Rent Fable III for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Fable III

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

20348 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely save the main quest for last...

posted by Threatend (ROUSES POINT, NY) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

110 out of 126 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I, typically, in every game, always try to complete everything prior to the final quest. I've learned from my past mistakes on other titles. But in Fable 3, you're rather forced into completing the final quest (Part 1) to get to the aftershock effects of your decisions in Part 2. Part 1 wasn't bad at all; however, Part 2 is way too short and completely lacks substance and left me asking myself what's the point of continuing?

I had high hopes for Fable 3 and was excited to finally receive it. I dug the last 2 games, but yes they needed work. I was hoping the developers had read and taken to heart the many complaints of many gamers reviewing the previous ones. Well, they may have tried. There weren't as many glitches, that I noticed, but IMO, they fell short in gameplay.

In an attempt to not spoil anything, IMO the side quests are bland, tedious, and repetitive. The main quest, rather Part 2, is way too short and virtually pointless. I don't see any point continuing after the main quest is complete, other than to trying to obtain the weapons, clothing, etc. But, I'm also not one who plays XBox Live. I prefer to remain reclusive and complete a game in its entirety and on my own. Fable 3 forces you to play live in order to open all demon doors, to obtain all weapons and clothing, etc. I'd prefer XBox Live be an option and not a mandate. I didn't play live and therefore wasn't able to complete everything. Argh!

I believe Fable 4 needs more focus, whether on battle or running an empire. The fighting is way too easy and the ruling is quite banal. And, Reaver and Logan need to remain in the end. There just needs to be more focus or something...

It's definitely worth a rental, and I put days of playing time into it and had fun, for the most part, as it is rather funny seeing 2+ wives together in the same room. But I stuffed the game back in the Gamefly envelope yesterday, feeling disappointed yet anxious for Fable 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fable lll OK?

posted by Zorander04 (WALNUT COVE, NC) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I loved the first Fable, and the Second just as well. The third however is not living up to the hipe. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy the game but it has a few problems. Lionhead should have spent a little more time working out the fine details. Nothing major mind you, but if you try to work one of the many jobs prepare to be frustrated. The speed in which you have to keep up with the proper commands will be hindered by the game stalling for just a split second. It will be enough to cause a mistake and back to the low paying starting point you go. This is a problem that shows up a little bit in other areas of the game but doesn't hinder what your trying to do as much. I thought maybe it could be my system but I few friends have had the same problem as well. I agree with one of the other users reviews on one point as well, Lionhead should have kept it mid-evil. Bringing you into the begining of the industrial era does not fit the Fable vibe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NOT for Fable fans!

posted by jafstraycat (THOMPSON FALLS, MT) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Allow me to preface this by saying that I am a huge Fable fan.
I played Fable to death. There were so many different ways to play it.
Fable II? Not bad for a sequel, but not as good as the first. Still... pretty decent over all and stayed true to the original.

Enter Fable III... What the heck was that all about?

If you're a fan of Fable, you probably won't like this one. They totally lost sight of what was so appealing about Fable.
The moral choices you can make are limited. The weaponry, potions, magic, food... all limited in choice and quantity. The missions are mostly trite and pointless. The ability to interact with the people is also very limited.

Fable took me well over a week to finish the first time. Its replay value was immense and ever so fun to make character decisions.

Fable II was worth playing, too. It took less time to finish than Fable, but was worth it. It also had some replay value to see what kind of changes you could make with your character.

Fable III was completed in 12 hours. Replay value is almost nil.

If you're a fan of Fable, you probably will be highly disappointed in this most recent release of the game.
If you've never played Fable, you may like it... but probably not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun but forgettable

posted by FotoMoto (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

34 out of 41 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is fun the first play through. I cannot agree with the statement that this game has high re-playability. Maybe a play through of a second time just to see what the difference would be if you took the opposite moral route, but that's it. The outcome is the same... yes the world looks differently but the outcome is the same. You're left at the end of the game trying to finish whatever quests are remaining then nothing but substantial amounts of boredom after that. You figure why even look for the silver keys, gold keys, chests, demon doors, or gnomes. What reward will I get? Another weapon comparable to the one I already have? New clothes that I can end up buying at the local clothing shop? With 27 legendary weapons of comparable strength in my sanctuary, exploration items are pointless. Therefore never leave the golden sparkling quest trail, it's just a waste of time.

This game is a definite rental.

Glitches. The game is littered with glitches. One was so bad I was perpetually stuck in a certain quest. The quest called "the game." It happened in co-op, after vaulting to the very last part, to continue hobbes spawn in front of you. The enemies never spawned and I was stuck there with no way out. Believe me I checked and re-checked, there was no way out. The game glitched and left me there in a form of fantasy prison. Even loading the last save didn't work because it saved in that area just before the enemy spawn. Since Fable III doesn't allow multiple save points I was stuck forever. I had to start a brand new game. Which you can imagine would be very frustrating after getting so far. This was just one example of many glitches I came across during game-play. Granted the worst of them.

I liked the map and sanctuary but would have liked a quick an easy menu as well. Interacting with people was frustrating in the fact that you cannot choose your expressions like before.

Finally co-op is fixed, there are issues with that too, but I'm out of characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been WAY better...

posted by piggys (HOMEDALE, ID) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

First off, the story is too short and not too exciting. It is very easy to pass (you can beat it in one day). They should have took the time to make this a better game.

They should just make another game like the first one, which is the best one in my opinion. You had to take your time on that one and it was challanging. Whats in a game if you dont get mad on a level thats really hard then finding out you needed to do something a little different?

The side quests are not exciting or really not that funny. All in the end you dont really do a huge battle. It matters how much money you have which isnt exciting at all, so might as well spend all your time doing jobs and buying real estate which is not fun at all. They also made some of the achievements needing you to go on xbox live which is really annoying. It wasn't horrible but, there is a lot of room of improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What happened?

posted by ZipZip509 (LITTLETON, CO) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

38 out of 47 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

So. Fable I and II. Compelling morality choices. Your actions actually have a measurable impact in ongoing gameplay. These games were fun! They were engaging! And the bad guys were scary and really just evil. You knew you had to take them down for the good of all humanity. Unless you were going the evil path yourself, in which case you had to take them down to get them out of your way. Regardless, you knew it was goign to be challenging, rewarding and fun.

Enter Fable III and.... what happened? Save for the very beginning, there are only the barest hints of morale choices. Kill this person... or don't. Either way, no one benefits from their death, or suffers from it - or benefits from their life either. Except that, even though there's no real impact on their lives, somehow the people of Albion decide that this means you are more qualified to lead them than the current king.

Really it just makes me want to play Fable II again. Now that was a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What did you do to the fable?

posted by gamesly (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Heres a list of things wrong with the game considering you liked the fist fable game.

1. No pub games
2. Armor means nothing anymore. theres no worth its just a skin now
3. No rock trolls
4. You can only use 2 spells at once
5. No Boss fights
6. Too many collectables (gnomes,books,keys,clothes and weapons)
7. way too short. even doing all side quest.

I'm sure theres more. Those are just off the top of my head.

Graphics 6/10: Sometimes blurry during cutscenes. Animations get tiresome to watch overtime. people in the Fable world only have 3 ages, bay, toddler and adult. Lvl designs are the only up side to the graphics.

Online 4/10: While the online is better then fable 2's (it couldnt be worse) it still missing alot of things needed to make it good. For instance, both players have to be on the same screen? Really? Threre playing on there own consoles and there own tv's. Why share a screen over live? The visiting player can do nothing but watch as the host does their jobs such as playing the lute and baking. Yes baking.

Gameplay 7/10: The only problem i have with the game play is that it is way too easy. really you can beat the game by continuesly hiting any of the 3 attack button over and over. There is no penalty for dieing either. You could have a hoard of badies half dead and die the game game brings you back to life in the same spot, with the hoard still half dead. (lego game style).

replay value ?/10: It depends if you like replaying games for the soul purpose of getting collectables or not. I mean the best part of the game is the tycoon like gameplay after (spoilers.....) you become King.

I am a huge fan of the fable series. But thats all because Fable TLC was so good. Had i played 2 or 3 first i would have dropped the series a long time ago.

Over all score: 6/10 (and thats being nice out of respect out of what fable once was.)

Rent don't buy. And only if your a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good but not as fun.

posted by Wallace (OZONA, TX) Dec 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

First off this game did allow me to experience a new story but other than that the rest of the game didn't really appeal to me. Some of the stuff i didn't like was how i didn't really have a choice in what expressions i could use, this really annoyed me because when i wanted to randomly roar a bloody devil in front of someone, I was unable to choose seeing it only gave my three random choices of expressions. Also I didn't even change my weapon through out the entire game. In Fable 2, i changed swords, guns, and clothes but in this game I stayed in the same clothes with the same weapons only changing them when the quest said. Altogether this game gets a 6/10 for just a let down from the previous game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too simple, too easy.

posted by Piratespee (HOOD RIVER, OR) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

While there was a good deal of content in this game that could keep you busy for a while, I found it just too easy and not gripping enough to keep me going. I rushed to the end to send it back in.

In addition, the characters don't grab you... the story is weak. Visually, it's very nice, but it lacks depth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's just Fable 2 with minor differences...

posted by Rnzetsuken (FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

It wouldn't really have bothered me if I hadn't already played Fable 2, but the game isn't really innovative; though I wasn't sucked into the storyline, others may have got this game to see what happened next in the Fable Franchise, but I [unfortunately] was not. When I played the game, I'll have to admit that i was evaluating the gameplay above all other things, and honestly I wasn't impressed. The graphics are not bad it gives the game its own feel, the story was ok (No comment), but the gameplay was too similar if not exactly the same as Fable 2's gameplay; the only subtle differences being that to buy property and housing you have to buy upgrades, the same goes for the emotions, combat abilities such as melee, and the levels for jobs. So, if anything at all, the franchise threw progression into a somewhat different form, instead of seeing experience points as experience points, its now just... points or money to upgrade stuff.
Well, besides the failing attempt to put a twist in the progression system, the game was no more different from Fable 2, and to be even more honest, Fable 2 was a better game; it held true to a standard progression system, in which you're felled enemies gave you experience points and you can enhance your character on the spot like a real RPG. So, if you love the story engross yourselves, but if you've played fable 2 and don't care for the story, don't get this game, I ended up forcing myself to finish the thing. HOPE THIS HELPED!!!
<(O.O)> ... "SWOOSH!!!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DonHey Reviews: Fable III

posted by DonHey (FORT MYERS, FL) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

184 out of 242 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

The third installment in the critically-acclaimed Fable series, Fable III continues 50 years where the second game left off. The game is full of side quests, jobs, and new additions that further add to the amazing experience and feeling players get while enjoying Fable games.

Fable III's new "Touch" expressions are certainly a welcome addition to the game. Being able to hug, push, shake hands, and even lead someone to a particular location by holding their hand is a genius concept. It further adds to the "I'm not playing it, I'm living it" experience Fable III so wonderfully gives off.

The combat is still exceptional. Button-mashers and strategic players alike will be able to pick up a controller and dominate (I mean that quite literally, enemies are pretty weak) those nasty monsters and that evil King Logan.

Perhaps the most remarkable thing about Fable III is its story. The game completely engulfed me from the get-go with feelings of sadness and remorse when I see the suffering chicken decide to make a stand, only to be shot down by some grumpy cook. With that opening cutscene, the game launches you down a road of revolution and rulership. The fact that your player character now speaks is also very pleasant. Like in the previous game, your canine companion makes a return to help and entertain you throughout your quests.

The concept of needing followers is very enjoyable. The concept that you get to choose whether or not you keep your made promises to said followers is even more enjoyable. Thanks to the new 3D map, you can see what towns are following you and what the conditions are like in those towns. As well, a massive new continent called Aurora is present in the game, giving new life to the game's setting.

In conclusion, Fable III is a must have. It's ability to make you smile, laugh, and cry is amazing.

Combat: 9 of 10
Story: 10 of 10
Weapon custom.: 8 of 10
Dialogue: 10 of 10
Voice acting: 10 of 10
Graphics: 8 of 10
OVERALL: 10 of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst. Fable. EVER.

posted by LunaSin (BOTHELL, WA) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Fable III is unbelievably disappointing in many aspects, with far too few redeeming qualities. So much so that the irresponsible programmers & developers who took part in its production should be publicly flogged.

The Map System Sucks

1. How hard is it to create some sort of indicator of a player's location on the map??
2. What the... So to use the map system I have push start to go to the Sanctuary, walk up to the map table, then press A, then move the pointer around the map to find a specific area, then press A AGAIN to "zoom" in only to discover it is practically useless for navigation by landmarks, which brings me to...
3. What good is a "fancy" zoom feature if the zoomed in view provides an incomplete, and thus inaccurate, picture??
4. Oh. Em. Geez!! Talk about a TEDIOUS & LABORIOUS way to look at and choose or change available quests!!!
5. Um, could someone PLEASE explain to Lionhead Studios what Fast Travel means, because often when the feature is used (especially in Mistpeak Valley) I end up MILES away from my currently set target. And as if that isn't annoying enough, I then have to fight the same wolves and mercenaries at the same spawn points over and over again to get to my destination.

I could go on, but you get the picture...

Difficulty settings would be nice...the combat is repetitive and far too easy.

What is up with the NPCs? Holy cow are they unattractive, and supremely insipid conversationalists to boot. What a let down. On a related note, what happened to the Expression Wheel, Lionhead?! Could the Expression interactions BE any more repetitive and BORING?? What happened to giving the player CHOICES??

Oh, and what is up with...

- the Dog getting stuck in walls, trees, etc?
- the bread crumb trail taking 4EVER to change targets, or disappearing altogether?

In summary, I think Lionhead should change their name to Lazyhead because Fable III is nothing if not a prime example of SLOUCH programming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

RPG?

posted by SWATmaster (SAINT PAUL, MN) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This is no RPG, the game deserves the title of Hack & Slash or Action Adventure every single RPG element has been removed from this game.

The whole game has been reduced to levels or stupidity that you cannot imagine, the only part of this game that was even remotely fun were the side quests and that was only because for the most part they were funny.

This is what happens when you try to appeal to two audiences. You ruined this series for me and you turned this "RPG" into the dullest experience I have ever endured.

P.S. Whats with 80% of the game being loading screens?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game-Breaking Glitches overcome Fun

posted by happythug (VANCOUVER, WA) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2007

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the other fable, but even before the glitches start working their evil, you will find many reasons for sadness.

While I must admit, the Graphics are great, and the music is fine. After that, everything starts to disintegrate.

Most annoying is that the developers decided to do away with any sort of useful menu. You may no longer manage inventory, equipment, quests or anything besides game settings via a menu. This is now all accomplished by warping back to your home base, traveling through different rooms, and then finally sorting through your items and equipment, switching them in and out, etc. It is one of the most convoluted and clunky forms of inventory management I've ever seen and is twice as annoying in co-op. If one person wants to mess with their spells or equipment, you both have to warp back to the base together. Having zero quest tracker makes doing sidequests very difficult and is odd 'cause this feature was included in previous iterations. I get the vibe that they were trying to make it realistic and more immersive, but it only succeeds in making it more cantankerous and slow-paced.

Story-wise... well I didn't make it too far before a completely game-wrecking glitch invaded my save game PERMANENTLY. It did seem a lot weaker than the last couple of games. Things start without enough back-story to support the events that are currently happening, making you not really care about what's going on.

Fable III is GLITCHY, especially co-op. Quest glitches, inventory glitches, all kinds of things that can, at best cause you to reload yer game, and at worst force you to start over from the beginning entirely.

DLC is an insulting treasure trove of garbage. A multitude of cosmetic items with zero functionality and a hefty price-tag. Be careful if you decide to buy one, because your friends will not be able to play with you unless they also buy them and they all have obscene memory requirements.

3 out of 10, higher w/o glitches

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

severly broken game

posted by MadMethods (DUBLIN, CA) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This is basically an unfinished game. It was as if it was not tested to any specification. I will NEVER play or rent another Molineux game because of this. I was expecting this game to be as better as Fable 2 was to Fable 1, but this game is just about the same as Fable 1: Short, badly made but with potential. If you loved the Fable series so far, prepare to have your heart broken because the bad FAR exceeds the good:

BAD
1. no character creation, just get to pick male/female.
2. Albion seems MUCH smaller.
3. Magic system is MASSIVELY dumbed down.
4. Interaction with npc's is supremely simplified and stupid. I do not want to continuously dance with guys.
5. SHORT. Reminded me of Fable 1 in length..."done already? I thought I was half way there, not there already.
6. Horrid frame rate, I have never seen screen ghosting this bad.
7. The golden trail is either behind you most of the time or TAKES YOU IN A WAAAAAAY DIFFERENT DIRECTION than where you are supposed to go.
8. The instant travel will take you to the edge of an area when it SHOULD take you to a city... so you have to run quite a ways often.
9. Collision models are off. You stop DEAD when you run into a person or object rather than sliding past.
10. There is no linking of F2 to the current game, in so much that it doesn't matter WHAT you did in F2, it HAS NO BEARING on F3... even if you were evil and decimated the world of F2, it's all good in F3. Given F2's continuity though time... F3 is a giant dissappointment.
11. Property management is a nightmare. Maintaining upkeep on houses INDIVIDUALLY is annoying. Be prepared to spend HOURS doing this.
12. the demon/angel "wings" show up at the last 5 min of game...

GOOD:.... ummmm...weapons changing depending on your alignment is neat... that's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Think about it

posted by Sharpie333 (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Things they should change:
Change sprint from A to RB (Right Bumper)
Take the dog out or fix it, it was cool in Fable 2 I guess but I find myself staring at my dog for 5 minutes waiting for him to stop pacing back and forth and finally start digging. Wouldn't have this problem in the Original Fable.
When using the map you should be able to repair all buildings you own not individually repairing each one.

The story almost feels like Dragon Age Origins with a Fable twist to it. Let's Compare:

Dragon age bad king = Loghain
Fable 3 bad king = Logan

Dragon age = Build an army
Fable 3 = Build an army

Fable 3 Conflict = Evil Shadows
Dragon age Conflict = Darkspawn

Don't get me wrong I loved both of these games but Fable feels like it's trying to hard, for example they take all the HUD out of Fable in the second installment and introduce a glowing trail that usually doesn't even show up on the screen. I don't know about you but I don't like wasting time in a video game when I'm already wasting time playing the video game. Peter Molyneux needs to stop coming up with these innovative ideas that should be in a kids game and start thinking about why the original Fable was so great. In my opinion the reason why Fable was so great was because the decisions you make reflect upon what happens to the characters you develop relationships with throughout the game. That's probably why they give you a dog, everyone loves dogs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Whatever Peter said was in this, isnt.

posted by gameplayer (SALINAS, CA) Nov 10, 2010

Member since May 2006

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

1. When you become King/Queen there is no dungeon that you can throw people into. He said there would be.
2. The choices you make as king are very few, and scripted. When you are king its just like one big quest. Very linear, just a couple choices and then when you reach 121 days until the attack from the Darkness, boom it skips right to the battle so you have no time to prepare and you think you will have more choices to make, this will make more sense why its annoying once you get to this part.
3. Lack of variety in everything. You get 2 choices of weapon types for ranged and meelee. Guns pistols, maces and swords. And there is a total of about 10 different clothing sets and 8 of them look stupid or boring.
4. Morphing system is a big let down, either it takes forever for a regular weapon (there are only 4 regular weapons aprox.) to morph or it doesnt happen. Legendary weapons (4 of them) will always morph the same way.
5. The Quests are fun but there are very few of them. The side quests get tedious and are all variations of the same thing.
6. Your kids again stay the same age.
7. Interacting with people gets very tedius due to the amount of time it takes to do one expression (theres only 3 expressions for good evil or middle) also you can no longer do a mass expression, and you can only do them if you are locked on to someone else, also no camera control and no lute, just a good/evil/medium option which you cant change.
8. Theres only couple ways you can change the environments look, which are by the few choices you make as king.
Finally once you beat the game (kill the darkness) you are left with an unpopulated, boring landscape with nothing to do, you have no power, and those who are left, hate you. So being good will just leave you bored.
This game could have been the best with the "power" idea, but you really dont have any whatsoever.
These are just some bad things about the game, there are good things, but I was dissapointed. Rent it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game, unpolished.

posted by Woeden (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that I LIKE the Fable series. They are good games, with good, if perhaps ill defined ideas about ethical choices influencing play.
While I enjoyed Fable III for many of the reasons that I enjoyed the first two (engaging combat, a solid story) There are a few elements that bothered me enough that I felt like they ruined the game for me. WARNING: End game spoiler ahead.
1) Save features. Or rather, lack of them. You do not get "save slots" per se, but instead get the option to save your game at any time, but that save can be overwritten by auto saves! Without warning! I mean, come on, Lionhead studios. how hard is it to put in a save slot feature? If there was a way to establish multiple save points I never found it, and even if there was, shame on the game for not showing me how to do it. Which leads into my next complaint:
2) Stupid ending. So I chose to be good, honoring my promises, leveling the minimum of tyrannical decisions (although I did turn the orphanage into a whorehose, both because it netted a cool 1mil for my emaciated treasury, and, you know, boobs.) and prepared myself to dig in for a long process of questing and buying property to make up the 5 million shortfall for the coffers. Little did I know that, although you have "365 days" to make the money, each "day" of work ends up being several months. In measures of time that are MUCH DIFFERENT EACH TIME. So the first skip is like 30 days. the next is 60. As is the next one. And then the next one takes you from "121 days until invasion" straight to "OH GOD SHADOW MONSTERS ARE EATING EVERYTHING."
no warning.
no notice.
autosave overwrote my previous save game, so I was stuck ruling over a country where 85% of the people had been murdered in their beds by boogymen.
Bowerstone was a ghost town, and the worst part? THE ONLY PERSON LEFT ALIVE IN MY WHOREHOUSE WAS A GUY.
3) combat framerate slowdowns. It's like a slow potion, except annoying and all the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fable III - Great but repetitive

posted by nvsblmchn (WORCESTER, MA) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This is a gorgeous game, and a lot of fun, but you soon realize your magic powers can kill everything, and it becomes more button mashing. the AI isn't particularly deadly, i have never died in the game, despite getting health potions etc. i am also on the fence about the more "civilization" style of the second half of the game. i would have probably preferred to not have to play it for completion. that being said, its a lot of fun and worth renting for a weekend. if i did it again i would say buy real estate early. i just spent too long buying up all of the houses and business in the kingdom to get through the ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by kittiefae (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

16 out of 21 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

My favorite thing about this game is that the main characters look MUCH better than the ones in Fable II. Now if we could just have NPCs within the game that were of comparable size, so my female character doesn't have to marry someone who's so much smaller than her. Some of us have height requirements, after all.

While this game is fun, I won't go so far as to say it's better than Fable II. There are new elements I like, such as: hand-holding, managing your real estate through the map menu, new magic system, the Bat Cave, the lack of other other heroes and being able to have my butler decorate my house for me. However, there are some things I think ought not have been changed: it is now far too difficult to cultivate relationships w/ NPCs, the short loading before and after actions with NPCs becomes a nusiance, it isn't easy enough to use or view your items and there aren't detailed enough character statistics.

Some of my complaints have remained the same since the first Fable:
there should be more real, involved sidequests (not just fetch quests), the games are far too short, the good/evil decision making should be more ambiguous, and I should be able to have additional families in other towns without my first spouse finding out about it. Also, I would like to have the option to kill my kid when he starts mouthing off. Please, Lionhead Studios, make a Fable that is over 80 hours of REAL content...this is no serious RPG, but it should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wrong Direction

posted by jbruggs (DAYTON, OH) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

18 out of 25 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

I loved the origional Fable, the medevil theme and such, good vs evil. So when fable 2 came out with guns, I was a little let down, but the game had so much new stuff like the dog and better graphics I didn't mind so much. But fable 3 really didn't do anything too far from the 2nd, and although this new fable has a good vs evil element, it also puts huge emphasis on politics, greed, and corruption. which at times can deviate too much from the good vs evil aspect. The graphic quality is about the same, and there was hardley any new music, which I truely am a great fan of. For example, the Bowerlake theme from Fable 2 is simply enchanting, and yet this new fable sparsely adds anything new to the soundtrack. The combat gameplay is about the same, upgrading your character is new and it blends well with the theme of the story. The dog however takes a backseat to the new "dynamic Touch", which really was not much of a mind blower. A player could get through the entire game with only having used it a few times. But what I found truely annoying was the new design for the map/menu layout. It really can become a pain when its not your pause screen, mabye I'm biased on this but I just found it to be quite unecessary. The story itself didn't keep me too interested, never builds a huge climax, I found my self beating it just to be done. There are a few key quests and times when I enjoyed it, but they were too far apart to really appreciate. some of the most enjoyable moments are when you have to make descions as a king that actually HAVE a consequence, any they go quick enough to keep you interested.

My rating is 6.5 to 7. Fable 3 is a good game, but what made it drop is the core of fable 1 being slowley stripped away with each new installment. In my opinion Lionhead needs to take a step back and thing about what make the first fable so amazing and build off of those foundations, not take things in a direction that lacks appeal or leaves an impression.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I dont see how this game got this high of a review

posted by cman (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is soooooooo boring. (note all the "o"s) It is so linear, to the extent that through the game their is a line that guides you through the game. You may think the line is helpful, but outside the city, almost everywhere, there is only a single path to take. Maybe its because I try to play only good games, but this was by far the worst game I have played in YEARS. The only fun part was turning off "safe mode" and kill innocent humans, but there are still some you cannot kill. I always finish the games I receive, but this was so bad I did not even finish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Way to easy

posted by Pacman187 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

If you thought fable 2 was easy this one takes the cake. While there are some creative ideas the game doesn't make itself even a little challenging or try to push you to be a better player. I died a total of 4 times and that was just because I was being lazy. The final battle is a joke didn't come close to dying I never bought any potions only used a handfull of them. While the game could have been phenomenal it and fable 2 while technically better than the first (fighting is less frustrating) miss out on the magic of the first. I remember waiting til midnight to sacrifice it still makes me feel dirty thinking about it. Not one did I feel immersed like I did in the first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth Playing

posted by TheEore (COVINGTON, GA) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is a good game, but it does have a some flaws. That said, the few things that were wrong did not mess up the overall game play.

I did like the new sanctuary set-up, it definitely made managing property and questing easier. I also liked how the map gave you more options of where you could "Fast Travel." The way the sanctuary organized your clothes, weapons and trophies was also helpful. But, I did not like how you needed to go to the sanctuary to access the Options menu and check your Hero status, which is not a game breaker for me.

The main storyline, I felt, was a little too short (done in 11hrs.) Yes, if you play the game just to finish the main story the game will flyby. For me, that's not what the Fable series is about. You need to explore and do different quest outside of the main questline. I liked the Dark Sanctum, Ghost Brothers, along with the Assassination quests. The one thing I didn't like is how the game almost leads you away from being evil.

Magic is again the best option for taking down multitudes of enemies; it's like that with every game imo. I did like how they gave you the ability to combine certain spells (Fire tornado ftw.)

They did simplify Range which I didn't like. I loved being able to pick which part I wanted to shoot, like in Fable 2. But Range is still powerful and being able to pick people off from a distance is always fun.

Melee is still the least powerful, but still good to use on certain occasions. The slow motion killing scenes are funny to watch every now and then.

Not having a health bar really doesn't affect the game play seeing as the screen starts growing progressively red as you get closer to getting knocked out.

The game is definitely worth playing and imo on the same level as the previous Fable games. Good job Lionhead with another great installment to the Fable series!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Series keeps going downhill

posted by Newfoundma (DAWSONVILLE, GA) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I have three positive things to say about it. (1) The Hero weapons that change their looks with your weapon level / Alignment are cool. (2) There's a really neat game play section that involves a cave. (3) i found myself being semi-attached to the characters and parts of the quirky world. Other than that this game is very bland. The Combat feels less involved than previously because you get "general" points to use in whatever skills you want versus the "melee gives you melee points" system in 1+2. The game is ridiculously short, meaning if you aren't bad you could easily beat it in about 6-7 hours. There isn't enough extra stuff to do and doing it doesn't seem very fulfilling. Your actions don't feel like they have much of a consequence outside of the story-mode "good or evil action" sequences. Overall, if you're a fan of the series like myself, I'd say grab it but don't get your hopes up. This could be so much more than it is but it falls just short in to many areas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse