Rent Excitebots: Trick Racing for Wii
view large frontback

Excitebots: Trick Racing

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

1060 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great!

posted by coolgeek93 (COLTON, CA) May 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

i love racing games and this is on my top list! the idea of robotic bugs racing is crazy but the game makes the crazy idea work GREAT! ive never played excitetruck but this game is awsome! its a must buy for racing fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Racer to Ever Exist

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) May 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm sure that a lot of people will say, "Mario Kart Wii is better!" Mario Kart Wii is good, but not this good. Excitebots is now my favorite all time racer.

Pros
-crazy stunts
-good graphics
-cool vehicles
-excellent controls
-techno music fits the game

Cons
-none for me, but some lazier people may not like
using the motion controls (lazy bums)

The action of this game is a total blast, and has made it into my favorite game list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game but hard to judge

posted by hobieone (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

the play and modes makes this game stand out the poker race was fun and added a new twist to racing games and the races were fast and fun and the game can get addicting.

but the graphics are average for the wii and they could of did like other racing games on the wi and gave you an option of controls schemes. the 2 they give you are responsive and works well despite the game has a quirk if your not holding the control exactly parallel but at a angle to the floor when the game start you car steers that direction when it is parallel it like driving a real car with its front end out of alignment.

but the online play is what make this game really stand out!

its definitely worth the rent. and a game i 'll prob pick up later on down the road my self

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

PRETTY GOOD GAME

posted by RAMSRULE (FORT SMITH, AR) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you like excite trucks then you will love this game its basicly the same game with better graphics and some twist in the races like in the middle of the race youll have to kick a field or throw a dart just a bunch of diff. things that makes this game different and interestingly fun. its definatly worth a rent its pretty addictive. the online multiplaer is pretty cool too. you can bet stars on your races to save up to by new bots, theres also somthing called a poker race havent got to try this mode out yet but i bet its pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Except for those darn bars

posted by GmaeHead13 (HUMMELSTOWN, PA) May 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is as much fun as excite truck but with cooler things to drive. Everything about this game is good except there are there bars that you have to grab on to and spin the wiimote to launch yourself and they get old and annoying fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mechanical bug racing...?

posted by DrMarten (SAYLORSBURG, PA) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I think this game MAY entice a younger crowd. I could be wrong. I tried it because I enjoy racing games of all types. I just didn't enjoy this one. (and I did play through it all) You start off with the "school" class of races, and others are unlocked as you win and gain stars.
The controls are limited to the Wii Remote or the Wii Wheel. If your good with either of these, your in luck. I got used to the controls, but still prefer the option of using the classic controller.
The tracks and their little minigames are silly. Again, I tried not to count the game out because of it's "look"...if I did that, I'd have missed out on ALOT of great games. But this just wasn't one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

....dissapoinment

posted by LpsLost (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

this game is REALLY BAD, i liked speed racer better, the things that REALLY make this game suck is the stuff that slows down the speed of the game, like when you crash, you got to shack the wii remote 5 times to respawn i HATE THIS, its a pain and there is this new bar thing you have to spin on to take off from some points, its a pain as wll, and i didn't wanna have to tile my wii remote to turn I HATE THAT, im more of a D pad guy for turning i was hoping it as like mario kart and you can use the nucuck but you cant..

this game is REALLY alright, but with having to use the wii mote more then you should have to, its just a pain in the wrist, it took a month to come , played it for 10 mints, sent it back.. waste of time..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Racing Game!!!

posted by AmStaller1998 (ANDERSON, SC) Apr 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I am a 13 year old girl. And I have tryed many games for the PC, Wii, and PlayStation. But this is the funnest. You get to unlock new globes and places to race, new car, and animals. I really wouldn't say it is for kids 8 and under, but if they play it often they can get used to it. The controls are pretty easy and not confusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Fun Fun Game!

posted by laurichg (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Excitebots is a total blast to play. It's easy to learn and then as you progress through the cups the challenge increases at a fair pace. The original selection of bots to race is good and as you earn stars you can unlock new bots, paint jobs and more. There is also a multiplayer option (split screen & online) as well as minigames and other playing options. It's a game that both young and adult players will enjoy. If you're trying to decide between this and any of the Need For Speed games, go with this instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

(MonsterGames dont let this be the end of excite)

posted by Athena123 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Excitebots trick racing is soooooooo much fun and soooooooo much better than what is put out to be heard as its origin EXCITE TRUCK. anyway excitebots has lots of interesting car/transformer/bug/animal type vehicles that are very cool and good (trust me people are better off with using the roach,hummingbird,centipede,or bat cars) but aside from those excitebots even has fun first ever online internet play while people race they can bet stars to and if you end up in a certain place at the end you get an even bigger number of stars (maybe if your lucky. i really cant say to weather this game is more of a hardcore gamer game or all around person game its just so much fun and watch out because in excitebots you seriously have to expect the unexpected because while you race on/offline you could get stars for not doing anything or you could get stars for o i dont know moves like being in the air,tree runs,hitting other bots,fishing,(escaping giant hands) swinging on red bars or yellow bars (becareful with those yellow bars cause you have to know when to jump on and off,escaping rock creature things,football,baseball, butterfly catch,scoccer,song rails,poker cards, and even sandwitch building and excitbots has even more bot cars like frog,spider,squid, (but he dosent squirt ink),lizard,bettle,praying mantis,yrasshopper,turtle,ant,hornet, and the bolder truck from excite truck is on here too. though i had lots of fun with excitebots (this game will keep you going for more fun that you wont evan want to go to the bathroom fun) i did not beat the game controlls a bit touchy but you should very much still play it and hey during the 2 months and 3 weeks that i had excitebots it was extreamly fun but this should not be the end of excite (Monster Games inc. and gamefly) make more games make more excite LONG LIVE EXCITE,LONG LIVE EXCITE excitbots for the wii is way better than a 7.1 its better than a 10 rateing but thats all thier is 10 anyway excite should live forever and for an

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Is that my bot racing - or my heart?

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) May 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

If you want to get your heart pounding without doing boring aerobics - this could be a good choice! Woah...

Racing is not my typical genre of choice, but for a solid week this kept me bobbing and weaving in front of my TV. It could have been longer but for me to do any better and unlock the next mode... not likely.

If you've played the prequel, Excite Truck, this is a faithful sequel. The formula is the same, but with new courses and some new tricks, mainly new aerial stunts and some other new ways to earn points. If you liked the last one, this should win you over anew; if you didn't, then this is not the right place for your next gaming pitstop.

For the uninitiated, Excitebots is anything but your standard racer. In this one, actually winning the race is practically a footnote. Your main goal is to rack up points by collecting air time from massive jumps as well as spinning through the air, performing timed leaps, drifting around curves, smashing opponents, and even wackier things like kicking a field goal or... throwing a pie at a clown face? All of these contribute to your score, which is what you're playing for. You also get bonus points for finishing well, which you'll surely need if you want to get the best ranks, but finishing first without pulling off any stunts will get you nowhere.

It's these stunts that make this game both fresh and exhilarating. Now, to get very much out of this game, you've got to be willing to replay courses and push yourself to master each one, even if all you may earn is a few new paint jobs and game file icons. If grinding out a few extra points to try to get the elusive S ratings doesn't strike you as a good time, then this won't last you too long as you'll soon play through each of the 24 courses and not have much more to do.

But if you are willing to push yourself even just a little, then this game is as fun as any while it lasts. If that sounds like your thing, I highly recommend this... followed by a shower.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the same, but that's good right?

posted by Fenster113 (TUCSON, AZ) Sep 7, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game is just like excite truck, only with more stuff... which is a good thing... sort of... you even get to play some of the old tracks, which is nice.

I have mixed feelings about this game. It was nice to know how to mostly play the game already, having played excite truck. I'm not totally sure I like the new grabbing the bar thing that happens throughout a race.

This game will entertain and frustrate you as you try and get the Super rating on all of the tracks.

If you liked excite Truck you should like this game.

If you like unrealistic racing games, you'll probably like this game

If you like realistic racing and true physics, then this is not the game for you, but you probably knew that from the "excite" part of the name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Step out of your comfort zone!

posted by Nin10freak (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

I have been faithfully reading the reviews about this game, and there is one gripe that prevails over all. the red bars. here's a tip start with large motions and work your way to smaller ones as your bot speeds around the bar faster and faster! this game rewards you (purposefully or not) for stepping out of your comfort zone and just having fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun alternative to Mario Kart

posted by Motorpengu (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I enjoyed racing a bug and found that some vehicles were easier to drive for racing-game-challenged me, which made playing so much more fun. I even got my spouse to race with me. One thing I wish was improved was the view as you raced. It was difficult at times to see what was ahead and where one needed to go next.

After returning this game, I have begun to think I'd like to have it for myself, to pull out and play whenever I need a short diversion. One doesn't need to spend all day racing, and the various racetracks offer easy and difficult racing challenges.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, but

posted by deb4707 (GRAHAM, TX) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

The red bar has to go! Everything else about this game was great! It would have been a 10 on my rating except for that red bar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

vroom vroom bots

posted by chaseb (GAINESVILLE, VA) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

all i can say is vroom vroom vroooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooom

it's an awesome game for anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A mixture of Warioware and Excitetruck?

posted by Tekken1 (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This game is a extreme sequal to Excitetruck because it has the same turbo rule, air rings, drifts, tree runs, speed, and spins, but you never seen anything like this game! there are so much to experiance then just racing,

you have to grind rails to get notes as you jump,
spin bars,
hit home-runs,
kick a feild goal,
score a socar goal,
cast a "great" fish,
getting a bullseye on darts,
ramming into all 10 pins for a strick, (I mean Strike)
and my favorate, gliding your bot to collect all the butterflys on the corce.

I gave it a 9 because I still like the old Excitetruck and how you can beat it so easy and still have fun with it. On Excitebots, you REALLY going to have to spend 3 years to beat the whole game. (you know like collect all the colors, complete all the races, and get all the bots (my favorate is the turtal))

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

You have robots? Let's race them!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jul 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

ExciteBots takes a typical racing formula and adds robotic animals. Yep, that's what I was missing in my racing.
All things considered, ExciteBots offers a solid racing experience. It's fast, fluid and fun. It offers a variety of courses spread over four classes. It features plenty of unlockable robots and extras. It has a wacky sensibility that lends itself to arcade racing.
The game uses the standard motion-sensor racing controls, meaning you'll be holding your Wii remote sideways and tilting it from side to side to turn. Flicking it upwards will allow you to jump. I found the sensor controls touchy, swinging heavily with each tilt.
The problem it faces it that it becomes a slave to it's own gimmick. For instance, each of these animals can change into a two-legged version of it's wheeled form by picking up a wrench. At that point, you moving your racer by shaking the remote from side to side, which makes you go fast but creates problems with direction. Each robot has an arm they use to grab bars, which you swing on by moving the remote around in a circular pattern, also difficult to judge based on the motion controls. Actually, the overall reliance on the motion controls is a big flaw in the design.
At a certain point, all the bowling pins, soccer goals, bombs, flying, bars and bots become more relevant than the racing itself. It's too bad they didn't stick to the basics, without throwing all that other stuff in to compromise the game. But they did... and it shows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow, that was bad.

posted by TBE101 (SPRING CREEK, NV) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I'm not going to talk on this because it isn't worth my time. I will saythat the crontrolls are horrible and very touchy. The tricks never seem to happen, races are short, all in all, it was not worth my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is so awesome

posted by JPCCool (Shiloh, OH) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

I have to say this game is one of my favriote raceing game. It is even better then Mario Cart. Me and someone else defeted this game withen five days and we played it alot is those five days. Playing online is even harder it is more of a callenge. This game is like they mixed monter trucks with bugs. Why I say this is becuase you can destroy other things with just a little bug. Over all i would rate this game 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just Like Excite Trucks, but with Insect Robots!

posted by Finjamin (DENVER, CO) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

If you liked Excite Trucks, this is pretty much exactly the same, but with new tracks and new bug-robot-cars. This is a great looking, easy to pick up, really fun to play driving game with not much technical stuff to get in the way of pure fun.

The downside is that it is good in short bursts, you can play through all the tracks in a couple of weekends, and then it's done. Not much replay value here. Definitely a rental, but a FUN rental to kill a few hours goofing off in your robot-bug-car at high speeds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE THIS GAME

posted by dolphinjen (HEBER SPRINGS, AR) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This game is loads of fun. Their are lots of things to keep you busy and to keep you from getting bored with the game. The different challenges are great. The poker mode is quite a challenge and has kept many of my Adult friends busy. The kids find the game not only fun to play but fun to watch as you really have to move to play the game. The controls are easy for even young children (some as young as 5 played mine). Playing online gives even more of a challenge. We bought this game after playing it. Friends still come by to play the game. The bugs are quite amusing to watch how they move when you race, jump etc. and the running part was something everyone seemed to find interesting. It made it stand out as a different type of racing game. Definately worth the play and purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by Glimmy (Kirkland, WA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I'm totally addicted!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excite Bots trick racing rated:E for everyone,hard

posted by paulN8R (CONCORD, CA) May 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

Excit Bots has great stuff in it but it gets harder as you move up to the big leages. But the cars, AMASING! My favorite is the bat model it was the first bot I raced with, light weaght and hi-grip,give it a try. A built-in boost makes stunts easyer. Leg mode is REALLY hard to control but the look of the ladybug's leg mode is soooo cool! The crazy items make the game complete and I never thought polker would be in there. The best item is the fireworck it blasts your bot around for a limeded time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good

posted by JDigitty (BLYTHE, CA) May 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game is very good. The graphics are excellent, everything looks shiny and sparkles. The control is medium, the car don't turn the way it should. The gameplay is outstanding, you have turbo power, the cars are really small insects/animals and they run/fly, the cars virtually soar off the jumps and you glide back down to the track, when you crash your car breaks up into bits and pieces, small objects/bushes get mowed over with ease, and the best part is there are live/interactive things like football fieldgoals.

The goals and advancement are to repetitive and redundant, which is why I gave it an 8.

The sound is weak, I turned the music off so I don't hear the cheap casio keyboard music. There is something wrong with the way the car sounds, it doesen't follow the gas button. The sound effects are monotone and don't really fit the game.

So, in summary, this game is great other than the sound.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse