Rent FIFA Soccer 08 for PS3
view large frontback

FIFA Soccer 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

1092 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome! Great Improvement!

posted by dakevman (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an excellent improvement from the last FIFA games. I really like the new features like online and Be Like a Pro. I was also amazed by the short loading screens and what makes it even better is that while it loads you can take some practice shots with Ronaldindho. The graphics are also amazing. The realism of the crowd has increased greatly too. Depending on what country your playing in and what team is "home" the crowd will cheer their cheer in that language. I realized this when playing in the bundesliga and I was facing Bremen away. The crowd would cheer the popular "Auf gets -TEAM NAME- schiest ein tor!" with the tone and everything. I'm definitely "Keep"ing "It" from GameFly. I highly recommend this video game for any fan of soccer to occupy their time when their favorite team isn't playing (its practically like watching a real game with this level of realism).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Amazing deep, but could be better online

posted by Stretch526 (DURHAM, NC) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The depth of this game is enough to amaze everyone from the hardcore addict to ones like me who mostly only get in to international play. I was impressed with how many teams there are. The controls were excellent as well. My one complaint is with the online aspect. It always took forever, most times 5-10 mins to get into a match and I couldn't figure out why. No problem w/ my connection... it just wouldn't connect w/ the other player. For someone like me who loves to play online against human opponents, once you actually get into a match, it's amazing how intense the game can be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not Great

posted by dfrank11 (PARK RIDGE, NJ) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fans of Soccer (futbol) will love the authenticity of this game. Just like a real match the scoring is low and the defense is rather difficult. The be a pro mode (where you play as one individual player and have to stick to your position) is fun and really mixes things up from other titles.

The main problem i have with this game lies in one of the things hardcore soccer fans will love...the difficulty. The computer AI never commits a foul against the user as well as plays extremely tough defense. While this may be a nice challenge to hardcore soccer fans, those of us who like the appeal of setting up goal after goal will lose interest quickly. ( I know i did).
Also the manual move stick where you can do a variety of fakes and ball moves just don't blend well into the game. I found them insanely difficult to pull off.

Despite my negative analysis, this game is visually appealing. It also boats a complete roster of teams and leagues. The gameplay is manageable if you love a tough 1 - 0 match. For arcade and high schoring affairs turn elsewhere as this title will not quench your goal thirst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fantastic soccer sim marred by high difficulty

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Jan 2, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me get one thing out of the way. This game looks and sounds fantastic. Very realistic player models, great arena sound effects, tolerable commentary, and a nice soundtrack. However, all the glitz and glamor is hampered by a very steep learning curve and almost unbeatable A.I (even on amateur level). I can appreciate the fact that the developer wanted to create a realistic soccer game that includes all the fancy footwork and technicalities that you find in real life, but this is a video game and need not be so authentic. As a veteran of previous FIFA games, I found it extremely difficult to remember the complicated controls. And when you are close to scoring only to forget a basic command or pull of the wrong move makes the whole thing frustrating. And even on the easiest setting, the A.I can be quite unforgiving. Soccer need not be this complicated as using only half of the tricks and special maneuvers is all that is needed, not to mention, because of the A.I you will never find a chance to pull of some of the fancier moves. A simplified control scheme and more balanced A.I would have made this an incredible game.Playing online and multiplayer though, make this a fantastic game. Aside from the standard exhibition mode, you get a variety of modes to satisfy any fan of the sport. I highly recommend renting before purchasing. Lets hope EA gets it right in 08.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok but doesnt flow

posted by FAHQGAMEQ (EMERYVILLE, CA) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was alright, i found the passing very awkward and it seemed to kill the flow of the gameplay. it was like it took a second for the guys to respond to the button being pushed. i dont know, i'm a fan of fifa but this one didnt do it for me. i think all of these games should have a world cup option, not only the ones released on cup years. kind of weak. anyway it's worth checking out if you are a fan but otherwise maybe check something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fifa 08

posted by ridgeracer (LEMONT, IL) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think Fifa 08 is the best sports game so far that is out on the market. It is awesome. The graphics are so real. I love it. It is the most popular video game in Europe. The moves are pretty hard to do in game situations though. Overall it is a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not that good

posted by ilikepie00 (RIVERHEAD, NY) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

When i rented this game i was looking for a good game but i soon leared it only is fun when playing with a friend. I know little of soccer and would rather play fifa 2001 (PS2) and really only if your a soccer fan or live in Euarpe but really just rent n ull give it back when u 1 play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

FIFA 2008 - So-so game

posted by myuzickman (TOPEKA, KS) Jan 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

First of all, I am a big sports game fan. I love realistic games, as well as game play to entertain as well as motivate to do better. This game had some strong points, as well as lows. The graphics are great. The instant replays are well done, the celebrations and cut scenes are good too. To an extent, you can really get absorbed into the game. The problems I had was that there was no "tutorial" type mode for newer players to this game/franchise, which made it difficult to figure out how to play the game. You could just go to a quick-play, but that would only allow for you to be beaten quickly and easily by even the poorest team you could find. The controls seemed awkward, and the response time tended to be a little slow as well. It is a decent game, but getting into it makes it tedious to try and learn, which is a huge turn-off for those just trying to learn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game

posted by NEMO77 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2004

If you are a soceer fan this is a good one. Spend the money on it and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

FIFA Soccer 08

posted by MCReeser (WINTER PARK, FL) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game has great visuals and the voice commentary is good without being annoying, which with most sports games can be a problem. The amount of customization that is allowed with team creation is rather decent too. I also liked the replay after each big play. That said there is very little for the casual gamer or non die hard football fans. Even while playing on the easiest setting controls feel hit or miss. Passing is pretty much automatic. Often when shooting it is hard to adjust the strength of the shot. I found myself sending the ball soaring into the stands most of the time. As for online play I never found anyone online at the time so I can't say what that was like. Overall EA has done what they usually do and that is make a solid game for fans. In this case football.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game that will keep you playing...

posted by mojito347 (MIAMI, FL) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

I purchased this game along with my new ps3 and was completely turned off, I was expecting a game were all I had to do was play for like 30 minutes without reading the manual and master it... wow, I was sooo wrong, I hated it to a point were I wanted to return it, but could not. So I kept playing hoping I would get the hang of it.. and I did, once I figured out the game play and what formations to use and how to obtain the most out of my key players the quality of the game went through the roof. This is by far my favorite game, and I own quite alot. As a huge Madden fan, it has gotten to a point where I am still playing this game, and have not touched madden 08. The graphics are great, the sounds and commentary very entertaining, and the gameplay (although not perfect) is very sharp. I would reccomend to anyone who picks up this game to be very patient with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Let Down

posted by viper74 (RAEFORD, NC) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I really wanted to like this game, but it sucks. There are 4 difficulty levels. The easiest one is a ajoke, and won't challenge you. The next easiest is impossibly hard. I would have 20 shots on target vs. the CPU's 7 and it would still win 4-1. It gets too much help from the AI while your players are virtual zombies. They don't do the most basic things that you learn in youth soccer, like run to meet the ball when it's passed to you. I haven't yelled at a game like that in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GRAPHICS, GAMEPLAY EXCELLENT

posted by DirectFX (MIDDLETOWN, NJ) May 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I love the FIFA series but this year's one finally kept up with high standard or earlier oness. The BE A PRO mode online is real fun and is nice break from playing manager mode. I only ask FIFA to add more Countries to play with and just keep expanding teams/leagues. it would be nice if they put world cup, euro's, uefa champions league etc all in FIFA not as seperate games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Overly Complicated

posted by droppin81 (WHITTIER, CA) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

The game controls are terrible. The old control commands are better. They have taken a good game and made it overly complicated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!!!ONLINE KICK A $ $

posted by BLAZER132 (BEMIDJI, MN) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

ITS HARD TO GET USE TO BUT WHEN YOU DO ITS FUN. HONESTLY I DONT WATCH SOCCER BUT THIS GAME IS HOURS OF ENJOYMENT. ONLINE YOU CAN PLAY VS PEOPLE ALL OVER THE WORLD. PLUS THEY HAVE A NEW ONLINE TEAMWORK MODE WHERE YOU CAN HAVE UP TO 4 OR 5 (FORGOT HOW MANY) PEOPLE PLAYING ON YOUR TEAM AGAINST ANOTHER 4 OR 5. TRY IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Soccer Game

posted by NewPants (COLUMBIA, MO) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Fierce online competition, stunning visuals, and a vast variety of moves set this FIFA apart from its predecessors. You can play as pretty much any team in the world, and the new online league modes have been a long time coming. If you like soccer games, or are new to the genre, FIFA '08 will definitely keep your soccer urges at bay, at least until winning eleven releases in a couple months.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Big Leap

posted by nysportfan (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

The PS3 version is big leap from FIFA 07 on the PS2. Gameplay is great and much more realistic than prior versions. It is harder to score goals, which is a good thing. Manager mode still needs some work. If you qualify for Europe from the Premier League, you will notice that you can end up playing multiple matches on the same day between your league match, domestic cups, and European cup. It's a great game but I wouldn't spend 60 bucks on it since EA is going release Euro 08 later this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game but a bit difficult to play....

posted by Trureviews (SLOUGHHOUSE, CA) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is excellent and is a must own for my library. Unfortunately this game is difficult to play for most. Please do NOT ATTEMPT to play this game with your spousal unit or girlfriend. My wife became so frustrated in the first 30 minutes she started yelling at me until she left the room. Needless to say she could not get the hang of the game. The graphics are fantastic and the commentary is a great addition to the realizm. I wish it had a few more camera angles for game play and I wish you could start a fight with an opponent. Most likely just my preference though. If you are on the fence just rent it and let the game do the rest. 8 out of 10 for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice graphics... poor AI

posted by InterMilan (TORRANCE, CA) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

The graphics' impressive. Not at the 1080P standards, but certainly better than the PES. Now EA tried to make this too real... AI does not assimilate to that of real soccer game.

When it comes to the gameplay winning series still have a clear advantage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best soccer ever!

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

For FIFA fans this game upgrades enough things to make it well worth buying. The ability to control the ball handler down to minute details is amazing. The graphics are beautiful and the new online tournament modes are sweet. You can actually enter a tournament w/ 30 some other teams and play out to see who's the best. This game has all of the national teams and all of the club teams. Although noone ever plays w/ anyone besides the best teams online, its still very challenging and fun. BOTTOMLINE: if your a previous fifa fan this is a must upgrade, if not, try it out and you will probably end up keeping it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Challenging but Fun

posted by tdubSD (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

This version of FIFA is harder than those released in the past, but still very good.

While many think that passing is more difficult, I think it is greatly improved. Increased accuracy is required when passing, but you still have CPU help with getting the ball to its location.

The CPU itself is a lot smarter. There's no beating the cr4p out of this game anymore. The computer has great dribbling skills and moves 4 to 5 defenders in front of the ball at all times.

I'm still getting used to the right analog stick and its ability to control all of the fancy moves that are available. It's hard to use these moves in the game. One feature of this version that allows a gamer to control one and only one player for the entire match is really cool. That mode gives you a chance to work on those fancy moves.

Overall, the game is difficult, but a lot of fun. Start the difficulty setting on semi-pro and work your way up from there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FIFA 08 takes a step further...

posted by hoondogg (NEWTON HIGHLANDS, MA) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

This game is like Winning Elven but with better graphics and more teams. The game play similar to Winning Eleven except that there are more ways to score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A few glitches, but definitely WORTH THE WAIT!

posted by koa1aboi (CORONA, CA) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

The most anticipated soccer game has yet hit the shelves again. And EA did what their predecessors have failed to accomplish over the years. The biggest improvement is the gameplay that most people complain about, not to mention its arch rival PES/Winning eleven that is a top notch on this. But EA is no longer behind, the AI adapts to your style of gameplay, and the ball physics is as smooth as possible..Though the referee, more often than not, might have swallowed his whistle and have missed a bunch of obvious calls from CPU’s rough tackles. It seems that the CPU gets twice as more calls against you.But other than that, it’s a bit of a steep learning curve but rewarding in the end. No more scoring 7-0 against the CPU (which I’ve accomplished many times on WE/PES). Graphics and presentation are also very strong with stunning visuals, though the frame rate sometimes suffers on replays. One thing Ive noticed though is that referees are introduced before the game and suddenly disappear in the game. EA should have just not bothered introducing them if that’s the case. In-game camera is limited, and would be nice if they added a few angles and the ability to zoom in/out. Aside from the ghost referees and limited camera mode, there are a bunch of stadiums that are missing unfortunately, like Real Madrid’s Santiago Bernabeu and a few other stadiums. Oh well…Sound in the game isn’t too bad at all, with soundtracks that are more pleasant to the ears and crowd chants and in-game conversation are more prevalent all throughout. While British duo Martin Tyler and Andy Gray provide adequate, if uninspired commentary. There’s a lot more in the game that will keep you busy for quite a time like the ‘Be A Pro Mode’ in which EA kind of experimented that actually works and fun to play. Add that to the many leagues and countless licensed teams and players that will for sure definitely kill some of your time throughout the rest of the season.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »