Rent FaceBreaker for PS3
view large frontback

FaceBreaker

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
4.1

1148 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Crazy Gamers Beware

posted by notthatguy (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you wanna fight, rent Soul Calibur IV instead.....because it is far better than this one. I had this game in my console 30 minutes, and that was enough for me.

The graphics weren't spectacular or anything, but they were good. The gameplay, well it's not like anything you've played before. The controls are simple, yet I feel like I spent the entire time trying to master them, and right as I thought I had them down, I still got my --- beat.

The main problem I had was that I spent all 30 minutes trying to beat this guy (on easy), and the whole time I was winning, but for some reason when the fight went into the "sudden death" round, the computer stepped it up a notch and kicked my ---.....and that round is the ONLY one that matters because if ya lose that one, then you lose the whole fight. It shouldn't even go into a "sudden death" round if your opponent didn't even knock you down once!

Oh yeah, did I mention it gets a little REPETITIVE. It's basically High Attack, Low Attack, over and over and over, with an occasional 'throw' and 'breaker'

I don't know, maybe others would be better at this game than I was. It does seem like one of those games that someone would either like a lot, or dislike a lot. But as you can tell from the GameFly rating....not a lot of fans.

I got this game cause the whole concept of the picture thing seemed interesting, and the game description sounded cool, but I am glad I rented it to see for myself.

Crazy Gamers Beware: This one will bring out the crazy in you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Punch-Out?

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Nov 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have heard this often referred to as the next Punch-Out, but I think this falls short of that. The characters are great but the speed at which the matches take place and the arcade style play makes it difficult to enjoy. The lack of gameplay modes gives this very little replay value. It is worth renting and playing for a few days and then getting the next game on your list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pete and Repeat were on a Boat....

posted by Greg824 (LIBBY, MT) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played FACEBREAKER for about 20 minutes before realizing I was doing the same thing over and over with every character. I'm sure the combos are cool, but in order to do a combo, you have to do like 20 regular punches. And everyone has the same regular punches. So, It got played out pretty fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

PFFFFFT!

posted by sumyunguy (PAWTUCKET, RI) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Unless you are 14 years old, this game gets boring quick...Don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what is this?

posted by Edxjub (AVENTURA, FL) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if this is their way of "creating" a funny boxing game they have to back to he reinvention of boxing games. this game is not even worth to be on this site.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not What It Should Be

posted by archicam (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A cartoony boxing game like Punch Out has been long overdue, but this game doesn't have enough of the right stuff. The graphics and characters, which are what made me want to play, are awesome, but the AI and gameplay ruin the whole thing. Even on the easiest level it's very difficult to progress through the game. Here's some quotes: "...a FaceBreaker move will instantly finish your opponent. Unfortunately, filling this meter often proves to be an unrealistic aspiration as it will empty whenever you get hit...FaceBreaker instead boils down to a button-mashing extravaganza...pummeling you with virtually unstoppable combos and cheap dizzying moves, the A.I. doesn't mind destroying any and all hopes you have of winning." It's sad that a game that's so good visually is so lacking in playability.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good, smarter then yobut for how long.....

posted by HarryMason (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ive noticed this game had a very low rating, and maybe i can see why, but i think its undeserved.

facebreaker touts itself as a boxing game, but really, its a very intense game of paper rock scissors. but thats not bad, its smarter then you think. In the game, you throw high punches and low punches, plus super punches and blocks. If a person throws a high punch, and your quick or smart enough to press and hold it at the same time, too, youll dodge the attack and counterattack. but he can do the same for that, also, forever until failure.
While this may sound boring, its actually quite intense. like someone throwing paper rock scissors at you rapid fire, each time hes smarter or faster then you, pounding your ugly little face in until you fall down. Fall down, and have the deformation physics completely disfigure your face, to the point of unrecognition. its simply amazing what you can do to yourself and others in this game. People seriously get messed up, especially when you get the instant game winning FACEBREAKER, pounding their face into the ground.

PLAYER CREATION
this is the best part. you can, and people have, make anybody. Borack obama, hillary clinton, chris rock, THE JOKER, Spiderman, a fat superdeformed monstronsity, yourself. anythings possible. you can even go to the website, send in a photo of you (or anybody else), and get it made into a face. I had alot of fun. Look for my Smurfette character. I planned to make more, but alas.....

summary

fun, but i found myself returning the game after two days. i already had hot shots golf out, why have two pick-up-and-play games, when i could be playing mirrors edge or silent hill?

but worth it, if you already have a serious game out, and you really dont feel like another 17 hours of GTA, and just want to watch a hot chick beat the heck out of you or your friends. give it a shot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

facebraker stinks

posted by irishchimp (SPRING, TX) Sep 10, 2008

Member since May 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

the only way this game is good, is if you did not have anything different to do with your time, i myself put the game in and played it for about five min. and all i can say is that is five I am never getting back.
the problem is the game is supposed to be fun and funny but it lacks in both, the reason is it is just way to hard, even on the lowest seting I could not make it past the boss on the first belt , so fun was thrown right out the door on that one second the people in the game say the same thing over and over again , it never changes so insted of being funny it just gets old real fast.
for the love of god!!dont play this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Garbage

posted by KJeezie (GREENSBORO, NC) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Gamespy said it best
Terribly flawed and unbalanced gameplay mechanics alongside brutally punishing AI make this a chore to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun game, but torchure on your fingers!

posted by eddieb (Memphis, TN) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The graphics are tight, and the game is pretty fun, until your fingers start cramping from all the button mashing. At some points it can be ridiculously annoying and the game becomes a bit too hard. Some of the characters you fight are just NOT human and you will fight them over and over until you probably just LUCK UP and beat them. The customaztion of characters is probably the dopest part. You can actualy load your pictures, or better yet friends pictures that you can inturn put in the ring and pretend you are beating the mess out of them. LOL. If there wasnt so much of a need for driven out button mashing, this game would get a higher rating from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good at all!!

posted by Gamflyguy (CRANSTON, RI) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is nothing more then a button masher. You could do much better with one of the fight night games if you want boxing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

atari has better games then this one

posted by rushnok (NEWTON FALLS, OH) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

sux only 2 buttons to fight cheap cheap cheap all kids hated it cheap cheap cheap atari has better games do not rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

That's gonna leave a mark

posted by gateway (SPLENDORA, TX) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Fun to play, good graphics, get busy and kick butt!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just terrible

posted by eggman4397 (RENSSELAER, NY) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This is a poor effort by EA/Freestyle. It is a button masher pure and simply. There is no strategy involved and you usually lose badly. Blocking and dodging do nothing for you. You basically get hit until you fall. The only thing the programmers concentrated on was funny looking fighters. I put it back in the mail the same day I got it and was SO glad I hadn't bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

facebreaker

posted by Cameron21 (SAN JOSE, CA) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

its the most frustrating game i've ever played. sometimes its like you cant fight back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WOW this game is bad

posted by cobra427 (CHESHIRE, CT) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

Ok the put your own pic in the game is cool but all I have to say is WOW THIS GAME STINKS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

putting your face on the game

posted by tanisha (BUFFALO, NY) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

although i created an easports account and i was able to load pictures onto my account(side view&front)when i connected my ps3 to the internet and tried to create boxers i was unable to do so. After further research i found that i was not the only person having this problem. So if you are getting this game for that particular feature lots of luck to you trying to create a boxer with an original face.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Good

posted by rbolinjr (RIVERSIDE, IA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Just not fun, download Mortal Kombat or Street Fighter. A waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game was lame

posted by caligirl76 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I did not like this game. You could only use 2 items on the controller and I didn't feel that I had a lot of movement or be in control. I am sending this game back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not much to say

posted by sonylife (EVERGREEN, CO) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I started a fight on easy mode and played through it. I found it difficult to move the character around and fighting physics were awful. It was almost like it was impossible to get a perfect win. Kinda like a hit for hit system I lost the fight and immediately proceeded to package up the game and ship it back. I would not recommend this to anybody who likes a good fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

good try but no cigar

posted by racerboy (SCHOFIELD BARRACKS, HI) Dec 14, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

not to much to say about it. it was fun the first couple of times then it just got boring. When I fire up the PS3 i ask myself what game I want to play and look at my games. I passed this one up for a week straight because its boring and way to repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

pointless

posted by mazel2004 (MEMPHIS, TN) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

i wanted this game as soon as i seen it. so i put it on my game q. at first i couldn't get it because everybody wanted it but it became avaliable very quickly. after playing for about 20 minutes i see why. this game is stupid boring and pointless all at same time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

game is not good at all

posted by hillbilly2 (RED OAK, TX) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

game is not fun doing the same thing over and people watch out i downloaded some of the characters that others made and it corrupted my ps3 harddrive and wiped everything from harddrive i was mad i wouldnt download anything on that game be advised

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

facebreaker

posted by mightymous (FORT MYERS, FL) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

this game has pretty cool features but the gameplay isnt that great and the interest to play it does not last long at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't Bother

posted by babalou (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I thought this would be a cool game to have for the holiday weekend because we had a lot coming over. When we started playing everyone lost interest really fast. The game is fun, but only at first after a few minutes of playing it gets boring really fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse