Rent F1: 2010 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

F1: 2010

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

1042 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Real F1 might be easier

posted by ElBrownman (DAYTON, OH) Jun 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The attention to detail is wonderful. The race mechanics, need to pit, equipment condition, and endless practice and qualifying rounds... that said, only serious gamers and hardcore racing fans need apply. The game is VERY challenging and requires less blinking than any other racer I've played. The short races are good exercises in futility and the long races are difficult to schedule (1.5 to 2 hours) for even a committed gamer.

F1 can be rewarding if you have the patience and skill to weather a full season (or more). It looks great, plays to a marvelous technical level, but takes forever and can be quite boring.

Recommended for hardcore racers only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Practice will put you in first!

posted by StonyFace (PHOENIX, AZ) May 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the first time I played an F1 racing game, it was pretty fun once you got the hang of driving. I mostly played career mode since I wasn't hooked up to live at the time, it was a challenge the first couple if races because I wasn't practicing at the beginning. Then I started to practice, running first in qualifying, started to finish first. Pitting will screw you up, put you in last so just listen to your crew chief. I rate this game a 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

F1: 2010

posted by lThatOneGuyl (ELBERTON, GA) May 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have purchased this game twice now, and due to Xbox 360's lack of a good disc drive, I am now renting it from GameFly. This game is excellent in my opinion. Codemasters did an awesome job at creating a very realistic F1 experience. Of course you are going to have bugs. There have been a number of issues within the game that have been found, but overall, the gameplay is great.

The career mode is great. There are tons of settings that can make the game easy for the beginner or extremely difficult for the veteran. It always offers a challenge.

F1:2010 has to be one of my all time favorite racing games, and I have played a lot of racing games! I am looking forward to the release of F1:2011 in September. I think Codemasters will be much closer to perfecting the game and removing the bugs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVE IT

posted by ryan62586 (BLOUNTSVILLE, AL) May 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rented it, "Kept" it the same day. The game is loads of fun for someone with a WHEEL.

Controller? Do not bother it's a handful. but if you have a wheel, this game is fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its realistic

posted by JoAGAGAGA (MARCELLUS, NY) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i first rented this game i thought it would just be another racing game but it wasnt. this game is the for the hardcore simulation racer who wants to feel like a real driver. it really is amazing , you can customize your helmet and your car. its a great game and if you want to feel like an F1 race car driver you'll be one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Honestly its a great game........but

posted by Brnhornet (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Simply a great racer, its not a collect 1000 cars game just simply K.I.S.S game...but you have to get use to having an underpowered car and not being the focus of the team for at least the 1st season....only bad thing about this game is the lack of a season calendar! I played this instead of GT5 which is now collecting dust on my shelf for almost 2 months

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

First AI ever that engages in gentleman's racing..

posted by LotusRacer (MIDLAND, GA) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

OFFLINE:
This is the very first racing AI which does not attempt to spin out the player/driver. In fact, the AI's actively attempt to avoid collisions, just like you would.

ONLINE:
The folks online are he!!-bent, more than any other online racer, to hit you side-to-side and knock you offtrack. Not sure if it is their servers lagging causing this, but I suspect it is the people, as a few rooms were not that way.

Also, less than 30% wear their headsets to engage in amusing chatter....very quiet online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally

posted by Toufster1 (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Good driving dynamics
online mode is fun
good graphics

cons:
Not realistic enough
AI is too easy even on expert
race engineer has an IQ of 2
your always number 2 driver

Overall its the 1st one from codemasters and they did an amazing job

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost a winner

posted by NJ6fan (LITTLE EGG HARBOR TWP, NJ) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good racing game, if you have the time to practice. The game has some excellent graphics but the downfall is the AI, seems they like to follow eachother after lap one. I liked the career mode and the chance to move to a better team, but once you have won the championship there is not too much else to do. And as another person pointed out you should have #1 on your car as the champion.
If you like F1 you will enjoy this racing sim, alot of tweeking the set up will help you catch the Red Bull cars, but make sure you listen to your crew chief on wet set up races, or you'll be spinning more than racing. Change tyres when he tells you to:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A decent first entry, worth a rental

posted by TheSolly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 9, 2010

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hardcore open wheel racing fans finally have a worthy game. While limited only to F1 (no Indy or other open wheel racing) this game offers the level of realism, control, and graphics to make it attractive even if F1 isn't your favorite series.
Realism falls between sim level like Forza, and arcade level like Grid. A nice blend appealing to the widest array of players.
Controls are responsive and camera choices offer all you need. The career mode adds depth beyond just racing. The custom options for race length, driver aids, etc make the game very accessible, although it's strict focus means that players are probably not new to racing games.
The addition of R&D, press interviews, and a wealth of F1 history and facts flesh out this game.
Complaints begin with a total lack of tutorial or online instruction. Having rented the game from Gamefly, I don't have the manual, and the game itself does nothing to aid you. It's unclear how to change things during a pit stop, and stops themselves seem a little buggy around AI drivers. There is little explanation as to how to change the car's set up to improve it. Quick set up options help but only consider weather.
Difficulty scaling is a little off as well. The two easier levels are far too easy, while any higher means that even the most minor mistake can destroy a race. That is realistic, sure, but it's not fun for a game to have to finish a long race knowing you can't win.
Driver AI is fine, and unlike most racing games, the AI isn't perfect and will make mistakes of their own.
The graphics are good, but not cutting edge. You won't have much time to admire it though as you rocket along, the sense of speed the game conveys is excellent.
I frankly worried that F1 wouldn't be very good, but I'm happily surprised. It's a good game, and a closer competitor to the top names than you might expect. If you invest the time in this game, you will find it a worthy time-killer.
Put it in your Q, give it a try. It's pretty good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tired of Easy racers? Get this game.

posted by kryptopro1 (SANTA CLARA, CA) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

F1 2010 is the kind of game that brings you as close to reality as possible without bringing down the fun that comes along with real life. It takes what is the essence of F1 and puts it in a fun package. This game should be played with a racing wheel and about as difficult as you can stand. Do I want to do 3 one hour practice rounds followed by 3 qualifying rounds followed by a 60 lap race? Yes, yes I do. The driving is fun, the competitive nature is fun, and the idea is fun.

A few things you should know though. Right off the bat, this game is crushingly difficult. If you play forza or gran turismo at a high realism rate and do well, you might think that you will do well with similar settings in this game. Not so. The first race objective is to finish in the top 18. You might not be able to do that. I spent 3 days just getting good enough to finish the first race in a respectable place (7th) at the difficulty I wanted to play at (hard). So in short, a fun game one you get over the extraordinary steep learning curve. One that really rewards you for overcoming a challenge. Get ready for a wake up call from the world of F1.

8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alright

posted by Zypher (WOBURN, MA) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game isn't the best for your casual racer. Has a ton of things in it for people you love racing and repetitive motions. YOU NEED TO CONCENTRATE or you'll screw up. Probably not good for people with family or someone busy because pausing takes you away. Definitely need time because each race even at 20% takes about 30 to 40 min a race including no practice and the whole qualifying race laps.

Otherwise the game has amazing graphics. I returned the game because it didn't fit my needs as a gamer. I wish I had more patience for games like this but its more for people you love complete simulation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WARNING TO CASUAL RACING GAME FANS

posted by bigfreaky (TULSA, OK) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was unable to play this game at all.

I'm not new to racing games, I consider myself a casual fan of the genre and though I primarily play arcade-style racing games like Burnout I do enjoy some racing sims, particulary Forza 3 (with a fair amount of assists turned on).

I spent approximately 5 to 6 hours trying to get the hang of this game but I could not do it. I don't really know a lot about F1 or its rules, but I knew the cars would be twitchy and oversteer at low speeds. However, no matter how carefully or aggressively I attempted each track, I came in last place by a wide margin in every qualifying round and race that I attempted on the first couple of tracks.

I don't like giving up on games, but I gave up on this one. I'm really shocked that it is so hardcore and inaccessible, especially since I enjoyed Grid and I am a big fan of Dirt 2.

I understand that this is not really a "review", and the rating given is a rounded average of the current average user rating. Because I am unable to play the game I do not feel that I can give it an actual rating of my own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

With a wrong setup, you'll never get pole position

posted by mokes310 (GREEN BAY, WI) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, F1 2010 get's many things right! Working off of the GRID engine, the game feels smooth, precise and genuinely captures the pageantry of Formula 1. The ability to change difficulty settings depending on the gamer’s level of experience makes this game accessible and fun to nearly anyone. Weather effects are dramatic and lead to tense, white-knuckle races that are balanced on a knives edge. Track detail is amazing, and the cars look even better...and there in-lies the problem.

The damage modeling is atrocious. Contact with full simulation damage often results in a bent front wing, or worse yet, no damage at all. Any fan knows that the slightest touch can send bits of carbon fiber EVERYWHERE! Sadly, this is not the case in F1 2010.

AI competition ok on all difficulty levels, however, at times, it seems as if each driver has tunnel vision of the highest degree, and even while you maintain the racing line and have the better position, they will turn in to you and the stewards award you the penalty or worse, a black flag (disqualification).

The career mode, while pushing hard, misses the mark worse than any other feature. Careers can be 3-5-7 years, but no matter what you choose, you will start with one of the lower teams. Progression occurs quickly -provided you score a couple podiums & top 10's- and in my second season, I was racing for Ferrari. I won the Drivers Championship that season, and in the third, and for some strange reason, the number on my car was still number 7? Now, many gamers will dismiss this, but it is F1 LAW that the champion carries #1 on his car the following season. This didn't happen. Finally, there are no driver or car changes that would indicate evolution of the sport year-over-year. Career Mode gets pretty stagnant after that with no changes occurring.

In summation, this game does so many things well, but sadly, Codemasters got set-up wrong and qualified mid-pack.

Verdict: Rent before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

F1 2010

posted by RACINGVET (Lansing, MI) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

F1 2010 is an amazing game i would recomend it to anyone who has experiance in racing.
I would not recommend this game if you are not experianced in racing in tight corners, long hours of racing, close quarter racing and extream damage and constant pitting.
At first the menu's are confusing but simple once you've played it a couple of times.
I would recommend useing a steering wheel for this but there are problems with the game reading the porsche fanatac wheel but you will not notice it that much once you start to race.
You do not need to know how to tune in this game but it would be helpful there are presets for amature tuners overall this is a very fun game but i requires alot of time for qualifying-up to 1 hour practice-finaly tuning and prep time(20min) then race usally 12 laps i think

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

F1 best driver for XBOX

posted by AgentDark (WARRENTON, VA) Sep 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

14 out of 21 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Game is simple, straight, fast! No unnecesary complication, if you wana play around with costum car settinges, they are there. Car runs smooth corners can be cut(in regulation limits) online race is awsome awsome awsome even tho idiots keep bumping and cutting corners to point they damage you or spin you around! I guess we r ussed to it.

To be honest I've being waiting for this game for past 9 years since EA had F1 game. I"m huge F1 fan and as I can tell if you understand Formula a bit you'll do well! this is not NAS car or Forza or Granturisimo, it is F1 and boy did they do good job.

Aproximate sleeples night predictor FOR ME: probably 3 to begin with :)

P.S. They wouldnt rent me game(low stock BS) so I went ahead and just bought it and this is no regret purchase for me

Thank you for reading my first ever review! (on GF)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by natemtb (FOUNTAIN, CO) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Great game, good graphic, sound is pretty good. I like how you can change all the difficulty setting independently. The suggested racing line is nice until you can learn the track. I am about 3/4 way through my first season. Car physics feel pretty realistic. (I've never driven a actual F1 car) The only thing that is kind of annoying is the timing of when your pit crew leader tells you to pit, I've lost a couple of races because with the race length set to 20% the crew chief tells you to pit on the 3rd lap and everybody else stays out racing for 4 or 5 more laps and puts alot of time on you because they still have their OPT tires on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

F1ROOOOOOOOOOOOOCKS

posted by JMAN46 (HAVELOCK, NC) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I AM A BIG FAN OF RACING I REALLY DID NOT THINK THIS WOULD LIVE UP TO MY STANDARDS LIKE GRID OR DIRT. BUT WHEN READ CODMASTER WAS INVOLVED I GAVE IT A SHOT.HAPPY I DID AWSOME RACER !!!!! ONE OF MY FAVIORTE FEATURES IS FLASH BACK ITS NICE TO HAVE WHEN YOU RACE SO HARD AND MAKE ONE SMALL OR BIG MISTAKE AND DONT NEED TO START ALL OVER AGAIN. SORRY I WILL NOT BE SENDING THIS ONE BACK TO GAMEFLY, PLUS ITS A GOOD BREAK FROM HALO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Get ready to pull your hair!

posted by ohitsmark (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was FLOORED when I found out about F1 2010 coming out. Being an open wheel fan of Indy cars, I was excited for anything open wheel to get released.

OFFLINE: Upon getting this game, I dove right into career mode. It starts off really awesome. The game has great details to the tracks, cars and everything else. Within the first practice of the first race, I wasn't doing that well. I was running on basic setup and just learning the track. I started about 18 and eventually won. The second race I swept 1st for everything. Practice, qualifying and the race. I ended up winning the third race as well. All is well? No, not quite. By the 4th race, China, I hit a road block. Both in the dry and wet track, I couldn't get any higher than 18th on practice. The race wasn't any more fun as I ended up finishing last. The 5th race wasn't any fun either as I was well off the leader's runs by about 4 seconds. I went ahead and for the first time playing, put in a set up I found online. Same, slow lap time. I went into a time trail mode and BAM. 1:22. A FULL second over what the leaders ran. I got back into career mode and nothing I did made it run that fast again. I tried several other setups, but nothing seems to work during career.

The damage in the game is NOT realistic at all either.

Get ready to have fun with being in the 20's, if not last for the career mode. Don't where my first 3 races and 3 wins came from.

ONLINE: Basically, all you need to know, is that everyone, every time will NEVER break going into the first corner. You'll get drilled, pushed into the sand traps and have fun playing catch up all race. It's basically a survival race, which pretty much sucks.

OVERALL: Game is pretty awesome, one of the best I've played. But the online play is horrible. Career mode is totally out of whack and no setups seem to work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game

posted by Prodrivema (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I have been a Formula One fan for some time now, and was excited to hear about this games development. This game is a must rent if not a must buy for any racing fan looking for a fun game. The game follows the 2010 F1 season with accurately detailed teams and cars.

Much like DIRT, you are pitted in the spotlight from the drivers perspective and move up the career ladder in F1. When starting the career, you begin with the slower F1 teams, gradually working your way up to the top level teams.

The games settings can be tweaked for the amateur or professional driver looking for a challenge. When going to rent this, I noticed it was out of stock. I decided to purchase this game, and can say its worth the money!!

Overall, an excellent game and worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enough Said!!!!!

posted by 2old2ply (O FALLON, IL) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

IT DONT GET NO BETTER!!!!

My game prayers came true since GRID. I really didn't think they could match or top GRID. Well they have and racers should check this one out!!!!

NO LET DOWNS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FINALLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by F12010 (KENNESAW, GA) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

FINALLY! i have been waiting for this game since december of 09. Well i got this game just last friday and i have been playing it since, non stop, this game is amazing and probably one of the best racing games ever! i recomend this game to everyone, its GREAT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty good

posted by Tyler03 (CLACKAMAS, OR) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Great game and a good challenge!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You need alot of time

posted by TBirdHammer (BRIGANTINE, NJ) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Even on easy its challenge. You really have to work just to make top 20. I don't have unlimited time to spend on VGs anymore, so its important that the game be easier to pick up and play. I was an ace at GT1, GT2, GT3 and GT4 and most racing games I pick up. I can be competitive relatively early, this is an exception.
The game looks great, detail is everywhere on this one. I don't know how long I will keep this game, but I'll give it a chance. The big determinate in how well you do is how well do you know the tracks? If you have memorized a few from previous F1 encounters then you will be ahead of the game. Or if you watch F1 on TV and some of the tracks come back to you through memory. Most will do poorly by not knowing the track layouts and not knowing braking and turning areas. For those who rent this good luck, you will get an education on F1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

F! 2010

posted by nivcal (LEBANON, OH) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I think this is a good game but the pit stop thing sucks a little and the penalties need to be looked at i was driving and another guy hit ME and i got penalized and lost the race.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse