Rent FIFA Soccer 10 for PS3
view large frontback

FIFA Soccer 10

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

1671 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Same script, Different cast

posted by DRC1980 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2004

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I found it hard to pinpoint how exactly this iteration differed from FIFA 09 and I concluded in all honestly that it's mostly not. Who cares about 360 dribbling? The teams are more or less the same, with some having more inflated ratings than they should (hint hint...Liverpool).

I don't play Manager mode or anything other than Online or Tournament so this review is based on those modes or just general gaming. I was a fervent follower of 09 so my learning curve on 10 wasn't as steep as it would for a novice, meaning: you will find this game challenging if you're not familiar with controls of previous FIFA iterations on PS3.

All in all I understand that EA needs to make money by coming with bogus useless features to entice people to pay for newer versions of the game but really I'll say it again, this game isn't that much of a departure from 09 to justify a $60 price tag. In fact I bought this game but found myself going back to FIFA 09. In the end I had to buy it coz all my friends have migrated to it.

Play FIFA 10 long enough and you'll start believing it's the greatest soccer game ever...yay same thing you thought for 09 and you know what they say in psychology...familiarity breeds acceptance...

Here are some pros and cons

Pros:

- Most Fifa 09 bugs/glitches (scoring midfield etc) fixed
- Players motion is more fluid, believable
- Game in general is more fluid, less "cut scenes" for free kicks, referees carding etc.
- Practice arena for set plays etc.

Cons:

- Doesn't feel THAT different from 09
- Cost $60

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Nesto415 (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 25, 2009

Member since May 2006

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

even better then the last, i dont know how PES 10 can out do this game, graphics are great and the movement of the players is more realistic. i dont know about that other review stating that its hard to play in easy mode, maybe that persons a rookie, im a fifa vet and i can say that its not that much harder then fifa 09, and i play in the hardest setting, if you love the fifa games then this is a must have if you are new to it enjoy it its a great game, GO CHELSEA FC! GO BLUES!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fifa,the bomb

posted by rooneypack (GILBERT, AZ) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fifa 10 didn't surprise me!! It was so cool!!! So much better than 09. You can score from outside the eighteen if you are in a good position. The new created player thing ( virtual pro) is awsome!!! You can get stuff for him like long sleeves and gloves and other cool things.manager mode is pretty good.I love manager mode I played it all the time,but then I got Call of juarez: Bound in blood. If you were thinking of renting or buying this game get it it is a fantastic game,and if you like creating a player go to virtual pro!!! The set piece that you can make is so cool.you can make them your own how ever you like. the graphics are so cool Once my mom and my grandma came in and they said hey look soccer is on

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best FIFA game to date.

posted by elphrockz (WOODSIDE, NY) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Better than the last FIFA installment in every way. The Virtual Pro is the best create-a-player mode in any sports game, EA or otherwise. You can use this player online in the 10 v 10 Pro Match, in the Be A Pro: Seasons mode, in the Arena/Loading Screen, and even in the standard Franchise mode. The achievements make the player better, based on which position he plays. If you constantly play striker, his shooting will improve based on his accomplishments; playmaker will result in passing accomplishments which in turn improve your passing further. Best part of the game by far.

Smooth gameplay gives you the "OOOH" moments that you usually get only from watching real soccer matches. Gameplay is smoother and more realistic than previous editions, minus headers inside the box. I find it still ridiculously tough to score off a cross with a header, or a corner kick.

Creating set pieces is lots of fun and anytime I get a set piece within 30 yards of the goal, my brilliant plays almost always guarantee me a goal. :)

Awesome game, don't rent it here. BUY IT HERE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FIFA 10

posted by OutlawTorn (REISTERSTOWN, MD) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Greatest soccer game ever. Physics are amazing and controls actually listen to your commands. FIFA os better than any other soccer game on the market as of today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

How disappointing...

posted by m4r1u5 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Initially, FIFA 10 seems to be a refreshing new take. 360 dribbling, they've tried to scale down the "Ronaldo-effect" where people could just put Ronaldo on top and make blind passes forward and charge through the defense.

So you start out in manager mode. Not only has this mode failed to evolve, it's taken 6 steps backwards. Zero interaction except choosing sponsors at season start. It's riddled and filled with bugs that will mess up your starting 11. "Well this was DULL!" you say and move on to online play.

Here you'll discover the insane button lag, because real people will pounce on mistakes harder than AI and make you notice better. Even with a perfect connection you're going to experience button lag, even though the rest of the game is running perfectly smooth, especially on defense. Tell you player 10 minutes in advance to clear the incoming cross with a first-time header and he will still chest it down and after a couple of trapping touches try to clear it. By that time, Ibrahimovic, Ronaldo, or Rooney has already tackled you and scored. Trust me, this happens all the time. The same thing happens on the opposite side. Ask your player to shot the ball after trapping down a perfect cross, and he'll run the ball straight into the goalie like a blind goat.

The best indicator of this button delay is if you try to do manual celebrations with the finishing moves (L1+R3 for example). The delay is unreal! Insert this into a real game setting, and get VERY frustrated. It's also in stark contrast to FIFA 09, which was lightning fast in that aspect.

As if that wasn't enough, ALL players are top heavy and sluggish when maneuvering, and will easily run the ball out of bounds when you're trying to curve a run simply because they can't turn fast enough. Ridiculous! These are soccer pros, but still move like a 7-yr old ADHD boy with wool socks on a hardwood floor.

This is by far enough to ruin online-play, which is the point of the game. I'm so disappointed...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GOOD

posted by soccerman (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I own FIFA 09 and this game is just as good or better than FIFA 09. I like that you can make it snow in this game too. It ads a nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Meh

posted by Greener (SATANTA, KS) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I almost want to say FIFA 09 was better, but the gameplay has changed so much its somewhat hard to compare the two. But that doesnt mean it's changed for the better.

If your players are anywhere close to each other, passing is as inaccurate as ever. As for shooting, while they say its more skill based, is much worse than in 09. Screamers are almost never to be found aside from the not so rare major mistakes by the keeper. Speaking of the keeper, while true he does make some decent saves, he also has some epic misses and has a tendency to run great distances out of the box chasing balls which will cost you goals with regularity. Your AI teammates are also not so bright either. They often leave an uncontested ball thats a inches from their feet to retreat back on defense, and are slow to go on runs for through passes. The autoswitching between players is absolute garbage, and manual switching, while better, is not without its problems that will also cost you goals. Dribbling is much more refined and with lots of practice you can weave some magic around defenders, but numerous times ive noticed a striker on a wide open break away just ghost over the ball like it wasnt there while dribbling, leaving the ball behind for the defender to gather easily. Fouls, aside from major offences, are very inconsistant you never know if your challenge will result in a foul or not. A lot of your goals as well as your opponents goals will come off of complete BS while you try to defend. However, scoreing a goal is still as satisfying as ever and the celebration system also has some addons and is still a nice touch.

Its sad to say that aside from Madden this is the best sports game out there. NHL 10 might be in the discussion, but with all these problems looming their head with every game you play i cant reccomend it for more than an extended rent from our good friends here at Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Game

posted by MattOhio (PAINESVILLE, OH) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Even if you don't like soccer, highly addicting and very very fun game to play. EA sports rocks out another one !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gameplay Still Sucks

posted by lbswoop (VANCOUVER, WA) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I wanted to love this game because it does have some of features that i do like: you can play has a team from the lower division of the English soccer and work your way up. But the game play is unrealistic. It still plays like an arcade game and lacks the flow of Winning Eleven(now pro evolution). Pro evolution's graphics are not as nice, but the gameplay is realistic. For someone that loves to watch EPL, this game is a disappointment. It plays like MLS and not EPL. I was shocked when I saw this game got such high reviews, because i have been disappointed in the past. I gave it a try again and still feel the gameplay especially the flow is lacking. It is possible to build up your offense and move the ball around. Players attack you as soon as you have the ball and take it from you with ease. It is difficult to make moves to go around players and generate chances. Awful game. Also, the player AI on defense an with the goalie are lacking. They do not attempt to make any play on the ball at all. I will be returning this game right away. Great potential with the depth of leagues, but still lacks true soccer feel and the camera view is still inferior to pro evolution, which is still the best soccer series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

re: manager mode

posted by goblue09 (CLEVELAND, OH) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If play manager mode on this game be ready to be upset. The game freezes for no reason during the transfer period, the computer will sell your players without warning, and best of all at the end of my first season with inter-milan, I had a balance of over $40 million dollars and then when the second season started, I was at negitive $2 billon. The game play is great, but for someone who gets this game for manager mode, this game sucked!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not So Fun

posted by vigormusic (PEPPERELL, MA) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 20 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

Games should not be insanely difficult on the easy setting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

EA leaves a lot to be desired.

posted by leftB3HIND (WILMINGTON, NC) Dec 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

FIFA 10 server's have been turned off, it is no longer possible to get a platinum.

Besides EA's lack of concern for it's customer base, the physics, collision detections, camera angles, ball control, button layout... among other things need work.

There are two main types of game modes left be played;"Be a Pro" and "Manager". The manager mode puts you in complete control of a team, and gives you the opportunity to play with a team for 15 seasons (38 games a season) in a chance to be number one in the world. "Be a Pro" puts you behind an individual player (player generated, initially you could customize his face by pointlessly registering online with EA servers, which is now turned off and can't be accessed). You build up his skills by completing "Accomplishments". You can change out of this and play as the whole team if you desire.

You can slightly customize team tactics and save them as hot keys on the d-pad, but even after hours of futile tampering with the customization settings it seems that the presets that come in the game are about as dynamic as the tactics can be. Opponent teams will be amazingly aggressive in all attempts to take the ball, but fellow team mates will passively allow balls to walk by them, rarely will they run too a pass, and they fail to successfully pass in fluent motions on a consistent basis. They will not drop a pass unless you call for it behind them. The entire game is engineered around the most rudimentary strategy of running the ball down the side and very inaccurately crossing the ball into a small blurry mess of players rampantly swinging away. In the "Be a Pro" mode, while playing as an individual, a majority of the games (with evenly matched teams) you spend a majority of the time waiting for the computer to interact with you, which gets tiring. The collision detection will be cluttering up your rap sheet by the second season.

If you really love soccer, be careful playing this game if you have high blood pressure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great soccer

posted by chiken815 (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Jul 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

love it love it very good game u get into it will love creating your on player good gols n fast reaction love it can wait till next one come fifa 2011

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ever cant wait for fifa 11

posted by baz788 (BARRINGTON, RI) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

beast game for ps3.better than MW2 JK but still it is a crazy fun game graphics are out of this world and rooney is the best soccer player sick game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the best soccer game ever made

posted by cr7man (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

this game is currently the best soccer game ever made i have had fifa 08 fifa 09 and fifa 10 and fifa 10 is about 3 times better then them all the game play is perfect passing-dribbling-shooting everything especially with the new 360 degree dribbling so ya its the best at least until fifa 11

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game overall

posted by Rockford (ROCHESTER HILLS, MI) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The gameplay in this is very nice. The graphics are very realistic and the flow of the game moves perfectly. I've never been a big soccer ( football ) fan nor am I a follower of the sport. I'd also like to add that I have rarely ever seen, or played any soccer games before.

However this is a rare treat. I've seen folks complain about the commentators in this game, but I think the voice work is excellent.

Whether your a soccer fan or not, I'd recommend this to anyone. It does take a little getting used to ( as far as the rules, the AI, movement, passing etc. ) but thats why you can just start at a moderate level and work your way up from there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best that I have played to date...

posted by Niftyifty (MARANA, AZ) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

I must first state, I am not an avid fifa or soccer game fan. I'm more the type that gets the itch to play once a year or so. That being said, I had a hard time finding anything wrong with this game.

Visually everything is just about perfect. The only thing that feels lacking is the crowd and we have already seen an improvement in the crowd in the World cup version that came out, so there is hope.

There are plenty of gameplay modes for either single player, multiplayer, and online. My personal favorite is the virtual pro feature. I actually took the time to take advantage of the "gameface' option that is still in beta. While it gives you a creepy android face, it does add another dimension to the game, especially in Be a pro: season modes.

As always, on a respectable difficulty setting, the goalies and computer defense is a bit ridiculous. The disparity between goals scored online vs goals scored offline is quite a bit. I've heard they are working on goalies for FIFA 11 so another thing to look forward to.

I did have a major issue getting online 11 vs 11 matches to work, but some bugs are forgivable I suppose, as long as they don't make it into next year's edition. Other than that it was a great game that I would recommend for any sports game fan. Even if your new to soccer, give it a try. When you eventually score your first goal you will understand why people get up, run around, and yell GOOOOOOOAAAAALLLLLLLLL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

great but impossible

posted by biluey (SURFSIDE BEACH, SC) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

for the hardcore soccer gamers, this is a great game. but for first timers on the soccer games, it is near impossible. the controls are most of all easy to understand, but some are not even relevant. overall it is good, but not a buy. maybe not even a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best EA Game

posted by bryanstr (EDMOND, OK) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I'm not a huge soccer fan but I still wanted to try it due to the franchise success. The game play and AI is extremely challenging and realistic. There are so many variables that impact your player's success. One of the best aspects of the game is the career mode. The challenges and progression of your created player rivals, and sometimes exceeds, that of Madden and NCAA created players. The un-lockables are vast and definitely feeds your competitive juices. The tutorials are very helpful but again, it doesn't automatically make you an expert at this game. You have to continuously play this game to get better which makes you want to keep playing even after a season is over. You can create your own tournaments and play friendly International matches, but the one thing I wish it did have is the World Cup added to the career mode as an added benefit of your character's progression. Again, I believe this is one of the best EA sports games they have out there. Very fluent and challenging game play. If you are any kind of sports game, you will find yourself spending many hours playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its pretty sweet...

posted by wrestler42 (WORTHINGTON, MN) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

It was pretty nice and alright graphics. i am not use to soccer so it kind of got me to understand the game. over all a pretty sweet game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by haze87 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

The only thing I can say about this game, is that its amazing. The reason why I say this, there is a lots of options and is its very resourcefull. Controls are great, settings are good and the trax is great. Theres not that much negativity. This game is for any soccer enthustiast and admirer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »