Rent F.E.A.R. 3 for PS3
view large frontback

F.E.A.R. 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

4037 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by jaydee_strange (MIAMI, FL) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i really enjoyed this game. i must say though, its not nearly as scary as the second one. it starts off pretty much being every other level is a scary-creepy level, and every other level being an action shoot em up level. but towards the end it becomes a straight up action shooter, which didnt bother me too much.
MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THIS: theres no one at ALL playing this game online. Everyone that probably was playing it is now playing Battlefield 3 or something and left poor FEAR 3 alone. ...so sad..
if youre lucky youll catch a few die hards still online willing to play with you.
overall, a great game. very much enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Yawn

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Oct 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is yet another tedious, repetitive shooter where you try to focus on a pixel in the distance and just fire whenever the crosshairs turns red. Nothing scary, nothing new, and nothing worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If I Could Give a 9.5, I Would. Day 1 FTW!

posted by Gobind05 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

20 out of 25 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

As the title says, I would give this game an 9.5 if I could because it was just such an enjoyable experience in ALL around. I would consider this one of the best shooters to come out for awhile. If you go into this game with the mindset that it will be a ACTION game, you will be set for an amazing game.

Don't listen to those reviews saying things like "Meh, it sux cause I'm not scared"

Sound: Amazing. That's all you can say about the sound in this game. From the gun fights to the guttural noises that whisper to you, all of its amazing. The ONLY sound issue that I had was most of the time I couldn't understand what the Field Commander was saying due to the effects on his voice. Not a huge deal but still kinda annoying.

Music: AWESOME! I loved the music of this game. It really fit the mood very well. In high aderaline fights, the music just added to the sense of "I GOTTA KICK THE 5H!T OUT OF EVERYTHING HERE!!!" Very awesome haha. The only problem I had was my favorite song from mission 2 never showed back up T_T

Graphics: This game looks REALLY good imo. I'm playing on a 50 inch 720p 3dtv. The game looks beautiful. Definitely better than most of the shooters that have come out this year and last. The colors are very vivid and there aren't pixel issues like Fear 2. The new art direction is a great choice in this game. There were many times I thought "Wow, that looks awesome!"

Gameplay: OMGWTFBBQ! I loved the feel of the controls. Very responsive and the slow-mo effect. Win! This is a huge deal to me that a game "feels" right when playing and I think Fear 3 hit it right on the head.

Story: Nicely Done. The game focuses mostly on Point Man and Fettel. This works out very well due to how entralling their interactions are. I felt that this game had the best story out of all of them. Fettel's voice acting really drove the story as well.

Fear 3 is a very fun game. Day 1 needs to makes another one cause this one was just too awesome.

PLAY THIS! YOU WON'T REGRET!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent

posted by jaded12 (GREAT FALLS, MT) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I have played the other FEAR games and after playing the 3rd, I realize the stories I could never understand fully. But I was able to understand this one. I love the gameplay and the story. However, It was really really short. This game was not really scary except for maybe one or two jump outs when you least expect it. Graphics are awesome too. It is a good game to rent and/or own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game

posted by Twig11 (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

All I can say is this game is very fun. Many influences obviously went into making this game (i.e. Halo, COD, Bulletstorm, Rainbow Six Vegas) which is not a bad thing.

Graphics at times on multi-player are so-so, but very good in the campaign levels. A lot of challenge to be had and the persistent leveling (rank) progression is great.

Gamefly please send me my copy as I have had to rent it from Blockbuster so far. Considering buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fear 3

posted by demonxx1 (WHITEWATER, CA) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

since the first fear i fell in love with the game. The first two had a decent story ling and lasted somewhat of a long time. This one however did not
not last that long. And i know that most games like this one are mainly
for online play, Well if your are older like me 34 we did not grow up with online and we would like more time in the campaign. That is why i ranked this one a 2. Come on people we just want a good gaming experience and not for only online.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Average Shooter

posted by Roadkilldinner (GARLAND, TX) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

While the first two games were heavy on atmosphere but repetitive on scenery, they still featured solid shooter mechanics and several memorable moments of jump out of your seat scares spread throughout. Sadly, in its shift from Monolith to EA, FEAR leaves behind everything that made the first two games a survival horror/shooter hybrid, and now squats solidly in the FPS camp minus the scares. While technically solid, it really does nothing memorable, so be prepared to enter room, kill enemies, find psychic connections, wash-rinse-repeat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

F.E.A.R. 3

posted by KINGMINOS (STOCKTON, CA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was amazing great storyline, great graphics, and great action but with a great game there are some bugs in this it does get kinda annoying if you keep dieing, it is VERY short (the storyline it only has 8 chapters) there are only like 5 guns you can get, it's not scary at all (I didn't expect it to because your Alamas son(s) ) it is very gorey, lots of cussing, and finally there only two types of enemies humans solders and some creatures alma makes and last but not least there are two ending the game only took me a day to beat it have fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Impressed

posted by Starbase009 (PONDERAY, ID) Aug 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

As you can see from the other ratings you'll either love this game or hate it. I didn't care if it wasn't scary enough. The graphics were great in the private campaign, but it lacked in most other areas. At the first boss battle I set the game onto it's version of easy mode because I found it too aggravating. With enemies coming from every direction you're never sure whether to push forward or hunker down. I don't know if I am getting too old or what, but changing the setting didn't seem to make the game much easier. Only half way through the game (on my first day...) I found myself repeating the same scenes over and over and was more frustrated then entertained. Every game has its challenges. This one was ridiculous. I can't imagine what it would be like to play it on hard. I'd probably end up throwing the controller. So obviously it wasn't for me. I love shooters, especially ones that support move (not this one...) I Had the game back in the mail the very next day. Maybe in the next game they can have a God-mode and leave the pain in the rear setting for the uber-gamers that complain these are always too easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not too shabby...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jun 24, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

So-to-say the game isn't bad... Many that enjoy the title have heard the game has headed into a new direction, which it has, and it is still a great game. Even with the new co-op modes fear still has its classic story-line and gameplay.
The game now features a co-op mode and without deathmatch... Anyone familiar with Call of Duty: Black Ops--The Zombie mode--is just like that but with a more creative twist to it. Instead of hordes of one type of enemy... There is numerous of types... Mainly any enemy that is featured in the storyline... As you progress your way through the waves of enemies.

The story takes a different direction, as well. Instead, of the usual investigating good guy... You play as a rouge experiment.
You play as Point man and as soon as you finish the levels you can play as Fettel.

Genetics are the color-less aspect of how humans exist--the most basic of forms in being of existents...
Alma had two children, two twins boys... Both identical, both being the offspring of Alma--they were tested on with genetics... One was altered especially for the use of psychic-manifests, but that lead his conscience in a state that placed him closer to his mother--Alma. The other son wasn't as tortured but altered and trained to be a ultimate soldier. The two were kept together in their youth but then they were wiped clean of memories of each other.
The trained son was ordered to kill his brother--without question he put a bullet in the other's head.
Death did not break the bond between the brothers... Now the last brother is haunted by the entity of his brother -- The psychic child now is in a state of being and with the ability to possess anyone.

The game is great... Watching the videos will not really draw the aspect of what Fear series has to it. Warner Bros have been keeping this title alive and they are doing a wonderful job.

My only complaint is that there isn't any deathmatch...

Either way -- Awesome story, Awesome gameplay.

This game is worth a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not fun

posted by hugefatdave (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

maybe i misunderstood but during the course of the game i did not fear anything except playing longer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average.

posted by Isalon (SOUTH PORTLAND, ME) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I expected more from this game based on the first two being above-average, but not outstanding. I expected more terror. I expected less FPS action and more creepy moments. I was let down. I was further let down when, about 2/3 through the game, I was pitted against an armored unit with only an assault rifle and a pistol at my disposal. I wasn't even allowed the mercy of a rocket launcher. After wasting 15 minutes of my time trying to take it down, I was disgusted. Don't punish players with unrealistic expectations. This game was a beautiful letdown.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dissapointment and nothing to fear

posted by adamthegamer17 (SUGAR LAND, TX) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was a huge dissapointment to me and a lot of my gamer friends. This game reminds me of any other shooter like CoD or killzone but you get slo-mode which is always the best this game has. They could have done a lot better with making more scary parts because there any in Fear 3. I dont reccomend this game because it lacks the past games, only 5 hours of game play through the campaign (very sad). It took them over two years to release this and it is this short. The multiplayer was pretty cool though, had some cool games but you mainly have to have good internet connection to stay online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

F.E.A.R 3 amazing!!

posted by howsik2sik (LAKE CITY, FL) Jun 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

there isnt anything bad i could say about this game i just love it the guns are wow the story was well done i highly recommend this game to anyone that follows the FEAR story or if u just wanna enjoy some hours of fun gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME!!!

posted by Achilles2324 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to give this game a great review! I was a great game. I played Fear 2 and liked it but I played this one and I loved it! I was actually scared many times to where my hairs stood up and I had goose bumps! Not to mention there was a lot of men that I needed to kill, right next to the possessed human things! The graphics were awesome and I wish I had bought the game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful

posted by Flogger (SOMERVILLE, MA) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Terrible in every way, dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not the Co-op I was hoping for

posted by Mercury154 (MANCHESTER, NH) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fear 3 had a great game play with both characters. I really enjoyed taking over enemies bodies and the slow motion shooting I could do. They're only a few changes I wish I could make.

The first change is the length of the campaign mode. I am an offline video gamer who enjoys sitting on the couch with friends for a few hours of co-op fun and this played through in a few days. So if you are looking for a game with a long campaign I would not suggest fear 3. Otherwise, if you enjoy online gaming and FPS this may work for you.

The second thing I would have liked to change is the enemies. There was not a lot of variation in the enemies you fight only in the scenery. This ended up making the game boring after a while.

So, my suggestion is if you're like me and want to sit on the couch to play with friends in the room, don't get this game. If you want an online shooter game try this out but I think you will enjoy something like COD a little more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just not enough fear to F.3.A.R.

posted by Shanghai (CLEMMONS, NC) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What made the first F.E.A.R. game so good was not just the startling pop-ups, but the A.I. As much as I liked the first one, and to a lesser degree the second, this one just didn't feel at all like one in the series.

What I did like was that the game ran well (only a couple lag-fests) and the story was a bit more interesting. Graphics were on par.

But what I didn't like: Sorry, but the AI took a step backwards. Enemies would duck behind cover, but once you knew where they were, you simply placed the reticle where they would repeatedly pop up and BLAM!. Add to that a lot of invisible walls it made the game way to much like old school corridor games. The original F.E.A.R. often gave you alternate paths to flank enemies and such, but not this one. And sorry, but the psychic link stuff is pretty lame.

I hated the fact my weapons were taken from me between each mission. Sorry, just a pet-peeve.

The sound, although good, gave no perception from where the enemy was. The devs need to look at Dead Space 2. You could tell simply by the sound where the enemy was attacking. Add this to no damage indicator, and it was easy to sit in what you think is cover with an enemy pounding on you from behind and not having a clue where it's coming from.

The "creep" missions, IMO, were terrible. There was very little indication of where the creep was coming from, and the dimming sight was nothing short of annoying. Then to find out all you really need to do is ignore the damage and just run. Weak.

Some of the boss missions were just exercises in frustration, or, simply boring. Some consisted of sitting behind cover and just repetitively popping up to slowly chip away at the boss.

Last but not least, the real problem I had with the game is that I had absolutely zero emotional attachment to the main character, or any character for that matter. I simply did not care. This killed the story for me, and is probably the reason I only gave the game a 6/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the first

posted by Falcon3268 (PENDLETON, OR) Jun 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Okay, this is the first time I actually played that actually scared the crud out of me. Now when I got this game I knew what to expect...almost as this game truly held more than one surprise in it. Starting it, I had wondered what bad guys there were going to have in this one but never did I think they would truly throw in something that would drive the player insane.

As the original game said, don't play this in the dark as you will start seeing things. Plus hearing things unlike normal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible

posted by dharvey (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

By far the worst game I have rented from Gamefly...graphics suck...the guns suck...the story makes no sense...enemies come out of nowhere most of the time and you don't know where you're getting attacked from...just overall a stupid game that doesn't keep you interested....lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

F3AR

posted by TheDooners (CLOVIS, NM) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It's ok, kinda boring tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This game was missing something!

posted by devildog39 (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The story line was good but there was something missing can't put my finger on what but it was missing something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not my style

posted by karyzmatic19 (ORANGE, NJ) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the gameplay style was not one i like... this one is definitely not me... maybe others will like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ehh

posted by Theeradicator94 (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Down right terrible game. Nuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Thumbs down

posted by kodos82 (CALIFORNIA CITY, CA) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse