Rent F.E.A.R. First Encounter Assault Recon for PS3
view large frontback

F.E.A.R. First Encounter Assault Recon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.1

3119 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game!

posted by Dudelynn80 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jun 16, 2007

Member since May 2007

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I think this game is very good for the ps3. It is a mixture of first person swat shooter with some silent hill scare the heck out of you thrown in. There are some parts of this game that will just make you tremble. It has pretty good graphics also. I highly recommend this game if you are a survival horror fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ahhhh!!

posted by joker4554 (PERRIS, CA) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game will leave the hairs on your neck standing up. things some times pop out of no were. one minute your calm walking down a hallway next thing you know a dead body is thrown thrue a window. you can never let your guard down in this game. F.E.A.R is a great game if you like being scared.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game

posted by Gaminfiend (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 7, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It feels like a pc game, but who am i kidding it is a pc game. and it that good, so take it out for a night, true gamers know what i'm talking about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FEAR

posted by eddy100000 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Oct 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game so much. its very scary and good graphics and sound. it so scary that my heart jumps differently. this would be a good game to program when i start programming video games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Played Alone in the Dark

posted by greenlaser (CINCINNATI, OH) Aug 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

F.E.A.R. is the perfect blend of the horror and FPS genres. I highly recommend it.

GOOD:
-Enemy AI is excellent.
-The parts of the story you can understand (see below) are compelling and lead to a very satisfying ending.
-This game is SCARY! The blend of horror and action will really get your adrenaline pumping.

BAD:
-The graphics are nothing special
-Most of the dialog is intelligible because of overriding radio crackling and static effects.
-Weapon switching can be cumbersome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Psychological FPS mayhem!

posted by LunarJon (PECULIAR, MO) Apr 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

31 out of 39 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

It's true... the graphics on the PS3 version of F.E.A.R. aren't as good as what I have seen on the PC or XBOX 360. It seems like they rushed to get this out since it was already late. We were supposed to have this one on launch. But don't let that discourage you from playing it. It's still a fine FPS for the system and I recommend playing it.

I read another review for this game somewhere that stated the sound effects were awesome. Well they weren't lying. They put a lot of detail into every little sound coming from the game. The footsteps, the heartbeats, the weapon sounds and the shouting enemies. It all adds to the creepy backdrop that makes F.E.A.R. so fun to play.

The multiplayer is solid. Lots of game options and even the ability to join the best game based on your connection speed. PS3 version has an exclusive weapon, a new type of shotgun that will have you ripping through enemies in no time.

F.E.A.R. is a decent FPS worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

F.E.A.R. First Encounter Assault Recon

posted by Buzzhound (WARWICK, RI) Jun 2, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I had somewhat high hopes for this game. The story and concept are good, the tense moments of visions and apparitions throughout the levels are awesome and a lil' startling. (i.e. 1st Resident Evil) But what i couldn't get past was the extremely looooooong loading time for each level, after each movie scene, and anywhere else they threw them in. It became very frustrating. From the time i put the the disc in I hadn't even started playing until about 10 mins later. The graphic are good but could look before for next gen. Although the explosions look great and when you shoot the enemy they fall with awesome realism I found my self filling them with bullets well after the fact just to see them flop and fall. All in all its a decent game but not for the impatient or those eager for a great next gen shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

F.E.A.R. Worth Playing

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) May 1, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

17 out of 24 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

F.E.A.R. is definitely worth playing. I found the sounds and lighting keep you intrigued, but the gameplay does seem to be much slower that Resistance. If only the two were combined. Maybe they can release some patches to clean this one up a bit. Online battle mode is fun but is lacking. I would say rent first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Holy Shiza!

posted by KirkPwnage (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Apr 26, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is so addicting. The grapics are top notch and its one of the most awsome FPSes i have played in a long while! i defeniltly recemend you renting or BUYING the game. i played it for 8 hours so far!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

okay

posted by ncsurules7 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I thought that the game was okay. Overall it wasn't too scary like i hoped. Mostly the game isn't too hard. I wouldn't really recommend renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

F.E.A.R Disappointed....

posted by bertybert (UNION CITY, NJ) May 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start by stating I have not played the 360 version or the PC version. So I can not act like a child like the 360 fans and PC fanatics who have been dissing this game. And in all honesty my noblemen and magistrates, their 100% correct.

This is a FPS meant to be played on the PS2. I mean I have seen better graphics on Timesplitters 2! The surrounding environment, the waters, the buildings all are by far sub par graphics. The characters are no where near as detailed as Resistance Fall of Man, but hey this is a port right?

You can have up to 3 weapons at a time. The weapons are not that great. I could dual wield handguns, then you have machine guns, assault rifles, sniper rifle, and penetrating gun. This is what I saw in the first 3 hours. You can also slow down time to better aim at your enemies. The gun reactions sometimes were delayed as well. I saw this most with the shotgun (another weapon). I would press the trigger and there would be a good 1 second or so lag. Other times there would be no lag at all. You can pick up health along your missions as well as armor. There are also Health boosters which allow your health to go past 120 to about 130 if the situation fits.

The maps were poorly designed. There was too much twitching for me. Sometimes I would get stuck under pipes. Other times I would go into a set of pipes and not be able to get out unless I did a combo of crouching and jumping.

Well enough about the bad!

I really did not pay much attention to the story, but I am trying to find some Hannibal guy that is all I know. But I can tell you one thing folks YES this game is scary. Besides Fatal Frame no other game has been able to make me jump, but F.E.A.R did that. I would be walking down a corridor and that small girl on fire would flash in front of you. Dead bodies walking out of no where and disappearing. The scare factor is BIG in this game. Even little things like lights popping or rats coming from under wooden boxes give you a bit of a jitter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

SIGH - Slaughtering Interplatform Games Heavily

posted by lbtdubl (SANTA MONICA, CA) Aug 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When you don't have a job (but you DO have a ps3, an enormous amount of spare time and an addiction to video games that rivals Lindsey Lohans addiction to... well, you know) sometimes you have to make desperate attempts to entertain yourself. So I shot on down to the train wreck that is known as Blockbuster. Clearly not on the ball as far as PS3 games go, I saw FEAR in a stack of games being returned, and jumped on the opportunity.

Having played this on the PC a year and a half ago, I was excited to see what the new PS3 version would be bringing to the table. In the age of HD, I expected to be playing something similar if not better than what I had played before. Yet this time, I got to enjoy the whole thing on my 50'' HD plasma. In the voice of the mighty Mike Epps, "WRONG." Instead, I have 33'' more inches of graphics so painful to look at, I had to cut onions to make my eyeballs feel better. Okay, so the graphics aren't THAT bad. But in contrast to the PC, I was SEVERELY disappointed.

The AI doesn't seem to have taken on the same trend as the graphics. Although, the jerky head bob (which CAN be adjusted), slow movement, and copious amounts of sound glitches made it almost unbearable to play. Yet I play on...

The most satisfying thing about this game is the ability to literally PIN enemies to the wall. Get a good head shot in, and check out your foe with a foot long projectile holding him to the wall by the ol' dome. ::shudder:: Gruesomely satisfying :)

All be that it may, I find it difficult to play this game for any longer than ten minutes at a time. The Instant Action area is usually where I get drawn in. In games with similar features, I would only use this unless I was tired of playing the story, there was no multiplayer, or because I lost my internet connection.

I don't necessarily recommend this for rent, and SAVE YOUR MONEY as far as buying goes. However, if you're like me, you have to resort to desperate measures to stay entertained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good shooter -- Bad Port

posted by dROWIS (SMITHFIELD, RI) May 1, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am not an expert on programming on the PS3 or the Xbox 360 but I have read a few things and they are a little troublesome on the PS3 side of things.

The first thing I noticed about this game was the lack luster appearance. This has to do with it being a port and not written for the PS3 platform. The PS3 handles lighting effects and the way graphics are rendered differently from the PC and the 360 since they are DX10 and the PS3 is not. This caused most of the game to look inferior to say resistance since that was written for the PS3. Also the Load times were atrocious on the PS3. The system has multiple cores and one should be optimized to pre-load the next mission before you are done with the current since the data transfer is not as fast as the other 2 systems.

Other than the poor porting the game plays well as a shooter I didn't like the controls very much but I got used to them quickly. I enjoyed the story arc and it was fun to play once you get used to the below average graphics and some of the fluky controls. This game is a great rental but I could not recommend purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I Don't Know About This One

posted by takeitease (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Apr 29, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have waited to play this game for so long because all the hype from the pc version. And to be quite honest, I'm not to happy with the game at all. The game play feels very slow and choppy, the AI isn't to smart and the controls feel slow as well. But on the up side the game is scary and has a cool concept, I just don't know if that's enough to make me finish the game. Well thank god it's only a rental....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i havent played the 360 or pc virson

posted by jak795 (PROSPERITY, SC) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

but the ps3 game is inpressive the scares are preety good the atmosphere of the game is dark and creepy which gets you pumped up for the game and it makes you want to keep going.

controls
can take some time to get used to but after that
the game is injoyable.

p.s. this game can really get difficult after some of the chapters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by kyle90077 (STOCKTON, CA) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

over all i would give it a 10. it lacks in some areas, but it makes up for them in others. over all i think it deserves a perfect 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Game, but no Offline Multiplayer?

posted by redbullets (ATLANTA, GA) Apr 29, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

F.E.A.R. is a great game and definitely gets your adrenaline pumping when playing through the various modes. The mechanics in the game are great, using the R2 button as a trigger because of its new configuration makes it more realistic and fun.
The story mode keeps you on edge and it is sweet to play with the slo-mo while knocking headshots on enemies. Online multiplayer is fantastic, but needs a little more tweaking because of lag issues. Instant action is also fun to do and see how high you rank after you finish it. One of the big problems, though, is that there is no offline multiplayer, so you can't frag your friends whenever they come over. Because of how fun online is, offline would be a great help to adding sales to the game. Even more spaces than 16 on online would make the game a blast to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

F.E.A.R. First Encounter Assault Recon

posted by kmanhawaii (HONOLULU, HI) May 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Don't play this GAME unless there are no other games on the PS3 available. The game was pretty lame in which it was the same for each mission.
The graphics was nice but the story and game play was terrible. The whole entire game I couldn't hear what everyone was saying because the music was so loud even when I turned it down on options menu. I recommend Resistance if you want to play a great first person shooter game. Also game was just too short. Sorry....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't waste your time!!

posted by kila26 (HOMESTEAD, FL) May 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Over all this is a pretty boring game. The storyline is not good and the graphics look like PS2 graphics. I went through about five levels and I have no desire to continue. Like I said don't waste your time!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game on PS3

posted by MJX84PS3 (LAKE MARY, FL) May 20, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

The game LAGGGGGGGGGS, graphics are horrible, load times are very long, online multiplayer is garbage. DO NOT RENT OR BUY THIS GAME its a waste of money. I love PS3 but this one is a swing and a miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So bad it made me write a review.

posted by Jut1200L (YAKIMA, WA) Apr 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok maybe this game was good on other consoles but its sooo boring on PS3. There is nothing to hold your attention. Its literally just another shooter with no hook. After playing resistance which is very good this game feels very poorly put together. So bad it made me write a review. I tried to give it a chance since there's not many games out for the PS3 but I just couldnt. Very poor game. Sorry guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

FEAR

posted by Thebrit (GREAT FALLS, VA) May 31, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Wow is all i can say about this game. I was very disappointed with the game in my view. I played it on the 360 and couldn't wait for this game to come out for the ps3 but what a let down. first player was good but not great. Whats up with the graphics its like im playing a really well done ps2 game. Online just killed it it was like playing on the computer i couldn't tell the difference between a tree and a person. This game was just a big let down i my veiw and wat i had seen it looked like a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what is this

posted by dsa888 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) May 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is one of them games they don't finish but they send out anyway
a lot of objects you will spend some time trying to figure out what they where trying to draw
the view and sound are all messed up so most the time you can't hear ai running up on you
a must so due to the horrible worst sound I've ever heard on a video game the game won't challenge your skill
in hand eye coordination reflexes or any other respectable video gamer skills the only way to beat this game is trial error and memory since the ai always do the same thing - the only reason I played this game for more than 20 minutes is the total lack of games for the ps3
but this is more like a bad ps1 game jerry rigged for a ps3 format -- my point is it would be more cool to sit and count the hairs on my arm than to play this game it gets about a 7 from people here on game fly but it's only because their so desperate for ps3 games they’ll take any piece of junk that comes at them
this game is a rip off piece of junk and the makers need to quit retire or sell the company to someone with even just a little integrity

have a Great day fellow gamers
Saint D aka (SWL)Joe Bob

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally an adult game

posted by MacGuru (HOUSTON, TX) May 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Kudos to the M rating. Finally a game that makes me think back to Soldier of Fortune. Great game, can't wait for more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I fear this game!

posted by solidous (OVIEDO, FL) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

All of the five minutes I played made me want to swallow the disk and end it all. The combination of awful dialogue, sub par graphics, and terrible lighting leave nothing to be feared... other than playing this game for more than ten minutes. If you enjoy games where you move your camera and the frame rate drops quicker than an eskimo in africa be my guest. Otherwise stay away. On a side note if blood actually flew out of people in misty little puffs, I would enjoy life so much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse