Rent Fallout: New Vegas for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Fallout: New Vegas

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.7

15316 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Did the Fallout franchise justice

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Oct 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

255 out of 293 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Some people may not know that the makers of Fallout 3 did NOT make Fallout: New Vegas. The new developer is Obsidian, which is both a good thing and a bad thing. Obsidian is made up of a lot of former members of Black Isle Studios, the creators of the original Fallout games. Obsidian is also, however, the developers of the pretty terrible Alpha Protocol. It was really a bit up in the air whether this game turned out to be good or not.

Thankfully, New Vegas is every bit as good as I hoped it could be, and may even be better than Fallout 3. New Vegas seems to have more to it than the Capital Wasteland did, and the bright lights add a nice contrast to the dim environment everywhere else.

If you liked Fallout 3 and want that old familiar feel but with new and extra things to do, as well as a brand new story line, then New Vegas is where it's at. VATS is still super fun even after hundreds of hours using it in Fallout 3, there are new ways to make money and gamble, there's new and interesting weapons to use (there's even weapon mods, and melee weapons have special attacks now, too), new mutated things to destroy, creative new quest lines, and the list goes on.

Unlike Fallout 3, the third-person view is actually cool. It's a lot closer to the character and looks more like a traditional third-person action game. Some people may even prefer to play the game in this view now. Imagine that!

There's also a new "Hardcore" mode, which basically makes the game as realistic as possible. You have to eat and drink regularly, you have to visit a doctor to heal your major wounds (though stimpacks have a heal-over-time effect), everything has a weight (even bullets) and limits how much you can carry, and so on.

Overall, if you love Fallout 3, you will love New Vegas. If you never played Fallout 3, I would first ask "what's wrong with you?" but then I would say "play New Vegas". It's the most fun I've had on my 360 all year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing, with gliches

posted by teacherguy (ODENTON, MD) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

121 out of 148 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This is my first post! The whole Fallout experience has it all. This new installment has better graphics, slightly. The third person is much better. I hate games that end after 10 hours, and this one I just got started on hour 5!! Tons of places to explore and the voice acting is great.

There are gliches, but I dont feel they take away from the experience. Yeah, saw a bar tender floating through a table..kinda funny.
All in all I love the game. Its the kind of game that after you turn it off, you start thinking about different scenerios and the xbox gets powered back on again.

Definitely a buy. I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I give this a 9, only because 9.5 isnt an option.

posted by Elgo1819 (UTICA, OH) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

28 out of 34 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

To begin, I am a die-hard fan of the Fallout series. I own them all. That includes Fallout 1, 2, and Fallout Tactics for PC. Fallout 3 for 360 with all the DLCs. And the unknown, Fallout: Brotherhood of Steel for the original Xbox. And because I am, I LOVE THIS GAME!

Not only for the gameplay, but for the story. There are so many references to where it all began back in 1998, that fans of Fallout 3, and not the originals, wont pick up on. But even without this, it is an astoundingly addictive game. All the elements of Fallout 3 are involved and improved on.

And the game, even on Very Easy, (which I am guilty of playing of in Fallout 3), is very difficult. The economy is more balanced to Post-Apocolyptia. Don't expect to buy a sniper rifle for anything less that 4000 caps. Combat Armor? Hope you're carrying 8500 caps on you. Don't let this all sound intemedating, this makes you the game FUN! You'll enjoy the challenge, I promise you. It's not a system of killing you over and over because you suck, it a system of 'you messed up, now how can you overcome this differently?'. And it works. It makes you think outside the box, and it brings a grin to your face when you loot the bodies of you're victims. "This was yours and you almost killed me with it, but now its mine, and you're still dead"

On to the gameplay, the reason I give this a 9.5, is the random, (but with the size of this game, excusable) glitches and the lack of decent storyline. You aren't born and raised in a certain way, which affects who you become (Fallout 3). Instead you're rescued and reconstructed. Boring? Maybe. Unimaginitive? In my opinion, yes.

All in all, if you loved or even liked Fallout 3, you'll have no problem spending 70+ hours in the Mojave Wastes. Hope you're signed up for 2 Gamefly discs at a time, because you won't send this jewel back for while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great new setting, same dang problems.(360 Review)

posted by Artizuka (RICHMOND, TX) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

After clocking in almost 100 hours of play time, I have to say Vegas is a really fun game. As an update to Fallout 3, this time around we have even more weapons, which includes a much more expansive list for you plasma junkies and even different types of ammo for our Guns including Armor Piercing and Hollow Point. We also have a ton of new locations, some new baddies(including the Nightstalker, a horribly creepy snake/wolf hybrid), and a more choices of factions for you to struggle with. All and all, a really great game throughout, though at times it really felt like one really huge DLC for Fallout 3 considering that with exception to the aforementioned items everything else was almost the exact same.

My biggest issue faced was the bugs once again. They got really bad this time. Allow me to mention three: 1: There's a new card game called Caravan in this addition to the series. You can collect playing cards to add to your deck and play against some various NPCs throughout the game. I experienced several times however going to shopkeep and attempting to purchase cards off of them only to have the entire system lock up, forcing a restart. 2: There's a Vault in which you must cause a massive explosion. In this explosion, one of your companions can(and will) disappear into the wall completely, trapped inside a wall and never to be seen again. (Though he is still listed in your party and you receive his perk.) This becomes really frustrating one hour later when you realize he's gone and your freshly saved game has made getting him back impossible. 3: I had a companion lose the option to rejoin me during a later mission. I -had- to have him in order to do a quest to recruit a team of ex-soldiers NPCs. Apparently he bugs out and you must dismiss all members of your party to get him to join. So, if you have a companion stuck in a vault wall somewhere....

Again, great game, but please just look up a bug list somewhere to be aware if you want to enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good but..with faults

posted by DmitryR (CLOVIS, CA) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

As the above reviewee stated, this game is amazing, fun with many corky and often funny moments, but with alot of glitches that can distract from teh games "awsomeness"

The game allows a true story shaping style of gameplay - Dont like a character? Kill them, leave them, steal from them, befriend them Int his game YOU get to choose the fate of any and all NPC's in the game. You choose what factions to work for, and which to wipe out. And the land is littered with random places to explore.

The weapons have a "small" amount of upgrading ability, And I do express small..and there is no real point to keeping various weapons in ones inventory ( I beat the game non hardcore with just a service rifle and sniper rifle) For those that wish to invest the time into the game and do EVERY quest, level up to the max level, AND explore every inch of the map on a non hardcore game setting level your looking at about 30-40 hours of gameplay. Thats not a bad deal if your not buying it, and the hardcore mode caters to everyone who wants the realistic feel to their game.

Going back to the glitches, sometimes NPC will "dissapear" and others they will suprise you from behind even tho you saw them in front 1 second ago. Sometimes the game will freeze up and youll have to restart, fortunatly the save system doesnt cost you must time and effort in the process of restarting.

The controls are easy to use, quick to memorize, and cater to the hardcore players as well as the novice players.

If your a fan of fall out, this game does it justice " minus the glitches" If your a RPG fan, This game has it all - and if your just a gamer period this game is worth playing. Kudos to those who can beat this game on hardcore.. At teh moment This post is posted less then 0.1 % of players playing it have beat it on hardcore a TRUE Challenge for ANY gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What happens in Vegas ... ?

posted by Estaban (new windsor, NY) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Im about 7 or so hours into it so far. I seem to feel that I'm able to get into this installment much easier then Fallout 3 even though all the controls and user interfaces are identiacal from what I can remember. The main objective in the game is overly simplistic to me being that your only sence of drive is to track down the person who attempted to murder you in the very beginning of the game, other then that there are lots of side missions to pursure. But so far it seems to work for me. They have done a good job at keeping me into it through -- having a lot places to explore - a bunch of items, armor, and weapons to collect - killing people/animals/things with those weapons - upgradable stats and perks that help you in various ways - being good or bad in perticular towns + a karma system --. All this consitering I havent even been able to enter the main enterence of New Vegas yet since i dont have enough currency to get past the armored guards at the front gates. So im just rummaging around the mojave wasteland, occationally peering at the distant bright lights of Vegas like a moth on a window on a well lit house at night, killn stuff and collecting stuff. Til i get my 2000 bottle caps to enter, then ima be playn dem SLuhTS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOOOOOOOW!!!!

posted by GamePro48 (HOPE MILLS, NC) May 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is AMAZING!
GRAPHICS- The graphics were amazing! They were pretty much flawless. Very realistic... well kind of... I mean, maybe if you shoot someone in the head, their head won't explode, but still VERY impressive. It makes you wonder how long it took them to make the WHOLE map. The water is great, the buildings, the rock/ mountains. They all have such great detail to them. Even the smallest little thing, like graffiti, or the little screws in a bunker. FLAWLESS. I give them a A++
CONTROLS- I could see little improvement. I LOVE the V.A.Ts system, as I always have. You can't jump all that high. I guess it is pretty good though considering that you're usually carrying 80-120 pounds of stuff. Something that did bother me was when you were trying to "climb" a mountain, (walk over it) you would hit a wall (invisible boundry) so you would have to go AROUND the mountain. There is one area called the "Quarry Junction" full of enemies too hard even for my lvl 27 charector to defeat. So I tried to climb (jump/walk) over a little rock formation, but it turned out to be another wall I could NOT get past. So, since I couldn't kill the "Death Claws" to get into Quarry Junction, I could not complete the quest. B
GLITCHES- The worst thing about this game. It will stop when you're walking, so the game freezes for about 5 seconds and then keep going. It would permenately freeze so I would have to turn off my xbox and turn it back on. You have to save constantly because if you screw up a quest, well, you're screwed. You practically must pray when doing a quest, because sometimes when you're trying to talk to somebody, to turn in a quest, for some reason you can't turn it in. You are stuck with no way to finish the quest. The glitches are their worst mistake. D
CHARECTORS- Great designs, very original, good apparel. Good enemies, I love the companions. A+
PLOT- A little difficult, but very original. A
I give this game a overal score of 9/ A

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Buggy, but still Fallout.

posted by Razacross (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game has frozen up on me multiple times, many of which i hadn't saved (or AutoSaved even) in the last 10 minutes. It freezes, it has slowdown, the load times get increasingly long if you don't take breaks...but it's still fun.

You can sink a ton of time exploring the wastes and checking out the locales and it's 90% of Fallout's fun for me. The quests, much like FO3 are either fetch quests or "go kill this" quests. Sometimes there's cause for stealth but not so much.

This plays nearly exactly like FO3, which is good, but it's also so similar that it becomes repetitive. The dialog is usually good, but borders on stiff when dealing with the NCR or Cesaer's Legion. Most of all, the main storyline (which has at least 4 distinct ways to end itself as far as i know) is pretty basic...revenge, the obtaining power for yourself (independent), NCR, Cesaer, or Mr House.

The bugs and the similarity to FO3 bring it down a bit but it's still a lot of fun. Explore and conquer...but after uncovering the whole map, you may think "Gee, do i really have to go back to the storyline?"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best Fallout Yet

posted by Cravek (LIBERTY TWP, OH) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

As always fallout features a stunning attention to detail and graphics and succeeds on setting the correct atmosphere. Although the amount of bugs, glitches, and freezes is much higher than most games its easily overlooked by the game play and the story line. The new weapon mods make it your weapons even better. Overall I'd say this is a must own game to be played again and again to see the many paths the story can take based on your actions. 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost perfect...

posted by Junkie22 (JACKSON HEIGHTS, NY) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

32 out of 49 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

11 hours into the game running on one save file i didnt expect anything to go wrong. well i was wrong. i was running away from giant scorpians and i managed to get hit with their stinger at the same moment i clicked on the door to safety. i died the instance the screen loaded and every load after that lead me to the same scene. i watched myself die over and over again only to auto load my death scene over and over again. 11 hours down the drain..... i put the controler down and left the room to chill out. i came back 5 min later started over again and decided to steal kill and pilage everything and everyone i came across as a result i leveled faster and gained more weapons i found those scorpians then turned them into food.............my point is ,normaly i would have sent this game back and moved on with my life but this game porvides mutiple venues of interaction and is that much fun to play so i gave it a 2nd chance. if it werent for the glitches if what happened to me constitues as one this game would be perfect.

Pros
- lot of exploration
-mutiple senarios
-tons of custumization for you character
-gameplay that is consistantly rewarding your efforts good or bad
-difficulty spikes and isnt consistant giving you time to prepare and leaving you on the edge of your seat if you so managed to survuve a situation which should have killed you.(i almost did)

Cons
-lots of glitches and drops in frame rates take away from the overall experience

ps. save your game constatnly incase u need to go back or want to go back and try differnet scenarios.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Frustrating.

posted by MamaBear (BIG RAPIDS, MI) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I loved the actual game - it had a extremely well written storyline, and I would had a blast playing it. I was completely shocked at who all did voices in this game (Wayne Newton was Mr. New Vegas, Matthew Perry (Chandler from Friends) was the voice of Benny - Heck, even Danny Trejo is in this game (Machete, the big bad Mexican dude from all the Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarrantino Movies)).

However - I was so ready to shoot my 360 and bash the disc to pieces that it wasn't even funny. I play games to take a break from being a full-time and homeschooling my kids - not to get so irate that I almost chuck the poor controller through my flat screen TV.

I kid you not - The game would freeze up on me, on average, 5 times over the course of about three hours. This wasn't one fluke and weird night, this was commonplace. I wanted to play this game as many times as I played the first one. I mean, I'm still playing the first one - this has to be my 10th time playing it through. It's awesome.

And get this: It ran better when I uninstalled it from the drive. I am paranoid in the installation of games so I don't burn out the drive as fast. No, we don't have live because we have a joke of an internet connection (we live in the boondocks) so, no, no update. What gets me is that they had an update for this game within days (? Correct me if I'm wrong) of release. That means that they knew there were issues with the code when they launched it!

I beat New Vegas one time, then I closed it up and handed it to my husband. If he wants to play it, great. If not, I'm taking the thing back in for trade in.

Developers are taking a lot of shortcuts these days and ruining things just because they're getting lazy or don't want to wait for release to iron out the bugs. There is no way that this title went through a proper beta testing and received a green light from the testing team - unless the team itself sucked as hard as the code does. Ugh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Don't Believe the 10's!

posted by Gr8Blue (KITTANNING, PA) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

28 out of 46 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Sorry, but this game does NOT deserve a 10! A 10 means perfect. The game is FAR from perfect. Just filter all the "10" ratings down to 9, or maybe 8 if you want a realistic read on this game.

I had high hopes for NV. I played it for maybe a little over 7 hours and I'm sending it back! I would NOT BUY this game until you rent it first! Understand, I'm saying this as a fan of Fallout 3! It was (still is) a great game.

Here are the pros/cons as short and simple as I can put it.

Pros: Graphics, nice! Not stellar, but still nice. Gameplay: Combat and dialog, etc are pretty typical for Fallout, which there's nothing wrong with. Story line (what I played of it), not quite as good as Fallout 3 but OK. Quests/missions and such are all pretty typical of Fallout... again, nothing wrong there.

Cons: Glitchy! Someone mentioned thier character "shoulder popping" which I experienced too. Very annoying! NPC's stuck in the environment, companions getting lost forever, freezes, etc. Load times. This was the game killer for me! I didn't get 1/4 way into the game and load times are horrible! (Xbox 360 and it's installed on the HDD). What makes it worse is when you fast travel, you wait... sometimes over a full minute... for it to load, only to be dumped outside the gate of the place you're traveling to. Then you have to wait another minute or longer of load time to get into that area! Ridiculous.

To put it plain and simple, I would be willing to overlook the glitchy problems if the load times weren't horrendous. And I MIGHT be able to overlook the load times if it weren't for the other glitches. But no both.

I gave it a 6, a weak 6 IMO. I'm really disappointed. Glitches and load times ruined what could have been the best game in the series! It's like... I really want to give it a 10... But my 1 key sticks sometimes and my 0 key is still loading...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All Hail Caesar

posted by Lord_of_Dance (ALBANY, OR) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fallout: New Vegas has it all great dialogue, great combat, and great story. All though I only played through once the groundbreaking factions mechanic makes it possible to play through again, and again, and again. Whether your for The NCR, the Legion, the House, the Brotherhood, or yourself your in for a great experience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as impressed as I'd hoped to be.

posted by elect1000 (YAKIMA, WA) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The gameplay was pretty close to Fallout 3. I did miss some of the crafted items, especially the dart gun (which made deathclaws almost tame by slowing them waaay down in Fallout 3).

On the good side, there are a lot of places to visit, but on the negative side, you're not allowed to look most of those locations because they belong to one faction or another, and "stealing" hurts your 'karma'. So, at least to me it felt like 90% of the locations you weren't allowed to collect any goodies. Made it a real drag.

The biggest criticism I would pose, however, is in regards to the main quests. In Fallout 3 it was almost too easy to complete the main quests, I even did so on accident at times. Not a danger in New Vegas. In fact, muddling through the quests, trying to figure out which is the "good" and the "evil" way to go through the game is so muddled (do you kill Mr. House, do you help him, do you side with the Legion even though that hate all outsiders, etc.) I'd rather see a bit more specific good vs evil path, and a little more clear direction.

Overall a fun game, though as I said, towards the end the main quests seemed to get a bit muddled and spoiled much of the fun for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Prime example of whats wrong in the game industry

posted by talonRC8R (MENDOCINO, CA) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

27 out of 45 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First, I'm a huge fan of Fallout 3! I absolutely love that game, couldn't wait to get home to play it! I rate games myself on how many times I decide to call in sick (cough, cough) just to continue playing before heading to work. If I use a vacation day then the game is automatically an 8-10.

Fallout LV though is another story. There isn't just one thing I can state to say why I'm disappointed with this game rather to many little things.

- Game is, as people state, very glitchy! VERY GLITCHY! So much so, I'm really surprised this game made it passed QC and to the shelves! Remember in FO3 when the game paused, you knew enemies were around? Now the game pauses once every 5 mins continuously for no reason. The shoulder glitch is annoying as is the combat glitch. It's almost unplayable at times.

- The voice talent is at best, decent. It almost feels as if the people behind the mike stood there reluctantly (for the most part, there are exceptions), read their script and got paid.

- Scenery/Background seems off but maybe thats due to the mass of rubble I'm use to in FO3. Storyline, meh, its fragmented.

- Do like the different clan/gangs so far but haven't warmed up to the new items, i.e. books that only give temp + to skills. New weapons are cool.

All in all, if you've played FO3, you'll be interested and should play this game but only as a rental DO NOT BUY until they fix all the glitches; send a msg! If you haven't played FO3, may I suggest you bypass this game all together and spend your time/money wisely on FO3; you won't be disappointed.

Oh and one more thing...why do I see so many low rated reviews on Gamefly get more 'not helpful' ratings than reviews that praise a game? Just because you love a game doesn't mean a bad review is unhelpful, rather the opposite. If the gripe is legit, pointing on documented flaws, to me thats helpful and makes me decide if I want to rent it or not. The 1-10 shows how the game is rated, not the reviews, people, seriously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Overall

posted by truncie1 (VALDOSTA, GA) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fallout: New Vegas definitely deserved a spot in the 2010 game of the year. The game is playable, unique, clever, and has its Easter eggs time to time. But this game does lack a few things, graphical quality is very similar to that of fallout 3, sometimes there are massive gum bugs, glitches, or the game may occasionally crash. But the game has loads of replay value whether its finding optional missions, getting followers, achievement hunting, or just goofing off in the waste land. Overall, the game has its ups and downs but all together very good game by Bethesda and hope to see more like it.

-The game police.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same Game We All Loved With A Few Goodies

posted by JustinBarnett (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Jul 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Everyone remembers Fallout 3, it was an unique game that allowed us to put our self in the situation of America after a Nuclear FALLOUT, and Fallout: New Vegas, brings back everything you loved from Fallout 3, and they added a few new twists. So here's the cons and pros of this amazing game.

Cons:
The game glitches a little more than is desirable.

The loading time could take up a little more than over two minutes at times.

The DLC's for the game are depressing and not very promising, not worth the money I shelled out for them (Nearly $10 a pop), and there are supposed to be around 4 DLC's before the next Fallout project is released (That is if it's released.)

Pros:

The Hardcore Mode option for avid gamers looking for a challenge

The new slew of weapons that are available to the player.

The Faction Relation option, which allows you to monitor which clans like/dislike/love/HATE you, a very useful tool for if you encounter any random people on the roads.

Final Analysis:

Hey, the game isn't perfect but it's well made, beautiful, and as long as you don't buy the downloadable level packs, it's worth your money. I give this game an 8/10, I suggest you add this game to your GameQ as soon as you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fall out las vegas

posted by jasonb71409 (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

long but packed story great play but very glitchy makes game almost frustrating to play sometimes. great if you love a long rpg with great gun combat. takes effort though be ready

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game takes a while

posted by DoubleA626 (PASADENA, CA) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm actually new to the franchise, and I really enjoyed the unique aspects of this game. Not usually an RPG fan, but the realism and exciting situations make up for the long travel times.. The best advice going in to this game is SAVE, SAVE, SAVE!!! Like every two minutes..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hail the brotherhood

posted by iam_mr_elite1 (WOODHAVEN, NY) May 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Love this game can't wait for a new game to come out hopefully 10x better including add ons

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by Yayyyyy (GREEN BAY, WI) May 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

absolutely awesome cant stop playing it lvl 21 mele character owning everyone that gets within the range of mai club (is there a chainsaw cause that would be epic)!!! >:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good for the Unemployed

posted by MuffenMan (CORONA, CA) May 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has a lot of play time. I have currently played over 100 hours and have not touched the main missions yet. A good game to burn a lot of free time.

The game play is very good. Has an interesting storyline and so-so graphics. The only downside is the game has no online play, only DLC.

Have noticed a few issues, such as characters getting suck in objects and the occasional crash when loading a new level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by ihpz (PORTSMOUTH, VA) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is a great game but it has a lot bugs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game As Always!

posted by REVENGAx (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I love Fallout New Vegas. I didn't really know what to expect when this game was coming out. I thought it was going to be completley different from the first one (which I love). But it wasn't. The games are almost exactly similiar. That's not a bad thing though.
To Picture this game just imagine a HUGE Fallout 3 DLC. I mean HUGE.

Here are the differences between Fallout 3 and New Vegas...

Fallout 3: Around 200 locations
New Vegas: Around 400 locations

Fallout 3: 100 Quests
New Vegas: 163 Quests

Fallout 3: No Campanion Perks
New Vegas: Campanion Perks

Fallout 3: Small/Big Guns
New Vegas: Survival

Fallout 3: No Gambiling
New Vegas: Gambling

Fallout 3: Karma, no reputation
New Vegas: Karma, and reputation

There are a few changes, but nothing big.
One of the biggest changes that I love is the new reputation. You still have Karma, but they added reputation. If you kill members of a faction and work with there enemies, then they are going to hate you. If you save a town from super mutants they will love you. This adds a whole new feel to the game.
Obsidian also added a card game called caravan. Caravan can be played with many NPCs in the game, but I have to say it is a little confusing.

There are only three things that bother me in this game.
1. Loading times are very long, you should download the game to you're hardrive (360).
2. There are many glitches, but really don't bother you. Glitches like someone going through a wall.
3. Freezing. With such a giant game you're bound to have freezing. Just save all the time.

I really really reccomend this game. If you liked Fallout 3, you will like New Vegas. If you didn't like Fallout 3, you're not going to like this one. I'm not going to try to convince anyone. I'm flat out saying "If you didn't like Fallout 3, YOU ARE NOT GOING TO LIKE THIS ONE.
Like I said, If feels like a giant Fallout 3 DLC.

Oh and by the way, the first DLC will be on the Xbox 360, so if you get the game get it on the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I would have rated it a 10, if it was finished.

posted by MercTwain (ATHENS, GA) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

16 out of 27 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Fallout: New Vegas will be a great game, once it's finished. The gameplay and story content are great, the voice talent is top notch, everything is great except for the fact that the game only works correctly about 50% of the time. It is obvious that this game was rushed into release with very little or no play testing. There are minor bugs and glitches everywhere (much worse the FO 3), and then there is the occasional game killing glitch. These are serious bugs that do things like; corrupts your save files, or makes it so you can't enter certain areas or do certain things without the game completely crashing. I am a long time Bethesda fan. I've been playing their games since Arena (the very first Elder Scrolls release), so I'm aware of the fact that the kind of expansive and complicated games they create are always bound to have a few bugs. New Vegas, however, is so riddled with serious problems that they really should have pushed the release date back a few months to fix them. So, rent it if you want, but do your self a favor and DO NOT buy this game yet. Wait for the later edition they always release that includes the DLC. Maybe by then they will have finished the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse