Rent F1 2012 for PS3
view large frontback

F1 2012

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.1

201 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Practice Makes Perfect

posted by colts1299 (MANITO, IL) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played previous Formula 1 games in the past. This addition to the series is by far the best. It's not too easy, but not too hard. The career mode is engaging. I find myself saying one more race three or more races in a row. There are also other game modes that throw you into different scenarios. Like one where you are in the lead with option tyres on when it starts pouring down rain, the challenge is to finish the last 5 or so laps of the race on slick tyres without letting your teammate who has intermediate wets on beat you. These challenges give a whole new depth into the racing experience. All of this goes with the outstanding graphics and sound. With these two combined it makes the game feel so real, as if you are strapped into the 750 hp car blasting around the worlds best race tracks. I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who is a veteran to the F1 series or even new comers. This game will have you hooked from the beginning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

patience.

posted by xxmikexx1012 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is not for ones whom want to win every race. this game takes skill, patience and knowledge to do that. Codemasters did an awesome job with everything, from the AI which is so much harder, even making sure you know how much brake to use because they lock up easier. They did this to challenge you, they want to make you get frustrated and come back, and back, and back for more until you win. Owning a steering wheel also helps a lot when the car steps out, the wheel lets you counter-steer without over correcting. I would definitely rent this game if you want a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

some just dont get it

posted by deadplanetz (DENVER, CO) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome. it is really hard but you can set it up to be so easy its rediculess[sp]. people who just want to bump and win are not TRUE racers. you need a steering wheel to truly realize the greatness this game is. Codemasters are briliant at capturing the true nature of racing. if you dont like this game then you just dont understand it at all !!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i like 2011 more

posted by jaketra (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 19, 2014

Member since May 2013

i expected this game to be good turns out theirs a lot more than just racing. theirs this thing called the rookie training circut where you have to train and become a f1 driver. i find that annoying. the controls are a bit more sluggish than the xbox 360 game. plus the cars that you drive in the game are nothing but terrible. they give you horrible choices of race companies. thats why i like 2011 more than this game. the only fun part about this game is that you get to drive a car that goes super fast. plus this game is more of a challenge than the other one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a racing fan... Seems like a good game.

posted by parkpunk (KETCHUM, ID) Jun 21, 2013

Member since Aug 2005

I've never been a huge racing fan. As such, this game seemed very realistic and accurate. It's definitely a simulator. Graphics were awesome. I'm sure serious racing fans will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

beautiful but hard

posted by egherb2000 (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) May 22, 2013

Member since May 2013

game looks great and the graphics are wonderful, but it is fairly hard to play. i don't have the racing wheel so maybe that was a factor, but it was very difficult even on the easy setting. plus it has the grand turismo style qualifying to play the single player, so that can get annoying. its definitely worth a rental for graphics alone, but if you wreck easily playing nascar games, don't even bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good graphics, complex mechanics too much red tap

posted by gfuser100 (BRONX, NY) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

i like the elements of the game. the pros and cons of the car setup. i was hoping for more of a super monaco grand prix kinda feel to it. there's just too much red tape in the game. ranging from load times to cut scenes to racing rules and regulations.

multiplayer is not existent since it's a rental. unless there was a just a casual mode where you can crash into opponents and damage their cars and yours with out having to be disqualified from the race it would be better. it's just too professional, i just prefer a free flowing approach to racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Updated Interface, Worsened Gameplay

posted by Guimengo (SYCAMORE, IL) Apr 20, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

F1 2012 continues Codemasters' dominant streak of subpar, unsatisfying Formula 1 games. For the first time CM released a demo for their game, showing confidence in their title but yet again it faulters, again crushing the hopes that F1 fans had as they annually tell themselves "this year will be different."

First of all, the presentation really improved. Gone are the clunk interfaces, now we have a clean and sharp interface. Also very welcome are a couple of new modes (Young Driver Test is useless): Champion Mode and Season Challenge.

On Champions Mode we get 7 different scenarios in which we must beat former and current world champions to get medals. In Season Challenge we get a 10-race, alternate F1 calendar season to go select specific drivers as our rivals, aiming to beat them on a best-of-3 race system, which sees their team offer us their drive if we win.

Unfortunately any good in the game is killed by the very sluggish, slow, unresponsive, and numb gameplay/ The graphics are not the best but are serviceable on a regular tv. Codies maintained their annoying blurry HDR filter on the game, by the way. On a sharper monitor you'll see how annoyingly poor they look.

Sounds are loud but not crisply made. There's nice communication with the pit engineer however it can get SO repetitive that you may consider turning way down how much the guy participates.

So there we have it, once again CodeMasters disappointed F1 fans worldwide with their never-improving title (except that some absurd bugs from the past aren't there). It is amazing how there is a lack of bite from the tires, how the steering is poo, and even trying to use a proper wheel like a Logitech G25/27 won't do you any good, as you can't overcome the inherent lag and deadzones.

Stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun and Challenging

posted by VanDusen86 (BILLERICA, MA) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I really like the game. It is true to f1 Very fast paced game. You get to adjust your fuel and do pit stops. You also gotta worry about the whether one minute it can be clear the next its raining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Challenging and Addicting

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 11, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

F1 2012 is one of the best racing games I've played in a long time simply because it offers what most racers lack, A CHALLENGE. If you're one of those people who rage if you don't win a race or have to crash everyone to win, then you shouldn't be playing racing games. Codemasters did such a great job on fine tuning this game it's unreal. The cars are tricky to get a hold of because they're very sensitive. They will steps out very easy on you so be prepared to correct.The career mode is the same well layed out career we've seen before but with much more engaging AI. The graphics are great, the cars look great and the backgrounds are absolutely beautiful. This game is hard but it keeps you coming back because it makes you think, "I can beat them at the next track" if you practice and tune your car enough this is one of the best racing simulators of all time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not for 1st timers

posted by jt81thomas (BRUSLY, LA) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I have played f1 2010 and 2011 and this game is a step above. The graphics are awesome and the sound is great but this is not a game for beginners unless you understand the formula 1 world. I love formula one and I love this type of racing but for me this game was a little too challenging. For me that challenge of control was so hard that it took the enjoyment out of the game for me. While the visuals are great it was too hard for me to keep the car from spinning out at the simplest of times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply put? LEGIT!!!!!!!!

posted by manquake (SEYMOUR, TN) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Im a seasoned Gran Turismo veteran...as far back as the older PS formats. Sure there's F1's you can get/buy/drive but nothing comes close to F1 2012!! There's nothing that even comes close. From beginner to advanced it will school you like you just got your learners permit!!! Hard mode? can you saw PWNED??!?!?!? The graphics are smooth, and the sound effects taken straight from the different motors found in the Formula series!! Crackles and pops, high revs and rev limiters, downshifting booms, and back fires, spinouts and crashes with LEGIT damage that can simply cripple you enough where its game over. You can't drive likes its nascar either, you will get penalties and black flagged quicker than you can say "HATERADE". So rent it, buy it, borrow it, whatever... just get it and DRIVE IT.
I will say this isnt so much for the novice driver as it is for the more seasoned. ESPECIALLY NASCAR drivers, you bump or rub in this kind of racing and its over. Sure there's gonna be some banging but you have to be careful, its not like diving into turn 2 at Bristol!! Turn 2 @ Suzuka will wad you up and spit you out stamping LOL on your forehead.
Its technical, but well made. I just wish there was an option to save replays. Realistically though, if thats really the only complaint... i still think its a WIN!!!
If they would only make a NASCAR one with this much detail and focus, there is no SUPER BOOST here..only KERS and DRS which is pretty dang legit ( there's that word again ).
So, pop it in your Q and get ready for the most detailed professional racing F1 game out there. Im sure there will be some haters, and thats fine... those are the people on Gran Turismo with the NASCAR rooms with BOOST @ max and race dirty, its the only way they know how to race. F1 is clean, tight, well made, and detailed..... its almost derpa derpa PROOF :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No good

posted by dowdell (FAIRCHANCE, PA) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

Turrible game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »