Rent Fable for Xbox
view large frontback

Fable

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

5891 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The myth becomes reality.

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 13, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

54 out of 62 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

In the months leading up to Fable's release, the hype was overwhelming and many people saw this as the greatest RPG of all time. And many, like me, felt a little deflated after playing it. You see, when expectations for a game are so incredibly high, the reality can't possibly match them. Such is the case of Fable. Not that I'm saying this is a bad game. This is actually a refined, well-constructed and entertaining action RPG with great visuals, ambient music, top-notch presentation and real personality. The story, while nothing revolutionary, will keep you engaged from beginning to end. But Fable fell flat in several areas. First of all, the game space felt limiting. There were so many times when I wanted to explore that scenic vista off in the horizon, but couldn't because essentially boxed me in to a pathway. Also, the movement of time is very inconsistent. Seasons won't change, villagers won't age, but your character will go from a boy to an old man in the meantime, which feels shallow. And that brings me to the length of the game. It was originally purported by the developers that the game woulod take between 50 and 70 hours to complete. It's actually more like 15 to 20. And once the main story is over, there's very little to do. Several of the expected elements like building a family and co-op play were omitted completely. Now, with all that said, I still found Fable an unforgettable experience that was truly enjoyable, which made it's shortcomings all the more disappointing. I wanted to spend more time with this game, go deeper with the story, but I couldn't. When Lost Chapters was released it helped out a little, but I was still left wanting afterward. But even if you feel a little sad to see the game end, you'll feel really good about having experienced such a game. It really is a Fable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Tigerheart (CEDAR CITY, UT) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is a really great game, i own it and it's a game that's worth while, it gets kinda boring after beating it like, 25 times, but it's still fun, as for the review that said 20+ hours, umm, for me it only takes around 5-10, that's also because i memorized it (5-10 without getting all the silver keys or anything.) anyways, this is a no brainer BUY THIS GAME. if not buy it at least rent one of the best rpg games of all time, when it came out everyone in the us was excited because they're heard of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fable The RPG of the Year

posted by A7XGamer (SPRING, TX) May 4, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

18 out of 23 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Graphics: 9
Gameplay: 10
Gametime: 20+ hrs.

For me this was the first Xbox game I ever played and was amazed on how well they put it together. First off I love the whole good guy/ bad guy thing in the game. In the game you have a choice of you want to live as a Hero or a Villain. This is such a deep game that in order to really review it I would need 5,000 characters to thoroughly review it. The action in the game is the best. It's so simple that it makes the game even greater. Anybody game pick this game up and play it. Even if you dislike RPGs this game will get you hooked to the genre. Replay Value for this game is so high that four years from now you'll still want to play. Just incase you missed anything on your 50th time through the game. Can't wait for part 2 to come out. But that won't be for another while so pick up this game and get a glimpse at what's to come with Fable 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fable Good or Evil?

posted by bdizzy (LOS OSOS, CA) Jun 27, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Fable is by far one of the best games of the year...so i suggest that you start playing it if you already havent. The game provides a satisfying storyline that will undoubtedly catch your interest and keep you playing for hours. Unfortunately that may only be how long you get to play the game, a few hours, because if you play through the storyline quickly it only takes about 8 hours to beat. Although the gameplay is not extensive, the game has to have by far one of the most diverse and revolutionary break throughs in RPG's simply because you get to choose and accept the consequences of your actions throughout the entire storyline, including being able to kill your own sister to gain ultimate darkness. This game is worth a try for all of you out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

.....

posted by MCkiller (ROMEOVILLE, IL) Aug 9, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok, Fable is a very great game that is a must have to anyone ranging between new gamer and expert gamer. Yeah with that said I also want to say something to almost all the reviewers here.
1. If you killed Jack of Blades and skipped the credits without getting all the keys or weapons or whatever, you just threw away at least 40 hours of game play. That is what the makers meant by 50-70 hours of game play, they never said story, they said GAMEPLAY!!!!!
2. If you don't have lost chapters than you can kiss 2-5 hours of story goodbye.
3. A newcomer to fable WILL NEVER BEAT THE STORY IN LESS THAN 8 HOURS!!!!
4. Even if you have everything in the game and you've beaten it, you still haven't unless you were evil or good since EVERYTHING you do impacts your character for better or for worse.
5. This is the last statement I have to say, The first time I played this it took me about 15 VERY FRUSTRATING hours to beat the STORY. When I found the game in the dust I decided to complete the game 100% done and get rid of it (sell it) so I did and that took me roughly around 77 hours to do. Than I sold it and bought lost chapters and 100% completed that too that took an engrossing 100 hours or more, the game will never be completed in 8 hours.
Also one last hint, if you have Fable then you cant get Huw's sword unless you train constantly and finish the game with all the side quests.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fable is Awesomely Addictive!

posted by Zenchibi (BUFFALO, NY) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has a little bit for everyone! The storyline itself could've been a little better, and sometimes the fighting is a little difficult, but overall a really awesome game! It's kind of like an RPG mixed together with the Sims.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Good

posted by melidian (DALLESPORT, WA) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A very good game i recomend this to people i rate it a 10/10 game i bought it for the pc i thought it was so good its not to long of a storyline and it not to short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fable was sweet

posted by Jbird01 (BROOMFIELD, CO) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Alright, on the terms of RPG is was a very well made game, but the storyline was not good at all, it lacked the epic storyline that a role playing game should contain. Overall I would say the game was superb, but lacked a storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ONE OF THE BEST GAMES EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

posted by 199612 (LAKELAND, FL) Jul 22, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I love this game very much!!! Get this game, but I can see why it's rated M get this game if you are around 13, I think it is between Teen and mature. It has great adventure and r.p.g, it has weapons, magic and the best role-plating game I have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(ya it's that good)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fable: Short, Creative & Well Put Together

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

When I first picked up a copy of this game, I wasn’t quite sure what to make of it. I put on my Xbox, waited for it to load, had my snacks ready & was up for a long-induced coma of game playing. I was immediately happy with how much fun this game actually is! The original Xbox didn’t have the most appealing titles from the get go, but Fable made me a believer & more over a long-term consumer & respected customer to Microsoft. It’s games such as these, were they may seem almost too simple to some, if you look at it in this regard, it’s made simple, enjoyable throughout, you are able to choose your own destiny, as it would appeal in real-time life, by the choices you make, it what you ultimately become. Sure, we’re not wizards, I know I’m not a Warlock I’m sure of, heck I’d love to shoot lightning from my hands to just stun someone, but that isn’t quite reality now is it : ) I overall, enjoyed this game very much, not the best graphics & game play was on the short side, all in all, a well made game. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fable isn't great because of its story

posted by AfterShock (PASO ROBLES, CA) Apr 16, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Fable is a great game with a mediocre but satisfying story. What's most rewarding about this game is that you have a lot of options at your disposal. You could conquer and raid towns, or help a lone trader to Orchord Farms... there are many hidden things in the game, that range from powerfull weapons to health potions. It didn't live up to the hype when it was first released, but is still superior to most games nonetheless. It will take about 13 hours to complete all the main quests... and around 25-30 hours to do everything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i love it

posted by xbox101 (HALETHORPE, MD) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love this game the wepon selection is great the armor is great dont waste you time renting it is a defentent buy

[[BUY BUY BUY]]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stopping Jack of Blades

posted by Baddog0890 (UDELL, IA) Jun 1, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WARNING CONTAINS SPOILERS...
After defeating Maze, the Guildmaster will send you on your final quest. You must stop Jack of Blades. You must warp from place to place trying to stop Jack of Blades from activating the Focus sites. (DONT WORRY ABOUT THE ENEMIES) the Guards and Heros of Albion will be fighting along side you. Every time you encounter Jack he will already have the focus site activated. After the Last focus site is activated go to the Heros Guild, Before going to the Chamber of Fate look around and You'll find a resurrection Phial on the upstairs landing and two Health potions on the lower floor. Now enter the Guild Cave and you'll also find an Oak Longbow. Now enter the Chamber of fate. A cut scene he has both you mother and sister with him. He kills your mother to weild the Sword of Aeons. You can not attack Jack of Blades just yet. He sends out minions to kill you first. The best thing to do is slow time use that and start attacking eniemes before they swarm you. Now Jack will send lighting from his sword just roll to the side. After you have beaten up a bit he goes into flight and use ranged attacks. He has difficult projectiles to dodge so hide behind a rock spire around the edge of the room. While he's firing get out your bow, when he is done jump out and fire at him with a charged arrow attack. He'll send his minions on you again. While fighting try to keep behind the rock spires. After you defeat the minions Jack will repeat the process after he is done fire on him a few more times until you bring him done.
Now you will have a choice between the good and evil path. Send the Sword into a vortex as good or kill your sister and take it as bad. The game is over for this version but wait for the credits to end and you can still play Fable with your newly aquired weapon. In the Other version you still have to go on another quest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game beat Fable II and Fable III by far.

posted by IngrownSag (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was an amazing game! Great story, ability's and such such more. Don't waste your time playing this one. Get Fable The Lost Chapters!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a tasty burger.

posted by hertig (BOWDEN, WV) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dis game cool. Me wike it a wot. If i had a son i would name him Fable. Cuz it vewy cool. I done beat er wike 50 times al ready it real coolio. I like it a wot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Yay owning property and a wife!

posted by FLOWDANGO (MORRISTOWN, NJ) Jun 30, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fable is a very excellent third person action RPG that allows the player to be very good or very evil. The story to this game is worth listening to and following along with the simple yet fun gameplay that goes along with it. You can use magic, swords, axes, and arrows very easily and it's satisfying to fight creatures and people. There is also plenty of bonus material worth exploring like owning houses and flirting with girls to hopefully marry one. You can customize your character in a plethora of ways along with doing good deeds to raise your reputation or you can do really evil acts to scare the general public.

Problems with this game are in the lack of more activities to be apart of. The failed addition of all the aspects the developer promised would be in it. The marriage system should have been a lot deeper and you should be able to start a full family. The game is way to short!

But Fable is still a great game worth playing by all gamers. This is a must rent or buy for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Fable (n) : A lousy fairy tale

posted by Rytiko (Estero, FL) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

What is it that defines Fable? For many, a brilliant game despite its shortcomings. But to others, who appreciate a bit of challenge and ingenuity in a game, it was nothing but a lousy fairy tale.

The main theme of the game, "For every choice, a consequence", is a total lie. The only consequence was either having a glowing character with villagers annoying you by praising you all the time, or a horned character with villagers annoying you by screaming all the time. None of your choices had any impact upon the story, other than the two multiple endings.

As for playing after the game ends,if you can manage to sit through the thirty minute credits, you'll find that you will be disappointed. There is next to nothing to do after the game, unless you want to go on a pointless quest for a frying pan. You can gamble, kill people, fight monsters, or kick chickens around, sure, but while those things may sound interesting at first, you'll find that you quickly get bored.

And the combat? A complete joke. If you actually got a game over once throughout this entire game,I beg you to stop playing video games. Period. You had so many revival potions that you'd have to go and watch TV while leaving your character in the middle of a pack of werewolf-like creatures to get a game over. Even dying once seemed more like a challenge than a fear. Three combat styles, though you'll only need melee.

The world is far to small to provide any exploratory value, and your path is so constrained that you feel more like you're in a series of hallways with forest-like wallpaper than in an open world.

However, I must say that the game looks beautiful. The graphics engine is quite solid, and you may find yourself just sitting back to look at the scenery a few times. Perhaps the other reviewers claiming this game to give 15-20 hours of gameplay were including this in their calculations.

The game, with all sidequests completed and weapons obtained, took me a total of 10 hours. Quite disapointing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I expected more ...

posted by Ebondark (OMAHA, NE) May 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Everyone claimed this game was soooo incredible and to be honest I'ld take a bioware game over this any given day of the weak and twice on Sunday. It's a decent game. The game never grabbed me, the story line was meh, the game play was excellent, but the speed at which you aged was horrible. Drove me absolutely nuts. I went from toddler to geezer faster then Paris Hilton can down a bottle of liquor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Fell WAY short

posted by GilRavardy (DEATSVILLE, AL) Dec 7, 2006

Member since May 2005

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This is not the game to play. If your wanting just a teaser play this release, see if you like it, THEN go and buy Fable: Lost Chapters. The first release (why "release"? Did it get "leased" before? darn english language) was rushed and half the game was missing. Not just extra chapters at the end but little stuff throughout the whole game. Don't get me wrong, this is a great game. You need to play the lost chapters version to truely enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I Actually Didn't Like It

posted by Areymond (CHICO, CA) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I thought everything in this game was just sort of silly and frustrating. The battle system was really swallow and the RPG elements really didn't help it out much. Everything just seemed so far away in the game so you have to travel pretty far to get anywhere. The tutorial and the instruction booklet didn't really do a good job in explaining anything at all, and that is sort of important to me. The good and evil thing is kind of drawn out and I was just plain bored with it. If you want a good evil/good game just play Knights of the Old Republic please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fable for the xbox is the best

posted by irishscott (KNOXVILLE, TN) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

fable is the best game i've played my entire life it has the best graphics, cool weapons,
sweet armor, nice spells, awesome enemies, and the best of all is making life changes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An excellent RPG

posted by noclevername1 (NAZARETH, PA) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game is nearly flawless. The one issue is that you can't abandon quests if you don't want them, and it can really get in the way. Other than that, it's great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Problems with Xbox 360

posted by Taiyu_Ryu (PORTLAND, OR) May 1, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

This is a great game and I highly recommend it, I just want to put a warning out there for xbox 360 users, you'll have loud static sounds, discoloration in the character, missing parts of the landscape, and sudden crashes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One of the best of its era

posted by N3wW0r1d0rph4n (GRAVOIS MILLS, MO) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Amazing story with an amazing twist. But it was pretty short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Exciting

posted by keveon (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

Now this game is a great game to play as i did only as a 19 year old at the time it came out nice lionhead studio a fantastic job with this game as for fable 2 i don't know

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse