Rent Fable Anniversary for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Fable Anniversary

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $24.99

GF Rating
7.2

616 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

The Game Itself is Good..

posted by Mudaro (RICEVILLE, TN) Mar 2, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

..But unfortunately it doesn't seem they did enough bug testing before they sent this game out, because everyone is experiencing low FPS drops and Xbox freezing. I've read that most if not all players are having their Xbox freeze after about 30 minutes of playing. I loved the original Fable and technically speaking the game is very well executed and lives up to the original, but the lag and freezing renders the game unplayable (as said by someone else). Maybe they are able to eventually fix and patch the game, and it will one day run smooth without freezing, but until then I give this a 3 rating. The game itself I would give a 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very poor frame rates render the game unplayable

posted by Phatsnake (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I hope the game gets patched, but as of right now Fable Anniversary struggles to stay in a playable frames rate. The base FPS is low and it constantly drops to what feels like single digits. It feels like a slideshow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Remake

posted by CrazyGamer2186 (LUCERNE VALLEY, CA) Apr 26, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fable has been one of those series that is hailed for great game ideas but does it in one of those if it is a gem that you like or don't like kind of game. In 2004 it debuted on the original xbox to both great fanfare and let downs but in the end became a great decent series on the xbox systems. Anyway this is a great remake besides Halo Combat Evolved for Xbox 360.

Story is the same you a hero who loses his family and has to stop a great threat know as Jack of Blades from rebuilding the world in his evil image that everyone knows back in the day. The game also bundles the Lost Chapters content to. With the upgraded graphics the game story and presentation is way better than it was 10 years ago.

Gameplay is largely the same as before but with a bit of a few new touches. It has the 360 achievements, one of which is made by a game fan which is cool. Another is combat is a bit more fluid but still clunky as it was back in the day. Save system is a more simplified checkpoint and autosaves with also a manual saves at anytime instead of the annoying world save and hero save system of before. (one which saves the game as it was before and the other as a lame checkpoint) Besides all that it is the same as it was before.

Graphics and sound gets an upgrade. Lionhead Studios made use of the Unreal 3 Engine to give the game a great makeover. Graphics is at a 1080p 30 frames a second but once in a while the frame rate does take a little hit. Also the game is not really made for anything but a HDTV. Both is not that bad. Sound is a great remastered 5.1 surround mix that is just great both music and audio wise.

All in all this is a great remake and is great for all fans of the fable series. If you are looking for a great RPG game then this would be a decent try, unless you want something more than easy than this is not that RPG then.

Overall I give this game a complete 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great HD Remake!!

posted by djaycardona (VENTNOR CITY, NJ) Feb 10, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

After originally playing this game years ago on the original X-Box i have to say that i really am enjoying this game. Its been so long that i have forgot everything and it feels almost as if im playing a brand new game. Im playing this since there are no games out right now available for my ps4 or xbox one. Im counting on this and final fantasy 13 to last me untill titan fall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

My experience

posted by UsernameOb1 (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Aug 17, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

The gamesis a sheer and utter disgrace .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

meeeh.

posted by H_I_M (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jul 23, 2014

Member since May 2013

I didn't find this game entertaining. i did like the story line but the quest were kind of random and it wasn't really fun to play for me. it was pretty and colorful though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poorly done remake of classic

posted by TimeRacer (YATESVILLE, GA) Jul 19, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

Another game that illustrates why a service like Gamefly is so valuable. If I were to have purchased this game at full price I'd be furious. It's shocking to me that software this prone to freezing could ever make it out of testing. You expect more from MS than that.

You're much better off just buying the original Xbox version off the marketplace. It runs much better and is considerably cheaper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fable...

posted by FangTheKiller (CHICHESTER, NH) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

One of my favorite games of all time, I would play it over and over again for the rest of my life. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is trash

posted by alucard2123 (BENNETTSVILLE, SC) Jul 10, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

i like fable but this is retarted a remake of the first one i thought it was a whole new fable but i was wrong all they did was inprove the game play and add achievements i had the game one day and sent it back i was very disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could Not Finish

posted by Hamelvich (DECATUR, GA) Jun 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I played through about half of the game and suffered through constant glitches and at least 3 freezes on my xbox. My play through ended with me attempting a mission that i wasn't capable of completing with current gear and skill points, so my only option was to load a really old save or start the game over. Being as impatient as i am i just quit at the idea of redoing all the missions i had already done. This game isn't awful its just really buggy and i warn you that these bugs can be very frustrating, and also keep a recent backup save if you plan to play this. I would only suggest playing this if you are a fan of the fable series otherwise it will feel like an awful dated rpg.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's the HD version

posted by CaptMagnifico (THORNTON, CO) May 23, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

This review is a super simple one to do. If you liked the original Fable you will like this. If you missed the original Fable you might just want to rent this and find out if you are going to actually like it.

Fable has the most typical cliche story known to man. Boy's family is killed, boy swears revenge after going to magical Harry Potter Jedi school. The story along with the voice acting is below par by far. I just want to make sure you people don't expect Witcher quality RPG story telling here.

The gameplay is fun and easy, and it is perfect for people who are new to RPGs. This game is RPG light it has a small easy to understand level up mechanic. The combat is simple and fun. The game isn't ever too hard but not super easy you can play with your toes. It is a fun game. This game will try and give you the illusion that you have a impact on the world but you really don't. You can be evil or good, or even neutral. But if you are going to kill a character they won't show up regardless if you kill them or spare them. This has a very last generation feel to it.

The games graphics have greatly improved from the original. Unlike most HD re-releases they took the time to carefully put everything into the Unreal engine. It isn't a bad looking game but it is no next generation either.

If you like the Fable series this is a no brainer to play this game. If you have heard about it by all means rent it and see if this is your cup of tea. I played the original and loved it, this was a nice throwback for me. It is a very flawed game but I can't help but to like this game a bunch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A nice revisit

posted by KnucklesThe3rd (ANAHEIM, CA) May 8, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

Its was great to revisit the first game. The nostalgia factor is obvious here, but nonetheless made remember what I liked about the Fable series. And now with this remaster, it was refreshing to revisit this series' humble beginnings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fable the crash edition!!! Dead on arrival!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) May 8, 2014

Member since May 2010

This game crashes and it randomly locks up over simple things like simply walking from place to place... the characters now look quite weird, in fact, they actually look stranger than they did before... At least the original Xbox version was at least playable! If you can't get the most basic ability down which is walking, then you have royally screwed up! the original Xbox game can be played on the 360, but playing it on the native Original Xbox is okay too because at least it was playable... The original Fable was a disappointment back in its day on the original Xbox, and the series has had a bad track record ever since.. Now they can't even get simple thing like "walking" down without crashing the game! I am tempted to ask, "Was the Fable series ever any good?????" "Was the Fable series ever without disappointment??" the Original Fable was a fluke to work as well as it did... This game is a rental at best... Or if you are curious then at least try before you buy! Personally, I wouldn't blame you if you didn't even bother to do either!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fable

posted by Fableman (GROVERTOWN, IN) May 4, 2014

Member since May 2014

I don't think this game is that great compared to fable 3. I always thought newer games suppose to be better. but i guess im wrong

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best RPG ever

posted by guitarslay3r (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 16, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

If you like fantasy/medieval game, then you will most likely love this game! It has all of the elements of a great fantasy game plus a few added suprises along the way! Fable Anniversary addition is a revamped and prettier version of the original fable, but with six missions added on in a part called "The lost chapters" There are boss battles in this game, but unlike most games they are no where near as frustrating, just make sure you have a lot of health potions for most of them. This is DEFIANTLY worth a rent, the only reason I don't buy it is because i've gotten most achievements in the first playthrough and there's no online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but glitchy

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) Apr 15, 2014

Member since May 2011

Good game overall...nice to finally play the first in the series (never played it on the regular Xbox). The game seems to be pretty unstable - had it hang on me 5 or 6 times randomly. Good variety of quests....visually appealing art style. Decent story. Voice acting is OK. Weapons and armor seem to be pretty limited. UI can be somewhat confusing at times. Menu/inventory can be confusing and difficult to navigate (for instance, does not tell you what items you are currently wearing when selling items at a shop). Selling items is kind of annoying because it's rare that you will find a place that will actually buy what you are trying to get rid of.

Overall, definitely worth a playthrough if you like this type of game, and even moreso if you enjoyed Fable 2 and 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just as you remember it...

posted by 00cappello (MONETA, VA) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

If you've ever played the original Fable, then you are really not missing out on much. The graphics are a little better, if you're okay with clunky frame-rates. A few more features have been added, along with an expansion that includes a new map that was not in the original Fable.

Honestly, I would personally consider Fable: Anniversary more of a "patch" or "update" to the the original Fable. It's just has a few (literally, a very limited number) of new features. That is it...

I would recommend this game to those who have not had the chance to play the original Fable because the story line is good, although do not expect too much else from it if you are a gamer from this era. I would also recommend it to those who wish to revisit the "good old days" of Fable. Just be warned, it's almost exactly as you remembered it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad so called redo

posted by drifter848 (RED HOOK, NY) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

to call this remastered and to charge 50 dollars for this is criminal the framerate is so bad its literly like playing a slideshow they didn't do enough to this to warrant 40 for a game you can buy from the bargain bin for 99 cents remember the old good memories from the original and leave this alone or youll ruin those fond memories lionshead after fable3 has been one mess and rip off after another I loved 1 and 2 and liked 3 but thiey have lost any credibility as a aaa top tier developer time for them to resign from rpgs and make bad Kinect titles

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Fable Better Left Untold

posted by Breazy (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Mar 27, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

Fable Anniversary is another game in the recent run of "HD Remakes" from generations past. Unfortunately, it's one of the weakest I've played and is a good reminder that sometimes games are better left in your memory.

If you aren't familiar with Fable, it's an action game with light RPG elements scattered in. Choices are big in Fable. Just about every decision/action you make is weighed on a morality scale, ultimately leading to an evil, good, or neutral version of your hero. If you're the type to save a pokey puppy, you'll be adored by the citizens of Albion. If you're the type to kick that puppy, citizens will cower in fear and boo. You may have noticed I didn't lead with story...that's because it's really a throwaway to give you a reason to explore the systems within the game. The game runs around 8-12 hours depending on your play style.

If all this sounds good, well, it is. The problem is the game hasn't aged well, particularly in the mechanical department. Combat is still sluggish/mashy-boring and the camera can be outright frustrating in tight areas. There were times where I felt like returning the game because I was so annoyed with the combat while fighting a hoard of blocking enemies. Leveling up is simplistic. Graphics are better than the original Fable, but pale in comparison to newer releases on the aged Xbox 360. It should also be noted that the game completely locked up my Xbox 360 two times while playing, which has been noted in other reviews. Thank goodness for autosave.

Fable Anniversary, much like the original, is a game that strives to be something great but falls short of that goal. It's a fable better left untold.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A worthy title!

posted by Chase616 (COLONIAL HEIGHTS, VA) Mar 14, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

True to the original, this game is a fun rampage through Albion. Choose your hero's destiny and make him good or evil. Refined controls and updated graphics go a long way towards making this game a bit more worthy than it's original version, though some occasional freezing and a wholly worthless Xbox 360 Smartglass app leave a bit to be desired. Anyone looking for a fun action-adventure title simply must try Fable Anniversary!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

bad game

posted by catfam (TURTLE CREEK, PA) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I thought this game would be a follow up to the last fable game but it looks and plays like a 90's game what a miss lead on what your getting hope no one bought it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really nice

posted by Boooooo (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 15, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Bit laggy but story and everything else is wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by duxor48 (BUCKEYE, AZ) Feb 13, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I rented this game despite only playing Fable 3. Fable 3 was one of the worst games I have ever tried. Saying that I still rented this game because I heard 1 and 2 were better and wanted to try it. I received the game on Monday and sent it back on Wednesday. The game had bad graphics and terrible loading times. The gameplay is confusing with the controls and the D-Pad selection. Also, you can't explore like you can in other games- there is a path that you have to follow. The enemies are wasps, trolls, and bandits from where I got too. Character development is weak- the main character doesn't talk or even make faces when talked to. They should have made a new Fable game instead of wasting their time on a redone Fable 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just bad

posted by Darkanda316 (LAKEWOOD, WA) Feb 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

i remember the original and between a poor story and bad game play it wasn't with the $10 used copy price ... The HD remake is no different

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »