Rent Excite Truck for Wii
view large frontback

Excite Truck

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

3363 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excite truck Review

posted by thewarboss (LEBANON, NH) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Excite truck is a game I would never normally play.Racing games don't usually appeal to me. I heard so many good things about it though , that I decided to pick it up. THis game is a blast. The way you use the wiimote to control the truck is a lot of fun. The game is challenging without being frustrating. Nice track variety. Huge selection of cars and plenty of unlockable stuff. The game also has a next gen look while retaining the nostalgic NES feel that I love so much. Great job Nintendo! MAybe this isnt the hardcore racing fan title. However if you're not a fan of racing , check it out! You'll be surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great great great!

posted by Intruder11 (HOPE VALLEY, RI) Dec 23, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Wow, this one is great! It's got an amazing sense of speed(comparable to Burnout), crazy jumps/bumps/crashes, Graphics/frame rate, unlockables, and it controls great as long you're not whipping the Wii-mote around like a madman.

It has a great Tutorial mode that you have to pass before playing any of the races, which helps out big time(only the air spins are way too hard and kinda pointless to attempt in an actual race.) I also love how close and intense all the races are, you never feel like you are playing a time-trial, or not standing a chance at finishing in a top spot.

the environments look incredible, draw distance is awesome, frame rate even in multi-player is flawless.
the ONLY things I feel are missing are maybe a system link option because the split screen can be a little tough at times when you are flying off jumps at top speed not being able to see where the track is, and a couple more multi-player modes. Other than that...buy this game! this is probably the most fun i've had on the Wii yet.

great great great!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Be happy you bought a Wii!

posted by angelo81 (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Excite truck is a great deal of fun. the controls are tight and their is enough variety in the tracks to keep you interested. its remarkably easy to pick up and play for anyone and has a moderate difficulty for those who like a challenge. if you want a driving game to finish out your collection i recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Fun Fun

posted by JetBoxer (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. If you are a fan of Excite Bike you will like this game. Lots of crashing fun. Using the wii Controller makes it a whole new game. I had to buy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Decent Arcade Racer

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I've now played pretty much all of the launch titles for the Wii, and this is one of the better of the bunch. However, like many of the other Wii launch titles, this one is still trying to get its bearings.

Good stuff: There are some fantastic elements to this game. The course ambience is beautiful. This is easily the most graphics-intensive game of all the launch titles; not the most stylish or creative, but it looks like it's pushing the hardware to the max.

I also really like the terrain-altering effects. Drive over an exclamation mark and the terrain shifts radically. These alterations in the course layout look beautiful and occur seamlessly.

Bad stuff: I really like arcade racers (the Burnout and the Need For Speed series, in particular). Within the genre, this game doesn't offer much that is new and is missing much that these other games have. Car models don't look that great and don't vary much. The courses aren't that complex or compelling. Extras are dull (more of the same cars! yeah!).

The controls are good and bad. Developers have yet to figure out how best to utilize the Wii remote for the system as a whole, and for specific genres (racers, FPSs, etc). This game controls ok, but I can't help but feel they need a way to simulate resistance in turns/drifting (maybe through increased vibration?).

The driving physics are also inconsistent. In arcade racers, physics is already exaggerated (compared to racing simulations), but it needs still to feel like you're driving. All-too-often, I felt like I was steering a speed boat or jet ski rather than an off-road vehicle. Crashes don't feel or look right. The cars just don't have a good "weight" to them (other arcade style racers do a great job of simulating the feel of weight to their cars).

Overall, this game is fun and is worth a rental, but definitely don't buy it until you've played it first. I can imagine many people liking this game more than I did (since I'm picky about the genre).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must own Wii title

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 12, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Excite Truck was by far the biggest surprise amongst the launch titles. The game had great visuals, smooth controls, and a ton of fun.

I picked up the controls on this game within the first 3 races. The turning of the Wii-mote is very smooth, and is by far the best driving game so far. The terrain looked awesome, and flying that high was just plain fun. Drifting, smashing into other trucks, and flying in the air all earn you points to advance to unlock the new modes, and trucks

There are only a few things I can see that could have been done better. I wish that there were more tracks to race one. Most of the events consist of like 5 tracks. Another weak side is the multiplayer. You can only race against you friend, and no one else. I'd like to see the next excite truck to be able to race against CPUs, or maybe even online play!

It's a great title, and one of the must owns for the Wii. This game gives you plenty to do if you don't mine a little repetition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excite Truck - Must have Wii Driving Game

posted by nrl120 (Brooklyn, NY) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Excite Truck is an amazing look at what interactive car driving games should be like. With a help from the familiar name of Nintendo's Excitebike game for NES, Excite truck brings together a higher level of realism to the car driving experience in gaming.

NECCESSITY: Steering Wheel

POSITIVES:
Courses are challanging, even some of the begginer levels, which makes the player have to work and speed up their learning curve to play.

Game set-up is well planned. In single player mode, the goal is to do enough tricks, airs, tree runs, etc.. to win enough stars to make it to the next level. Then after beating all of the levels with first place you will have to beat them with a specific high score to get an S rating on the course (usually between 20 and 50 stars high than required to pass the course initially). Then after achieving all S scores in normal mode, you will go to Excite mode, win first every course and S class, and then finish on a course that is reminiscent of rainbow road from Mario Kart for Gamecube

Vehicles react, for the most part like vehicles. The only trick you can really do is spin in the air (which you get stars for)which brings realism back into the picture.

Game is fast and intense. I suggest playin this game on no less than a 27 in tv.

Courses are long and you are able to drive off road through trees or find off road jumps and shortcuts. There are limitations to how far you can go though.

Graphics would have to be about an 8 of 10 for this game. They are great, but sometimes a little choppy looking.

Game lasts. The game will take hours to beat which is great. Some courses will take hours alone.

NEGATIVES:

The primary trick of spinning is difficult at times. It seems like the controler doesn't react at times to spins.

There are some glitches such as running into something and sticking in it and helicopter spinning of some jumps making it hard to spin for points.

Truck upgrades do not seem to do much for performance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best Launch Title for the Wii

posted by chipyg (SALEM, CT) Jan 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Excite Truck is the best game out there right now. The graphics in the game are good for the system and the controls are easy to get into. You hold the controller horizontally, use the 2 button to accelerate and the 1 to reverse. to turn, you lean your Wii-mote right or left. A great feature in the games is the use of stars. In this game it is not all about winning the races, but it is about pulling of the most air and tricks to get enough stars at the end of the races to win. you get stars from crashing into your opponents, getting big air, jumping through rings, drifting, and "throwing other trucks. What this is involves you changing the environment around you by creating jumps that make you opponents fly off the track. As you know this is a Wii title game so the graphics aren't stunning. However, compared to other games i have played on the Wii, the game looks good. Another problem that I hated was I continuously came off track. It is very easy to completly fly off the track because the physics in this game are very unrealistic. You are able to jump a mile high in the air and be able to land without having any damage done to the car. Yes, I do realize it is Nintendo and they don't care for looks but for gameplay but they could have done much better than what they are showing. In Conclusion this game is sick nasty but I feel more time should have been taking place and a little more care should have been put in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than Excite Bike!

posted by weirdal (PONCA CITY, OK) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. I love spinning in the air!
Excite Bike was OK, but Excite Truck is WAY BETTER! It's spinning in the air, running through trees, flying through rings, and LOTS more. Be glad you bought a wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun trial, not much long term

posted by Moose872 (GLENDALE, AZ) Dec 13, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It was a fun game, a good way to get used to the driving action with the Wii remote. The courses were fun and it was a good idea.

It might be fun to play multiplayer every once in a while, but the game didn't offer much for long term gameplay like the burnout series or something like that.

It was good for a first release and makes you want to try different driving games. It's a good game for a week or so, but then it gets a little bit old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!!!!!!!!

posted by watthe (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game rocks. I like it because it has all those big air jumps. I never get tired of it. You can go really fast and have a lot of fun in multiplayer. There are fun courses awesome courses and insane courses that makes you Wanna play more and more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

At least it's FUN!

posted by Arcanix (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jun 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For racing purists, Excite Truck might seem like an easy game to dismiss. For Mario Kart fans, Excite Truck may disappoint a bit. All comparisons aside, however, the game simply fun!

Gameplay was mostly intuitive. A few tutorials got me, my non-gamer wife, and my best friend on the road in no time. Aside from the awkward Air Spins, almost every driving maneuver was easily learned and eventually mastered with practice. One big factor is the sheer SPEED of play. It is actually exhilarating at times and increases gradually as a player earns new trucks.

Graphics look great and sound is good but a bit repetitive. The squeal of certain trucks' engines might make you want to adjust your volume settings to avoid a fingernails-on-the-chalkb- oard type of reaction. We also tend to mute the menu screen between races.

Versus is fun and exciting, but it did make me wish I had a larger television (mine is 38") so that we could race with as much precision as we used in the single-player mode.

Keep in mind, this is not intended to be Project Gotham Racing or Gran Turismo. Wrecking trucks causes you very little lasting consequences, plowing through trees with power-up items is a commonplace strategy and points win races even if you don't finish with the best time. Realism is fine in games, but it is still a game, no? After all, how much fun would SSX games be if they were realistic recreations of the actual skiing and/or snowboarding experience?

Minor drawbacks aside, my wife and I love this game and have spent many evenings racing trucks instead of watching our usual lineup of late-night television shows because it's just plain fun.

Recommended improvements:

MORE RACES!
Track designer (remember 8-bit Excite Bike?)
Easier control of Air Spin
More diverse soundtrack
Two-player mode with CPU racers
Four-player mode, perhaps (I'll get the bigger TV for this!)

Give this game a try and maybe buy it if you have a big TV and people for multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

UNDER RATED!!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Mar 22, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Go Out and Buy IT!!!

This is more fun the motorstorm!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst racing game ever

posted by Mster24 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Okay, I don't know what you people are talking about. This game has everything wrong with it as far as a racing game goes! The controls are touchy and difficult, and my 8-year-old brother quit after about ten seconds. "Intuitive"? Yeah, right. And the tutorials? Oh, don't get me started on those. The first few tutorials were pretty easy, but after that, they got impossible to beat and annoying. After trying for about a half-hour on one or two tutorials, to unlock versus mode, I quit in frustration. Sometimes, you get everything done right, but by the time you touch down and earn the stars you need, the time runs out. That also happens if your truck is a few feet from the finish. However, besides the amazing visuals, there is one other thing I like about this game: The music customization. It allowed me to play some nice, calming Carbon Leaf to prevent me from taking off the wrist strap and throwing the wiimote at the TV in frustration. This game does not deserve to have a Nintendo logo on the box.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could be a very good game with multyplayer/online

posted by redice (COTTON, MN) Dec 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2003

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Unfortunetly it doesnt have an online capability and unless you have friends who want to play you stuck single player which isnt a whole heck of a lot of fun after a few minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BORING

posted by Dennis (VALLEJO, CA) Jun 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS SO BORING, AND PLUS EVERYTIME I TRIED TO TURN MY CAR LEFT OR RIGHT, IT NEVER DID, IT'S SO COMPLICATED. THAT'S EXACTLY WHY I GAVE THIS GAME 5, AND NOTHING ABOVE, IT STINKS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

wii takes it off the pavement

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

The control in this game is fishy and suspect. In fact within ten minutes my brother did not want to play anymore, even after I called him in to show him the controls could be learned with a trifle of that thing most people lack these days. A thing called patience. But even with the dedication of someone who wants to love the game as badly as I do, the controls can be ultimately frustrating; even for those of us who managed to quash our instinctive gut responses to mash on the D-pad whenever the road wandered away from the tires of our truck. What can be said though, is that once you get the idea of steering by tilting the paddle (and just how much tilt you need to do so) the game can become addictive, and dare I say even a personal vendetta. The gate races require you to hit one-hundred-thirty gates, and I don't know what happens if you do that. My best is forty-six. Trust me, that's not from a lack of practice either. As maddening as it can get, my brain is still saying “Come on now, you can do better!” so the idiot I am, I keep trying. Just like the games of old, the sheer frustration is enough to keep you playing. I find a certain blast from the past sort of charm to that. Although not everyone else will. The Excite Races, on the other hand are a lot less demanding and a lot of fun, at least for me. My brother still insists it sucks.

The graphics are pretty beautiful considering we're looking at a repackaged Game Cube chip set, and considering the speed at which you will be careening through them the attention to detail is pretty good. You'll see trees and rocks reflected in the truck and almost everything reflected in the water, for instance. There isn't much of a draw distance issue either. And considering again this is the old Game Cube, and that the PS3 has ugly draw issues in some of it's games, this is at least mildly impressive.

Overall, the game is not horrible and is worth at least a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a bad game.

posted by chadcess (EBENSBURG, PA) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

It is somewhat addicting. I wish the graphics were a little better. Also, the steering can be a little over board at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not a bad game, surprised me.

posted by thisisnotpoetry (SOUTH FALLSBURG, NY) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

i'm not a big fan of driving games, but wanted to give this a try. (i'm not great at video games.) i found it easy to get set up, and fairly easy to get through the basic tutorials. the first set of excite races were fun, and with practice i got past them. but i never got past the second set. probably due to the fact that i am not a die-hard gamer. but it was an enjoyable game for me, one that i do look forward to purchasing. the only control problem i had was getting air in the jumps...somehow when i tilted back, the game always thought i was tilting forward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

yeah right!

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

worst racing controls ever, worst soundtrack ever, worst sound effects ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's Ok

posted by hometown (CLEARFIELD, UT) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Pro - It's a different style racing game, fairly easy to navigate.
Cons - I really didn't like how I had to pass the different training modules before I could actually play the game. I had to pass them all so my son could race in the game. I think there could have been a more effective way of incorporating the information without it. Even after winning one of the regular races I was never able to unlock other races. I'm not sure what I was doing wrong.

I rented this game for my 4 year old. While his favorite types of games are racing ones, and he did enjoy it, it's not one that I would buy or rent for more than a few days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont get this game!

posted by dagamegod (SANTA CLARA, CA) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

the game sounded good enought but the controls are so sensitive the car swings all over the place and the jumps and boost aspects are right out of nitro bike and excite bots got all the good stuf and this game is just a money trap.overall this game is awfull and should be destroyed sorry to all those who rented this game just to send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Now THAT is serious offroad racing!

posted by Tekken1 (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

No matter what, you just can't let go of that boast button cause you will just injoy all the speed in the game. the real point of the game is collect the most stars and to get them, you got to be a really top driver to perform spin moves, tree runs, smashing into other trucks, go through rings in the air, get the longest drift posible,getting the biggest air posible, and win. But you have to be quick though, you will never know when some tricky obsticles will come to you... but hey at least you get 1 star per "good" crash. (seriously go for the 5 stars if you can)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun, fun, fun

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jun 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

This game is such a BLAST! I love it so much that I had to go and buy a copy of it online as I'm not able to keep my copy. I didn't realize how expensive this game is but it's worth it to me. I loved winning new cars. I chose a vehicle that didn't grip and raced in on the Finland course which was a huge mistake. I couldn't get any traction on the ice. I find each level up in the excite mode harder than the previous level. I couldn't get pass doing 3 360 degree spins in the air in the tutorial. I didn't like the fact that you couldn't leave it or go onto the next part without finishing it. I had to exit out of the game completely and come back into it. I keep trying before giving up in frustration. I agree with the controls for the spin being ackward and having to remember to hold down the certain buttons for it then move the wii remote to try to get it to spin. It's work perhaps 50-60% of the time when I wanted to spin. I got stuck in one game after running into a wall and not able to back up or figure out how to get unstuck. I love crashing into other trucks as it's fun. I found out if you crash a lot into trees, various objects then you lose your place in the race as other cars slip past you plus you lose valuable time too. Sometimes I'd lose control and go over the edge of something, crash, have to fix the truck or push a to get back on track. I love how you get a lot of color choices for the different vehicles that you can play with. Also after racing with a vehicle for 10 races you unlock a new paint job for it. If you like racing games this is a game for you to try. It's a blast and the cons about it are minor. I too rather play this game then watch something on tv. It's that addicting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun. Awesome. Buy It. NOW.

posted by RacerKing4 (AVALON, WI) May 27, 2009

Member since May 2009

I have played a lot of racing games, and Excite Truck is one of the best. The controls are smooth, and although the physics kind of don't make sense (I'm pretty sure Nintendo doesn't care) that doesn't ruin the big-time fun. The only thing that could be improved is the multiplayer. Putting COMs in as the rest of the cars or, if you had enough Wii-Motes, letting 6 players race at once could've made the game better. Now, get off your silly little computer and go buy Excite Truck. RIGHT NOW. I don't care if you don't have a Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse