Rent Fallout 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Fallout 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

13788 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Beautiful Dystopia.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Oct 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

189 out of 199 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

From the get go, Fallout 3 is about as in-depth as one can get. Your character creation can easily take up half an hour of your time. From there, you work your way through childhood and eventually leave the vault and begin exploration of a post-apocalyptic Washington D.C.

The main quest is interesting enough, but there are enough side quests to push the time required to finish this game well over 50 hours. As you level up, you are allotted skill points and perks. Skill points allow you to improve your computer hacking, lock picking, barter, and small guns skills, just to name a few. Perks are added bonuses offered based on level and pre-determined requisites. They really help!

Each piece of armor found and gun seen changes the appearance of your character. There are a lot of different types of both weapons and armor. In fact, you can build your own weapons based upon schematics found/bought within the world. Things like the Rock-It launcher really add a new twist on the weapon based FPS... it allows you to put ANYTHING in it as ammo, be it teddy bears, limbs, or glass bottles. Very, very awesome.

Graphically, the game looks beautiful. As mentioned by others, there are a few hiccups, but if you enjoyed Oblivion, you'll be fine. Audio wise, it is really unique. A mix of 30's and 40's tracks ("Ink Spots" in the trailer), orchestrated audio, and plain old silence really add to the unique feel this game puts out.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for an RPG in the vein of Oblivion, Mass Effect, and KOTOR. It's a great game and really allows you to play to your creative beat. Fallout may not be the most perfect title ever released, but I'll be playing it non-stop for the next few months. It's that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games i ever played

posted by Porch13lu (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

31 out of 32 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Fallout 3 is one of the best games I have been lucky enough to play. the story is loose in the way that you change how it goes by what you do but it is still solid. My favorite part of the game is the overall experience, the graphics are solid but if you have a Xbox 360 get it on that because it is more polished, the V.A.T.S. targeting system is one of the best ideas that I've seen in a game and it is a lot of fun seeing a super mutant's head getting blasted off. the things I did not like were that you can only carry a certain weight or you become weighed down and you cant run or jump to landmarks, but this is also kind of nice because it feels more real. the one big thing I don't like is how dark and scary it is, I am a big horror movie fan and this gave me nightmares. but if you want to get freaked out and have an incredible time in the process this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Borderline Flawless

posted by bigwill55 (GRANITE FALLS, WA) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fallout 3 started off a bit slow. I can imagine that some people would go impatient. However, when this game takes off (and you'll know when it takes off), it will be difficult to put the controller down.

The first thing I noticed in this game (and it is the thing I love the most) is that travel is not restricted and there is a lot of land to travel. It's a huge, open world that can be explored at any point in time. Although some areas should not be visited until you've leveled up a few times, I still love the fact that you aren't prevented from being there in a the first place, like a lot of RPG's force you to do.

The beauty of Fallout 3 is it's combination of FPS and RPG action. You can literally do just about anything and your choices gauge some of your abilities throughout the game. for example, if I were to continuously steal things and shoot innocent people (trust me, it can be fun), it's probably not going to be possible for me to team up with the medical squad.

The fact of the matter is that Fallout 3 gives you so many opportunities. There are hundreds of quests and many of them are derived from outside of the main quest. This is very easily one of the greatest games I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Doesn't Deserve Bad Ratings!!

posted by notthatguy (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

85 out of 96 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

THIS IS NOT A SHOOTER!! It is a Role-Playing Game which means it is a large world, with tasks/quests to accomplish and you don't shoot everyone on sight. So expect a rather slow and drawn out storyline along with gameplay. As with any RPG, it takes longer than a week for your character to reach their full potential!

This is a great game as long as you are not expecting a hardcore shooter! This game IMHO, does a great job of combining the aspects of both a shooter and an RPG! That is what makes it a fun and unique game to me.

I like the fact that they start you in an underground vault at first, and then you emerge into the real nuclear wastelands. The game does a great job of keeping you uninformed of everything that is going on and making you find out all of the information on your own. So, for a long time you will personally feel like you don't know what is going on!

It also does a great job at letting you choose your own unique game decisions, some of which have unreversable consequences.(I accidentally got the Sheriff of Megaton killed) I mean really, the game takes you wherever you want to go!

The graphics are great(HD). The detail and artwork is astonishing! The controls are similar to Oblivion, but if you've never played Oblivion then they may give you some trouble. There is not really a good tutorial on how to use everything that you will be using. Sound and sound effects are good and detailed. The A.I. in this game surprised me! Each character whether creature or human had their own level of intelligence.

My only complaint is that I had to frequently stop in the middle of my quests so I could go find more ammo to buy, which seemed to be scarce for more guns than others.....usually my favorite one. It didn't seem to matter though, because I frequently emptied ALL of my guns! Which left me with only my Brass Knuckles or Combat Knife :( So, every bullet counts! I may need to change the difficulty?

Anyway, I'm clickin' "Keep It" on this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME RULES!!!!!

posted by Fly6622 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. If you haven't played this game yet it is a total must! The overall gameplay(to me) is just extrodinary, but only one problem. After you beat the campaign you can't go free roam anymore. Also, very good graphics for a game of its scale. Great game overall. High replay value. Must BUY or RENT. Can't wait for Fallout: New Vegas!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fallout3... Game is too addictive!!!

posted by tURTLEbUSH (HYATTSVILLE, MD) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I never played Fallout or Fallout 2, the only reason I bought 3 is because I live in Maryland and I know most ot the areas that were in the game (Germantown, Bethesda, Olney, DC etc.) and I wanted to see how they put those places in the game, I am usually a Madden/NBA gamer, with a few shooters here and there, But this was my first RPG since FF on PS2. I must admit that I was captivated by the story and the 'openess' of this game... I literally played for about 6 hours straight... and didnt know it. Im still playing the add-ons and they are just as good as the regular game. This game has ALL the makings for a big time Sci-Fi/Action/Adventure movie... with sequals, Im just waiting for one of these big time producers to grab it up and get a cast and script going... I really cant wait to see the Fallout Universe on the 'big screen'

The Game is a 10/10 IMO... Just realize the scenarios in this game arent too fictional (Nuclear Wasteland, Raiders, Small Colonies) ok, maybe not the weapons and super mutants... but the Fallout reality is not far fetched.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by PS3GAMER12 (CRETE, NE) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Only rarely do I come across games like these. I like it to where you level up and gain something else. This is a really good game to play. I enjoyed it a lot. There is a lot of hours of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Experience I Have Played

posted by CamoJackv2 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I narrowly bought this game. I had never even played a real RPG seriously until this game. I thought it looked pretty cool so I decided to buy over End War. I soon realized after that this was one of the best decisions I have ever made in purchasing a game. Instead of paying 60$ half a!# game I bought a game that I have measured was worth 200$ to me after all the time I have put into. After 3 characters and all the achievements accept that one stupid silver tongued devil achievement I can honestly say this game has been the best gaming experienced I have ever played. Now that is a pretty steep claim but it is soooooo true.

Some of you PS3 folks don't seem to like it that much considering you don't want to put any effort(or good ratings) into it. But I can clearly say that if you put a good 5 hours into this game(and look at a guide or two) you'll most likely be thoroughly hooked! Now some of you say it doesn't have enough action or you don't care about talking to NPCs so this is my advice to you. WHAT ARE YOU DOING PLAYING A HARDCORE RPG!? That sums up all you people who neglected to look at what time of game it was before spending your time renting it. There is no SHOOTER/PONG in there. But I can also say that if your itching for a game that has more depth than your average shooters than try it out because I didn't expect to like an RPG when I purchased it a year ago.

The games presentation is amazing with every detail filled in across a fast and unforgiving wasteland filled with lively and interesting characters. 10/10 Presentation/Graphics/Sound

The games combat could have been terrible if they didn't include VATS targeting system. Walking the wastes for loot and quests is just plain addicting. The main quest could have used more work but is given greater weight by broken steel. The add-ons also add a lot of different scenarios. 9/10 Gameplay/RPG elements

You'll play this game for over a 150 hours to do it all. 10/10 Lasting Appeal

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is out of this wourld

posted by malinko (RINGGOLD, VA) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

no matter how much i love the ghostbuster game. this has to be the best game I've played so far. it has a good story line, optional objectives, and awesome monsters. there is not much else you could ask for in a game like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by daddytc (PORT CHARLOTTE, FL) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this game is the bomb (no pun intended). You can save whenever you want which is sweet for someone like me with limited time. The world and story line is massive. The weapons and interactions are good. Graphics are excellent. One of my favorites to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A MUST HAVE!!!!!

posted by coolguy12 (HENDERSON, NV) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is by far, the best game I have ever played in m entire life. You could be wandering around to discover stuff or have fun killing for hours without completing anything and it's still fun. The story mode takes a long time to complete and the side-missions can keep you doing other stuff and discovering stuff about the Wasteland and its past. There is a vast variety of enemies that scare the wits out of little kids and weapons that you could create or find. Bloody mess makes the game way better too!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fallout 3

posted by HAPPYFEET (KANSAS CITY, MO) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

How could you not love this Game!!!!!!!!! one of my favorite Games ever! challeging fun takes a long time to beat everything, can virtually go anywhere on the map. no limits to what you can do. I big 10 must have video game for ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A NEXT GEN CONSOLE RPG FAN'S DREAM COME TRUE

posted by TornPr1nc3 (BLAIRSTOWN, NJ) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have never played a Fallout game until this one. I had heard enough from friends that the games were great and that Bethesda knew what they were doing. I saw the trailer for it on television and was immediately sold.

The game has an intense storyline that remains gripping and suspenseful right up until the very end. The combat system works perfectly whether you choose to play first person shooter style or the traditional RPG turn based style. Leveling up is consistently rewarding. The only thing about the PS3 version that was not so wonderful is that there was a lack of downloadable content, but recently this has been remedied. The new content is even updated and improved from when it was released on the other consoles earlier this year.

The score and graphics are also nothing short of extraordinary. The replay value is through the roof considering the decisions you make throughout the game create different endings. With the absense of good RPG's on the PS3, Fallout 3 kept me occupied throughout all last winter and looks to do the same again with the newly DLC throughout the upcoming winter as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addictive

posted by MaddenPro (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of best games I have ever played, great replay value, i actually bought it, my girlfriend plays it more than me. Only bad thing is ending is kinda weak

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favrite game on the PS3 right now

posted by Romnia (RIO VISTA, CA) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is definitally one of the best games out there for the Next-Gen systems, and now that Bethesda has the add-ons for the PS3 out, the fun just keeps on going. The mainstory is VERY good, but is pretty short; just becuase the mainstory discluding broken steel, does not mean it's a wimpy game, it has around 20 side quests that are in the game without add-ons, ,most of them take a while to complete like the wasteland survival guide. Then after you haev done everything in the game like me, it's time for the add-ons baby, it packs a good 45 hours of gameplay with every add-on, even so each add-on is 10 bucks, times that by 5 and you used 50 dollors on add-ons(recomened to the real fans of the game), you make think that the platinum is a easy trophy, not really dude you have tons of stuff you have to slog through like killing all the SM behemoths, and collecting all 20 bobbleheads.
Orignaly in the game you can only go to level 20, but with the add-on broken steel you can move on up to level 30, with the rest of the add-ons it is pretty easy, but otherwise it is a chore to get all they way up there. But at level 30 you feel immortal, and nothing can stop you with your hellfire power armor, and your scoped machine-gun rife, and you personal mini-nuke launcher. Before you know it you'll be stuck on this game like glue, and if you actually have read all this; you know by now this is a great game :D. And if you hace actually played any of the previous fallout games, you will enjoy the storyline like I have. Bethesda you did it again 10\10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME I HAVE PLAYED AND AM VERY HARD TO PLEASE

posted by kungfu (GUYMON, OK) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

TELL YOU FROM THE GECKO THIS GAME IS KINDA BORING FROM THE START, BUT ONCE YOU GET TO MEGATON....TONS OF FUN!
I PROMISE YOU THIS IS A KEEPER, AFTER I GOT DONE WITH THE GAME I REALIZED THERE WERE SO MANY THINGS I DIDN'T REALIZE! SO I HAD TO START AGAIN. (THAT MIGHT NOT MAKE SENSE NOW BUT FOR THOSE WHO HAVE PLAYED THE GAME WOULD KNOW WHAT I MEAN).
LOVE IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST RPG EVA!!!!!!

posted by stgeek (GULF BREEZE, FL) Jun 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fallout 3.........BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!! The graphics kick butt, the storyline is bloody or dramatic or even noble (depending on how you like to play). The gun play isn't bad but you'll find yourself not in V.A.T.S (Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting System) only to recharge it and get back in it.

Those were the pros, the cons however......
Barely any i must say (i find REALLY tiny, insignificant stuff), some glitches can get annoying like seeing 1st-gen. graphics split off the modern-gen graphic and lay side by side. And also people whine about seeing your killed victim fly away, but it is funny as heck!!!! You shoot some one and they will appear barely within seeing distance and not at all at night can get annoying at times but it's cool to watch. The tiny junk involve food and water in the game, they both restore health but don't play a significant role in the game (I mean, a mans gotta eat when a mans gotta eat,right?) BUT based on what is and isn't available, still the best game i have ever played but i hope bethesda fixes my tiny problems in their next game: Fallout: New Vegas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ever-fallout 3, amazing, epic, sweet

posted by toastybunz (HUDSON, FL) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is super epic!i played for like 4-5 hours a day nonstop, and it still took like a really long time, if u havent gave this game a chance, or even a second chance, i suggest tht u do so.the first time i played i messed up real bad.you have perks and skills u choose to amp up, and i totally picked the wrong ones, then, i hated the game, i dispised it.but i gave it a second chance, and i think its the best game ive ever played, next to the metal gear solid saga, another 10 outta 10.sometimes in fallout 3, i actually felt like the dude in the game, it felt like real life, with the rpg, choosing what you say to people, consequenses for my actions, scavenging, just so REAL, amazing, buy it, play it, rent it, anything, just try it, epic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the most epic games of all time.

posted by socom383 (LAKEWOOD, CO) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game-even without the expansion packs- is one of the greatest games of all time. It first off, is easily the best RPG game i have ever played. It's depth level is just amazing, every little detail in the game was worked to perfection weather it was the monsters, the cities, humans..whatever the sort, this game and the sony playstation 3 were a match made in heaven. The game takes quite a while to beat, but proves to be nice and challenging if you want to complete everything, however is still to the point that it is easy enough for new players to pick it up, and enjoy themselves while they spend endless hours exploring deserted, post apocalyptic ghost towns throughout washington DC. The npc interactions are quite well, you literally choose your destiny in this game. The weapons are awesome...scratch that, EVERYTHING is awesome in this game! challenging trophies for the trophy hunters, and awesome gameplay for the hardcore gamers makes this the perfect rental..and who knows, you may even buy the game. perfect 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best to some and not to others

posted by tkuuuu (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fallout is indeed of the the best games i have other played the only bad part about it is the ending. To the people who say its to hard or buggy or just boring are complete morons. First of all to the idiots who says its too hard just dont know that u can change the diffuculty of the game to make it just right not 2 hard not 2 easy. To the people who say its buggy obvioiusly havent been updating it, and to the people who say its boring well it might just not be your style but theirs SO MUCH U CAN DO IN IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good graphics and gameplay

posted by jarock2010 (HILLPOINT, WI) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game itself is short if you only do the missions neccesarry to beat the game but it has great graphics and alot of extra content and side missions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Endless possibilities

posted by MRlucas (ENID, OK) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i cant describe the length of dept that this game has it is one of the most awesome wonderful story and allows you to have as much freedom my wife was like its like FF meets grand theft auto and she doesnt even play games i would truly recomend this game to someone that love RPG with a passion like i do you wont be let down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its so fun being evil

posted by INSANEBOY (SEABROOK, TX) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i love this game its fun to be evil in it cas its so bloody!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stunning

posted by Tigersoul (NIAGARA FALLS, NY) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is absolutely amazing. The world is HUGE, I found myself getting lost a few times. Thankfully, like Oblivion you can set markers and even warp to places you have already discovered (costing reasonable travel time of course). I have so many good things to say about this game that I am not going to go to much into detail. It's a little difficult in the beginning but, push through it because it is a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Year for Sure

posted by wisp63 (SURPRISE, AZ) Aug 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Once in a LONG time a game like Fallout 3 comes to grace us across multiple platforms. This game deserved game of the year. Its not a game you pick up and beat. Its a game you pick up and get completely immersed with. There is constant talk about it among friends who play it, and it never really gets stale thanks to the complete versatility of this game. There are so many options through speech, actions, choices. You can really customize it to your personal preference. Also, the world/time period really works exquisite. Its funny, interesting, cool.

You can tell there was a LOT of effort put into fallout to deserve the 'game of the year' title. This is what more games need. More length, versatility, and plane out fun. There is also that awesome feeling you get when you accomplish something you find very awesome, and then you get to hear one of the radio jockeys talk about it.

CHIIIIIIIIIIIIILDREN!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse