Rent FIFA Soccer 08 for Wii
view large frontback

FIFA Soccer 08

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.4

411 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun gameplay, way too limited

posted by Bergshot (KENT, WA) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Another potentially great title for the wii goes to waste. The gameplay and action in this game make it a lot of fun. Passing and shooting are pulled off with great responsiveness and accuracy, and the graphics are among the best for wii titles.

Unfortunately, it seems like every sports game review I'm writing ends with the same comments. The game is fun for a few hours, or if you have people around to play with all the time. But if you're looking for a fun game to pass the time while friends are at class or just to hang out by yourself, the wii is coming up very short.

The simple addition of a season mode would make this game top-notch. Why did they go to all the trouble of assembling rosters from around the world if all you can do is randomly pick teams and play against eachother? The ability to play online is great, but it shouldn't be the focal point of every sports game that comes out. I really hope that next year's sports games don't continue to throw replayability to the wayside.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible

posted by Moose872 (GLENDALE, AZ) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have yet to be disappointed with a Nintendo Wii game, but after two days of playing Fifa 08 for the Wii, I think we have a winner.

To start, I love soccer and have been nothing but impressed with the Fifa 08 games, but the impression I got from this was that they took an empty disc, tossed it in a lawn mower for a good 20 minutes, then printed Fifa Soccer 08 on it.

The controls are overall confusing, with many different moves being activated by two buttons. The shot power lacks diversity. In previous games, you could had a whole bar of power and your shot could land anywhere on it. In this game, you only have low power, medium, and high.
Another thing about the shot is that you used to have to get it just right and would make amazing shots from far out. Now the shots are so generalized and the goalies are so good that every shot has to be really close.

The online play is just plain frustrating because it has a huge lag. And I'm not writing a bad review because I keep losing. I've won every game in the season mode (about 15 games) and have a win rating of 50% in online mode.

Like most wii games, it uses the whole 'jerking your arm off and flinging the remote out the window and into your neighbor's pool' motion sensor thing. You use it to shoot, which is difficult to get a hang of, and to slide tackle, which is just as confusing.

The game does feature a few good qualities from previous Fifa games, but I was pretty disappointed with this. If you have another system and are planning on getting 08, use the other system.

If you really want a soccer game for the wii, go for Super Mario Strikers, the controls are much friendlier, you can jump right into it, and you can still get really good with practice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No career mode

posted by geeper (BARKSDALE AFB, LA) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

What is up with taht. The fun of Fifa or Winning Eleven is being able to make the transfers and becoming a legend. You can't do that in this game. There is no career mode. The gameplay isn't bad and the minigames are fun but unless you absolutely have to ave every Fifa game, just rent this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good First Try

posted by Bozo33 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Oct 15, 2007

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fifa 08 is a good first try by EA. Unlike other first time titles, this game doesn't feel like it was rushed, like so many EA games in the first year of the 360. The controls are mapped very well and come fairly naturally. Gameplay seems consistent and easy to get used to, whether you use the new vertical camera or the more traditional horizontal one.

The game has a great learners area where you can learn the game within about half an hour with the minigames to test your new skills. You can jump right into gameplay and not feel overmatched.

Unfortunately, the reason the gameplay doesn't seem like EA rushed it is because they left out a number of things they usually have in a Fifa game. The main missing piece is manager mode. There are individual season modes, found in the tournament menu in the game, but there are no transfer windows.

So if you're a big soccer fan and need a Manager mode, this isn't a game you want to buy. But if you just enjoy playing against friends or playing online, then this game is very solid. I'm quite pleased with how well this game transferred over to the Wii and I very much look forward to a more complete game next year. EA has definitely left us with something to look forward to next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I love soccer and this game let me down

posted by knightnort (GEORGETOWN, DE) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

First of all soccer is my favorite sport and yes I'm an American. FIFA 08 started off good. I played the training academy to start off with so I could get used to the Wii controls. It was alright but exhausting after a while. Some trick shots were too hard and sometimes it would say flick the controller right and you'd actually need to flick it right. A bug but I got over it.

What really kills this game? Not the graphics. They were actually ok considering the Wii. I'd rather a game be fun to play then be nothing but graphics. And that's where FIFA 08 for the Wii goes bad. Nothing fun to play. The in game is relatively non interesting. Now get this - you can only play friendlies because their is no season mode. No season??? No career... No franchise play!!! I'm utterly confused. How far do you have to go back to find any EA game that doesn't have a season mode? 199?.

The side games were okay. Clearly made for family play or party play. But if I wanted a party game I would have rented Mario Party or something like that.

So here are my playing options. I can play a friendly by myself where the game and stats don't count or I can play a friendly online.

What's the point of having all of the leagues in a game if you don't have the fun things like player trades and contract negotiations? Where's the fun in playing your rival twice a season or battling to get into a higher division. Their is no drama in only being able to play one game and that's it. This is seriously the type of game that will bring the Wii down. I think it's close to time where I hack the system or give it to my little nephews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by zebra1212 (CUMMING, GA) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

never ever rent this game is so incredibley retarted all you do is kick dribble and pass and you can braley play two DONT EVER RENT :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game

posted by bdement (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jan 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

I was amazed with how intuitive the control system was. You can pick up the game and have a good time against the computer on Amateur in almost no time, particularly if you've played a game in the FIFA series before. I think as you get better, that shooting and free kick taking will be one of the most fun things you can do in any sports game. With the Wiimote in your hand, it's like you're controlling a foot moving through the ball. You can control direction, power, and SPIN much like you would in the REAL game. It feels completely natural when you're going upward, not quite as much when going downward, but your instincts still guide you pretty well. The only quips I have is that moving the ball to the flanks is a little hindered by the camera angle, but once you're there it's fine. Also I never really got the hang of using the radar, which sometimes hid itself from me by becoming transparent automatically. Overall this is a great game, one that I can see myself craving again soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 27, 2007

Member since May 2007

Pros:
A new take on futbol. Great overview of the field. Option to play with just the Wiimote or advance play with nunchuck.

Cons:
Take some time to register your moves. Easier AI than its predecessors. Tutorial is mandatory for advance controls. All those action movements may be a bit much to remember for most players.

I have to say that they made this a family friendly title. Don't know if that is a good thing or not. It is pretty bland when using just the Wiimote. However, for more proactive players the advance control mode may be too overwhelming at first. There are many moves to remember and, unfortunately, the tutorials didn't help me remember all those moves any better.

Graphics are nothing to parade about, but Fifa was never about jaw dropping graphics. Rather the fun gameplay.

Even though it is more simplistic with only the Wiimote, I found that using both the simple and advance controls takes some time to register your moves; it's not instantaneous. But once I got the feel for it, I was beginning to get some fun factor out of it. I believe most players will be annoyed by this delay and quit playing. I stuck it out for awhile because I actually enjoy playing Fifa Futbol. Nevertheless, I have to admit that Fifa 08 is not as fun on the Wii as Fifa 07 was on my PC.

The nuisance aside, once you get the feel for it and remember most of the action movements, it can be quite interesting to play. Consequently, flaying away layers of personal Fifa support, this title may not have the fun factor even for ardent fans of Fifa Futbol. Simply due to the control scheme and delay in reaction time. This may be a different story if you take some time to learn the quirks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its ok

posted by pspnwii3 (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

slow at responding, but pretty good game although i would suggest waiting for pes 08

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good solid game for the Wii

posted by TuxBobble (EDISON, NJ) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

If you like soccer/football, (depending on where you're from) this game is probably a no-brainer. The controls work well, and while they are not necessarily intuitive or logical, they are easy to figure out and remember once you've done it once or twice. The graphics are nothing spectacular, and honestly the modes are generally extras that I personally wouldn't play much, but the game itself works well enough to call it a solid experience.

Without testing the online gameplay, I can say this game is definitely a solid iteration of Fifa. Having only limited experience with the franchise, I cannot say for certain it matches the other titles, but it definitely lived up to my expectations of the game. It was difficult, so it can be frustrating for new players, but after you get the hang of it, it's great fun and most definitely worth picking up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First Attempt; Rent Worthy! Good Mechanics!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 18, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

I perfer Soccer to football and EA has dropped the ball so many times since 2002; but this year they are getting better. Tring to shoot a goal is near impossible, I would like to see better music and a better interface. The only graphics that you can tell are bad is the audience. Some training skills are hard to accomplish. All in all it is a good game. It would be a better value at 39.99 NEW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good start

posted by pezboy92 (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Fifa 08 for the Wii is not the best version or worst version of Fifa. It is a great start for the franchise on the Wii with online play pretty good graphics and innovative gameplay. There a few problems with the game such as laggy online play, a couple of confusing gameplay mechanics. besides some minor problems, the game is pretty fun. The Wii version has exclusive minigames which are pretty fun. I would strongly reccomend for anyone to at least rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »