Rent Fable: The Journey for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Fable: The Journey

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
5.2

519 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Was okay.

posted by BiZZaRGirl (LANGHORNE, PA) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all I love the Fable games. It was nice to play for some extra Fable story line but the game lacks. I feel like I'm always driving the horse around. It gets old quickly. While being in combat is fun! I'm happy I just rented and didn't buy. I dont see myself playing it more then just to beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

lost all fable charm

posted by schujazz (RENTON, WA) Oct 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

19 out of 24 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This game proves once and for all the kinect is only good for dance and workout games.
Previous attempts at kinect games, had serious issues. The kinect gameplay in this works, but the game is seriously boring.
With only kinect controls you lose all freedom, and sense of adventure. Fable 2 and 3 were both fun great rpgs's. This game is barely a shell of that.
There is no choice of path, no choice, of weapons, no choice of when or where to go. Its just you going down the road with horse, occasionally stopping to fight Hobbes and rockmites.
I say don't bother, get Just Dance if you want to Kinect and if you want to play Fable, just play through 2 or 3 again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alright

posted by Armond (PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL) Oct 11, 2012

Member since May 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The game is fun when the controls work. Its kinda hit or miss on the Kinects accuracy. As for it being on rails? The game sorta is. Peter you were almost right lol. The parts that you can ride you horse on are not but when you are off doing just about everything else you are on rails. If I didn't like the Fable series I probably would have sent it back by now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Best or worst!

posted by ultrablunt (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

After renting this game from gamefly I can definately say its not the game for me. Although I cannot argue the story seems to carry a really good feel to it with a tad of comedic fashion. So the honest fact is this games judgement comes down to the player, if your the type of person that plays Kinnect games and loves to move around, then this may not be the game for you.
This came mostly involves of the player sitting back and using his arms and very few body motions to take actions. Each hand controls a power, push or bolt. raising your hand over your head is a counter, and swaying side to side is to avoid attacks. There are a few other bonus minigames that occur but for the most part this game involves no standing and can get repetative extremely fast. Especially when your simply switching between driving a cart and shooting powers.
Even though this gameplay isnt my style of enjoyment I can say that the story is definately creative and continues to keep the game fresh and funny. All in all I rate this game with a 4 simply because of the story and fun characters within the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Kinect Game

posted by rhythmguitarhv (SPRING BRANCH, TX) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed playing this. Finished it also. The Kinect works fine, but can be a little incompatible with what you want to happen. My advice is to adjust to the Kinect and not vice versa. If you want the Kinect to adjust to you, it won't happen. There's a calibration in the game, but it just made things worse for me. I played with default settings. This was my second favorite Kinect game next to Rise of Nightmares which nobody else liked either. Don't know what everybody thinks is better for Kinect, but those are my top two so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

FABLE

posted by Darrickp (CLERMONT, FL) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game is fun but its the Kinect that makes it SUCK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by aominer29 (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had a blast playing Fable: The Journey. The controls were unique and easy to use, but at times I had trouble with aiming. The poor aim could’ve been me not doing the correct motions or issues with the Kinect or game. The story was pretty short and simple, but still good. The graphics were great and had the same feel as any other Fable game. The only complaints I actually have with the game is that it felt a little too short and easy. I’d recommend this game to anyone looking for a good Kinect game to try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Kinect Game I've Played

posted by Beek35 (SNOHOMISH, WA) Oct 24, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The storyline on this book is kind of like the first Harry Potter; you just have to get passed the first chapter or so before it picks up. The fighting didn't get boring for me, but it would have had you not gotten more enemies and spells to work with. The storyline to the game is phenomenal for what I had expected. I think it's important to play through the game even if you don't want to, because I feel like this will carry over into a later game. The kinect could get a bit dodgy at times, as it does, but I didn't have to many issues. One of the best parts is that since you're sitting, it doesn't make you feel pressured to jump or anything, and you can focus a lot more on where enemies are and what spell to use on them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Kinect Game

posted by zewhitguy1 (LA HABRA, CA) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fable the Journey is easily the best kinect game of all time.

The controls are top notch. When in combat you are on rails and can only strafe left and right ; you do however have complete control of the spells using your hands. You will occasionally get a wild shot or two but by the end of the game I was rarely missing. When not in combat you control Seren by pulling on the reins it is very responsive.

The story in this game is very well written, it fills in some of the gaps of previous Fables by giving Theresa's point of view and explaining some of her motives for her actions. The story is helped with the charming and sometimes humorus cast of new characters including the new animal companion Seren.

The graphics and colorful and often beautiful. The level design is extremely well done. The character models are good but some of Gabriel's animations are sub-par.

The game has an original soundtrack that fits the mood of combat but doesn't distract from it and the voice acting is well done and enjoyable.

Fable the journey is a game anyone with a kinect should at leasy rent if not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's good for a Kinect

posted by riddleboy (ROGERS, AR) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Honestly I don't see why everyone thinks its so bad. In my opinion the story goes at a good pace, setting a good enough plot without turning bad. The gameplay might be different sure, but considering it's kinect I wasn't surprised by this. I was surprised by how good it was, and seeing as Kinect is still relatively new for xbox, I think this game is going to open new paths for other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fable

posted by darksilence (WEST COVINA, CA) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

very good rental has a good story this fable has less disappointing moments then all the rest .I recommend if your a true fable fan you will play it anyhow.or complain and still play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's a journey alright

posted by darkclaw618 (STUART, FL) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So I had high hopes for this game, but like other on here I'm dissapointed. The game is so slow. Not in a loading/lag way, but in a storytelling way. when you do get through the slow cut scenes , it's almost as if you just have a simple shooting gallery. I admit I haven't made it through much of the game, I only met my first townfolk, but I don't know how much more I can take just to see if there is something worth waiting for

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fable The Journey.

posted by Fablednova (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that this is the best Fable game ever made in my book and im a picky Gamer. Fable The Journey is different then the other Fable games. You cant be good or evil and you can not customize clothes or weapons. You dont have homes to buy or people to get married to and have kids...its basically a spin off like Halo 3 ODST was in the sense that it is based in the Fable Universe but its a stand alone new experience. I give it a 9 out of 10 and that is only because Kinect sometimes has tracking issues in the Game and gets you killed...doesnt happen always. You play as Gabriel a guy who has dreamed to be a Hero. You have a Horse that you ride and magic gauntlets. Graphics are great, please try this game and trust me its hard not to get sucked in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not a fan

posted by vatikanas5assin (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Had high hopes for this game, but when its kinect only it was pretty disapointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

kinect kant keep konstant

posted by masstershake (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

if the controls were consistent it may actually be an ok game on rails. but the controls never seemed to work the same twice, and after looking at other reviews it seems its not just me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVED it!

posted by myadoni7 (ABERDEEN, SD) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I know there are some that don't like this game but I thought it was stellar. You have to use Kinect with the game so be sure to have proper lighting and enough space. It was challenging to get the aim right and find the technique that worked best for each situation presented. This puts Fable the Journey into it's own bracket. I absolutely LOVED it! It was an interesting workout for the upper body too. The cutscenes were fantastic and the graphics, I believe, were well done. Of course there is room for improvement, but there isn't much to complain about with it because it was a well thought out game. I really did love it. I highly recommend this game. Just be prepared to really WORK for your victory. Stay alert and on your toes or you will not do well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

thinking this was a fun game

posted by darkgod (WILLCOX, AZ) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

well i finnally got my hands on the this epic fable game thinking it would be a cool game to play but the reality of it is simply put you have to stay seated for the most of it the control sceme for the game its self is horibile and you have to get just the right postion in order to do anythiing you spend more time riding a carriage then you do figthing and when you do get to fight you ablitys are the same concept almost like driving the cart and horse they have to be precise in order to attack things when i first got it i was hopeing it would be more along the lines of casting magic spells shooting guns or bows and slashing away at people not one of the better fable games unless your in to driving a cart and horse in a race against time from a gaint looming shadow that can some how magically hurt you in just a few moves and at the end of each fleeing from the gaint shadow you have to repair your wagon and heal a horse which is not an easy task to do either you have to have a lot of patience and children under 6 should not be playing this game espiacialy if they dont want to half to sit there and try to drive at a really fast so in alll m rating this game a 4 it has a lot of rrom that could have been improved into easyiear game play for children who might actually have liked the game if it had simpler controls set up so they could at least play the game with some fun in it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Suprising

posted by Pamd (GLEN LYON, PA) May 15, 2013

Member since May 2013

This was actually a pretty fun game. I really thought it was gonna be lame but after getting the aiming down it was pretty fun. Although it is a short game it had some cool elements to it. It is also pretty cool that you can play it sitting down. Check it out if you just wanna do a random rental or a quick beat game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If someone told you it was good...

posted by Banjo (SUPERIOR, WI) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Then they lied to you, was it your friend? They were just trolling you then. This is by far one of the worst games ever created, to even call it a Fable game is horrendous. Do not go into this game expecting anything but a railroad style game. You have no movement, no decision making, nothing except repeatedly smashing your attack button, that is only spells btw. First time trying a Fable game? Try Fable 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Story

posted by xXG4M5T3RXx (COLVILLE, WA) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This addition to the story of Fable is excellent. Gabriel, guided by Theresa, embarks on a remarkable journey throughout Albion. Once obtaining the Gauntlets Gabriel soon realizes the importance of his role as a Hero destined to stop the Corrupter from once again entering this world. Though the game isn't a classic Fable RPG, it still grasps many qualities from the world we know and love as Albion. The gameplay on the other hand has a few issues. As with all kinect games the sensor is picky with players position, however once you've found the "sweet spot" spellcasting is rather decent. Aiming and driving become effortless. As well as using voice commands or kinect commands to cycle spells. At the least this game is worth playing through for the story, but with a little practice even the gameplay is quite entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great bit of magic and fun on the Kinect

posted by battyjax (HARRISBURG, PA) Feb 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I'm a big fan of the Fable series as well as the Kinect. As a Fable fan, you cannot pick up this game and expect the expansive and rich worlds of the main entries in the series or you will be disappointed. That being said, this is a great little adventure that stays true to the style and design of Fable. Casting spells and solving small puzzles are the highlights of the gameplay which are held together with a great storyline. There are times when the defeating the same enemies and driving the horse carriage become repetitive, but, overall it's a solid gaming experience worthy of renting.

Developers of Kinect games should take note: this is the type of game we want more of! The motion controls run mostly without flaw (though I am having a little trouble with the Magic Shard spell) and it doesn't involve jumping around or running in place and swatting at balls. Even haters of this game must have had some secret glee over throwing fireballs at hordes of Hobbes.

Put it in your Q! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame

posted by NK0 (MAYSVILLE, WV) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Didnt really like this game. its not like the other fables mostly cut seans and driving the wagon around not even worth the time it takes to get it. Got it today and played it for a bit and its now already in my mailbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT BUY

posted by BoomDiggyFresh (GIG HARBOR, WA) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Honestly i love the Fable series and i think its great but this game was even shorter than fable 3. About 6 hours of gameplay. And to top it off you need a kinect sensor to play. Its totals BS because i didn't even spend more than 5+ minutes using it. 2 years of waiting to be greatly disapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Proven Xbox KINECT wrong again...

posted by desolate23 (LAWTON, OK) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game ultimately proves that the kinect is a complete and utter failure. Other games such as, Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor, Dragon Ball Z for Kinect and the 2 aggrovatingly terrible Harry Potter Games have also proven that the kinect is broken and requires more develoment but to stoop this low and steal one of my childhood favorite game series. This games story is fantastic I had no problems with the story but it was the kinect that fought you through the entire game. You'll die more times by the kinect's terrible programming then the enemies themselves. How do you do that kinect. This game doesn't diserve the hate it's the kinect that does. Stop making these games xbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what happened

posted by coderun (SARALAND, AL) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

seriously this franchise should not have made it for the kinect great job on ruining fable. i wish it would have been controller only. just another dissappointing kinect game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse