Rent FIFA Soccer 09 for PS3
view large frontback

FIFA Soccer 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

971 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, but not enough new content

posted by Cortelll (BELLE, WV) Oct 21, 2008

Member since May 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all, I have been playing Fifa since it first came out on 93. The game version form this year compare to last year is a lot better when it comes to playing ability. However if you compare the game manager options to the Fifa 08 options you really don't find much new content.

The graphics are good, and the celebrations are original, but that and the new player roles is all that is new in this Fifa 09 version.

If you like soccer, this will definitely be a game that you will greatly enjoy, but I wish it had more in depth manager options, like create restaurants, order new Uniforms, build your stadium with a little more customization(seated seats, roof, goals, size of field, size of stadium, restaurants, etc), and be able to hire more custom scouts, or coaches, instead of just a bar from 1-10 to upgrade them.

Overall, a great game, but can be much better next time around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You Don't Even Have to Like Soccer

posted by notthatguy (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best games I've rented in a long time. It has been in my console for about a month straight now, and I still haven't explored all of the different types of features of this game. Of course, the reason is I can't stop playing the game in manager mode because it is so freakin' fun to me. My wife even got into it! We don't do well playing together in one match, so I play a match, and then she plays one. I did play around with that whole "Be a Pro" mode, and I decided real quick it wasn't my thing. Also, I haven't even dared to explore any online games because I don't think I'm skilled enough to face those dedicated FIFA soldiers.

Anyway, you don't even have to like soccer to get into this game! I was VERY skeptical about renting this game to begin with, and I can tell you that whether you live for the game, the FIFA franchise, or could care less, it has a way of grabbing you and not letting go!

It has smart intuitive controls along with the A.I. Also, the controls are simple for people who wish the controls to remain simple, yet advanced moves are available if you wish to explore them. The A.I. is incredible, and sometimes made me feel like the stupid one. The difficulty levels are significant, at least to me. Once "amateur" became way too easy, I bumped it up one to "semi-pro" and I instantly found myself in a struggle to survive. Of course, I have modified my techniques, but I have not yet become good enough to raise it again. The graphics are decent (in HD) however, if you have a SD TV, and anything smaller than a 32" then you may be disappointed with the graphics along with the size of the players. The players are very small so you can see the playing field better (the players are larger in "Be a Pro" mode), but I think you will find yourself wishing you could see your player better, especially if you have older eyes. Anyway, I could go on and on, but I clicked "Keep It", and have become an FIFA addict.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Soccer at its best!!! (For Now)

posted by Colbrain (KANSAS CITY, MO) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the best soccer game their has ever been. Better that Euro and 08. the changes they have made are great. It is still hampered by the AI letting balls go out of bounds, but who cares it will be your ball. Goalies make great saves even though they are pretty fast at getting to where the ball is, they just run you over. Just play this game and you will most likely like it. If you liked the demo then this will be way better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SO MUCH BETTER THAN 08!!

posted by Ernie06 (ROMEOVILLE, IL) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In FIFA 09 the players play so much more realistic its unbelievable. The collision are new and bigger players beat the smaller ones but sometimes the smaller ones beat the bigger ones with speed. Its an amazing game I bought it right away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

no different that 2008 game is weak.

posted by marioc1981 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

seriously? for people giving this game anything higher that a 6 should stick with fifa 08 there is no difference from the 2 other than some minor online features but game play is the same and still needs to fix some issues on the pitch. first of when you lob the ball to you team mate ate the edge of the box instead of running towards the ball he jogs backward letting the ball bounce on the pitch. another is when the ball is going out of bound when your opponent kicked it. why would the people at EA make you player try to save it or if it's going to be a goal kick and the ball is head out of bounds why no protect it from the AI player, to let it go out, like they do in real games, plus there's more but i can't explain them all hear. but the games is weak and i expected better, can't wait to play PES, EA get with it. no different that Fifa 08

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time

posted by matskeelv (LITTLETON, CO) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game sucks. The graphics are tiny and looks like a game from the 80's. We played for 5 minutes then sent it back. I was very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cool and fun but gets old

posted by generalhbk (EVANS, CO) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

It is confusing at first but you get good in about 2-4 days. I find it easier to come from the side to shoot to make a goal. Being on a team with someone you know is bad and good, it's good because you have more advantages and stratigies then when playing alone but the bad thing is that either your partner is bad at playing and loses a ball or is a ball hog and doesn't do teamwork to win. But if your both good and use teamwork this game is good to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVE SOCCER

posted by claudio (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

as u all know from the title "I LOVE SOCCER" i really love soccer ( im brazilian get used to it) ive been playin it since 3 or 4 n im 13 some ppl say my feet r on fire from tricks n defends like ronaldinho, messi or kaka... i dont even know why im talkin about this when i should be talkin about the game well... i tryed the demo n i automatically loved the game. i havent tryed 08 but 05 n 07 for ps2 (from ps2) when i scored goals in 05 n 07 the net didnt move at all the ball just droped once it hit the net... uhhhh hello!!! then ps3 came out n i bought it n a little while after 08 came out but i was waitin on the demo n no demo so didn't buy. 09 fifa i had no idea it was comin soon until the demo appeared so i downloaded it blah blah blah n played it i practiced a little while in scored couple unofficial goals n i didnt notice the net moved after loading time n started playin like 5-7 min i scored a goal n saw the replay i was still expecting hit net n fall but the ball hit the net n made the net move!!!!!!!!!!!!! i was like ty J Crist for this amazing blak machine lol. the graphics r realistic the moves from soccer players r real i can tell that they focused on the moves with a couple fifa players in real life the crowd needs a little work im gonna rent the game. now to close the review.......... I LOVE U SOOOOOOOOOOOCCCERRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! U ROK KAKA!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

very hard and complex control

posted by jayji062 (HAYWARD, CA) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

as title

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I don't Understand!

posted by adolphus (Denver, CO) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

In Fifa 09 you are not able to create a really good player without playing with them for 4 full seasons. I for one prefer instant gratification and do not understand why the game programmers insist on putting guidlines and rules on games we the consumer choose to rent/buy. What do they care if I want to make a player that is perfect in all attributes? I'm the one buying the game! In all, Fifa is a terrible sports game and its 8.2 user rating is far too gracious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

world soccer

posted by cjjohnson (RYE, NY) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

I think this game is very good and fun to play I finished a hole season in to days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FIFA09 - BEST SOCCER TO DATE!!!! With one drawback

posted by carl1028 (EL SEGUNDO, CA) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

This is the best FIFA to date....everything is smooth and fluid...The only addition I'd add is: Make the Become a Pro Season longer. At the end of each season, have other teams bid for you. Add a salary and perks to the offer. Also, you can start your career as a normal street kid training to be a legend. As you progress, you earn more money, buy homes, then ultimately own your own team....EA, if you're reading this, please see if you can add the above additions....ALSO, PLEASE BRING BACK THE DESERT STRIKE SERIES!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

more realistic

posted by antoine25 (SILVER SPRING, MD) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

they should make be a pro mode more realistic with the real champions league on the season and stadium names. Also couple more seasons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, with some problems

posted by nysportfan (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

The action on the pitch is great. The controls are much more responsive than in 08 and through balls work much better. Overall, the game is easier. You will probably have to go up at least 1 level in difficulty to make it challenging. If you mostly play manager mode, as I do, you will be somewhat disappointed. The annoying scheduling glitch which results in multiple games on the same day hasn't been fixed. Player growth is too fast. A mid-table squad will be full of superstars half way through your first season.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »