Rent FaceBreaker K.O. Party for Wii
view large frontback

FaceBreaker K.O. Party

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
4.9

366 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Wash, Rinse, Repeat

posted by wdwyer (LAKE ARIEL, PA) May 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to admit I was looking forward to this game. Ever since Punch-Out I have waited for a Nintendo boxing game that was fun and challenging, without becoming boring. I found a few on other systems, and was hoping this could come close to some of those.

It started out pretty cool. I like the Facebreaker moves, the equivalent to an automatic win. It gives the game a "MK" sort of feel. But what makes this different is that it is a move that can be performed at any time as long as your meter is full.

The characters are pretty much your run of the mill crazy characters you'd expect. But at least the bosses have some sort of thought to them. I started laughing the first time I unlocked "STEVE" (the first boss). If you've played the game you know who I am talking about. I knew a few people from college that were like that.

But once the first level (2 matches) was complete, it started getting repetitive. While there is some focus on different punches with different button combinations and movements with the wiimote, it still comes down to swinging your arms wildly, while hitting 2-3 buttons. If you are not coordinated, forget this game. You'll just look like an idiot while you get your face beat in.

Now once your through the first few fights it does get progressively harder. I found the second boss VOODOO on the easy setting to be rather difficult. Though his facebreaker move is rather nasty and well animated. But after that, you'll need to practice the more advanced moves like tiebreakers and be really good at dodging and charging punches in order to advance.

This game is fun with friends...preferably drunk ones. The knock on it, is that it will get boring rather soon. The game deserves a rating higher than a 5. It's not the best game on the system, but I find it hard to believe that a game for the Wii needs to have Mario or Link in it to score higher. Which always seems to be the case.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

KO Party

posted by Dudemanjak (VERONA, WI) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is worth a try. Not sure why so many people had such harsh words to say. The belt battle mode is pretty fun and the controls aren't nearly as hard as people make them out to be. I'm not a gamer at all, and I popped it in and started boxing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Boxing Game Ever

posted by TonyHawk (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Facebreaker K.O. Party is the perfect mixture of challenge and extreme fun. The best part is Brawl For It All, where you must defeat every opponent to reach the next opponent. You fight people you've had since the beginning of the game, and new ones who you unlock when you beat. The unlock fights are very challenging until you figure out your opponent. This is a game you will get a great work out from and will become addicted to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

facebreaker ko party

posted by bman280 (FONTANA, CA) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I think that facebreaker ko party is an excellent mixture of action,humor,and fun.But I rated 8 because it is very challenging and that is another good thing if you want a challenge this is a perfect game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Facebreaker K.O. Party

posted by BlueBomber (GLENSIDE, PA) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has a lot of visual polish, but I was a confounded by the control scheme. I would've preferred hitting actual buttons to control the puches rather then making the arm movements while holding buttons down. It's a little awkward, and quickly tiring. I also don't like the side profile view, it's hard to see what your opponent is doing, which makes it hard to react in time. They should've gone with a more "Punch Out" design. All in all, it's still fun, but only for about 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A fun game hampered by poor motion controls

posted by yakbeard (RANSON, WV) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This could have been a much better game - maybe it doesn't have the potential to be a Fight Night, but it could have been much better than this. The graphics are really good, the soundtrack is decent, the characters are fun, and the over the top "Breaker" combos are hilarious.

So what is the problem? the same thing that plagues many wii games - a motion based control scheme that makes the game more infuriating than fun at times... especially against harder championship opponents.

You use a lot of the same motions to block, parry, and dodge, as well as to throw the various different punches. The problem is that it can be quite confusing remembering the correct combo of buttons and motions to execute a high dodge versus a low block versus a high parry - and you need those moves to even have a chance at defeating the upper ranked opponents. Besides having to remember the correct buttons, the motion sensors dont always interpret your moves the way you want them too - so that all important parry that you were going to follow up with a big punch combo turns into a block instead, which results in you getting punched in the face several times.

With that said, this game is still worth renting. While fighting the computer is frustrating as the computer does not have to use the fecal motion controls, fighting against other humans is fun, as theyll have the same difficulties you do. And the great "Facebreaker" combos - your most powerful weapon - are hilarious to watch... like when Ice falls on you, driving his fist into your head as you lay on the mat, and then does one armed push ups on your face.

So worth a rental or worth say $20 as a fun party game, but not an in depth, polished fighter by any means.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

a waist of disk space

posted by drycountry (GOODLAND, KS) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game sucks got it played it twice and returned it the same day i really ope punch out is better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A boxing game full of FAIL

posted by g4m3rM (DES MOINES, IA) May 25, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Save yourself. You can never regain lost time from this heap of garbage EA has produced. This game fails on a number of levels.

The first thing you'll notice is, like EA's other titles, they included a licensed soundtrack; a practice that is getting old quickly. I like some of the tracks, but honestly, what's wrong with hiring a good composer? The gaming world certainly is short of any.

Next is the characters. While some are comical and have interesting designs and motions; they seem to try too hard in making them unique with some non-sequitar stereotypes blended into a diffenent style alltogether; one that doen't work well, more often than not.

As for the controls for this game..... where to start is the main point. The controls are far to complicated for any kind of immersion to ever happen. The Wii was built with simplicity in mind, yet EA continually releases games with broken control setups and akward layouts that often drive you to want to shelve the game for good or try and recoup some your hard earned money in a trade-in if possible. A good games' control setup will draw you in and immerse you to the point you forget your playing a game and the control becomes a extension of you. In this game, you consistantly feel like your playing an awful game. Most of the time it doesn't even feel like it's responding to you at all.

Unfortunately, the nightmare of this horrid game won't end until you hit eject to take it out and never subject your console to such tortoure.

To top it off, the bouts are presented in a side view perspective! When has any good boxing themed game took place from the side?! I understand it was a new concept, but was this game even tested? Does EA even test these games anymore?

The mult-player can't be commented on by me because my friends and family had no interest in suffering what I had showed them this game offers.

Would of gave this a lower score if negative was available, but one will have to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fine for what it is

posted by detroitnc (High Point, NC) Jan 13, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I was looking for something that has good motion control and more realistic boxing. I knew this game is more for a party type, fantasy, freestyle brawling game, but I gave it a shot anyway. So if that is what you are expecting, I would say it's a great game. Good controls overall with motion, but you will need to master the buttons and directional usage to do some real damage and defend yourself effectively. With all that said, I gave it the rating of 8 because it can be really fun. But after playing for a while, I realized this isn't what I was looking for. For what it is, it is a great party game of just something fun to play. I will keep looking for a more realistic boxing game that I can get a decent workout on with good motion and controls, which so far, seems hard to come across on Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why bother?

posted by ChillGamer (ATLANTA, GA) Oct 12, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I gave the game a 3 purely because I like the characters and the animations. For an EA game, I thought it was pretty original.

I knew it was a button masher game. However, some of the counter moves had nothing to do with it. they were very difficult to execute in the heat of the battle and that made it very frustrating.

The characters move too slow. They have a dash move which requires you flicking the joystick back or forward. Everytime I did that I shaked my controller and did a punch. Once I got to Molotov, who has a big lunging move you can't block, I got really messed up. I could not jump forward to close distance, I could not jump backwards.

Countering requires flicking the remote or nunchuku back and holding it there. In the heat of the battle, anytime I did this was a mistake. Too bad too because I knew how to counter and throw down a crazy combo. Since I couldn't do it on purpose most of the time, I couldn't launch this attack as a primary one.

I wish these crossover games would start including the wii controllers. I like the wii but I really wish I didn't have to deal with their awkward, UNCHANGABLE settings. I would GLADLY buy a controller if it meant that I can use it on games like this.

At least my arms got a small workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not what I was expecting

posted by pbjelly (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This game is horribly disappointing when you are expecting Punchout..and you get a lame crossover between a fighting game and a boxing game. Lame because you should be able to jump in a fighting game and the motion for punching should be one to one, not wildly shaking the remotes up and down. Horrible play control, lousy characters, and unremarkable music tracks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »