Rent F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin for PS3
view large frontback

F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.3

5183 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

A Strange, Unpredictable Ride

posted by ATMiller (LAFITTE, LA) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Storyline: My first thought, "mindless shooting spree." There are no puzzles to solve, no clues to follow. The only backstory information you receive is generally irrelevant to the objective, which is to survive while at the same time putting as much lead in the enemy as possible. Still, with constant reminders of an enemy intelligence, i.e. numerous, impromptu appearances of the pseudo naked Alma, there is a glimmer of player dymanic. Unfortunately, this never really plays out, and in the end you are left with more questions then answers. Number one question is, "did this game really support this ending?" (No spoilers)

Gameplay: First person shooters can have a claustaphobic affect that can be distracting, especially if the designers try to mimic natural human balance in the character sight and aiming systems (example: cross-hairs go up and down as character breathes [which means that you have to deal with yours in the real world and theirs]). FEAR 2 is much more solid in this respect. Another gripe of this genre is the lack of peripheral vision that would give any real war veteran a heart attack. To compensate, the designers timed enemy attacks so that waves oftem come from predictable directions, not all at once from all sides.

Graphics: Excellent. This reminds one of a true city under psychic siege. The only problem is that, doesn't this kind of total destruction leave one to wonder why the protagonist even bothers? If the enemy has the power to wipe out millions in a blink, why let you live to give them their come-up-ance? This setting left me feeling hopeless, like that no matter who wins, we've all lost. M.A.D. at its finest. It is vital to point out that I am talking specifically about the various terrains, characters, etc., not simply story features, which says a lot about aesthetic.

Enemys: While the AI was somewhat intuitive, the baddies were actually quite lackluster. It felt like I kept having to kill the same seven or eight monsters/soldiers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth Your Time

posted by tronics (WOODSIDE, NY) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Fear 2 is definitely worth your time. You should be able to get through it over a weekend. The controls are solid and at times genuinely scary. I've played Killzone 2 before I played this game, so I've become a bit spoiled by KZ's graphical prowess. At times, Fear 2 can look very dated but it doesn't detract from the gaming experience.

The times when the elements of horror shine best is when you are in a area in darkness while being stalked by ghosts, the atmosphere works. Unfortunately, those are few in favor of just straight forward FPS. The level design and mission objectives can get a bit repetitive but it does manage to entertain you enough to want to push through the end.

I find the ending to this game quite intriguing and honestly can't wait for Fear 3.

All in all, a worthy rental for the single player. Don't expect much out of multiplayer. Stick to COD or Killzone for those duties.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A step down for this promising series

posted by Solrina (CANDLER, NC) Aug 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the first FEAR, shoddy graphics and all. I was seriously jazzed for the next installment, but was disappointed in many ways by what I found.

The game starts interestingly enough, taking place a bit before the end of the first game. You also have a name this time, as you are Delta Force member Michael Becket. Your mission is to capture Genevieve Aristide, a name fans of the first will remember. There are hints of more experiments, some of which seem to include our new hero and his team. Of course Alma returns to wreck havok amongst her new targets.

Once again I have to applaud the "reflex time" mechanics, as they work as well as the first game, and the great guns that always felt right to shoot. The game remains brutal. The music and sound are also rightfully creepy. The action remained entertaining as expected. The voice acting was solid, and I liked the character of "Snake Fist." It was also nice to see something new with the Mech levels, but those are not all that special to be honest.

I did had some problems with the game. First off, the graphics haven't improved much in my opinion. While I could overlooked the first, being a port of a two-year old game, this time around they had no excuse. The level designs were very flat and repetitive. Gone was the creepy atmosphere, replaced with predictable action/set pieces. I can barely remember the levels to be honest. The story this time just isn't as interesting. The final battle is just plain weird.

While the game is certainly not a bad one, I missed the genuinely disturbing feel of the first. This felt like just another shooter...I felt the story was missing the evil feel of the first. I will indeed be looking forward to the third installment, but I also hope it will find a way back to it's disturbing roots.

6 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8 out of 10

posted by LockAdam (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game a lot. The details are wildly amazing. The storyline is detailed and intriguing. If you are looking for a game that you should play in the dark, then this one is for you. It's eerie sound effects alone made me want to turn on a dim light. If you're an everyday-a few hours a day kind of gamer like me, then it shouldn't take you that long to complete it (on normal skill level). I finished in 4 days. So not a very long game, but a lot you can go through and figure out. It's a simple walk through game with no wrong turns. Usually where there is a door open, you're supposed to go through it, with little tid bits of Intel and weapons hidden here and there. No walk-through needed, but not as simple as I make it seem either. The characters in the game are unique. Almost reminding me of a Resident Evil type game with creepy sub-human creatures walking and jumping on the walls and scaring the living daylights out of you. The weapons in the game are also very cool. In a couple parts of the game you get to hop into and control a cyborg-like machine and blow-up, blast and split the bad guys to death. But like I said, the graphics are way to cool for school and I wish the game was longer cause I want to play it again tomorrow! Not a great game for the young kids as it has a lot of skin ripping off bones and blood and guts splattering everywhere. If you can play the demo first-do it, and I bet you'll like it as much as I do. Thanks for taking the time to read my review-Hope it helps!!! 8D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

too short

posted by DoubleX (PARLIN, NJ) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

a reason for game fly. Game play is good and the controls are great. but the game ends right as you start to think it's gonna get great. there is no big battle at the end as the credits roll you wish you had another game to play. the "scary parts" get a little annoying after a while. the part I really enjoy is you get to keep the weapons you like unlike most games where any weapon you like you never find any more ammo for. over worth thhe rent but not to buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A little bit better please!!??!!

posted by Ahop7286 (READING, PA) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game was just close to a seven but the graphics in this game are just too choppy. The game play was great, and the ending was a little odd all in all this is one of those games where you try but do not buy. In other words either rent this from game fly or just ignore it. (could have been a lot better)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fear 2

posted by SkinnyJr (DEERFIELD, IL) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

37 out of 45 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Resident evil, Dead Space, Silent hill- These titles define horror. Resistance, halo, half life- These define action packed fps. What Fear 2 manages to pull off is the best of both worlds. Delivering a game that is so over the top scary, you will scream out loud. Fear 2 returns to the great gameplay of the first, with a strategic enemy that will flip tables over for makeshift cover, slow-motion abilities to pump the enemy full of lead before they get the first shot off, and the random mid-game hallucinations of alma that will make you jump right out of your skin. The story picks up 30 minutes before the first game ended and a giant explosion rocks the city to its very core. I really enjoyed this game, however, the fact that all of the scares will be so memorable takes away from the replayability. Make no mistake, Fear2 is an action packed horror rollercoaster of a game, that have you clawing at the trigger...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth Renting

posted by diamondd (WEST BEND, WI) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Graphics: 5 - Somewhat dated, wooden NPC expressions, environments interesting but not mind blowing

Gameplay: 7 - Nothing new, but fun nonetheless. Very easy, only die unless you do something stupid. Enjoyable to play still if you like FPS.

Scare Factor: 8 - When they do try to scare you, its done well. There are certainly some good goosebump moments, chills down the spine. Interspersed enough in story to not become dull. Scared me more than Dead Space and Bioshock did, but a different kind of scare.

Its a fun game worth renting a few days to get through it. Never played first one, but easy enough to pick up story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Slick FPShooter ~ Good Sequel ~ Too Short

posted by Finjamin (DENVER, CO) May 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you played the first F.E.A.R. you know what to expect, and you'll get more of the same here. Fantastic graphics, pretty good AI, cool weapons, and some challenging battles mixed with a generally creepy vibe and lots of gore.

My beefs with this sequel are: (1) there were too many long maze-like stretches with no action; (2) there were not enough battles; (3) the game ended just when I was getting into it.

But I loved it. Finished it in just a few days of intense gaming. And it plays smoothly, looks fantastic, and has some genuinely creepy moments. Some of the bigger battles were truly challenging. Looking forward to the next installment for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A solid shooter

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Feb 13, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

For the fans of these psychological shooters, you won't be to disappointed with the follow up to the first F.E.A.R. However, in this sequel, the controls have been slightly improved and the graphics look sharper. The levels and overall detail could have been given more attention and the soundtrack could be less obvious as to what's going to happen. Seriously, its a like a bad horror movie. You can tell what's going to happen by the music. The hallucinations get a little tiresome after the 100th time it happens. The story does become a bit convoluted and it seems that towards the end, the developers rushed just to get the game out on time. But what saves this game is that there is more action to look forward to. I did like the added gore and the use of a bullet time effect. Overall, a solid shooter, but not one to have to spend $60 on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fear2:origins

posted by Rvampfan (SPRING LAKE, NC) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

An excellent game for fans and first time players.Really top notch game play and graphics are spectacular. I was gripped and on the edge of my seat 5minutes into the game. It never gets dull or stagneant the game felt like a real life senario. As one would guess this a sequel to fear1. Alma is now the center of the story. Do not be fooled , their will be bone chilling moments but its worth it. A Must buy or at least play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Generic FPS

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Apr 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty un remarkable in that is is just another first person shooter. The first few hours felt like a complete waste of time. The power armor was the highlight of the entire game for me. I was not expecting alot from this game since I didn't like the first one at all ao I wasn't really surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Shooter

posted by metalgun (BALTIMORE, MD) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This installment of FEAR is a must have for anyone who likes first person shooters. Rock solid controls (tighter than the first), excellent physics and good lighting and shadow. After playing the first few levels, the atmosphere is more eerie and frightening than the first installment. The enemy AI seems to be pretty intelligent. They push objects over to make cover for themselves (which is an awesome new feature that you can use also) and don't think about just standing there and shooting them while popping in and out from cover because they'll just flank you or throw a grenade your direction, you got to stay moving.

Just about every aspect has been improved. I was a little disappointed with the graphics on the PS3 though. Everything was grainy like you are watching a VHS movie, a high definition VHS movie. But that's minor compared to everything this game has to offer. If you're a fan of the series or just enjoy a good FPS, than this game will be right up your alley.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its Ok

posted by Smoothoak (ARLINGTON, VA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gameplay was decent. Some scenes bring a chill down your spine. Especially playing late at night. I liked the weapon choices, but I thought the boards were a little repeatative and long. The ending was garbage and i thought a little to easy to beat. i agree with one other persons review. Good for a rent, but not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Bleak

posted by Comedian (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 9, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just don't get it. Why every shooter game has too be so bleak and boring? I need something to keep my attention, because pools of blood in every freaking corner just doesn't cut it.
In post-apocaliptic cities there's got to be something fun to do also.
I just got bored with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I know I'm gonna get flamed for this, but...

posted by firebirdud (GAINESVILLE, FL) May 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The first game I rented from GameFly was Killzone 2. Really enjoyed it. After that, was Fear 2. I'm sorry guys.... I really think I liked Fear 2 MORE than Killzone 2! This game ATLEAST rivals the heck out of it. I would say this is Killzone meets Doom 3. It actually kinda scary in parts!

The enemy's AI was above average. Enemies alter the environment to provide cover for themselves. Meaning they will spin a couch around and flip it over to give them something to hide behind. I thought this was a VERY cool feature. Your character also has a small brief ability to slow down time. May sound cheesy, but I think it was really well done. Only lasts for a brief second and then requires a wait time to be used again. Also, in what game have you seen the enemies run away while shooting at you, then make a flying leap through an office window, pop right back up and keep shooting? Fear 2!

My biggest complaints would be that you never get to drive any vehicles. I realize it's a FPS, but I really enjoy this feature common in many FPSs. Also, the game was a touch too easy. I started the game on hard and never bumped it down. I'm not saying that I never died through the whole game. But when I did, I generally smoked that part next time around and proceeded. Even on the hard difficulty, ammo and health are in good supply. Another thing that bothered me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All i can say is WOW

posted by ps3gamer92 (COWPENS, SC) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

10 out of 27 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

this game blow my mind. i just got done playeing the first couple of levels of this game and i have to say that i am very pleased a very impressed.ok now your from what i know so far a speacial unit used by the millitary during phreonormal activities. all i know that there is a little girl scaring the heck out of me allong with other freaky things. but i do know that the graphics for this game has stepped up compared to the last one. you can go in slow mo and while your in there you can see vivid detail of the amount of blood. destructible enviroments and bodyu parts flying every where. i came acroos a unit of soliders i flipped over a table pulled out my shot gun and literaly blasted onne in half. there is also a new feature which is the new machancal suits you get to operate taking on countless enemys and other suits of robot clashing metal. this game has made me see things i thought that i would never see in my life. things that would make a blind man cry. but over all this is one super great horror game highly suggest it buy now or else becuase shes coming(youll no when you play).
-blake plz vote helpful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Deeply Disappointed

posted by NeptGamer (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 19 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

The good
-good controls, easy to learn
-lots of blood, if guts hanging out with spines dripping blood and skinless skulls lulling in pools of blood is your thing, this is your game.
-bodies break very nicely if not repetitively. it looks great the first few times (see second bullet) but after the first few times you realize that it all looks the exact same, pop a head, blow em in half, disintegrate them, rinse and repeat, looks the same every time

The Bad
-Motion blur is absurd, when i can see one object overlapping itself due to blur as i turn, that is unacceptable.
-Jagged Edges, every edge on every object in this game looks like a fairly decent ps2 game... this is the ps3 though, so again, unacceptable.
-So many details half paid attention to. I can shoot a tv, but it still works, i look at a clock because its ticking very loudly, yet the hands dont move. When a teammate calls you, their portrait pops up, but its a still picture of them, again, are we on the ps1 here?
-Bodies randomly disappear
-Bullet holes disappear after about 15 secs
-Dismembering bodies is way to random, i might be at point blank range with a shotgun and make the guy disintegrate, or, i could just get a kill with a lot of blood and dude sits there slumped like i just meleed him with my gun.
-I shoot a guy, blood splatters on a window, i break the window, glass goes down, but the blood is still in a splatter pattern in the hole where the window was as though the glass were still there.
-In one of the opening rooms, and random places after that, the floor doesnt render more than 5 feet ahead of you, so you could be on a hardwood floor, but 5 feet ahead of me i cant tell what it is because it hasnt rendered the texture, it just shows a blurry floor as though it were 100 yards in the distance.
-Enemies look stiff, at least the regular soldiers do, theres nothing fluid about those guys.

All in all, i was deeply disappointed after FEAR, and very glad i only rented. Now for Killzone2, -droool-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

F.E.A.R. 2 Project Origen

posted by madcat (BRUNSWICK, ME) May 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well i thought it was good scared me alot when she pops out of nowheres but the ENDING was the worst i dont think this game is not as good as they say its only good enough to rent its plays along side fear 1 i hope to play FEAR 3 to see how that one was Fear one im sorry to say is a game to Own unlike fear 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not What You Think

posted by Fliponce (HOUSTON, TX) May 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

At first you would think a game called Fear 2 would be scarying but its more like a kidding land rollor coaster. This game ia avg at best. It really lacks that it factor that will keep you wanting to finsh the game. One of the worst features is it has no map. If your looking for a good horror game Dead Space is the ticket.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NOT that scary

posted by rico08 (PLEASANT HILL, IA) May 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Okay, I understood based on some reviews on this site, that this game was so scary that some could not play through it without taking breaks. Well I respect all reviews, however I will have to say that I was only scared once throughout the game. Now if you are looking for nightmares, jumping out of your seat, making sure someone else is at home with you because you are too scared to play it alone, the get Dead Space. This game is good, good graphics, yet it locks on the story. What was going on? Why was our hero there? What's up with the ending? Why our hero can only carry four weapons? Please, to the programers, answer these few questions when developing the next chapter. I will give the game a 5 because over all it was a good game. Controls were easy, no skipping and you get to gun down a lot of bad guys. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

sux

posted by bekimtba (LEXINGTON, KY) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game will make u faint it sucks !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks

posted by The25thru (BRONX, NY) May 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

a Waste Of My Time...Extremely boring...online gameplay sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lots of bronds hah

posted by Kratos_man (SEFFNER, FL) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

14 for beating the game little fuzy tru out the game but that didnt bather me much its a old game like qwick scopeing head shots in slow mo 1 shot kill nice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by john215 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

worst game ever!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse