Rent Fallout: New Vegas for PS3
view large frontback

Fallout: New Vegas

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

7688 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

2 Years

posted by Sperethiel (FLORENCE, AL) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

125 out of 138 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

8 = Very Good according to the review standards here. Keep this in mind.

I love Fallout. I've played since the first on PC back in the day. Fallout 3 was spectacular. Fallout New Vegas is "VERY GOOD." However, it only deserves an 8 for many reasons.

1. They have not improved the engine. In fact it's the same engine. That's fine; it still looks good. But you can't bank on it forever.

2. The bugs are still there, if not worse... 2 years later. Whether it's my arm jumping up and getting stuck in the middle of the screen, things floating in the air or being stuck in the dirt, or my game just deciding to turn itself off randomly. There are bugs. I understand that games have bugs, and this environment has a million possibilities for being so open. But I know I'm not the only one. And you need to fix some major stuff 2 years later.

3. Load times... very long.

4. Poor main story. But it does make up for it in an amazingly deep game full of things to do and side quests.

There are others, but I think those to be the major. Now onto the good!

1. Hardcore mode - You need to sleep, drink, and eat. It's hardcore man. Ammo has weight, and much more. Not for the feint of heart.

2. Crafting and Gathering - it's cool and not mandatory.

3. New weapons, armor, and effects of things like disguising yourself. Neat-o! Oh and you can track kills and other achievements which give added perks.

4. City Reputation - Good information to know and makes it nice to see where you can get a discount!

5. Mini-games. Gotta love it, it's Vegas baby!

6. Dark Humor. Without it, well, it just wouldn't be Fallout.

Overall - It says something if I still have put hours and hours into a game that has this many problems. A patch would be nice, but I won't stop playing it even if they don't put one out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Thebrettjackson (KELLER, TX) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Many reviews say this game is terrible, buggy, glitchy, a technological nightmare, Etc. As these reviews are partially true the game should not be judged on this. Also a game as vast as this one does have the potential to freeze at least once in between the start and finish of your adventure.
There is other complaints on the loading screens. These are rubbish. Once again, in a virtual world as vast as this, there needs to be a loading screen. If you want the game to take place in an area as big as your backyard swimming pool, then there might be no loading screens!

The game-play of this game is the epitome of an RPG. If you don't like RPG's you won't like this game. If you do, this is the best of the best. I highly suggest this game to anyone who enjoys story lines and getting to control which way the story goes. The fights are fun and perk-upgrade system is very enjoyable. I could be on my knees praising this game for hours. The pros of this game out weigh the cons with no comparison. Fantastic game. 10/10, add this game to your Game Q. You will not regret it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazingly good. But buggy as of 12/14/2010

posted by fishfu (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is everything Fallout 3 should have been. The choices you make play a more noticeable role in New Vegas. Also the map is a lot more enjoyable to traverse. Navigating the subway system in Fallout 3 became a real chore very fast.

The only problem with this game are the bugs. This game can be buggy at times. But each update that has been released has fixed several problems. SO after about a year this game should be relatively bug free.

Even with the bugs. I still logged 45 hours before I decided to finish the main quest. I still had many places left to explore.

9/10
I'd have given New Vegas a 10 if it were not for the bugs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't get too much of a good thing

posted by firemang (LEVITTOWN, PA) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fallout New Vegas has been criticized as being more Fallout 3, but frankly I don't think that's a bad thing. This is a game you can play for years and still not discover every nook and cranny and every dialogue this game has to offer. One word of advice though, don't take your sympathies and prejudices from Fallout 3 to New Vegas with you. The Brotherhood of Steel and the Enclave are just not the same people who grew to love or hate in the capital wasteland. Loved it so much I bought it and I got my son hooked on this one too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by Ironman2000011 (Irving, TX) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game! I think it is just as good as Fallout 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's an RPG, OF COURSE ITS GOING TO BE SLOW PACED!

posted by Pinkfloyd9 (PHIL CAMPBELL, AL) Dec 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To the people who say this game is slow paced... ITS A bleeping RPG!!!!!! Of course its going to be slow-paced! If you want to get from action setpiece to action setpiece GET A FPS! All RPGs start out slow, and this is no different.

No more of my ranting, down to business. Fallout New Vegas combines many of the things in the original Fallouts with Fallout 3. Big Guns is replaced with Survival and just plain old Guns skills, and there's no more percentage when dealing with speech (or other skill) checks, either you have enough points in that skill or you dont. There are more guns, more quests (all of the ones that give you trophies are actually really interesting), and companions seem varied and powerful (Boone is a must get, unless you want to side with the Legion). The story is solid and interesting filled with sympathetic and cool characters. I will admit it froze on me once and its glitchy, but the loadtimes aren't bad at all (If they start taking too long that means your PS3 is overheating and you should take a break for awhile) and the glitches rarely interfere with progress.

To reiterate the above comment, it will start out slow. You'll have to trek through the Mojave desert o find places, but eventually you'll find enough places to make travel easier and quicker. Just be patient.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great but Glitchy.

posted by striker77 (CRYSTAL LAKE, IL) Nov 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If it were not for the constant glitching,freezing and lagging this would be one of the best games ever. Very reminiscent of the Fallout 3 add ons such as Operation Anchorage. Bethesda/Obsidian are going to need to change the game engine and stop making excuses because no PS3 or Xbox game should be this glitchy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

more of what you love

posted by mickyd (PIEDMONT, CA) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

very good rpg. this remains as one of my favorite games. not as original as fallout 3 was but still good. graphics are a direct copy of fall3 but i dont mind that much. same with game-play besides the addition of iron sights. one of the best storys i have seen in a game. i also love how you influence the ending. their are some moments where the enemies are too strong and my health is really low and i am no where near a town a some where safe that i wanted to take my ps3 and throw it at a moving car, but luckily those moments are rare. if your to much of an impatient person to but this game the least you can do is rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GET IT!!!!

posted by GmaeHead13 (HUMMELSTOWN, PA) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't think just get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THIS GAME IS UNDER RATED

posted by JahSoulSun (LINDENWOLD, NJ) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you liked Fallout 3, you will love this game. Although it got way less favorable reviews than its predecessor, New Vegas is more of the same game in terms of gameplay mechanics, engine, and graphics. However, this new open world is truly designed in a better fashion than Washington DC in fallout 3. I also thought the side plots were way better than in the previous installment, and the overall main campaign was very interesting and you can go through it numerous times with different outcomes. This is all opinionated, but I feel most would agree with this. If you have never played a fallout, do not expect your typical FPS similar to Halo or Call of Duty. This is more of a 1st Person RPG. repairing equipment, leveling your character, and upgrading all are important components of survival. If you do not like open ended RPGs, this game is not for you. If you like to have a game that can be beat in a matter of a few sittings (10 hour game), this game is NOT FOR YOU. Now, if you like getting lost in new places and finding things and exploring and enjoy a FPS style gameplay, get this game. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fallout: New Vegas

posted by donemytime (EVERETT, WA) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

30 out of 38 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This game has lots of things to do to keep the player interested and busy. Lots of hours could easily be spent doing all the quests and/or optional quests. I really enjoyed playing this game and wish I could've finished it. I didn't finish it because of too many bugs within the game. The game freezes more often than it should and the NPC characters will get stuck or get lost. Also, when playing the game and walking around the game "sticks" for a second like its going to freeze but just a temporary pause. It's not very smooth. Sometimes the game isn't straight-forward for certain tasks. Overall the game has the potential to be a 9 rated game but I give it a 6 due to the unforgivable bugs which made me not want to play anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not for the short tempered

posted by branman7 (CHINO HILLS, CA) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

21 out of 28 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is very similar in almost all aspects to the first Fallout 3. Being a graphics junkie, I had hoped to find a graphics boost in New Vegas but was unfortunately let down. The storyline kept me interested however, making me forget about this nuance. In most games with lots of dialogue, I mash buttons to get through conversations with little thought. The New Vegas characters were interesting enough for me to actually listen to what they had to say and I took time to choose the appropriate responses for the direction in the game I wanted to take. After getting into 15-20-25 game-play-hours, my like towards the game took a quick turn for the worse. Loading times became increasingly annoying. Granted each individual load time was quick (11 sec average), doing all the side quest lines requires lots of consecutive load times that drastically add up. You will begin to hate the little roulette loading wheel, at least I did. These load times followed up by multiple game crashes just added salt to the wound. The crashes began randomly then as I got closer and closer to the end of the main storyline, I experienced them quite frequently (1 an hour). A slight lag that progressively got worse was always my tell for when a freeze was coming. This all was a big disappointment as the game itself was very entertaining. I only like to platinum what I believe to be the best games and were it not for constant game crashes that made me fear for the life of my ps3, I probably would have gone for every trophy. It was a shame to have to send back a game in the mail that had so much potential but was too littered with bugs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cyborg dogs, gambling, and vomiting in a fountain

posted by AutoMcFix (POWDER SPRINGS, GA) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

45 out of 62 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Pretty Epic game here folks,

I'm trying to go straight though the main quest and so far it is really fun. Don't make a melee character unless you want to be a juice head that can bash things and carry a lot of loots. All of the guns and items you find are super fun and interesting. Don't look online and spoil the game by finding the best stuff, just go check it out on your own like a true wastelander.
Their are lots of guns for hire that have there own need of you for their own quest. I have found that having a stealth character sucks since your npc minion will always alert everyone while you are sneaking. It seems best to get intelligence and perception going in lasers blazing. The story and newly refined game play is everything you hoped it would be so get pumped. It's good to be back blowing peoples faces off in slow motion again, what a great series.

Future Steve

PS look out for the Science Machines cyborg dog Elliot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The good the bad and the ugly

posted by CBiscuit (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Fallout New Vegas is a welcome addition to the series but it is not without its flaws.

The Good:
FNV has made a lot of improvements, as fas as gameplay and mechanics go, from Fallout 3. Iron sights, weapon and ammo crafting as well as some other touches all are good additions. There are also many more weapons in FNV, and when you factor in weapon mods like silencers, scopes etc, then you can really create a character that plays to your preferred style.

Also the traditional fallout sense of humor is there, as well as the emphasis on story. Quests are fun, fascinating and freaky. Although you may have to wander awhile until you get to some of the more interesting ones.

The presence of factions actually adds quite a bit of depth to gameplay. I was skeptical of the notion when I first heard of it, thinking it was only a gimmick that they tacked on. However it makes you consider the consequences of your potential actions, and how it will affect future gameplay. Much more so than in Fallout 3

The Bad:
Glitches. I'm sure if you have heard anything else of FNV you have heard of the glitches. Trust me they are there. If I am going to play for a couple hours I can usually expect the game to freeze, textures to pop and a myriad of other annoyances.

The Ugly:
FNV uses the fallout 3 engine, and looks more or less identical. While some people say that the graphics are fine, they are in my opinion acceptable for PS2, but not the PS3. I had less of a problem with this in fallout 3 because it did such a wonderful job of creating atmosphere, but said atmosphere is decidedly absent in the mojave wasteland. In the desert, space is what creates the atmosphere, and there is so much crammed into FNV landscape that such an atmosphere is rarely created.

Conclusion: Despite glitches, and the bland background FNV adds enough improvements, and keeps enough of what worked in Fallout 3 to make it a worthy investment of $60 and 200+ hours. If you are a fan of Fallout 3, this is a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wait for Bethesda to release a patch.

posted by Reviewer88 (SALEM, OR) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Fallout NV is a great game, don't get me wrong. For the first few hours, it had no problems. It plays almost exactly like Fallout 3 with very minor changes. The dialogue is hilarious at points and has the overall quality you would expect from Bethesda.

The main problem started when I had got to the vegas strip. At certain points, when going in to another area or in to a building, the game would freeze and leave me trapped in whatever area I happened to be at. Even after several attempts to reload the game, clean the disc, and attempting to go different routes; the game would not let me leave. If you are going to play it before it is fixed, I recommend saving as much as you can to avoid having to back track too far.

The game will be great, but the bugs that happen pretty consistently need to be dealt with first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More of the same.

posted by Silentrich (FORT MYERS, FL) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

First off this game is a technical mess. Even with the new patch most of the problems still exist. What problems you say? Bugged or glitched quests, the main quest has a bug where unless you know the workaround cannot be completed, the game freezes a lot, framerates are horrific at times, and the graphics engine itself is flawed.
Now that's out of the way if you liked Fallout 3 there's no doubt that you need to play this game. Even with the glitches it's better than Fallout 3. The problem is it all feels the same with some added content and definately doesn't feel like a full game. This would have been good value as a $20.00 expansion but as a $59.99 full game it just isn't worth it. This game does end so it's just like Fallout 3 in that you have to save before you do the last mission, otherwise you have to start a new character. This was the straw that broke the camels back for me. It's a great rental but not a buy. It's fun until you complete it and then it's just a time sink. I'm giving it a 7 due to the glitches, old graphics engine, the DLC is Xbox 360 exclusive for now, and the game ends which is inexcusible considering the amount of people that complained about Fallout 3 ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

War, War Sometimes Changes a Little

posted by kmtburton (LEXINGTON, KY) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

29 out of 45 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

But those changes change everything.....

First off I'm 30 hours in and....

Ive already completed more quest than Fallout 3 even had (28 in 3). Ive got more guns in my inventory than F3 had. Ive been to more varied locations than F3. Ive seen and killed more enemy types than F3 and i still feel like I've barely scratched the surface. I guess what I'm really trying to say is FNV tops F3 in every single way. It took me 60 hours in F3 to do every thing that was available, including all branching story paths and exploring the world entirely. but NV seems like its going to last far beyond that. Don't listen to those that say its F3.5 its far beyond that in fact it more resembles Oblivion due to its extensive crafting system and weapon mods.

Story: 9 Better and more interesting than F3 to me
Graphics: 8 Only area that resembles F3 but they did improve
Sound: 10 Gun shots actually echo now along with many other improvements
Gameplay: 10 trust me Iron Sights the small improvments to vats and other little things make FNV gameplay perfect
Overall: 10 I would change nothing about this game

In conclusion obviously don't rent FNV buy it. Theres lots of talk of bugs but in my 30 hours the game has froze only 3 times and I've seen very few graphical glitches, so its not as bad as its made out to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Buggy

posted by Scubasam21 (PALMYRA, IN) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is similar to fallout 3 with constant freezing and glitches. I just sent the game back without fully playing it due to the constant freezes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Released Early/Incompetent Developer/VERY Buggy

posted by ClayPigeon (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a review of the story, gameplay, etc you will be better served looking at other reviews. I am giving this game a 1/10 solely based on the fact that it is a technological abortion.

Game freezes are commonplace - so commonplace you will feel required to save every twenty-five feet. Made it from the bottom of the stairway to the top? Celebrate with 20 seconds of saving!

NPCs and creatures disappear, get stuck beneath the floor, etc.

Your saved games might even get corrupted.

Other reviewers probably tuck those three facts at the very bottom, if at all. Not me. If it's not a game I can PLAY, it's not a game. Sadly Fallout: New Vegas, regardless of the size of its scope, is not a game I can recommend to any friends. It is evident that the developer rushed the product to market (even having the gall to claim it was tested by 300 in-house testers - there is no way even 3 testers could miss this many bugs) and may not have even have the capacity to fix it, given any length of cycle. Yes, it is that bad. Yes, it gets worse the longer you play it. Yes, I am sending this back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

HOW TO FAIL, THE BETHESDA WAY

posted by DangerGuy (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Dec 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

1 Take Fallout 3 (itself a wonderful game), move it to Las Vegas only by replacing the metropolitan area of what most people will immediatly recognize as a very faithfull representation of real life landmarks of Washington DC with the metropolitan area of a fictionalized version of Las Vegas but otherwise leave the game world exactly the same.

2 Include a flaw in the game's software design that crashes the PS3 so frequently that it earns the title a dubious reputation that will keep half of all potential consumers away.

3 Disregard basic conventions of video game logic that we all consider universal. For instance: make a gun shot to the face at point blanc range cause only minimal damage, followed by a punch to the gut that utterly destroys multiple internal organs, or establish the rule that all but only a few healing items will restore a petty few hitpoints and even then just for a few seconds only (which one can instantly see makes them an irrelevent factor to the point that I have to ask why have them in the game at all).

4 Assume that Fallout 3 was so good that you don't have to try very hard. Sleep in, and only work half days. Make the exact same mistakes that every other video game company made before their "indestructable jugernaut of the industry," went bankrupt and everybody that once admired them were suddenly mocking them.

5 Blatantly bribe well known game critic sites for undeserved positive reviews based on incomplete demos.

6 Don't bother doing anything about that programming flaw. Just release some downloadable content and hope the consumers will forgive you. Smile innocently like there's nothing wrong.

7 File for bankruptcy. Look for ways your company can save whatever money you still do have. Become close personal friends with that guy who thought his idea for the Sega Dreamcast was a stroke of genius and it would save the company's console division. Hope that some day you will be able to live down all the humiliation from this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Essentially a new Fallout 3

posted by Tsukune (TULSA, OK) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

After getting my hands on Fallout New Vegas, I have a definite idea of how the game handles and what Obsidian and Bethesda has done in their new release. My title explains everything, but it's not necessarily a bad thing.
LOVE
Fallout: NV is extremely similar to Fallout 3 in almost every way. Graphics, character models, V.A.T.S., perks and leveling systems you name it. There are plenty of things they have improved on such as: Iron sights (love it!), the new companion wheel, the new reputation system and much more. There are also a bunch of new creatures in NV so the enemy variety is welcomed. New Vegas has great music and the story is a fresh start for the series. So far, I am impressed!
MEH
Yes, the game is very, very similar to Fallout 3 and while it’s mostly a good thing, it can also be bad. Everything is good as it is, but it borrows so much from Fallout 3 that, in a way, it doesn't feel truly unique. Load times are kind of long, but they aren't terrible.
DISLIKE
I really wanted Bethesda to leave Fallout’s buggy history in the past, but it seems they wanted to reminisce about old times. While I haven’t encountered anything game-breaking, I’ve still seen some odd bugs here and there. One problem I’ve faced is where the game will freeze for about a second and start up again as I’m wandering the world map. Not horrible, but annoying nonetheless. The game has crashed on me once, which is frustrating so make sure to save often because it can be a bit unstable at times.
HATE
There isn’t anything that I hate about New Vegas, but if I had to choose one thing it would be that I’m really tired of having to walk everywhere so much. I know its integral to the Fallout experience and it honestly isn’t that bad, but if you’re walking so much in a videogame that it’s making you bored, then that is a problem. Thankfully, as you discover more locations you can teleport between locations and cut down on walking time.
Overall, I have enjoyed Fallout: NV and I recommend it!
8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring and Oh So Glitchy

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Oct 31, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Does walking (not running) around a barren, desolate wasteland for hours on end appeal to you? Getting stuck on a 3 inch high rock? Following an NPC for a mission only to have them run in place next to a boulder? How about a combat system that, due to glitches in the programming, only works about 20% of the time?
Imagine Fallout 3 with all the interesting foes, all the variety, and all sense of progress surgically removed. Now tweak the V.A.T.S. system so that it doesn't work at all most of the time. Hooray! You've just imagined New Vegas, a horrific fecal grinder that -- despite its lovely graphics -- is just awful to play. Do not even waste your time renting this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

New Vegas

posted by MattLaffry (LUBBOCK, TX) Oct 13, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I used to think this game was terrible. But... it was only because of the endless supply of GLITCHES. I was halfway through the game the first time I bought this when it froze, and I couldn't get any farther. There were many other glitches too, but 95% of these glitches are gone now! Fantastic game, I recommend buying it for a cheap price like I did! 9/10. But, Fallout 3 is lots better, try that first. Buy both :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gli-itttch-yyyyy

posted by SoBored (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Looks like an interesting sequel, but a complete freeze of my PS3 every 30-45 minutes requiring a hard reboot made it unplayable. I gave up at level 2...maybe I'll try again if Bethesda releases a better patch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Beware, Oh Beware

posted by CAMikhail (IGO, CA) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As of Jan 14/2011 with the latest patch this game crashes/freezes every time you go into VATS, which is a core component of game play. It is unplayable, and that's unfortunate because it seems like a good update on Fallout 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse