Rent Fallout 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Fallout 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

31456 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Well Thought Out

posted by PilotAndy (LINDSTROM, MN) Nov 1, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

201 out of 211 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Fallout 3 is a well thought out game. You want a game that makes you want to know more and feel part of the plot. Bethesda was spot on by keeping you anxious to explore without being pressured toward the main goals.

Unlike other games, Fallout 3 really has you thinking about what route you are going to take. The amazing part is that everything you do has consequences. I was shocked when I was handed some heavy decisions that actually made me question my morals in the game. You can truly be the person you want to be and watch the world react to your actions. This leaves incredible room for replay!

The advancement scheme is a great improvement. You can't level up by running in circles for experience points like Oblivion, you have to actually go out and actively engage enemies, pick locks, etc. The skills, attributes, and perks method provides and excellent balance to allow you to really shape your character. No more dead ends just because you wanted to be a tough guy with no brains, or vise versa. Also, it's amazing what freedom you have to do what you want and the plot still ticks. Blow up a good guy, or a whole town, and life goes on.

The controls are very clever. The bullet doesn't go perfectly to where you aim, just like real life. This causes you to be more careful and give yourself room for error. You can take on an enemy in real time like a FPS, or you may activate the action point based VATS system. Both have advantages and disadvantages.

Bethesda cleverly eliminated the problem of picking everything up to sell it and make big bucks. Vendors only have a certain amount of money each day so the economy is balanced.

Graphics are top grade. The attention to detail really makes you feel like your in the era. I love the setting. It's not what we see as the future, but what those in the 1950's thought the future would look like. Very clever.

Overall, Fallout is a whole new experience. Not more of the same like other games so well worth your time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by ReaperWolf (DACULA, GA) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

21 out of 21 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was an entertaining joy ride from beginning to end. From simple unarmed combat to the unique V.A.T.S. aiming system, this games blood lust is satisfying. The controls were unexpectedly easy to use and the character interface is fantastic! But, I did notice some corpses falling into the ground and enemies popping out of thin air before your very eyes.
Over all this game had me up at 3 am saying "just one more quest..." which is incredibly rare. I recommend this to anyone looking for a good sci-fi RPG with a very funny twist! A definite must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fallout is greatness

posted by Flashcry (SURPRISE, AZ) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

44 out of 47 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game has consumed around 50 hours of my gameplay time and i always come back to in when i have nothing else to play. I own it and this is always a game that never fails to keep me entertained, With all the good DLC as well it offers even more gameplay,quests, and achivments and is still very fun to just explore and try to find hidden gems within the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just wow..

posted by hirstx (WHITWELL, TN) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There are only a handful of games that come close to the enjoyment Fallout 3 brings to me.

This is the most fun I've had playing a game in years. The open game play and decision making you're allowed is what makes this game. If you're thinking of renting it, do it. You'll probably end up buying it.

I can't wait for Fallout Las Vegas to come out.

Just a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FALLOUT - REAL REVIEW - NO FANBOI STUFF. must read

posted by CNTRINSGNT (MANVILLE, NJ) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

462 out of 524 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

As usual I will give you the good and the bad of this game, with a final thought.

=========
the good
=========

GREAT graphics, top of the line for sure, running in 1080p on a 46 samsung... its godly.

GREAT story. Its brilliant. It almost reminds me of a few movies except it could be its own movie, and im almost sure it will be.

VERY VERY GOOD VALUE. this game is long, its not ment to be rushed through, so dont get the wrong idea.

Achievments are just that, a real achievment. If you get 1000/1000 you are ELITE. bottom line.
Figure about 120 hours of gameplay.

Weapon system is amazing, make weapons, repair weapons, many to choose from.

Skills- special training, all of these options are great. I like lockpick the most. Again many many to choose from.

=========
THE BAD
=========

This is a game where saving is key, you can easily make the wrong choice and blow an entire quest which also means no achievment. So if your going for a 1000/1000 you better save 1000 times.
No joke!

Some times the comapss system is a little off, for example I have friends who spent hours trying to follow an arrow when the arrow was telling them they had to use a subway system, but they thought it ment go straight... lol... just crazy!
It should flash for down or up, something to that effect.

Some achievments are bugged, for example, if you into a building before you activate a quest that includes it the achievment might not pop. I see this being fixed along with some other minor bugs soon.

=========================- =====
FINAL THOUGHT
=========================- =====

This game is not a FPS (FIRST PERSON SHOOTER).
ITS more like fable based on earth that has been nuked with guns playing an important role.

Gameplay can be slow and tedious, so be prepared.
This is a game worth buying because if you plan on fully enjoying it it will be in your que for quite some time 3 months + at least.

Given all of the above this is a must rent !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The nuclear apocalypse has never been so fun

posted by pwnman (FORT MILL, SC) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

50 out of 56 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Fallout 3 is one of those games that u will find once in a blue moon it seems, with such amazing graphics, story telling, and of course, gameplay. Fallout 3 starts you out in an underground safe home known as Vault 101 where you will get a basic tutorial of the game, eventually certain events thrust you out of vault 101 and into the capital wasteland, and from that point on you are free to do whatever you like. One of the strongest points in Fallout 3 is the sheer variety of places your character can go, whether its a town struggling to survive in the harsh world, an abandoned building, a subway, there's almost endless possibilities to where you go and what you do there. Naturally, things aren'
t going to be all fine and dandy in a post-war wasteland, so you'll end up against a variety of foes from the lowly raiders, to the fearsome super mutants. There are two ways you can dispatch your foes, you can do it the old-fashioned way and just blast away, or you can use a very unique tool called V.A.T.S. which can freeze time, let you choose which body part you want to shoot at, tells you the percent chance of hitting that part, and delivers the shots in slow motion. Leveling up is also very deep, as you get to upgrade skills and give yourself unique abilities called perks. Another strong point in this game is the graphics, the nuclear apocalypse is as detailed as one can expect, with such amazing effort put into detail such as crumbling buildings, torn clothes, and the character models look great too, each character has a unique look and functions realistically. The sound effects are great as well, the gunshots and taunting are very clear and sound as if you were right next to a machine gun as it was firing. And finally, the storytelling is what i believe to be the game's strongest point. Aside from the main quest, each and every place you will find in the capital wasteland has its own little backstory for you to discover. In short, this game is near perfection

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really?

posted by Lone_Wanderer (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't understand how so many people complain about dying and not finding ammo. It's an RPG not first person shooter, the story and exploring are the main aspects and fighting is a relatively minor part. People who say they wander around for 45 mins finding no enemies with a BB gun with no ammo just plain suck at this game. Any human you find has a gun and ammo and killing them is so easy using VATS, which is one of the main aspects of this game. VATS proves that this is an RPG and not a FPS. If you are looking for a fast paced action game, then keep looking. If you enjoy slower more story driven games, then look no further as Fallout 3 is probably one of the best games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fallout!

posted by jakeow (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fallout 3 is that rare game that can be returned to at any time, for any reason. The reality is that as incredible as the side quests and the main story are, as fresh as the gameplay felt, and as much exploration there was to do in such a well realized world, the final result is that the whole is much greater than the sum of the parts, and that is saying something.

Like a well written piece of music, every aspect of Fallout 3 is just one part of what makes the entire thing so incredible. Get this game if you like a great story, but be prepared to waste hours on side quests. Get this game if you like to explore, but understand that you'll be returning to Megaton over and over again for the familiarity. DON'T get this game if you don't like video games. It's probably not for you, otherwise, this is a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Instant Classic

posted by ipwn007 (MOUNTAIN HOME AFB, ID) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There's so much that can be said about Fallout 3 and such a small space to do it in. First off, everything about the game is crafted to near perfection. Every detail is well thought out and placed in the environment perfectly. The environment itself is a post-apocalyptic masterpiece just itching to be explored. The characters in the game are mostly unique and a joy to talk to.

Fallout 3 is an RPG in some ways similar to The Elder Scrolls games (also by Bethesda) and in some ways not. The vast open world just waiting to be explored is one area Elder Scrolls fans will find familiar and immediately appreciate. Another similarity is the absolutely stunning attention to detail and depth of the lore.

The morality system in Fallout 3 really allows you to forge a unique path. Many actions have consequences which grant positive or negative karma and this will affect how certain characters react to you. Thus you must constantly think before you act. The amount of choice in the way you play out the game is something that will have you replaying the game at least once more.

The combat, especially the VATS system, is incredibly satisfying throughout the game. In VATS the game essentially pauses and allows you to pick your shots in a sense. You can choose to aim for certain body parts, all of which display an accuracy % depending on the weapon you are using, the distance to the target and your skill. Thus you can try to cripple a target's legs or arms, aim for a critical headshot or play it safe and go for the body shot. You only have a limited amount of AP to use VATS (though it regenerates) so you must use VATS strategically.

If you're still pondering if Fallout is the right game for you, let me just say that it's an instant classic that will forever change your appreciation of video games. It's well worth a rent and you'll probably end up purchasing it because it's worth countless hours of fun (with plenty of DLC too!).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fallout 3

posted by mandude130 (THOMASVILLE, GA) Sep 5, 2010

Member since May 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game for Christmas and honestly thought it'd be one of those. 'Oh! Thank you ever so much for buying me this!' Type of games. Until my dad busted out saying how bad A it was. So I thought. Might as well give it ago. I was honestly. STUNNED. It was just great from the beginning. It took a lot of thought to make it. And I like it really well. 10-10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best/Favorite Game Ever!

posted by ZJensen (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To put it simply I would say that this is one of the most expansive games I've ever played or seen. From the character building to the almost never-ending wasteland of Washington D.C. it was utterly amazing. This game has any weapon you could imagine from gatling lasers to guns that shoot railway spikes. You could honestly spend 100 hours playing and you still wouldn't have seen everything there is in the game. It just makes me sad to think that people are buying games for $60 that you can complete 100% in 10 hours when there are games like this out there that i would be willing to pay $100 dollars for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fallout 3 is Da Bomb

posted by OldNavy (DERIDDER, LA) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've had this game for about a year and a half now and I love this game! Bethesda has made a lot of great games so far but this is the best one yet (other than Oblivion.) I love the storyline and all the side quests because their so fun with all the different ways you can do them. The companions are also helpful because you can make them hold all of your stuff or make them fight for you. The graphics are very good the only thing that would have made them better is if they used the unreal engine. Overall Fallout 3 is a very good game and I can't wait till Fallout New Vegas comes out. The only downside about New Vegas is that Bethesda is not making it Obsidian Softworks is ( they made Alpha Protocol which sucked.) But anyway Fallout 3 is a very good game and I recommend playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fallout is a must play

posted by shaegamer1 (WASHINGTON, MO) Aug 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

fallout has a great story with lots of twists and turns and many other side quests if u get a lil tired of of playing the main part of it (which u wont) fallout definetley makes it into my favorites and there r many wepons in fallout. this game brings u a lot actoin and fun stuff to mess around with like sticking a grenade in some dudes back pocket or inventory as it is so called but one thing i must worn u about is that at the end of the main part of fallout u can not play on that profile no more besides going back on a save and u will have to create a new one so make sure u r done with side qeusts and stuff like that before u do the last missoin but this is definetly a must buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of My Life

posted by NickKHS46 (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In my opinion Fall Out 3 is one of the best games of my generation.I'm a big fan of games such as Oblivion and Fall Out3 seems to me to be a game just as such except a big factor GUNS! There are plenty of guns in the game each one more devastating then the next leaving hours of brain shattering fun.Fall Out has a well thought out and thorough plot as well that does not disappoint.There are plenty of booms and bangs that every RPG and Fall Out fan will enjoy having explosions never seen and can be experienced in any other game in detail as Fall Out lets you experience. Fall Out has exceptionally well graphics and design of characters through out the game. The system in which Fall Out creates your healing methods and handles your inventory may get some getting use to but once perfected makes for a preferable way to regroup with yourself in hard times and change your weapon layouts without spending to much time on doing so.There are numerous amounts of enemies as well that are placed in the game in well thought out and adrenalin pumping places. as to fighting something in the sunlight around every piece of rubble or around the next dark corner or hallway each battle is satisfying. Even after you have completed the main story line all the side missions will still have you playing many hours and all of which are breathtaking. Sorry for no spoilers but Fall Out 3 is just to good of a game to spoil for all Fall Out fans or even if you've never known of Fall Out its Fun for any gamers. Fall Out 3 is over all a terrific game and my personal favorite. Can't wait for New Vegas! TRY THIS GAME AND YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fallout=AMAZING!!

posted by Metallifan (SLATINGTON, PA) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fallout 3 is the best RPG I've ever played. It's massive environment and large array of weaponry make it addicting and fun. This game is also the most realistic RPG I've ever played, besides the fact that there are lasers and mutants and other things of that nature. You need sleep, your weapons break and need repair, people react when you attack them or anybody close to them. They also react when you steal their stuff. Overall, Fallout 3 is an amazing game that I would recommend to loverts of sci-fi and shotters alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Literally hundreds of hours of pure entertainment!

posted by DredLocke (NEW OXFORD, PA) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am partial to great RPGs, fantastically open-ended worlds, and a storyline that evolves with every decision you make... so it goes without saying that I LOVED FALLOUT 3! I have purchased this game twice (due to a regretful trade-in) and I just can't get enough! My favorite part of this game is how it is set in the classic 1950's idea of what the future will look and feel like. Fallout 3 also gives the player the chance to pull the trigger on some of the most interesting weapons ever "created". In the rare chance that you haven't played this game stop reading stuff and PLAY THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Freakin' Good Game

posted by Makana5 (GRANITE BAY, CA) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first read about fallout 3, I figured it was another "Don't Know, Don't Care" kinda game. Then I played Oblivion, loved it, and gave Fallout a try because they're made by the same developer. And it was awesome! Immersive, open-world, and addictive gameplay has you squaring off against vicious, mutated creatures and merciless raiders merely to survive. With radiation poisoning and bullets trying to embed themselves in your character's body, (which you get to personalize yourself, male? female? blond? balding?) it gets a little overwhelming. Unfortunately, you can't just crawl back to the safe, protective Vault you grew up in, then left in total chaos. Whic makes this RPG/Shooter a great challenge of survival. In addition to that, you get at least 100 hours of gameplay with all the expansions available. And hundreds of gun and amor options available in The Capital Wasteland all combine to make this and Pretty Freakin' Good Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Exceptional.

posted by Brutallus (ROCKWOOD, MI) Jul 8, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Please keep in mind: This is the first and only Fallout game I've ever played, so I was new to the whole V.A.T.S. thing.

Also keep in mind: Gamefly sent me a damaged disc, so I didn't even get to finish the game, or unlock many achievements. I didn't even get that far into the game, truth-be-told...

Anyway, from what I got to play, the game was spectacular. I loved the Oblivion feel, and I loved how it seemed like the game was set in the Boarderlands world(two of my favorite games).

However, the graphics were... not as good as they could have been. Splash effects in the water were odd looking, I ran into several areas where everything would change colors and become distorted for no apparent reason(I had no addictions during the time), NPC's act like robots and had bad facial animation, and the movement of your character Third-person View was just awkward.

The game is difficult, and in the beginning, ammo is VERY sparse, so you will find yourself carrying guns with no ammo in them very often. That being said, it's a good idea to always have at least one melee weapon with you at all times, just to be safe. That's what I did, at least. Good ol' sledgehammer...

The game's story is very interesting. The time I spent playing the game... well, all I really got to do is find "Dad" and run back to Rivet City, then the game kept freezing, so I had to send it back. That being said, I had a lot of fun with what little time I had the game for.

Definitely can't wait for Fallout: New Vegas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games I ever played

posted by MrsGamer (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game. I have to admit that the beginning is a little slow. But once you give it a chance and get beyond the escaping the vault portion, it picks up. If you are not the type of gamer that likes to read a little bit of dialogue then you probably won't enjoy this game. It has tons of action, tons of weapon selections, and you can roam the wasteland. You are not just condemned to follow one specific story line. It even has some very fantastic expansion packs. All I can say is buy this game its worth every nickel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very well thought out. Post Apoctolyptic Genius.

posted by Koop1942 (PRESCOTT VALLEY, AZ) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fallout 3 has its ups and downs just like any other game. The game is fun straight off the bat. The entire game makes you want more, to get further. There's been multiple times where I could see right under rocks because of glitch. I've lagged inside of buildings and couldn't get out. (This is extremely uncommon.) I have also had creatures glitch so bad that it would temporarily screw me out of everything. Including- Lagging into the ground, Not being able to move, Things able to do damage to me but I cannot do damage to them even though I was hitting them. Save very often. Like every 15 minutes would be safest. My overall opinion of this game is that it is great. Everyone should try it at some point. This game is definitely not for everyone, but for your sake give it a shot even if you think you wont like it because this game has something for everyone I feel. There is pretty much always something new to come across. Wether it's armour, Weapons, Schematics to make one's own weapons, Locations, Quests, Bobble heads, and the list goes on. Its like Oblivion in the way of diversity between characters, and expansion. Fallout 3 is not the kind of game though where if you use lets say a 10mm pistol, using the pistol will not make that skill better. You level up and assign the allotted skill points to whichever skill you want. Great Game- Definitely worth buying. Even more worth renting on game fly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever!!

posted by buddye (MANSFIELD, OH) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

cool game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME MUST GET GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Ianreview (WELLINGTON, FL) Feb 11, 2010

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

OK this is the most coolest RPG game ever!(even though it dosent have RPG 7's)it has the best guns ,chareters,enimes,EVERYTHING!i cept it for 3 months until my dad told me to give it back.you should get this game if u are allowed to.

ps.. im getting it again!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bethesda BEST GAME EVER

posted by Noahxix (MADISON, AL) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For me it seemed that most of 2008-2009 had all the great game invintors on making RPG games like fable2 and fallout 3 also some great shooters like GOW2 and COD5.But whats so impressive about fallout3 was it was created by almost if im correct unknow gaming company after they lost all the money on fallout 2 (not very good rpg pc game) then Bethesda steps in and grabs what is a great idea and makes the one of the best rpgs ever. mostly what they had was a great idea but were horrable on making the idea a game thats why bethesda didnt make 1 or 2.the gameplay is 10 the graphics are 10 diolog 9.5 and dlc 9.5 ONCE A DECADE GAME PEAPLE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love the Game

posted by mrfatso42 (BLOUNTVILLE, TN) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the best games I have played in a long time. At times it does take long to get into and may seem slow. The things and places you can go and do it great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best yet!

posted by gamrviewr (SALMON, ID) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if you like first person shoter games this is a MUST play ... unless your a little kid with ADHD LOL I have played this 4 times and it changes EVERY time depending on what you do in the game. to finish it all (I have all 5 extras for it) it took me almost 110 hours yes one hundred and ten hours and I still am not finished with the acheivements BUT it didn't feel like I was playing that long !! and the alien ship was a blast LOL so if your tierd of beating games in a few hours like me this is a game you must play !

Have fun and watch out for the deathclaws :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse