rabbids games if you like minigames, and take a pass on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game for young children

posted by sgmoney (THORNTON, CO) Mar 20, 2009

Member since May 2008

This game is pretty simple, you do basically the same mini games over and over but in different settings. My 5yr old likes this game but as for older kids or adults it would not be worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

very repetitive

posted by shiachia (HOLLISTER, FL) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Unfortunately, you seem to do the same things over and over in the various settings. You have 4 or 5 different games, that's it. It is easy and enjoyable for 2 players, especially if they are young. But you will probably finish it and send it back within a day or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by goosebumps (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 31, 2009

Member since May 2007

My 4 kids loved this game. It is a multiple player game so they all got to play as a team. It kept them busy and active. Lots of different levels so they do different things as a team and not against each other. I might have to buy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

what is this "movie games"

posted by harrison9 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

i thoght it would be fun at first makeing movies randomly, but i was wrong. all you do is 4 mini games each show. this is what i said "why do i have to do this what about fun!!" but if you are a mini game person you will like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bored

posted by ckmecheck (BREMERTON, WA) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

this game was very boring for my 9 and 10 year old boys. I kept playing it though, trying to make it worth my money. But the graphics are low, it doesn't seem to go fast enough, and it is just kinda boring- save your time

the only positive is that the game is very different. A spin off movies, it could be alot better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »