Rent FaceBreaker for Xbox 360
view large frontback

FaceBreaker

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3, Wii
GF Rating
3.6

2248 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

There is a difference between difficult and cheap

posted by TubaBear (AURORA, IL) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

24 out of 26 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

It's rare that I immediately realize that a game is fundamentally flawed and effectively broken, but Facebreaker unfortunately meets those criteria. To me, a difficult game can be extremely satisfying - you slowly get better as the game punishes you for playing poorly and rewards you for playing well. Ninja Gaiden Black is a perfect example of this - always hard and seldom cheap.

Facebreaker, however, is a game where improvement in the basic gaming mechanics are punished - the AI simply ramps up the difficulty if you are doing too well. The only way of beating the AI opponents seems to be finding an attack combination that the fighter is weak against and spamming it. This way of gaming worked and was enjoyable for Punch-Out, but you cannot recapture the greatness of that game simply by updating the art style and aping a now-trite gameplay gimmick.
Balance and game play issues that should have been ironed out ruin what might should have been an enjoyable single-player game and shoddy online connectivity made it impossible for me to complete a single online match.

EA is a company that is known for rushing "products" out before they are ready, and it really shows how damaging it can be when you play a game like this. The company is capable of putting out quality titles (Skate being a stellar example), but most fail to live up to their potential - and that is something that you will always face when dealing with a company that would rather release a game on-time and broken than late and polished.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WOW...

posted by Matt123 (CLEARWATER, FL) Sep 9, 2008

Member since May 2007

25 out of 28 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Ok, so like everyone else you see the commercial and you are like whoa I can knock the stuffing out of someone!!. Well it's the other way around, the game beats you up. I put the game on easy and after a while I learned that you have to kind of be cheap just to beat half the guys in the game. When I got to moltov all he would do is throw his body at you and you could hardly do a thing against it...I was SO frustrated with this game. I gave it a 2 because it did have good characters and decent graphics, also I did like the create your own face on the character, I thought it looked really good. I would not recommend this game to anyone unless they like to hold A and X down the whole entire game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Biggest coaster award goes to Facebreaker

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Sep 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

23 out of 26 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I believe that this is the lowest score I've ever given a game. I try to see the good that potentially lies in every game. There is virtually nothing to like about Facebreaker.

I think it might be fun to try a few online matches. I hated the game too much to even give that a try though. But it's the only thing about this game I can think of to have a slightly positive attitude about.

Saying that I played this game is being a bit liberal with the word "played". I had it on in front of me (on easiest setting) while I watched my opponent beat the snot out of me with no chance for me to do anything about it. Is that playing a game?

On the easiest difficulty setting, veteran fighting gamers would have difficulty even landing a few blows against the computer AI. Even the blocking button doesn't really work most of the time. It's really just pointless to even attempt to play this game.

So how much time and money did they waste on this coaster?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What was EA smoking??

posted by Simswat1 (DES PLAINES, IL) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

First of all I just got done putting this game in my 360 about 15 minutes ago...And the fact that I am on here writing a review about it already has gotta tell you how much this game blows...

I was also one of the people that played the demo on Xbox Live and thought this was gonna be a fun game to check out, but let me tell you, I was soooooo wrong.

On the little positive side of the game, the characters are pretty cool and have some funny and interesting personalities to them, and the arenas you fight in are kinda cool but as far as gameplay goes this game really is one of the first games I've played on 360 since it's launch that I am truly and honestly disappointed with..And trust me I wasn't expecting FN3 material here! lol I looked at this game as more of a button smashing,fun arcadey type of game...Atleast thats what I thought it was going to be.

The A.I. is hard to deal with even on the easy setting!?!? and all you really do in the game is smash on buttons (a) and (x) how hard can it be right? Thats what I said! Sure you can try to dodge and parry punches but thats pretty much a joke as well depending on what fighter you are going up against..

For example there is a female fighter in the game that is impossible to strike with a punch, I mean come on now! I sat there for 2 straight rounds and barely was able to hit her more then 2 or 3 times because she is some type of "punch dodging goddess" And dont even get me started on her annoying laugh after each punch she dodged! lol She truly peeed me off!

Anyway thats when I turned it off and I am will be putting this back in the mailbox first thing tomorrow morning..

Dont waste your time!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Piece Of Sh!+

posted by DixiNormis (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 8, 2008

Member since May 2007

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I played the demo, it was alright. Then I played the full game and busted a controller after throwing it to the floor. The game was on the easiest difficulty and it was still impossible to beat the opponents. Seriously, I have beat every other game I have played and never got as PO'd at one enough to break a controller. Fight Night 3 was amazing. Even Ready to Rumble was good. BUT FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, DON'T BUY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

D### It, I've got to buy another controller!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time on this garbage.

posted by funk77 (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is garbage. Don't waste your time on this piece of sh#t. After playing it for 15 minutes i sent it back to gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Overall.....eeehhh ok.....

posted by kngofblks (MIAMI, FL) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is and fore most a party game. Its really fun when there is a crowd watching you beat your opponent to a bloody pulp. As for single player, its not so good. The game is ridiculously hard, nearly impossible, even on easy its hard. But the good thing is the live cam, very nice touch, look fairly similar to me, its much better than the work in rainbow 6 work. Get it if you want get destroyed........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

waste of time

posted by spider21 (DUPO, IL) Sep 9, 2008

Member since May 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

what a waste of time. i used a gamefly rental for this cocca? it seemed cool with snoop dog on the commercials, but wasn't anywhere close to expected. the graphics were pretty cool, but the gameplay was ridiculous. i set it on easy thinking it'd be a fight not knowing how to play, but the computer was relentless and won nearly every time. needless to say, i sent this thing back the next day!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Decent Game

posted by Nigboo (BATON ROUGE, LA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is my first time writing a review, and im only doing it to try to bring some light to this game.

Im the type of person who will try a game despite ratings...so even thought this game had a 3.5 rating, I put it in my Q. The game comes in, i put it in.

I was actually very suprised at how good this game is. The main issue is the game IS incredibly hard, but if you can avoid that part with patience everything else is fun. The game runs well, responds well, looks nice, online play is good.

So looking back, my only real complaint like most other people is how hard it is, other then that I think its a pretty decent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

facebreakers

posted by lawless72 (PILOT KNOB, MO) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

one of the worst games ever made. it is so bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FaceBreaker = SpiritBreaker

posted by Matt1448 (PROSPECT, CT) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The word abortion gets thrown around alot these days.....

But in this case, i can not think of a more fitting word. Facebreaker is an abortion in every sense of the word. 5 minutes into playing this game I wanted to salt my eyes for ever having witnessed such a terrible game. Street Fighter 2 for SNES is both more technically advanced and graphically rewarding.

If your choice is between renting Facebreaker or sitting on a colony of fire ants....for the love of god, please choose the latter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CRAZY AS H DOUBLE HOCKEY STIX

posted by nhughessr (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 33 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

THIS IS A GOOD FAMILY GAME ESPECIALLY FOR THE KIDS AND FOR YOU TOO POPS KNOWING YOU'RE GOING TO GET IN THE ACTIONI AS WELL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

facebraker

posted by CCLL26 (GLOUCESTER, VA) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2006

the control are bad
and the suck
disppointer don.t buy ti at all
no story the control are horrile
them give a chance thq i wish wolud
don't waste money
ti off gamefly
not a perfect 10 ea
no xbox live wolud make not
suck tollay
we send back ti mail box
thq ea you can do best
voice no at all
hurt finge blood to death
the graphics look horrile
we cry ot
never buy this
game again not from wall mart
not buy store
gamestop
control lacking

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

FaceBreaker =(

posted by chemical16 (SHREVEPORT, LA) Jan 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

what a sad sad day i love boxing games but this no not at all it was funny ill give it that but that was the only fun part in it its to much of just doing the same thing so if you like doing the same thing over and over agian its for you and have fun but for others i wouldnt recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Trailer is Better than the Game

posted by Keezy912 (SAVANNAH, GA) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Watching the trailers gets you pumped about kicking some butt, but when you get the game you are very disappointed.
there arent very many characters/boxing rings to unlock, after playing the game on easy for 30 minutes every single character and/or boxing ring is availble for you to fight with.
it also has no story mode making the game boring after you have unlocked everything, after that there is nothing to work towards. unless you classify "Brawl For It All" as a story mode, which i havent beaten yet (i have never got past Spin). it is very dificult when your apponent is stunning you ever 5 seconds. EPIC FAIL for EA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

facebreaker

posted by hinter (KILLEEN, TX) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

this game was ok but when you face the ninja he is impossible to beat but otherwise the game was good i gave it a 6 this is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FaceBreaker Review

posted by Obsulete (GALESBURG, IL) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The Good: Soundtrack? The games fairly polished (for an EA game).

The Bad: The game in general. I think they marketed this game as a goofy boxing game when in reality its nothing more then rail shooter by which I mean you can't go into this game with your own style, you're forced to fight each match in a curtain way, think Punch Out.

The game requires you exploit patterns in every fighter and not in the "he favors low punches w/ his right hand way so keep an eye out for that". I am talking he counters, you counter his counter in which he counters your counter of his counter in which you counter his counter of your counter of his counter, just to get a punch in.

Don't want to follow a stupid formula to win? Tough, even on easy this game is frustratingly hard, don't time stuff right and you'll pay every time. All that makes up 90% of the games incredibly low amount of fights, about 12 matches altogether

Rated: 1 out of 10
If your looking for an arcade fighter go with Street Fighter 4 or Fight Night Round 4 if your looking for a real boxing game, this game sucks and belongs on the Wii.

WARNING, This game has been know to induce your controller to fly out of your hands in a fit of rage and frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ready 2 Rent?

posted by Arcade4Lyf (TUCSON, AZ) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

Remember Ready 2 Rumble? Well the game is like that.This gets boring soo fast.The only fun we had with this was making our own boxers.Rent if you dare,avoid buying!!Check out "The REAL Obama"boxer and enjoy for a few minutes.
If your looking for a fun boxer try Puchout!! on the Wii, or Fight Night for more realistic boxing. Unless button mashing is your thing.I tried this thinking it was like Punchout!!!.You've been warned!! Join the Nintendo Fan Club Today Mac!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A well deserved 1

posted by ChrisJames (MANKATO, MN) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This is the only game I have ever given a 1. Hopefully nobody makes another game like this because I don't like giving 1's. When you first start to play you're like oh this could be cool but after (or even on) the first match you'll be sooooooooo ridiculously frustrated with this game. It revolves around blocking and countering and hoping your foe doesn't beat you down. I am writing this review to save you the frustration. I picked this game up at gamestop for 10 dollars a while back and I tried to give it a chance but I was playing frisbey with the disc before I knew it. The fights feel so cheap and the game makes you feel like your an ant fighting a human. It's unreal. Probably the only good thing I can say about this game is the graphics are ok. But who cares about that when you don't have any fun playing.

Bottom line: try and fill up your power bar so you can win if not you're screwed and have to keep blocking and countering and hope you get lucky.

Not worth a rent. If I could go back I wouldn't even buy this game for a penny. What were the game makers thinking?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

OK.......

posted by MLG2138 (HUMMELSTOWN, PA) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

FUN ARCADE MODE BUT FIGHTS CAN END VERY QUICKLY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Facebreaker is Problably the worst game ever made.

posted by Zach1222 (LYNDHURST, NJ) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Never rent or buy this game. It's horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is so over rated. It's kind of like "T for toddlers."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is really tooooo hard...

posted by Homina8or (HACKETTSTOWN, NJ) May 17, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

even for an expert button masher like me..LOL. I was able to get 5 fights into the brawl for it all before I gave up. There are four "belts" you can win and I was up to the second title fight and I kept getting demolished so I gave up. As other reviews have stated, the AI really makes it too hard to beat the game even on the easiest setting. The combinations the AI puts together are so quick, there's no chance of anticipating the attacks to block. You have to get lucky to parry because the attacks are so fast. As soon as you build up enough hits for a facebreaker, the AI gets in a punch and the meter goes back to zero. Good luck ever getting a facebreaker in a match in a title fight. It was worth the rental to see if all the review I read were accurate and most of the reviews are spot on. You may want to skip this rental unless you want to see just how good a button masher you are. Odds are, you not good enough in this game!

I rate the game a 2 because it does have some cool graphics and the combos, if you can get them off, are pretty cool too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

chris garrisons review

posted by chrisgar1 (PALM DESERT, CA) May 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

not cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

FACEBRAKER

posted by BKNSOULYA (RIVERVIEW, FL) May 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

GOOD GOD! THIS BOXING GAME SUCKS! NOT MUCH ELSE TO SAY! SORRY GUYS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

KO this game!!

posted by Reviewer96 (TUTTLE, OK) May 5, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

Facebreaker is not as good as you think it would be. The controls are idiotic and the character animations are stale. The only reason i rented it is that i heard there was a monkey in it. But i lost interest in the next few fights. The enemy patterns are too predictable and the punches are too slow too hit any #$%$ thing!!! The only thing i found appealing was the facebreakers themselves which are fun to look at. Overall this game is not worth the tiniest dust speck in your entire house!!!!

Game on!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse