Rent FIFA Soccer 09 All-Play for Wii
view large frontback

FIFA Soccer 09 All-Play

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

270 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

90% Similar to Last Year: Not Perfect But Worth It

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

LAST YEAR EA HAD THE BEST SOCCER GAME OF ALL TIME!!!

This year they went with a new texture look, a more polished menu and arena/players, a new passing system, and a new corner system. All in all it works well; however the cornering is ok, the scoring is not that great and the music when you waggle is weird. The passing is something to get used too and although I play about 10hrs a week of Fifa08 I am not going to play as much with 09!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad!

posted by cdude23 (TRACY, CA) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty fun and not hard to play. i actually had no idea how you could play this game on the wii but it was easy. there is some challange to it but even if you have never played it, you learn fast just like me. it is worth renting it!

just rent it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game pwns

posted by gnrcdfll20 (WINDSOR, NY) Nov 17, 2008

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game im like huh how am i supposed to play it on wii but now i love it haven't gotten advanced play yet but im working on it i highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent sports game for Wii

posted by jerbear (LOVELOCK, NV) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

This game is very entertaining and enjoyable. The play is improved using a controller instead of the Wii Remote. Like a lot of games made for the Wii, the graphics are in need of improvement.
The commentators get old after a couple of games.

Online mode is enjoyable, but would again be improved if you could "smack" talk with your other opponent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love this Game

posted by lamic40 (HAHNVILLE, LA) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Me and my four year son both love this game. My first soccer game ever rented and now have a number fan of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A more complete Wii effort (Detailed review)

posted by BigM81 (WONDER LAKE, IL) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

The biggest complaint I had about FIFA 08 for Wii was the lack of career/manager mode. I'm sure that was a major letdown for a lot of FIFA fans who have the Wii as their only console that enjoyed the manager mode on FIFA 07 for other systems.

Well, manager mode is back with the features that were alive and well in the past, and the menu graphics are crisp and clear (by Wii standards) and I find it easy to navigate.

Now, on to the gameplay. The default camera angle last year was a vertical camera, instead of a traditional side-to-side view typically seen on soccer broadcasts. Now, the default has reverted back to a traditional FIFA game and you can customize zoom and type of camera to your liking. For me, you would need to adjust the zoom as some of the farther angles make it a bit harder to see the ball and defend.

This type of camera angle improves the gameplay as the pointed passing is very similar to PES 2008. I like the controls of FIFA 09 more due to the fact that you do not have to point where you want to dribble like in PES 08, just use the nunchuk to guide your player with the ball.

Two things that annoyed me at first but have subsided are the comments that flash on screen after a pass or tackle, saying "Great Pass" or "Great Tackle", having you gain points for your Mii. That's nice but at first it was distracting to the gameplay and I still feel it is more of an annoyance.

Second, don't be surprised if some pitches are greener than others. The San Siro has a greener pitch than the F.A. stadiums. That much green on a soccer field looked like it was painted on.

Overall, I have played this game regularly since I rented it and have temporarily stopped my FIFA 07 on GameCube career to start a new one. This will not disappoint if you enjoyed good gameplay and manager mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good idea, needs work

posted by Diablito10 (CUDAHY, CA) Nov 1, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

I like the concept of the pointer passing. It gives flexibility and creativity to ball movement that conventional game controls can't deliver. However, having played soccer games for fourteen years now, it's difficult and frustrating having to learn this new system. Not to mention that it is impractical to perform tricks with the D-pad within the flow of a match.

Additionally, I HATE having to shake the remote when i want to kick the ball. It feels uncomfortable.

It is still the best soccer game on the Wii, so far, and it is a fun game to play if you dont mind learning a new way of playing soccer games. PES 08 has slightly better controls but lacks the one thing that FIFA has always had. Graphics and licensing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »