Rent F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin for Xbox 360
view large frontback

F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.4

12296 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fear 2, the sequel that is better!

posted by jbbby1976 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

37 out of 45 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Fear 2 is a great sequel. The game is quick about 8 hours for the single player story. The game is enjoyable, and the environments are unique. Enemies have a lot more variety, one of the major issues with the original fear. Only negative is the end leaves many questions yet again. I would recommend this game if you have Gamefly, very enjoyable rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

F.E.A.R. Runs Deep

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Feb 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

66 out of 85 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

When I played the 1st F.E.A.R. I fell in love with the story! Controls are a breeze easy to grasp, also to mention the graphics are lush in deep blacks & whites. How the environments would fade to black & white with flashbacks. I couldn’t get enough! A very addicting game and I believe this game & developers will hopefully be around for a long-time running! Keep up the amazing work! In this 2nd installment, I must say, when controlling the Mech Assault-like robotic vehicle that your character jumps into on the 1st level alone, one word: AWESOME! I cannot stress that word enough.

You are instantly thrown in and start battling an identical armored robot. The fighting sequences/frame rates refreshed are top notch, the music becomes loud & deep bass. NOTE: (if you have a surround sound system, it probably will blow you out of the water!) I’ve become fond of the large selection of weapons, you can literally use up every clip of ammo from start to finish, without having to worry about running low on ammunition. That’s a certain freedom that even older generation games didn’t always have to offer, that’s a great feature to see in this! The storyline is deep, vast & I won’t give out any spoilers. For the 59.99 price tag, it’s honestly worth every penny. My hat is off to the developers, keep up the great work team! Thank you for reading Gamers. Happy Gaming!

NOTE: If you have any feedback to add, feel free to send a msg on LIVE Gamertag SUPERMARSH1984.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Definately worth a rental.

posted by Shinedown1 (ALLEN PARK, MI) Jun 13, 2009

Member since May 2009

23 out of 32 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

This is a pretty good game and people will wonder why I would say a game is good and only give it a 6. The reason for the low score is that you have to take into account all aspects of the game and the multiplayer really drags the score of this game down. Single player is fun, never too frustrating and has some decent blood in it. The rooms in the game are a little too dark for my taste but that is how they are supposed to be since the game is trying to be scary, but it isnt. Controls are easy to grasp and they respond well. Online multiplayer is a mess. How come I can shoot someone 25 times in the face with a shotgun and they wont die but if you punch someone once they do. That is an unforgiveable flaw, why do we have guns if they dont work? There is no lobby to autumatically start games and let people join in once the game has started. You must wait for the host to start the game and once he/she does that is all the players you will get. If your entire team quits you're on your own the rest of the match. Rent this game for the single player, dont bother wasting time on the multiplayer. Look me up on xbox live: Shinedown 313

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Okay, F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origins, here we go:

posted by ShaunDBSTN (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 22, 2009

Member since May 2009

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

(This review might not contain entirely true statements)

F.E.A.R. 2: Projects Origins is (obviously) the follow-up of First Encounter Assault Recon, or, of course, F.E.A.R. 1. Projects Origins is based on a little, 8-year-old girl (now a woman of about 18 or 19) named Alma, that's destroying cities because she's tight at her dad for leaving her in a septic tank in some lab.

You play as Michael Becket, a Delta Force operator. I never played the first one, so I don't know what happened to Point Man, the protagonist of the first F.E.A.R. game (I heard the first one was, well, horrible). Anyway, you pick up at the beginning of the game with your squad trying to take some chick, Genevieve Aristide, into protective custody.

The beginning of Project Origins, starts apparently 30 minutes before the ending of its predecessor.

Alright, enough story, time for the gameplay. The gameplay is basic, but it has its F.E.A.R. perks: The Slo-Mo option is still there, making combat against 10 to 20 enemies an absolute breeze, and the enhanced A.I. is still intact, as you use the environment to hide from enemy gunfire.

The environment is really similar to that of the original XBOX's DOOM 3, and all three Alien movies. The graphics are great and the weapons selection is pretty intense.

Although, there are little things that get annoying: You can't save files, enemies are as easy to kill as punching a blind man in the face, Alma has this habit of letting you know she's watching you by giving you photosynthetic seizures, and getting through a level can have some many annoying steps, it's not even funny.

So, in conclusion, F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origins is great, but it isn't a gem. It deserves an 8.5 for sure; especially because you get to operate an awesome Robot Suit thing. I'm down. You should be, too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fear 2

posted by SRT4BOOST (RIO RANCHO, NM) Jun 15, 2009

Member since May 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think the story line is great and the graphics are great but the level to level game play is repetitive. Lost interest quick.

my 2 cents

Andrew
NM

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worthy of Rent for Single Player

posted by Jweld1 (CARSON CITY, NV) Feb 22, 2009

Member since May 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I had some high hopes for this game, but it failed to deliver on some levels. The single player experience was really fun, even though the hardest difficulty felt like normal on most games. It had some moments of fear, but it wasn't scary. The single player is pretty short, 6-8 hours of play. But where this game fails miserably is the multiplayer. No lobby system like C all of Duty or Halo for ranked matches, it has some pretty hefty lag at some points, and it is really boring. Compared to games like Call of Duty 4 or Halo 3, this just doesn't compare. If you are going for 1000 points in this game, you will have around 100+ hours of multiplayer to play just in case anyone was wondering about achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehhh....

posted by JJV1976 (FORT MILL, SC) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2003

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Great engine, great gameplay, the weapons all feel good when you fire them....however.

Just like the first one it just feels generic. The same enemies over and over and over, it potentially has a great back story but it cant decide what it wants to be. Horror? Fringe science. Straight action? It does them all well, but none of the are done great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I expected so much more then this.

posted by iruleall (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong. I am having fun playing it, but alot of the scarier parts of the game seems placed and unimagined. Its a bit of a clunky shooter.

Fear 2.. not too bad, but dead space is still a more thought out game.

I am just saying...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

9.9 rounds up

posted by freepizza (College Station, TX) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

After being frustrated by a few other shooters, my first compliment goes toward the complete lack of glitches in campaign mode. If you shoot an enemy in the toe, it hits. In the head, it hits. There is no mysterious passing of the bullets through enemy bodies without leaving a scratch. There are lots of great new weapons and improvements to old ones and they all hurt when they hit.

You are fighting, moving, sneaking, picking up gear. I went through most of the game before I realized just how much environmental firepower there is to be had. Shoot boxes and barrels for explosions. Shock grenade water puddles, firebomb oil spills. I don't want to make it sounds complicated because it's not. These are only options avaible to those who want to think tactical and lay traps. You can shoot through like I did.

Things improved from F.E.A.R.:
-All guns fire bursts believably. A problem in F.E.A.R. was that the guns frequently made the sound of firing 3-4 times when only one bullet was expelled. Other times, it would continue to fire 3-4 bullets when your finger had left at 1.
-HUD and health bar improved
-Enemies are aggressive and tactical

What sort of virtual beauty can be found to warm your heart and water your eyes?
-Dialogue: the most realistic dialogue I can remember hearing in any game. Extreme lack of cheeziness and awkward overstressed tones.
-Environment: largely destructable and scenic, especially the beautiful grassy hill with the swing, which is not a common sight in the city that the game is set in.
-Music: I remember just a few scenes other than background noise. Toward the end a hard rock piece turns on lyrics and all and it actually fits with the game, instead of clashing.

I only buy for replay value on xbox live, but I might buy this solely for the campaign experience. I only got stuck in path progression once and only had one case of invisible cover where my bullets couldn't reach the target where there was no visible obstruction. <3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good rental

posted by deadspacer (POCASSET, MA) Aug 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty cool, but unfortunity very shallow and superficial. The tripy encounters with Alma make the routine FPS play with predictable weapons and map design all worth while. You should invest the few hours it takes to beat this game and then ship it off for something new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2003

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

For F.E.A.R. fans this is a must play. It's the best game yet. Sadly it's sub-par compared to some of the excellent sub-par shooter games out there.

The game is too dark, I get it to be scary you shouldn't be able to see anything, but when I configured my tv to the appropriate darkness setting, my eyes were constantly straining to see where to go, adjust the brightness all the way up, and your life will be much easier

Why do the enemies take 1000 hits? I'm nailing these guys point blank with a shotgun and it still takes 3 hits. I realize they think the game would probably be too easy, but there's other ways to adjust that

The way the characters bobs and moves in unrealistic and annoying, other games you could turn it off, but in this one you can't

The hallucinations are cool, but shooting ghosts with bullets is dumb, the flashes are too fast sometimes and you really can't take it all in

They took away the health pack nuisance, you regenerate health slowly, but I never figured out the health bar (still beat the game though).

Some of the levels are poorly designed and it can be difficult to figure out where to go (especially when it's uber dark), some kind of pda map or something pointing to your objectives would be nice

The city is in ruins so you are walking around rubble a lot. I found it annoying that the character had a vertical of 2 inches and couldn't jump on a boulder one foot off the ground

This is still worth a play through, it's about 6-8 hours long, better levels, better graphics, better everything, but still sub-par compared to other shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent, but underwhelming

posted by Matricse (EAST ELMHURST, NY) May 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

For reference, I played the first FEAR title on the PC.

I don't think I got through more than a third of this game before I got pretty bored. The atmosphere is satisfyingly creepy and the guns generally feel right, but there are few incentives to go on.

For one thing, the graphics are not impressive. Part of the problem is probably that I'm coming from the PC, where I can crank up the resolution and anti-aliasing, and you're inherently limited to 720p with most console games. But even taking that into consideration, the employed effects, including particles, shadows, and lighting, appear similar to those of the first game. The engine is basically the same.

Second, the storyline is not particularly compelling. In the first game, you would get a few audio logs scattered here and there. In FEAR 2, you get text-only logs, which is pretty disappointing. Alma shows up once in a while to creep you out, and though it'll elicit some reflexive chills, it does nothing for story progression.

The game also lacks the lean ability of the PC original, which is annoying since the AI can clearly lean, and the much-touted ability to flip over objects for cover is almost entirely superfluous.

It's not a bad game by any means, and it's good that they used a couple new environments, enemies, and mech control, but there was nothing here to really hold my attention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

posted by Spartan50 (NORTH PROVIDENCE, RI) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Everything you loved from the orginal F.E.A.R and more! The graphics are better and the multiplayer is completely better, the movement has been slowed down to COD4/5 speed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fearfest

posted by Bonesnsuch (ROSWELL, GA) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

10 out of 21 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing, The fact that the ghosts and other horrific sights are so much more detailed just adds to the terror and suspense in the game. The blood effects are awesome in every way, the terror from alma is just outstanding. This fear blows the first one, and all of its expansions, out of the water

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

F.E.A.R 2 -SIGH- 88/100

posted by BigDgaming (KINGMAN, AZ) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

F.E.A.R 2
Storyline- Good story, it completes the previous games and wraps it up nicely, and rather touchingly. 20/20
Graphics – Incredible, this game is beautiful, even the minor details have a beautiful look to them, of course not all the small details are easily shown, some aren’t shown at all, but none the less it is beautiful. 10 /10
Game play- The controls function perfectly, and it all seems to fit, the only issue I had, which was minor, was that you couldn’t slow time in the mech suit things. 14/15
Enjoy ability- -Sigh- I liked this game, but it made me want to cry, they took out EVERTHING that made the first game scary and replaced it with some things that only added the scary about 1/10 of the way back in. I loved the first 3 games, they scared me, startled me, and at times I grit my teach, but F.E.A.R. 2 fell short in that respect, far, far, far from the others. 13/20
Art direction- The architecture of the game fit well, it looked like a town, a well constructed, and well established city even, the only issue, it was small… but the school part of the game, the school was WAY too big, I have been in 4 elementary schools 2 high schools and to 3 colleges and none of them were nearly that big. 9/10
Sound &VA- Well acted and the sounds were great, but sadly the voices were to quite and you had to turn up the TV just to hear people talk, and if you forgot to turn it down the first gunshot left your ears nearly bleeding, I even maxed the voices and lowered the sound effects to about half and it still happened pretty much every time. 9/10
Length- To long, the story could have been told in half the time but they put forward to much action between each part of the story, quite honestly making it boring about 50% of the time. 13/15
Total- 88/100
Bottom line- Don’t buy it, but it’s a definite rent, if you really feel you must have it (say for a collection) than wait till its about 9.99, I was about to cry… this game was pure disappointment, I’m happy I got it and learned the end of the story, but I wish I was as scared as I was in the first 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slightly scary remake of HALO

posted by NextHonkey (FORT RUCKER, AL) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Given, I never played the first FEAR game, but that shouldn't mean much. I only played this game for about 2 hours. I was bored as heck. I couldn't keep up with the story line. The game was so dark that I kept getting lost. It was only 5 levels into the game that I realized that you have to actually follow the X's on the walls. And to top it all off as far as the game play was concerned, it was a lot like Halo.

I gave this game a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More Of The Same

posted by apathygod (DENVER, CO) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you have played FEAR 1 then then you have pretty much played this game already. The controll scheme and battle mechanics are unaltered. The only real addition to the game, aside from story, is mech combat in a few stages. The game has all the same "boo!" aspects as well. Infact your so used to seeing the little girl from the first game pop out that she is no longer scary. The only reason to rent this game is you are a fan of the FEAR story line.
In sumary, the gameplay has not changed much from the first installment but if you wanna contine the story line this give this game a spin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I F.E.A.R. this game may disappoint you

posted by DharmaBum (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Let's face it: we've been around the block a few times when it comes to horror video games. After Resident Evil 4, Dead Space, Silent Hill: Home Coming and a host of other great games, it's going to take a lot more than a few random bloody skeletons to get our blood pumping. Yet sadly, that's all you get in F.E.A.R. 2.

Remember when the first game came out for the PC, and all of the reviews were gushing over it, and then slowly, over time, F.E.A.R. was labeled to be an average game? I expect to see that happen again, because except for two mech levels, F.E.A.R. 2 offers nothing new.

I'm pretty sure I recognized a few of my favorite voice actors in the game. Jenn Taylor, the voice of Halo's Cortana, Phil Lamarr, of Samurai Jack fame, and Steve Blum, Spike from Cowboy Bebop, all have decent sized roles in Project Origin. Unfortunately, they're all roles that don't matter, as they all play fodder eager to be killed off after acting like your comrade for a few seconds. This is an incredibly stupid horror movie cliche, and the fact that you spend no time bonding with the other characters in your squad means that you won't give a frak when they inevitably get turned into a smoking pile of goo.

I'm not blaming the actors for this, but the writers. F.E.A.R. 2 has a pretty stupid story, and a completely unengaging set of main characters. You play as a mute, a la Gordon Freeman, so you have no character, but even worse than that is Alma, the game's villain, who is a bad ripoff of an iconographic figure from a relatively recent Japanese horror movie.

If you really want to play this and enjoy it, appreciate it as a mindless corridor shooter in the same vein as Serious Sam. There is really no substance here beyond the game being a very competently executed shooter, and on the plus side, the slow mo button is always satisfying.

I'd rather see another Dead Space than stuff like this continuing to pop up, because games like FEAR 2 just aren't scary anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ALMA NO!!!

posted by Hangov3r (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Alma no!!! F.E.A.R.ful individuals should really consider not renting this game. I wish I would have played the first F.E.A.R., I may have to rent it. F.E.A.R. 2 is a fast paced first person shooter that will keep you at the edge. Depending on how long you can play at one time and your skill level, this is easily a 42 hour game. For a real challenge you must play the highest difficulty level.
Multiplayer play is available online, not as entertaining as some shooters available to date but the the story line makes F.E.A.R.2 a must play for tactical conscious gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Creepy Game , Very Entertaining!

posted by MrsFaust (FORESTDALE, MA) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This Game was basically Fear 1, but on an easier scale, I beat level 1-3 pretty easily, the graphics are smooth, the AI does not get annoying, as it is always doing something new. The Way you are always wondering whats around the next corner is amazing, Due to the great sound it has, the effects at A+.

The Multiplayer needs work but the variety of game types make up for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by cooldd (LOS GATOS, CA) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 23 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

I loved every aspect of this game. The multiplayer is great and highly recomend everyone rents it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome game

posted by ShinryuShi (FORT PIERCE, FL) Mar 3, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game was much better than the first one. The only problem is i am done playing it and im ready to return it, but if I do then I will have no games out. Game f l y takes way to long to ship games out. I pay for 2 but only have like 1 game most of the time because they suck at shipping out the next game. I have plenty of games that say high availability. Why cant they be more like Net f l i x.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what a waste of time

posted by better (JOSHUA TREE, CA) May 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

do you know how long i played this game about a level an a half it is boring stupid and nothing special about it at all warner brothers should stick to movies leave the games to the pros

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not even rent-worthy

posted by james34 (GLASGOW, KY) May 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

i expected way too much from this game, i had thought since F.E.A.R 1 was a great game, that F.E.A.R 2 would be even better. Sadly, it seems as if after F.E.A.R 1 ended it was all downhill from there. i wouldnt even recommend this game to someone i hate

the pros: you get achievements......thats it

the cons: everything, clunky controls, old xbox-style graphics VERY repetitive gameplay, you'll be bored in 5 minutes, honestly i had this game for like 2 days

So basically, dont rent this game, you'll be dissapointed. rent something good like fallout 3 or bioshock. Seriously, this game is worse than Vampire Rain, and that's pretty bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible...

posted by mavjr24 (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

had it for two hours then sent it right back. wasn't scary, had confusing controls, flat and horrible graphics and ridiculously stupid AI. the enemies literally ran in circles. Oh there was no point to anything. I was lost most of the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse