Rent FIFA Soccer 11 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

FIFA Soccer 11

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2, PS3, PSP Games, Wii
GF Rating
8.2

1740 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great improvement

posted by kushism (IRVINE, CA) Sep 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

As a lifelong FIFA connoisseur, im quick to notice the changes from game to game. When World Cup came out, it was a wierd change from FIFA 10, but 11 is perfection. The way the players move are so lifelike, and now players will actually put up a fight against each other when going for the ball. The graphics are also much crisper and vibrant. The announcers are boring as usual, but with new quotes this year, it makes the game a little more interesting and funny.
There are two new features which I thought were a great touch to FIFA this year. First, the Be a Pro: Goalie mode, is epic. You play as the goalie, and when you're facing Messi coming at you, it gets your heart racing not knowing which way to dive. Second, the game now has a Highlight mode, so after your games, you can actually check out your nice goals or saves.

FIFA 11 is very close to being perfect. 99.9% perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

2 Steps Forward, 4 Steps Back...

posted by LokiXIII (STATESBORO, GA) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

As poor of a score I gave the game, remember this is cumulative. The multi-player of Fifa 11 is absolutely amazing. They did an awesome job on it. In fact, if you plan to play this online or with friends, I HIGHLY recommend picking this up until Fifa 12 comes out. The play is much more organic from Fifa 10, and the ability to go 11 vs 11 with virtual pros is crazy good (especially if you have friends online with you).

That said, single-player is horrible. To be honest I'm not even sure EA bothered testing their single-player side of things. The higher difficulty you put the game on the more flat every player's talent levels become. I'm sure this was to prevent people from leveling up their virtual pros by playing garbage teams, but it takes all the fun out of the game. When your pro is and 85 and is being chased down and stripped with ease by a 55 it raises some questions. The ref AI for solo play is also horrible. This in no small part is due to the lack of collision detection in single-player. I've seen opposing players' legs pass right through my own player's to make a steal, though my favorite was losing a 50-50 in the air as the opposing player headed the ball through my chest. Even though these have been issues for years now, I can stomach it (though, I really would rather see those issues fixed rather than being able to see a more photo-realistic Rooney year after year). What I can't stomach is what they did with "Become a Pro". One reviewer on here said "there's not much change". Clearly we are playing different titles. They've removed your character being called up by his national team; there is no resting your player unless you're borderline dead (and stamina requirements get lower at Fan Fave, Captain, etc.) which will cause you to miss big games for your team due to fatigue from playing in needless games; and unless you choose "Player-Manager Mode" there is no control over your team even as a captain. And, Player-Managers are a pain for changing teams.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best soccer title

posted by ipwn007 (MOUNTAIN HOME AFB, ID) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

There are several new features this year which improve on the series' already solid core game. Personality+ is EA's way of representing players more accurately on the pitch. Basically the intention was to make small fast players look and feel differently than larger, stronger players and a player's physique and real life personality will determine how they behave in the game. EA have also reworked Manager Mode and Play as a Pro mode. In FIFA 11 they are combined into a single mode called Career Mode. In Career Mode you can choose to play as a player, a player-manager or simply a manager. Choosing to play as a player is basically Play as a Pro, however after your career as a player ends you can transition into a manager for a more complete experience. Player-manager mode is what it sounds like, your virtual pro plays for your club but also manages it.

Gameplay on the pitch is as good as ever as well. Passing and crossing have been improved which make the game more strategic and realistic. In FIFA 11 you can have either strict or lenient referees which will be announced at the start of each match. It's a novelty but it does add some variety to the game. All of the action on the field is smooth and it looks and feels just right, especially if you've enjoyed the past games. One downside is the AI which oftentimes does not play as it should (for example AI players rarely go after a bad pass so you have to manually take control to run after a slow or off target pass).

Overall the game is enjoyable and I'll be playing it a lot throughout the soccer season. One note, if you wish to access online multiplayer you will need a passcode made available to those who purchase the game new (as EA has been doing with it's other sports titles). If you plan to buy the game used you will need to purchase a code for $10 (effectively negating the benefit of buying the game used). If you rent the game you can obtain a temporary trial (only available to you once) to play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great footballing action

posted by Jimbot (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been into FIFA and other football (soccer) games every year they come out and I can definitively say that this is the best authentic football (soccer) gameplay of any game yet. It may be the best overall gameplay experience, especially in the sense of realism, that any sports game has ever produced. Absolutely awesome.

Frankly, the only thing that I didn't like about the game particularly is the only thing keeping it from a '10' rating, which is that I don't care for the big changes made to career/manager mode. I spent the large majority of the time in my FIFA history building a club year over year, and FIFA '11 doesn't make the experience nearly as fun, intuitive, nor rewarding as in the past. It is too overly focused on an individual player and also gives little to no choice in how they develop. Whereas before you get experience points for every player on the club to spend as you please, you now get attribute boosts based on specific challenges you do with your own player and no control over how the rest of the team improves. I don't know why they thought this was broken and in need of an overhaul, but it is my only real complaint and the only reason I'm not logging SERIOUS time into this game anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME, could be even better if not for problems

posted by EvertonFC (BELLA VISTA, AR) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

With so many improvements touted by EA for this year's edition of FIFA, my friends and I were beyond excited for FIFA 11. We were particularly excited about the increased passing difficulty as we were tired of getting thrashed by impossible 180 degree turn, no-look, 40-yard passes... however while this was improved, there are a multitude of other problems (some seen in previous versions, some new) that continue to frustrate me beyond comprehension.

That being said, I will start by saying I am a huge football fan and the FIFA games by EA is the franchise I enjoy playing the most. I like the features in FIFA more than any other football game, and the graphics and player movements (although maybe a little slow) are very realistic and well-done. The celebrations in FIFA 11 are outstanding and the overall game play experience I really do love.

The biggest problems are the online issues and difficulties that you go through every time you try to play any online game modes. In the first couple weeks following the game's release, it was near impossible to get matched up with another team while playing as your virtual pro. Over time this has become less of a problem, however my club still routinely has problems finding and matching us up with another club to play, we sometimes spend 5+ minutes searching. Then when we do find a club and start a match, FAR too often someone playing ends up getting dropped from the match. The person is random every time and is not having any other internet connection-related issues.

Offsides is outrageously frustrating and is called almost automatically regardless if the ball ever makes it anywhere near the player who is offside. If a player attempts to pass the ball to an offsides player, but the defense intercepts the pass 10 yards or more before the ball ever makes it to the offsides player, most often play stops and offsides is called, even though this is clearly NOT offside since the offending player never received the ball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great as long as you have online

posted by CThunder (EASTON, PA) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

FIFA soccer has pride it self for 2 years with its be a pro mode. I think its great and taking yourself online is awesome... but if you plan to hold it for 15 days, your online trial shall expire. Online is so much fun. Pro Ranked or Pro Clubs is exciting. Especially if you have a few friends who have it. Career mode is the same as before, nothing too different. The accomplishments and achievements are somewhat difficult. Some are super easy, some are down right impossible, unless you have someone who can help. Though, great game and worth while to grab.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Annoying gameplay and past bugs return.

posted by sunsptiens (JONESBORO, GA) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2003

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I admire EA's attempt to stop the "ping pong passing" that plaqued FIFA 2010. But I'm not sure if the new passing actually does the game a disservice. Players not being passed to or directly involved in the play have no idea whats going on on the field, therefore if you are passing ahead and don't put enough pace on the ball, you will likely see one or two of your players just watch the ball get stolen; even though they are in position get possession. Pretty frustrating stuff.

Most frustrating for me is the return of the system lock ups. FIFA continues to be the only game capable of locking up my entire Xbox about 1 of every 6 online team matches that participate in. Unfortunately, the lock ups for me haven't been limited to online team play, it also happened in single player tourney mode. Just as it did in FIFA 2009 and FIFA 2010. :-(. For a game that is pretty much a re-branding of last years game, I was really expecting this bug to finally be resolved.

I don't watch enough soccer to reap the benefits of personality plus. So I was just hoping for more international teams (at least all the world cup 2010 teams). But instead its the EXACT same roster from last years game.

It might not seem like it from my review so far, but there is a lot to like about FIFA but being that its basically the same game as last year, it would be redundant to revisit the same exact things that I mentioned I liked a year ago.

If EA can some how stop this game from locking up my Xbox when playing I play my favorite mode (online team play) and in tourney mode then this game is a solid 8-8.5 but I can't ignore such a glaring fault. Especially one that they've known about since FIFA 2009.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FIFA 11

posted by PistolPete5150 (BRISTOL, RI) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

AWESOME!!!!
graphics, realism, fluid character movement. Its got it all.
Go Liverpool! YNWA!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game didn't work

posted by mystic0329 (ODESSA, TX) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I received the game my son put it on his xbox and didn't work so I'm returning it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fifa 11

posted by progamer88 (BAYSIDE, NY) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

this game is amazing it has good graphics and you can play for hours and not get board of it i love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game but Fixes needed....

posted by ATLKINGCATL (EWA BEACH, HI) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

So i have been playing FIFA for as long as i can remember. Every year it gets better but this year they went all in on the multiplayer and forgot about the single player aspect which in some realm of discussion is quite frustrating. Who's friends are on everytime you want to play FIFA? Not mine so therefore it is needed that the single player be worthwhile as well. I noticed a gang of glitches in the game. I.E. The refs in single player are very biased the computer can make a sliding tackle and completely take my player out, but once they start taking the ball the opposite way and i commit to the same exact slide tackle I'm receiving a yellow card and sometimes a red card. I like the aspect of the refs having realism and being strict or making loose calls is awesome idea but when it is completely biased against the user team it takes the fun and awesomeness out of the game. Another flaw to the game I saw is as I increased the difficulty the realism of the players attributes got less important. For example my pro who has like 90 speed is getting caught from behind by a guy with 60 speed and getting the ball taken like he is a middle schooler playing against Germanys team. I noticed on world class this was more likely to happen as i turned the difficulty down it got more realistic. I am pretty sure it is suppose to be the other way around lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Football Game Out There

posted by RangerNorris (AMES, IA) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This is by far the best football game out there. Every game mode is worth hours of entertainment. Online club mode is fantastic, 11 v 11!!!!!! This is the only EA Sports game that is worth buying every year! Each one manages to surpass the previous by miles! I've only heard a few things about 12, but it seems like they will do it again this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

looking for a fun but realistic futbol game,well..

posted by Drummechanic (LEESBURG, VA) May 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

dont..

(first i own the game,and enjoy it at times,this is just a simple warning)

Coming from someone who enjoys the real life game of futbol,i have to say this has to be one of the worst A.I(human A.I & CPU A.I) in a sports game i have ever seen. In many ways the game is rigged for everything to swing in the advantage of the cpu. and to make things worse the human A.I is god awful. even with the best custom tactics settings your players make the dumbest runs ever into space(that is even if they do make the run..)While the computer seems to curl thru-balls around & over your A.I teammates as they please...9/10 times the cpu will intercept your attempt at a thru-ball,on the ground or over the top.also making tackle attempts in this game are pretty much "cpu gets away with murder,you get called for a body tap". It gets really frustrating when 8/10 tackles u try either get called as a foul or u ge the ball away from the attacker just to have it roll directly into another one of they're teammates path.im not saying its a bad game,its a great game all around,but if your wanting to actually play a game where the cpu isn't set on "FU mode" and actually enjoy the game..id say rent it first...haha thats enough of my rant

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

OLE OLE OLE OLE!!!!

posted by TBRocks (CLEARWATER, FL) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

OLE OLE OLE OLE!!!!! My only regret was not to have bought it from the begining. The graphics are so realistic that you feel that you are in the stadium. I appreciated the great varierty of leagues and teams that you can choose from. Every detail in this game was thought of. It is so much fun to play. I enjoyed playing online with people all over the globe. Playing in the same team with up to 11 diferent players and picking your position was incredible. I can imagine this game can be a great tool for coaches to teach kids the sport. I dont see a way to better this game every year. EA sports !! Ya Rock!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FIFA 11

posted by BigDaddyEsty (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Hate the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FIFA Soccer 11

posted by pprez (LAWRENCE, NY) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I really recommend this game if you like soccer and sports games
ita really fun you make a guy become a goalkepper

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved the game but 1 question...

posted by brodmister (LAKE TAPPS, WA) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

Great game but.....I MADE MY STINKIN TEAM AND FOR SOME REASON WHEN I TELL IT TO GO TO MY XBOX IT SAYS IT CANT FIND IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Bye Single Player Modes, Hello Lazy Development

posted by mokes310 (GREEN BAY, WI) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

I've loved the FIFA series since the mid 90's. Sadly, it looks like I'm heading for an ugly divorce with this franchise.

Since the inception of the "next gen" consoles, the FIFA series has moved towards new and exciting online modes to bring people together. This version continues that new tradition, and if you're a big online player, then this review is not for you.

Manager Mode/Franchise Mode/Be a GM Mode - whatever you call it in your respective EA game, is what I love. So when I received my copy of FIFA 11, I was wholeheartedly disappointed to see that there were no major improvements to this mode. I was able to make it through the first season when an ugly, ugly bug from FIFA 09 that I knew all too well, came back to haunt me...THE DREADED BETWEEN SEASON LOCK-UP!!! As I was unable to progress past this and would have to start over, I simply decided to move on and file for FIFA Divorce. In six to nine months - depending on negotiations with legal representation - I will be free from FIFA and able to explore a new Manager Mode/Franchise Mode/Be a GM Modes.

With my pontification complete, FIFA 11 does some things very well. The passing mode is interesting, graphics have had a small improvement, and the online features are ever increasing.

If you enjoy playing the FIFA franchises online, then definitely grab this game. If you enjoy a solid Manager Mode/Franchise Mode/Be a GM Mode, then look elsewhere...

Rating: 6 - More of the same/Rent before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fifa 11

posted by JohnnyRico (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I started buy Fifa games in 2001, and since then I have all that has come out for one system or another. I love this game! It is the best to come out by far! The only problem I would have with it, is in the manager mode the players don't grow as fast as they did in previous games. I kinda wish E.A. would let us choose what stats should be upgraded, but oh well... beggars can't be choosers. Fantastic game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, Falls Short of Excellence

posted by JeremyJ (TEMPLE, TX) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

A Great addition to the FIFA series. Lots of improvement this time around. The physics, and movement of the players are much more realistic, the AI goes after the ball much more, on both sides. However there is still a huge gap in the difficultys. With the Semi-pro difficulty, I run all over the field unchallenged, easily scoring and winning 3 games in a row 4-0. Once I bump it up to Professional, I can barely keep the opposing team from stealing the ball away from me, running down the field and shooting. I have lost 3 games 1-0, and had 1 draw 0-0 on this difficulty. Why the huge gap in AI difficulty? Also, with the new career mode, I have yet to play a single game with my character, even when I select "play as your pro" I play as the entire team. Besides that, the actual game and gameplay itself is the best we have ever seen in any football game. Sound is great, presentation, graphics, animation. All great. Right now for me, the game is a rental, with a improved career mode I would absolutely buy this game. Well, there is always next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This Should be titled "Engineered for freedom"

posted by BigNate (GOLDSBORO, NC) Nov 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

FIFA 11 does well to keep players interested, but i feel they werent very generous with the dribbling skills. For instance Kaka only has 4 star dribbling skills, when we all know he is a dribbling masterclass. also Andrey Arshavin, Marko Marin, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, and Alberto Aquilani were extremely underated in my opinion. All in all I think the game is a great expansion from FIFA 10, but could they please have somemore colours for the nike cleats and get rid of the EA Sports brand of cleats their annoying to look at!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, but their are lots of bugs

posted by cflagg (CONGERS, NY) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

this game is such a step up from Fifa 10. this game has more physical ball control and tackling, and i also like that you cant rocket a ball from the mid field line and score...

however and its a big however...this game has many bugs and problems

1. when trying to play vitural pro, as your in the lobby with the rest of the player in the match, every 2 out of 5 times it will boot all 22 players from the lobby...this also happens in mid-game when the host quits the match

2. this one is always a killer for me, the game will sometimes freeze in mid game while playing online. you can be in the middle of taking a shot and the game will freeze and you have to go back to the main menu

3. somtimes the game will freeze the entire xbox but its rare, maybe once or twice during a week of play

but with all the glitches this game is still a great game to buy.. the game play its way more skill based than fifa 10. its more than just clicking buttons to shoot and pass the ball. each ball has to be lined up and each shot has to be shot with skill behind it. but EA really needs to step it up and fix their issues

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Business as Usual

posted by ZeKonig (MCKINNEY, TX) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Let's start by saying that FIFA 11 is addictive as ever. Great soundtrack to keep you meddling along in the Arena Mode with your created player.

New options in the Area have kept me occupied for a good amount of time. It gives you a chance to get a better feel for your team during set peices or PK's, but also gives you some time to work out the kinks w/ your created player

Visually this game is wonderful as usual. I am loving the Team Celebtration and it is kinda fun to try new celebration while your teammates then tackle you to the ground. It sure beat those cookie cutter "pat on the face" celebrations from the past.

Gameplay is always going to be a little frustrating at times. (Let's learn to deal people) Your team-mates will at times pass to strange places, but I've found that 9/10 they are passing to 1. Where you were headed, 2. Where they thought you were going. It's still frustrating, but at least this year players run into space, providing you w/ ample opportunities for through balls and crosses instead of players running behind you or w/ another defender. This tweak makes the team dynamic that much better. Plus the interaction when they score is stellar.

Overall this game remains a solid 9/10. As with any game, when you try to manage that many independent moving parts there will be minor glitches and lags, but if you really want that true football experience, lace up and hit the pitch....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

IT's just like other fifa 11 games

posted by jjrodz (ARCADIA, FL) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The game is fun but it's just like other fifa games BUT WITH MAJOR IMPROVMENT I would recomend this game to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse