Rent FIFA Soccer 09 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

FIFA Soccer 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii, PSP Games, PS2, DS
GF Rating
8.2

1742 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fifa has really stepped it up - Good luck PES

posted by Kamakazee (BELLEVUE, WA) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

24 out of 25 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I've been a long running fan of Fifa like a lot of people dating back since Fifa 93. I've seen the series progress a lot since then and each year, the releases have grown. This year however, has been a huge leap forward, even from Fifa 08. Let me tell you why.

1) Player Controls/Fluidity: The game just feels right. The players move as expected, animations are stellar and the play just feels awesome. I've been a PES fan as well (yes i had phase where i lost respect for Fifa) but i must say they have come back strong. This time around, the gameplay feels alot more fluid than PES 2009 (Comparing it to the Demo). The ball doesn't stick to the players, headers are actually taking into account player physics/size and the passing is great. Its awesome to see your AI buddy indicate where to pass the ball while they make a run.

2) Much better AI: The AI in Fifa 09 is awesome. Even though i've owned Fifa 08 on Pro, playing intermediate in 09 is quite a challenge. I've not experimented much with the tactical changes they've made with the new Slider system to control play just yet. But i still have lots of fun.

3) Be A Pro - team play. This is the killer feature for the year. I thought Be a pro was boring in Fifa 08. Played one match and left it. Now, i've been playing Be a pro for 3 days and just can't get enough of it. Its awesome when you co-ordinate tactics with people over voice chat and when you make a cross with which your striker scores, its just an awesome feeling that you just dont get with playing with the AI. Team play has been taken to the next level.

With other small additions like the addidas live season (You get updates for leagues affecting in game players based on real life stats and form), Great Graphics, awesome audio and ZERO lag during online play this is a MUST buy.

I'm keepin it form game fly as i already own Fifa 08. But i'm trading that in to keep this for sure.

If its anything, Be a pro will keep you occupied HOURS at a time!

GOOD LUCK PES!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by sammyray (RIVER EDGE, NJ) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

EA has definetly outdone itself with FIFA 09 the game play is smooth, the graphics are amazing. The live update is excellent extra. The new update is kinda neat to the Ultimate Team where you can trade players to create the best team. The only downside to this game is the refrees are too quick to card you, especially after playing the advantage. Online mode is loads of fun. Created player adds in an extra challange. I've loved EA's FIFA since the begining and continue to do so. I advise you to either rent or purchase this game you will be hooked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nearly perfect!

posted by DruDrizzle (STOCKTON, CA) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

EA has done it again. THe newest edition to the FIFA franchise does not disappoint. The gameplay is fluid and the controls are easy.

yes there is an endless amount of dribble moves and differnert kicks to memorize, but that is half the fun. It is rare that I play a match and do not witness something that I have not seen before.

Be A Pro is almost perfect. Updated roster and real life skills make it feel like you are actually there.

Players and stadiums are superb. Sometimes I like just watching the stadium shots during a game.

Online play is second to none. There are limitless amounts that one can do during a match. Wanna play team vs. team- no prob, wanna be one of 20 people playing on the pitch- no prob.

Online game play is always realistic. If a player had a bad week his ratings will be negatively affected thus he will not play as well.

This is the closest that you will get to playing/being at a real match.

EA I commend you for not making this an easy game to learn. That you trusted people to learn and enjoy the creation that you have made.

Congratulations on the Best SPorts Game in History!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GOOOOOOOOOAL!!!

posted by H3brudude (HORSHAM, PA) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is great! My only complaint is the ability of the AI to step up their game when playing against more than one player. There is also the fact that AI controlled players on your team don't seem to play up to the same level as the rest of the AI, but I can overlook this.

If you love futbol, get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very Surprised

posted by FR4NCH1SE (MANASSAS, VA) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I play soccer games all the time.

I played fifa since the 90s and just started pro evo since it came out on the xbox 360, 07

That being said, Pro evo 07 was great, 08 was bad, as for fifa I never liked any of the next gen fifas, but this one is very different.

First off is the A.I. Let me tell you this is one of the best A.I.'s for a sports game I have ever played. The offense plays better than I do, then again I put it on the hardest mode, that if you play alot of soccer games, IS JUST PERFECT.

The A.I. in all the next gen fifas were a joke, this is alot better than even Pro Evo.

As for the controls, the players still move like robots but are alot more fluid then last fifas.

the graphics are just fine/better than gel like last fifas.

Scoring is very mixed, alot of different goals.

The passing is great now, and the air game is SOOO good, I love how it is more realistic. This is really a great game and I love it.Hopefully pro evo 09 has something to say, because this for now is the best soccer game ive ever played.

sorry for the bad grammar. LOLz

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun if your good at it

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Oct 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I played UEFA Euro 2008 and i thought that game was a pretty good soccer game(eventhough im terrible at soccer games). Honestly this game is almost identical to that. One new feature this game has is it updates how good the characters are, which is also on NBA Live 09( Important: if you dont buy the game you have to pay for this using microsoft points, if you buy the game however, there is a trial code for it on the manual). Besides that the graphics are good. Online is ok. And pretty much everything else is the same besides the graphics being a bit more polished. I would suggest you renting this game if your good at soccer games, but if your like me and you are absolutly terrible at this game, i would suggest you just play something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FIFA 09

posted by EMc8791 (GARDENDALE, AL) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Fifa has stepped up its game for this one by far. The new dribbling systems, and decent gameplays, featuring the 10 v 10 Online Be a Pro. The only bad review I could give on FIFA is the various glitches you can run across online, such as Dream Team glitches, Sub Glitches, and Forced Quit Glitches. These come across very often in the Club game mode.

Offline: Fifa has it's manager mode still, taking the place of a manager of your favorite club and making all decisions from Transfers to player salary.

Also the Be A Pro Season allows you to make your own player or take the place of your favorite player to become a National and Club Legend

Overall the game is improved since FIFA 08 and is by far the best football game you can get. Highly Recommended for all football fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST SOCCER GAME EVER

posted by googmister (MODESTO, CA) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Yeah tHis game is the best game ive played and believe me ive played basically all the other soccer games that exist.......cant beat FIFA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't you wanna Fifa? The answer is yes

posted by Wishcoats (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 5, 2009

Member since May 2009

Well I recently got back into soccer lately because of the champions league tournament and wanted to try out fifa 09. I had played the game once before since my dorm room neighbors had it. I couldn't quite get used to it then. This time though it worked out well.

For those of you who don't know too much about soccer, the learning curve is no too shabby. I worked my way up the difficulty levels from beginner all the way to professional. The controls are great and each game is different based on what teams you pick. Mexican soccer leagues play differently than English Premier League soccer teams who don't play the same as French...well you get the point.

I tried out manager mode and tournament mode while I had it. Manager mode took some getting used to since I am not used to it but its pretty deep. Tournament mode is great as it allows you to play a lot against certain teams for a league trophy.

Overall, this is just a great game and I personally can't wait for FIFA 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Realy Quite Good

posted by ACreedtheg (OSSINING, NY) May 8, 2009

Member since May 2009

What a fun game I would recomned it to any one a fan of soccer or not. I used to hate soccer or football but after playing FIFA 09 think it is actully a cool sport. The dribbling is good and the shot replay is realy cool. For all the dribbles just go on youtube and search them. Also the celebrations are good fun, just after a couple of days turn the game level harder or else the game becomes realy repetive and fun and you'll score like 12 goals a game. Pro mode is propable the best feature.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HOT game

posted by ooc650 (UNION CITY, CA) May 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

Online team play is the best invention ever. Yay. I got a record of 300 wins-80 losses if any of you fools wanna step to my game. And my team would whoop wit barca yay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Classic

posted by reaktionzz (NORTH LAUDERDALE, FL) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

i have always enjoyed watching, playing and also playing soccer in real life and this new fifa 09 is a very real life and probably the most real life soccer game ive played compared to 06,07, 08......

P.S. Wonderful game...Online experience is very cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best soccer game ever

posted by chinies (HAINESPORT, NJ) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Fifa 09 is a very realistic soccer sim. the AI has improved a great deal from fifa 08. Passing in the game is very responsive. And now you can add how much strength is in your ground pass so long ones are not intercepted. The be a pro mode is hasn't improved much except for that you can make your own players and take them through a be a pro season. You could make any type of player you could think of in any position you want to play. Basically the whole game is amazing and the best soccer game I've ever played. The ultimate team mode is very fun and is like playing fantasy futbol. My only complaint is the referees dish out cards for lame tackles. And make sure you time your slide tackles right, because you will be garenteed a booking and in some cases a red card that shouldn't be given out. Over all FIFA 09 is a great game that will please a casual fan and the hardcore fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WORST FIFA

posted by KZMCEVEC (PELHAM, AL) Jan 12, 2009

Member since May 2008

PES 2009 BETTER THAN FIFA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Semi-new to FIFA

posted by italianboy (OAKLAND, CA) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Let me start off by saying that I have only played only FIFA 08 and now 09 but have never played any football title before. In 08 it was fun to play other people but not so great by itself. FIFA 09 is so great that I before wasn't a football fan but now find myself wanting to look into it, the controls are great for a beginner like myself the graphics are amazing and the game play is over all fun. I've had it for about a week now and I haven't been able to put it down. Then games themselves seem short so when you start plying the time flays. This would be a great addition to anyone who enjoys competition in their game library, even if your not into football I'd recommend this game, it put in my gameQ just because, and it turned out to be the best game I've recieved from game fly, so great I don't think I'm going to send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EA + Sports = A Sure Thing

posted by castian (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

As an avid FIFA player I can tell you this game was no let down.

RENT/BUY

This game is definitley one to buy if your a soccer fan. Like any other EA Sports game, renting it will just result in major late fees (good thing for gamefly).

FIFA/PES

I hear alot of people comparing the two games. I will tell you now that there is no comparision. I downloaded the demo for PES 2009 and I will admit I almost threw up at how horrible it was.

08 vs. 09

FIFA 09 brings with it better controls, more gameplay options, and host of smaller additions.

my favorite little addition is the advantage cards. If you tackle a player poorly and the game continues on due to the ref giving advantage, the player will still be booked when play comes to a stop. Even if it is 10 minutes later.

another great addition is the frequent issuing of red cards. I remember once on FIFA 08 I practiacally broke a guys leg that was the last man. I got a measley yellow card and saved the game.
FIFA 09 is a different horse. Any slight contact on the last man and Its OFF YOU GO.

along with the small additions there are three major ones.

1. Game control. you now have the ability to swerve the ball even more then before. One on One chances with the goalie are now alot easier due to this nice addition.

2. Be a pro season. A wonderful addition that lets you play 4 complete seasons, including the World Cup (although thats not what they call it), as a single player. You can either build him from scratch or pick an exisiting player.

3. 10 vs 10 online be a pro mode is INSANE. playing with 19 other people is more fun then the brain can handle. Of course it has its many annoying sides about it also. 19 people talking at once makes suicide look all the better.

DISAPPOINTMENT

The biggest and only disappointment about this game, is the fact that there is no practice mode. Sure you can free roam one on one with a goalie, but you can't practice free kicks. At least not with any defence

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ITS FIFA!!!!

posted by hOtSaUz3 (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Yep Fifa is back and ready or action... I say this fifa is a real good game. Its fun, looks great, and pretty addicting when u play with friends... Now the game is good and all but not awesome. Just a few minor tweaks to this seasons fifa. Like the new character reactions to ur shots and team decisions is cool. but I know more can go toward this game. All in all its a great game to play wit ur buddy's, online, and franchise. To me it just gets to repetitive, but a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by Samet53 (NESCONSET, NY) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

This game is one of the best fifas every made. It rapes PES just amazing!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very very nice game

posted by Yupinauta (MIAMI, FL) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Well first of all I want to start by saying that my rating is a 9 because it would have been a 10 if the players didn't move like robots.

I've been a true fan of fifa since the 90's and any other fan like me has got to notice that every year they add something better or different, well this year even though the graphics are pretty much the same as in 08, the movements and the shots are a bit different, like now the passes look a little more realistics. You can also update the players, like tranfers or player stats, it's just like in real life, if the player gets bad, it will also get bad in the game. I thought that was a really nice move by Fifa. Other than that everything is the same, I think Pro Evolution Soccer this year lost the battle, but you can judge for yourself by renting it.

Ohh and I forgot to mention that in order the update the players, if you don't own the game you have to buy the update.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Update

posted by RodneyM (WESTMINSTER, SC) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

If you liked / loved FIFA 08, you'll love this one. The game plays much more realistic and it feels like you have a bit more control. Graphics, of course, are really good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

RENT it First! True Soccer is Fifa 08 for the Wii!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

Fifa 08 for the Wii is just right the players move like humans, the AI is spot on and the ball control is perfect. I know there is no Online and the graphics are average but if you have a Wii get that because....

Fifa is getting worse! PES is just over the top; too much content. There is not much good soccer anymore. This year the players move like robots, you have difficulty selecting the player, the AI is on you too much and it makes it almost impossible to score a goal. The "Be A Pro" mode is good but does not have all the players. This year it has more gravy with not much effort to the meat. Wait for PES.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »